lappy problem, how to install windows?

TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 5 2006, 09:36 PM, updated 18y ago

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

i have a tablet TOSHIBA lappy.. but weird thing is, this thing doesnt support any optical device.. means must use USB doh.gif
any guide how to freshly install WinXP? oh ya, in BIOS, no option to boot from USB doh.gif
lucifah
post Jul 5 2006, 10:12 PM

St. Fu
7,932 posts

whatdaya mean "not support optical drives" ?

check your bios setup. perhaps the optical drives has been disabled or has been left out from the startup queue
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 6 2006, 12:09 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 5 2006, 10:12 PM)
whatdaya mean "not support optical drives" ?

check your bios setup. perhaps the optical drives has been disabled or has been left out from the startup queue
well, my lappy is those super slim 1.. means any optical device or floppy must use USB interface..
typicalsite
post Jul 6 2006, 12:25 AM

244 posts

is there any option in ur bios said "boot from other devices"?
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 6 2006, 04:15 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(typicalsite @ Jul 6 2006, 12:25 AM)
is there any option in ur bios said "boot from other devices"?
no.. thats y i need to ask y'll oppinion doh.gif
williamngwl
post Jul 7 2006, 02:25 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2006, 09:36 PM)
i have a tablet TOSHIBA lappy.. but weird thing is, this thing doesnt support any optical device.. means must use USB doh.gif
any guide how to freshly install WinXP? oh ya, in BIOS, no option to boot from USB doh.gif
sorry to tell u that your notebook have to use back toshiba own external optical drive to enable boot up from cd.any third party or other brand external optical drive wont boot up at all.
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 7 2006, 07:23 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Jul 7 2006, 02:25 AM)
sorry to tell u that your notebook have to use back toshiba own external optical drive to enable boot up from cd.any third party or other brand external optical drive wont boot up at all.
how sure u r wit this? means i must buy a toshiba external drive edi?
gerrard capashen
post Jul 7 2006, 10:33 AM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

never get my self a tablet to repair.. but if i not mistaken, they already giv u external optical rite.. can't use that?? what boot option do that tablet hv??

Daywalker
post Jul 7 2006, 04:07 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

Hmmm..... USB External CD ROM support should be ok, just change that setting at BIOS choose to USB CD ROM should be fine. sweat.gif
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 7 2006, 04:28 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Daywalker @ Jul 7 2006, 04:07 PM)
Hmmm..... USB External CD ROM support should be ok, just change that setting at BIOS choose to USB CD ROM should be fine. sweat.gif
told ya, no such option doh.gif
btw, it can boot floppy without any problem
Daywalker
post Jul 7 2006, 07:47 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

If no this type option on that laptop...... then say sorry to u liao...... Hmmm.....that's y call that lappy laptop...... yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Daywalker: Jul 7 2006, 07:51 PM
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 7 2006, 11:03 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Daywalker @ Jul 7 2006, 07:47 PM)
If no this type option on that laptop...... then say sorry to u liao...... Hmmm.....that's y call that lappy laptop...... yawn.gif
huh, lappy is shortcut for laptop la doh.gif
ndextreme
post Jul 7 2006, 11:05 PM

Retired From Doing Trading !! But Will Shop !!
1,249 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2006, 09:36 PM)
Portege ? Model Number Please..........And Is It a Pentium III ?
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 7 2006, 11:14 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ndextreme @ Jul 7 2006, 11:05 PM)
Portege ? Model Number Please..........And Is It a Pentium III ?
Toshiba PORTEGE 3500
yes, it is indeed P3.. can u help me?
ndextreme
post Jul 7 2006, 11:28 PM

Retired From Doing Trading !! But Will Shop !!
1,249 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 7 2006, 11:14 PM)
Toshiba PORTEGE 3500
yes, it is indeed P3.. can u help me?
Honest opinion the older Portege from 3110CT to 3500...the bridge of the optical drive is either from the PCMCIA or Toshiba Optical Drive. So in order to fresh install the OS u need either one of the drive to boot from the OS CD.........But these Toshiba PCMCIA / USB Drive are expensive.......Unless use this method :

1. Copy the entire XP CD folder under I386 to your 2nd partition of the HDD.
2. Use a start-up CD to boot the lappy to C Prompt.
3. Go to the 2nd partition where the I386 folder is located and start WINNT, the window should load and it will confirm the location of the I386 folder.
4. Then the XP should start the installation process.
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 8 2006, 12:22 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ndextreme @ Jul 7 2006, 11:28 PM)
Honest opinion the older Portege from 3110CT to 3500...the bridge of the optical drive is either from the PCMCIA or Toshiba Optical Drive. So in order to fresh install the OS u need either one of the drive to boot from the OS CD.........But these Toshiba PCMCIA / USB Drive are expensive.......Unless use this method :

1. Copy the entire XP CD folder under I386 to your 2nd partition of the HDD.
3. Go to the 2nd partition where the I386 folder is located and start WINNT, the window should load and it will confirm the location of the I386 folder.
4. Then the XP should start the installation process.
problem is, i couldnt load the cd drive doh.gif

0.0167sec    0.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:07 PM