9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V11, #Condolences9MMRO :(

KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 08:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 17 2014, 08:27 PM)
Did they call the DCA to identify the aircraft?

Did they even challenge the plane? An aircraft without a transponder could be flying blind or having severe malfunctions. Was that even taken into account?
No, it should be the DCA calls the RMAF to identify the plane or track it where it was last seen on ATC radar
But in this case the ATC assume first the plane had crashed, and then the SAR was activated without considering the probability of hijack or takeover

For the million dollar question, military radar don't monitor commercial aircraft, and the blip they see in the radar is no different from any other commercial flight flying on that time

That's DCA's job as they have both approved route and flight plan

Thats why, DCA and military must link their data (route, flight plan and transponder data) in the future and better co-operation also
But this also would take a huge undertaking as new infrastructure (both mobile and static radar) to be done, and a centralized air defence command (NORAD equivalent) would certainly be built
KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 09:32 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 17 2014, 09:11 PM)
I mean, doesn't the military track unidentified aircraft? After 9/11, even commercial aircrafts can become a weapon of mass destruction. The military uses IFF right? If there is a plane that doesn't have a transponder, and doesn't display IFF, isn't that a cause of concern?
All modern commercial aircraft is equipped with IFF (Mode III)
That's how our military radar sees it, but it doesnt tell you anything more than that (other than it's a commercial flight)

After 9/11 the most proactive approach they have done is to embed an air marshall on american flights,
Thats probably more effective than having more radar to watch the planes
KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 09:54 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Mar 17 2014, 09:27 PM)
by reading ur post, this is what i understand:

1. The military radar does not display flight numbers nor flight details like they do on an ATC screen.

2. The MH370 blip the military saw on their radar screen appeared like any other normal flights, so they wouldn't have known any abnormalies.

Correct?

So my next question is, how does military know if the blip they see on their screens is a threat?
Flying silent without any identification
Not transmitting IFF even when interrogated, or recognized as foe
Approaching a restricted no-fly-zone or breaching minimum safe altitude (MSA) area
Flight pattern and radar return close to known fighter aircraft

There's lots more, but that is under MKN to determine
KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 10:13 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 17 2014, 09:57 PM)
I thought IFF is turned off when transponders are turned off right?
True, you can turn off the transponder from transmitting anything
but IFF system works by replying the radar return (interrogation)

Transponder data is transmitted
IFF data is not transmitted, instead it's interrogated by radar system
KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 10:20 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 17 2014, 10:16 PM)
However, in this case transponder is inactive and IFF fails to respond right?
The military radar positively identified the commercial plane, so I guess the IFF still works
KYPMbangi
post Mar 17 2014, 11:11 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 17 2014, 10:55 PM)
According to some posters, the military radar had ATR databases (probably a database of how a reflected radar signal can be translated to aircraft size/shape) that can positively identify the type of aircraft.
There's ways how military radar can identify a commercial plane, that's one of them
More advance radar can track infrared signature and ESM pulse to track planes
KYPMbangi
post Mar 18 2014, 02:02 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Mar 18 2014, 01:04 AM)
Regardless of who's fault it is, our military are now seen as inefficient, locally and internationally, and will now have to shoulder the blame. It's now too late to convince the world that the Malaysian military still has what it takes to protect this nation.

Quite frankly, I'm not too bothered what the world thinks. I am bothered by the fact that Malayian military ATC would gamble the nation's sovereignty and security by not confirming their suspicious with civilian ATC.

I hope MH370 incident will be the catalyst for change. Whether that change turns out badly or better will based entirely what the government's deicisons are.

CNN, NYT, other foreign press will now seek to find further weaknesses of the Malaysian military just to satiate their readers hunger. Only a matter of time before they find out several former military personnel flex their butts at some prominent figures. That story, if the press decides to publish, will surely their increase traffic views.
Why put much pressure on the military, is not in their jurisdiction to monitor commercial flight,
much less notice if anything wrong with a particular flight that is not informed by the ATC
KYPMbangi
post Mar 25 2014, 11:45 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(wanvadder @ Mar 25 2014, 11:43 AM)

Hari Polis 207. nanti aku upload lagi gambor
Nice, I thought this MRAP is for esscom? or for utk?
KYPMbangi
post Mar 25 2014, 11:58 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 25 2014, 11:46 PM)
they don't have to give raw data, they can just select the radar tracks for MH370 and give them out, it's not going to tell much about the radar capability.

if you give raw data of course la.
Giving out radar tracks is no better than giving the raw data, it's still classified

The closest we got is from thailand, and it is just from an oral presentation saying "Yeah, we saw the same thing as the malaysian did"
without quoting any radar reference and evidence to back that up, which amounts to nothing
KYPMbangi
post Mar 28 2014, 03:40 PM

39 posts

Indian cargo plane crashes

An Indian Air Force (IAF) C-130J Super Hercules

NEW DELHI: An Indian Air Force C-130J Hercules cargo plane crashed in the central state of Madhya Pradesh,
an Air Force spokesman said

A rescue operation was under way after the plane, a heavy lifter of a type made by U.S. Lockheed Martin Corp,
came down to the West of the city of Gwalior.

