Porsche Cayman - recon, How exp is it to own a Porsche?

DrBarbarian
post Sep 22 2018, 10:08 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Suarez23 @ Sep 21 2018, 10:54 PM)
You sold yours? Why? Shared your experience bro.
got married... became a father... was time for the 2 seater to go....
Suarez23
post Sep 27 2018, 07:17 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Sep 22 2018, 10:08 AM)
got married... became a father... was time for the 2 seater to go....
Haizzz...same cerita with you too....own a Z4 2007-2010...married and sold..having so much fun with the car..Now backside itchy thought of getting my MOJO back since i have a SUV, a sedan for daily use.
Suarez23
post Sep 27 2018, 09:30 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(VK7 @ Sep 27 2018, 08:06 PM)
Z4 maintenance how. Expensive to maintain?. Durng that 4 years ownership, most expensive parts u change what?
Don't let the BMW brand scared you off....I use it as my weekend car la, drive out every weekend to party those days. Maintenance wise like normal car, service once a year or 20km which ever come first. But I service every 10k KM la. Is a 2.5, if not mistaken Rm300-400 i think. You just have to take it as a 2.5 litre car, same goes with all the Camry or Accord around that CC. 4 year ownership my only change is brake pad. Is a damn good car, no hassle and what so ever. Before i buy many people warn me about continental car this and that bla bla bla....some even say you'll lose money like hell, in chinese "SIT KOW SEI LEI" . The best part is, all this people are the one that never own a continental car before. Btw this Z4 is my first ownership of continental car, before that i was just driving buatan MSIA car. I'm happy with the ownership, not as what people said so scary, 2010 i sell my Z4...4yrs ownership i've lose 50k. So i think is still ok, cause my friend CAMRY 2.5 he sell also he lost around 50k.
After this experience with BMW car, I went and bought the X5, drive until now and still very happy with the X5. But the X5 road tax expensive la, other than that I'm very happy with it, when you bring your baby out you'll feel safe with the car. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Go ahead to to own one, you'll never regrets!

DrBarbarian
post Sep 27 2018, 11:03 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Suarez23 @ Sep 27 2018, 07:17 PM)
Haizzz...same cerita with you too....own a Z4 2007-2010...married and sold..having so much fun with the car..Now backside itchy thought of getting my MOJO back since i have a SUV, a sedan for daily use.
get a 4 seater sports car then!!
techm
post Oct 2 2018, 09:51 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Suarez23 @ Sep 22 2018, 02:01 AM)
Auto Mobile Garage reliable? Reasonable price?
I think they're quite experiences and reliable.
Prices seem reasonable to me too.

But honestly, "price" is hard for me to give any meaningful feedback, because I haven't really serviced any Porsches elsewhere before.

Suarez23
post Oct 4 2018, 08:24 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(techm @ Oct 2 2018, 09:51 AM)
I think they're quite experiences and reliable.
Prices seem reasonable to me too.

But honestly, "price" is hard for me to give any meaningful feedback, because I haven't really serviced any Porsches elsewhere before.
So how much u spend?

small-jeff
post Dec 18 2018, 10:40 AM

1,646 posts

Bump to thread

Been reading around 987.2 2.9L recently. Seems a very nice and reliable car

Anyone experienced in buying a used? How much downpayment is needed; 20% - 30%?
Dealus
post Jun 4 2020, 12:43 AM

97 posts

Hi guys, thinking of getting a 2015 Cayman 2.7 coupe (981) for weekend drive.

For those of you who owns one, how is the drive after passing the 5 years mark? Maybe plan to keep this for 5 years max.

That aside, there are a lot of these recon unregistered units floating in the market. Any tips dealing with recon dealers?

Btw, how much does it cost to hire a technician for car inspection?

This post has been edited by Dealus: Jun 4 2020, 01:01 AM
whitesmith
post Jun 19 2020, 08:23 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Dealus @ Jun 4 2020, 12:43 AM)
Hi guys, thinking of getting a 2015 Cayman 2.7 coupe (981) for weekend drive. 

