Noise from door panel joint to Chasis, Kill of some weird Noises

TSjunfu1988
post Jan 13 2014, 03:12 PM, updated 12y ago

371 posts

Hi, just wanted to share some of the DIY on killing weird noises from the door panel. Hopefully it helps you on ur sound proofing project later on.

This is the solution to kill of the loose joint nuts on the door panel, where in my case, there's a buzzing sound when i crank up my head unit volume.

I did mine yesterday and it did kill some of the noise cause by these joint nuts.

Step 1: Remove the door panel from chasis and spot the joint nuts

Step 2: Remove the joint nuts from the holder

Step 3: Prepare yourself with scissor and the electrical tape.

Step 4: Cut the tape into small pieces where u gonna tape it on the holder of each joint nuts. Before that, do a half cut on the tape that you have cut out. That is to all the plastic joint nut to fit back to the holder.

Step 5: Tape it on the holder with the cut facing at the entry of the plastic joint nut.

Final Step: Push back the joint nuts into the holder and u will notice that it get tighter.

Do it on 4 doors and when turn up the volume, those buzzing sound are gone. I'm not refering to the rattling sound on chasis, is rattle sound, you have to perform a proper sound proof already.

Thanks and just to share the DIY i've done for my old altis. Hopefully this solution works on your old car as well.

Regards,
Foo

This post has been edited by junfu1988: Jan 13 2014, 03:15 PM
Lil Kiasu
post Jan 13 2014, 03:53 PM

Ok
723 posts

Okay thank you... rclxms.gif
TSjunfu1988
post Jan 13 2014, 04:06 PM

371 posts

result definitely not as good as a proper sound proofing...but...worth to try if your car having this loosen joint nuts noise
theanswer
post Jan 13 2014, 04:53 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Jan 13 2014, 04:06 PM)
result definitely not as good as a proper sound proofing...but...worth to try if your car having this loosen joint nuts noise
+1
true. loose plastic panel is the main culprit. annoying! biggrin.gif
dvinez
post Jan 13 2014, 05:05 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

thanks for the pictures and effort biggrin.gif
Berserker
post Jan 13 2014, 10:04 PM

i'm lovin' it
2,144 posts

-Delete due to wrong post-

This post has been edited by Berserker: Jan 13 2014, 10:12 PM
TSjunfu1988
post Jan 14 2014, 07:44 PM

371 posts

No problem. Just sharing
NINJIAO
post Jan 15 2014, 08:54 PM

214 posts

Just sharing my experience also

Lasttime i use electric tape to reduce the radio dashboard panel krik krek krik krek sound.

After use for 1 year, it came out super annoying high pitch yiiiit yeeeeekkk yiiikk yek. rubber rubbing rubber lor.

Not to mention those glue melted and need some elbow grease to clean them up.

End up i use paper masking tape to reduce the sound. so far 2 years already no sound. or it could be me using cheapo electric tape. tongue.gif
aromachong
post Jan 15 2014, 09:33 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Jan 13 2014, 03:12 PM)
Hi, just wanted to share some of the DIY on killing weird noises from the door panel. Hopefully it helps you on ur sound proofing project later on.

This is the solution to kill of the loose joint nuts on the door panel, where in my case, there's a buzzing sound when i crank up my head unit volume.

I did mine yesterday and it did kill some of the noise cause by these joint nuts.
Step 1: Remove the door panel from chasis and spot the joint nuts

Step 2: Remove the joint nuts from the holder

Step 3: Prepare yourself with scissor and the electrical tape.

Step 4: Cut the tape into small pieces where u gonna tape it on the holder of each joint nuts. Before that, do a half cut on the tape that you have cut out. That is to all the plastic joint nut to fit back to the holder.

Step 5: Tape it on the holder with the cut facing at the entry of the plastic joint nut.

Final Step: Push back the joint nuts into the holder and u will notice that it get tighter.

Do it on 4 doors and when turn up the volume, those buzzing sound are gone. I'm not refering to the rattling sound on chasis, is rattle sound, you have to perform a proper sound proof already.

Thanks and just to share the DIY i've done for my old altis. Hopefully this solution works on your old car as well.
Regards,
Foo
A tip for you : If you use double side tape, the result will be much much better! peel off the double tape cover and it works and the sound can reduce to 0% rather than using electrical tape/masking tape =)
Brijesh
post Jan 15 2014, 10:25 PM

25 posts

wonderful idea mate. I think the double sided tape that is thicker and has more foam / padding would do better job as well where is contact between plastic or body.

i tried soundproofing my car door with the roofing tar joints. it comes in a roll, sold at all hardware shops. it helped a lot. =]
aromachong
post Jan 15 2014, 10:51 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Brijesh @ Jan 15 2014, 10:25 PM)
wonderful idea mate. I think the double sided tape that is thicker and has more foam / padding would do better job as well where is contact between plastic or body.

i tried soundproofing my car door with the roofing tar joints. it comes in a roll, sold at all hardware shops. it helped a lot. =]
you mean its a kind of sticker that use to stick the roof? the cover is in silver colour one?
Brijesh
post Jan 15 2014, 11:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 15 2014, 10:51 PM)
you mean its a kind of sticker that use to stick the roof? the cover is in silver colour one?
yes bro. you got it right. to prevent water leaking at the roof. try it at rear wheel arch on the inner of the car. helps a lot. cheap solution la
TSjunfu1988
post Jan 16 2014, 11:03 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(Brijesh @ Jan 15 2014, 11:45 PM)
yes bro. you got it right. to prevent water leaking at the roof. try it at rear wheel arch on the inner of the car. helps a lot. cheap solution la
hey mate, actually i tried on the foam double sided...it too thick till i cant fit in the joint nuts... blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
leah235
post Jan 16 2014, 11:06 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

aromachong
post Jan 16 2014, 11:14 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Jan 16 2014, 11:03 AM)
hey mate, actually i tried on the foam double sided...it too thick till i cant fit in the joint nuts... blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
try use double side tape and peel off its cover. guarantee satisfication 100%
TSjunfu1988
post Jan 16 2014, 05:16 PM

371 posts

hahah...lets see anyone would have try that...
aromachong
post Jan 16 2014, 05:36 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Jan 16 2014, 05:16 PM)
hahah...lets see anyone would have try that...
i did it to all my 4 doors and now its quiet as baby breathe
TSjunfu1988
post Jan 20 2014, 04:04 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 16 2014, 05:36 PM)
i did it to all my 4 doors and now its quiet as baby breathe
good job....what car u driving anyway?
joefbi
post Jan 20 2014, 05:53 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

buruknya doortrim..the joint bracket only staple to the board?
cheekin36
post Jan 21 2014, 02:21 PM

Try use a flexible glue, silicone, or any type of glue that can glue together as well as fill up those loose area in between.

0.0289sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:27 PM