It was not known how many people were on board, the spokesman said. REUTER

[NST]
KYPMbangi
post Mar 30 2014, 10:15 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Mar 30 2014, 10:14 AM)
Bro...pass kt MH370 thread tu... sape nama ntah. Supersound kot...dia keep questioning why we as coordinator never send any asset there.
Oh.. tu butthurt troll mane ntah, biar ler
KYPMbangi
post Mar 31 2014, 07:05 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ET-Force @ Mar 31 2014, 06:45 PM)
KD Jebat at Indian ocean too?
I thought only Lekiu join the search.

That means we only have KD Kasturi play as frigate role in our waters?

Bold move by TLDM imo.
I think KD Jebat is still in the docks? under repair from a collision accident

Ask LTZ to confirm this
KYPMbangi
post Apr 4 2014, 04:43 PM

39 posts

I still like armed pc-7, we have lots of them why dun we just upgrade them

I think I saw some pics of them, but that was long time ago

This post has been edited by KYPMbangi: Apr 4 2014, 04:50 PM
KYPMbangi
post Apr 4 2014, 05:19 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Apr 4 2014, 05:06 PM)
why no use OV-10 bronco or Pucara?
I dun think they made bronco and pucara anymore?

The bronco got newer version OV-10x but no customers so far
KYPMbangi
post Apr 5 2014, 03:46 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Apr 5 2014, 10:36 AM)
The entire MH370 SAR budget is coming from Mindef coffer.
This is for Msia side cost.

Some purchase will be side line...
Operating expenditure and development expenditure is two different thing, one does not affect the other
KYPMbangi
post Apr 7 2014, 11:28 PM

39 posts

PhilAF To Study Multi Role Fighter Options

After a 9 year lull since PhilAF withdrew its ageing Northrop F-5 Freedom Fighter out of service in 2005,
the country now on its way to regain its supersonic jet aircraft capabilities. This comes after the Department
of National Defense (DND) announced that it will be acquiring a “multi-role fighter” (MRF) by 2018.

This was revealed by DND undersecretary for finance, modernization, installations, and munitions Fernando Manalo

2018 is the second phase of the Armed Forces of the Philippines Modernization Program.

During this period, the defense and military establishment will determine whether to acquire additional
units of the South Korean F/A-50 “Fighting Eagle” or go full stream with the acquisition of the MRFs to
enhance the country’s external defense capabilities.

Nevertheless, it has been reported earlier that the Philippines pilot prefer the Gripen jet-fighters to other
types (of fighter planes) because of its lower cost, yet armed with sophisticated latest stand-off long-range
anti-ship weapons and air-to-air missiles. This was based on a random interview conducted by the Philippines News Agency.

[Flying Herald]
KYPMbangi
post Apr 11 2014, 03:12 AM

39 posts

US House approves frigate sale to Taiwan

The US House of Representatives on 7 April authorised the sale to Taiwan of four Oliver Hazard Perry-class guided missile frigates.

The bill paves the way for the sale of USS Taylor , USS Gary , USS Carr , and USS Elrod to Taiwan under provisions laid out in the Taiwan Relations Act (TRA).

Authorisation of the sale comes as Taipei and Washington prepare to mark the 35th anniversary of the enactment of the TRA, which was signed on 10 April 1979.

The act obligates the United States "to provide Taiwan with arms of a defensive character", while allowing Washington to recognise Beijing and the "one China policy".

US lawmakers are also calling for legislation reaffirming the importance of the TRA under a Taiwan Relations Act Affirmation bill.

According to the bill, the TRA has been "instrumental in maintaining peace, security, and stability in the Western Pacific since its enactment in 1979" and it reaffirms Congress' "unwavering commitment to the [TRA] as the cornerstone of relations between the United States and Taiwan".

[Janes]

OHPs goes to taiwan.. huhu..
KYPMbangi
post Apr 15 2014, 10:29 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Apr 15 2014, 10:19 AM)
Thales UK Joins With Global Komited To Market Starstreak in Malaysia
source
I don't think we need another shorad missile..
KYPMbangi
post Apr 15 2014, 06:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Apr 15 2014, 05:57 PM)
Kita boleh jadi kuat....kalau make right decision. So my decision... collaborate everything dengan turkey...they have everything....I mean everything.
I'm interested on their indigenous altay tank

KYPMbangi
post Apr 15 2014, 06:30 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Apr 15 2014, 06:23 PM)
These is a very heavy tank.
I prefer type 10 mbt.
Hehe just buy it.. then say same pretext as the indon, heavy tank for fibua, light tank for anywhere else

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0532sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:24 AM