Financial BLR Increase 2014?, Base Lending Rate.

Fazab
post Jan 16 2014, 09:07 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(aquest @ Jan 16 2014, 07:08 PM)
blr was highest when dsai was in the cabinet. coincidence?
You people probably too young to remember

That was the time when ASEAN currencies were under attack. Value of RM drop like mouldy peanuts.

One of the defense method is to increase the interest rate high-high to make the RM attractive.

The finance minister used this method. That why got spike in rate. At the peak it was almost 12%, if I remeber correct.
The rest is interesting history.

This post has been edited by Fazab: Jan 16 2014, 09:18 PM
Fazab
post Jan 16 2014, 10:22 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jan 16 2014, 10:10 PM)
Our ringgit is badly devalued now, Singadollar already at 2.6 if nothing been done late 90's will revisit,  if currency keep only falling many investors will cabut.

BLR is definitely expect to increase,  just matter of time.

BTW no need yi lou mai lou, jual minyak, we wasn't born yesterday, we know what happened in late 90's.
Just for fun-lah. No need to nitpick. Or will really grow old fast-fast. biggrin.gif

What happening now is our own doing, so to a certain extent can control, up the BLR a bit a bit.

What happen in 90's was an concerted attack. No chance to do anything. Just open eye watch people die.

The after effects will be same, BLR goes up, bubble burst, but will be less drastic, less painful.
Fazab
post Jan 18 2014, 12:20 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 18 2014, 10:38 AM)
your mthly payment will never change. this is new rule from BNM. but with higher OPR or daily interest. your principle reduction will be much lesser. hence your loan tenure will be extended to so many years to come... shocking.gif

for home loan, every ringgit outstanding is calculated in daily interest.

if u want to pay higher mthly installment. you need to go to your bank headoffice and apply.
Sure got this new rule? When I took a loan last year with 18 years tenure (max because of my age), the bank manager warned me repeatedly that if interest rate goes up, my instalment will go up also. They will not extend my tenure because oledi max out.

This post has been edited by Fazab: Jan 18 2014, 12:20 PM

0.1219sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:20 AM