Financial BLR Increase 2014?, Base Lending Rate.
Showtime747
Jan 18 2014, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 18 2014, 10:38 AM) your mthly payment will never change. this is new rule from BNM. but with higher OPR or daily interest. your principle reduction will be much lesser. hence your loan tenure will be extended to so many years to come... Oh no......Are you sure even with interest rate increase by >3% ? If like that, flippers will not be affected. So no more dead chicken even if interest rate increase
Showtime747
Jan 25 2014, 02:22 PM
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...eady-next-week1My friend's comment : QUOTE Money market is flushed with excess funds. Bank Negara has to intervene to stabilise the OPR. If there is no artificial intervention, interest rates should come down instead of the expected increase in 2014. The policy curbing property market is affecting the loan market. Inflation has also affected people from spending unnecessarily hence causing less loan and credit being extended. Banks now have too much money. But the banks still maintain the BLR which should have come down if everything works in accordance to free market.
Banks are short-changing us. They go out of the way to give new loans at -2.xx% instead of adjusting the BLR, so that their margins are not affected on the old loans. And business loans are still at BLR + x.xx%. If the banks adjust BLR based on the market rate, then the banks will earn less than otherwise would be in an non-manipulated market
Malaysian banking system is still lacking compare to the advanced country banking system. While FD rate has come down from 4.xx% to 3.x in the past 1 year, BLR should have come down correspondingly by at least 50 basis point.
Showtime747
Jan 25 2014, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 25 2014, 02:32 PM) i don't think it come down. if you average up the figures. the BLR stand at 2.995% which still the same 3.0% currently. this why BLR still stood at 6.6%. any increase of decrease of BLR are dictated by overall OPR movement. the profit and lost are also taken to consideration. so the financial institution can keep afloat. Yes it didn't come down. That is all because BNM wants to maintain it by intervening the market. That is what the link is saying. Whereas the FD rates has come down from 4.xx% to 3.xx%. Clearly indicating banks has too much money in the market. And the banks taking cheaper deposits while lending at same BLR, they are making even more money
Showtime747
Jan 25 2014, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 25 2014, 03:13 PM) as previous posting 3.6% set aside for bank operational cost. with profit margin of 0.6%. if they give BLR (6.6%) - 2.4% = 4.2% make sense FD went down to 3.xx% as u said. we know low FD discourages savers. if they banks give u better FD rate. hence why banks must charge more for loans. there has to be a balance which BNM are to moderate. however stiff competition among banks are good too for consumers. No lah. When FD at 4.xx%, housing loan is BLR - 2.xx%. Credit card loan at 18%pa. Car loan (new car) 2.x%-3.x% Now FD at 3.xx%, housing loan still same rate. Credit card also same rate. Car loan also same rate. Bank's margin is larger Now bank's loan affected by rulings. Inflation affect spending. Banks got excess money. BNM has to absorb the excess. That is what the link I provided is saying. So that BNM's OPR is maintained at ~3%. If BNM don't intervene and let market decide the rate, BLR should have come down. Along the way, banks make more money. That is what my friend's quote says.
Showtime747
Jan 25 2014, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 25 2014, 03:40 PM) the contribution factor are inflation. where goes with our purchasing power? even SG dollar fares better than ringgit. inefficient money management by our govt. always ask parliment supplementary budget and mismanagement. the growing national deficits we lose out paying interest to dev nation like japan for example. the very high presence of foreigners/illegal aliens in our streets/city/town/factories. they work and take huge amount our monies out back home. so what can you say? Absolutely nothing we can do. And we can't do anything on monetary policy too.
Showtime747
Jul 17 2014, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 17 2014, 09:15 PM) meaning what? loan amount is 1,600 and the 1800 should be rentals lor? correct ah? like this untung leh.. project mana oh.. Buy 3-4 year ago, any project cashflow positive now. You ask too late liao.
Showtime747
Aug 2 2014, 09:10 AM
Just to report all my 4 outstanding loans instalment from 3 banks did not increase in amount. Maybe because I did not take maximum tenure, so the banks want to earn more interest from me. Let's see if there are any changes later this month