For those of you who owns one, how is the drive after passing the 5 years mark? Maybe plan to keep this for 5 years max.

That aside, there are a lot of these recon unregistered units floating in the market. Any tips dealing with recon dealers?

Btw, how much does it cost to hire a technician for car inspection?
Me too, searching a cayman 981, apparently 2013-2015 model price almost the same ( base model ) , don't know how the recon dealer calculate the cost of depreciation over year, if there is no big difference on pricing, better get a newer year one, there's a cayman/boxster group to join in FB, u may get some tip there.
Propertylearner
post Jun 25 2020, 01:21 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jan 21 2014, 10:08 AM)
I wonder how much should I earn every month if i wanna buy a cayman? RM12k enough?  rolleyes.gif
12 k Toyota vios bro 😂😂🙏🙏🙏😂🙏😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
CcL
post Apr 29 2021, 11:15 AM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Dec 18 2018, 10:40 AM)
Bump to thread

Been reading around 987.2 2.9L recently. Seems a very nice and reliable car

Anyone experienced in buying a used? How much downpayment is needed; 20% - 30%?
did you end up getting one?

am looking at a 987.2 as well, believe prices have plateaued. is it really as reliable as everyone says it is? looking to daily it
small-jeff
post May 1 2021, 08:44 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(CcL @ Apr 29 2021, 11:15 AM)
did you end up getting one?

am looking at a 987.2 as well, believe prices have plateaued. is it really as reliable as everyone says it is? looking to daily it
No bro. Bought A35 instead lol
CcL
post May 2 2021, 12:36 PM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ May 1 2021, 08:44 PM)
No bro. Bought A35 instead lol
ah thx. haha anyways did went test drive a 987.2 base. could be just that car but felt slow and not that great.
SpiderMon68
post May 2 2021, 05:52 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(buyou12 @ Jan 18 2014, 11:20 PM)
Did u spend it to a specialist workshop or else where. Mind to share which workshop?

I am also kind of in the same dilemma cause a friend of mine is letting go his Cayman for a very very good price. Monthly is not a problem but maintenance is an issue.
Try Leo Sachetto's German Tech Motorworks at Kota Damansara. You can Google him up and say CY sent you.

Leo worked at the Stuttgart factory in his younger days, and he's one of the few Master Certified Porsche technicians in town. His garage is almost like a surgery, always clean, no black greasy floors and disciplines his staff for misplacing a bolt from a customer's car.

I did 2x Pre-Purchase Inspection (PPI) and service my Cayman there. He gives you option of either original Porsche parts or OEM which is 1/3 cheaper but just as good.

2007 Cayman would suffer from worn speed sensors which tends to snap off as they deteriorate. Water pump was changed for RM1,200 and my Continentals is now still very good at 35k kms (It's my daily driver). Also, if you go Leo's he's going to ask you to change the gearbox oil (book says 12 years max). I got mine via a private sale, a local delivery vehicle via Porsche Malaysia. Regular services around RM1k for oil change, filter, seal and nut.

Fun factor is high for sure. Chick magnet? I dont think so. Very very VERY few chicks turn their heads for my car, almost none. Mebbe is mah face. I've driven a 718 base 2014, fun but nothing as visceral as the 987.

Good luck in your search, half the fun is the shopping bit.
fish_hoo
post May 7 2021, 01:34 AM

158 posts

Hi sifu.

Wondering how much % of loan can get for Cayman. Heard only 50% of the value, is that true?

DS51
post May 9 2021, 01:22 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(CcL @ May 2 2021, 12:36 PM)
ah thx. haha anyways did went test drive a 987.2 base. could be just that car but felt slow and not that great.
just bought lor. porsche even if u lost, the win car will think, u not press full liao. in the eyes of malaysian. any porsche is faster than their car
Dealus
post May 9 2021, 10:18 PM

97 posts

If anyone selling their 987.2 or 981 cayman / boxster. Please pm me. Looking to buy directly from owners who has full service record

Thanks ya

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0216sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:56 AM