7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.

E-J@1
post Jun 1 2008, 09:11 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

haha, damn fugly case

for certainly its gonna be cheaper than SG03

i would go for SG03 anytime smile.gif
E-J@1
post Jun 2 2008, 07:31 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(kltower4 @ Jun 2 2008, 05:05 PM)
Hey guys, I like some opinion from you all sifu here. Here's the story, one fine day (at night actually tongue.gif)... My SN95G5 mobo died for the 2nd time. sad.gif

Since I can't RMA it already, I decided to build a new PC. The dilemma starts here. After building the new PC, I have left over parts:

- AMD A64 CPU
- AGP Graphics card
- 1GB DD2 400 RAM
- DVD Driver

I'm thinking of building a cheap HTPC out of these parts. Problem is... not many new M-atx boards support socket 939. Not to mention, AGP cards are like dino age already.

Therefore... "To build or not to build? That's the question?" Do you think it's feasible to build a HTPC out of the parts about. I'm having a budget of RM1K like that to play around. Please advice me!!!  rclxub.gif
sell off ur stuff, then buy a new one lor + the money u got from selling those stuff

btw, do tell me if u manage to find a 939 board

been searching like crazy, no one selling it anymore (except those 2nd hand lor)
E-J@1
post Jun 3 2008, 06:34 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 3 2008, 05:26 PM)
This would be bice addition for mAtx setup loh .. .

Can't wait for it to be launched .....

why don't u go for Qmicra^2 wub.gif instead of Lian Li?

can fit lotsa stuff

but it ain't small as V450 ler smile.gif

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 3 2008, 05:33 PM)
Doom...what mobo is that? whats the product name?....I'm planning to grab a G35...but this looks sweet...
P45 chipset

name! DFI, model number! me dunno tongue.gif

anyway, i thougt DFI gonna make Xfire mobo base on ATI chipset

guess its Intel P45, but is it gonna be 16x2 or 8x2? hmm.gif
E-J@1
post Jun 12 2008, 06:10 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 12 2008, 06:02 PM)
@kujaboyde
Did I ?? u were the one that had been using SFF before ...

Anyway I've got my setup ready .. will update photo once I'm satisfied with the photo ...
u serious? i mean ur sff rig completed already?

mobo using the dfi one?

cant wait for it, just upload it la laugh.gif

btw, u found any links to a worklog or tutorial on how to mod dvd-rom bezel on pc-v350 brows.gif

already search through mill-$-PC, the link provided doesn't have any pics of the pc-v350 setup doh.gif
E-J@1
post Jun 12 2008, 06:27 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 12 2008, 06:15 PM)
E-J@1
I've finished setting up the case for sure but with Asus P5E VM HDMI.

I settled with that board due to the placement of CPU socket, graphic and sound card that is easier to manage.

I won't want to run crossfire in such as small setup so I'd pass on that DFI mobo even though I love it ..

Officially no crossfire now .. .brows.gif

MDPC V350
haha, thanx, just need the owner's name

some googling look what i found brows.gif

original thread: Link

scythe cooler fitted rclxm9.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 6:28 pmtoo bad, they just cut & glued the rom bezel on to the case sad.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jun 12 2008, 06:28 PM
E-J@1
post Jun 13 2008, 06:15 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Jun 13 2008, 05:25 PM)
wow Doom! u are using my dream ASUS mobo,damn expensive la tat baby,i have a question, what is the air flow direction of ur processor cooler?
from top to bottom aka push configuration

how i know? i spotted the fan's power wire flex.gif

do correct me if i'm wrong doom
E-J@1
post Jun 13 2008, 09:00 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Jun 13 2008, 06:28 PM)
if from top to bottom,then the psu's fan is suck out ,will it cause some 'air flow' problem between them?becoz they are  'face to face ':hmm:
yup, it will cause air turbulence

but as long the temps are down who cares laugh.gif
E-J@1
post Jun 15 2008, 08:19 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 15 2008, 01:22 AM)
@BurgerRI
Pretty expensive at UK .. at MY cost about RM380
RM388 to be exact (just bought 1 unit last week)
E-J@1
post Jun 15 2008, 05:30 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 15 2008, 05:23 PM)
@E-J@1
Still a better price than getting it here at UK .... hmm.gif

So what's gonna be inside of this babe of yours ?

Quad, 4GB and 1TB ?
haha, no la, its not mine

bought it for my lil bro

just ordinary hardwares inside since he's not into gaming
E-J@1
post Jun 17 2008, 07:39 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Bleed_X @ Jun 17 2008, 03:40 PM)
abang doom, just wanna ask sumthin. if ah lian v600 (not matx small but small oso la) use silverstone NT-06 fanless, the heat exhausted using psu fan, can oc kaw2 or not?
can but first, u have to change the psu's fan, change it to those high cfm

i'm saying 300cfm, then only the cooler can be use passively

QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 17 2008, 05:07 PM)
Better not, NT-06 isn't a very very impressive passive cooler ...

It could support moderate OC ... given lower ambient temperature...

NT-06 is widely used by foreign forumer in their rig for SFF setup .. .

Even with their lower ambient around 21-22c ... it could only support 10 to 20% of OC .. depend on the CPU heat level as well ....

Mainly because PSU fan won't be as efficient as a case fan ....
2nd that

already tried it b4

with our hot climate its impossible to OC kaw2
E-J@1
post Jun 24 2008, 11:29 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 23 2008, 10:55 PM)
SG02F is the best-est tongue.gif

IF you don't care about plastic and SECC (it's better for dampening HDD vibration anyway) lar.

SG03 is very limited in terms of what you can put in it AND it's hard to work with.

SG02 pulak take cares of all the SG01's weakness and just make it cheaper.
i would go for SG01-F than SG02-F whistling.gif

SG01-F got alu front panel ma + SG02 front panel kinda ugly laugh.gif

QUOTE(Lacus @ Jun 24 2008, 12:11 AM)
prefer something solid..something fully aluminum =/...LOL...LIAN LI >_<
u want solid case:
Lian Li PC-V300
Lian Li PC-V350
SilverStone SG01
SilverStone SG02
PC Lab Design QMicra

SilverStone SG03 --> no no no, flimsy, not that solid like SG01/02 series

E-J@1
post Jun 24 2008, 12:28 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 24 2008, 11:54 AM)
In a way:

SG01F
- Easier to match DVD drive
- The look last longer as aluminum is timeless
- Lighter aluminum = vibration noise

SG02F
- Cleaner lines. Actually I prefer this look
- Plastic sad.gif
- Less vibration
you mean teh front panel?

man u should weigh SG01 front panel, damn heavy laugh.gif

the only difference is the front panel

SG01-F = Aluminum front panel Link
SG02-F = ABS & acrylic front panel Link

both SG01/02-F have SECC body & layout

E-J@1
post Jun 24 2008, 02:00 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Jun 24 2008, 12:50 PM)
i think he mean the internal alluminium bone i guess...
is kinda light, but not so noisy smile.gif

The front panel, finish with a lovely brush... smile.gif

flex.gif  SG01~~~
lol, that SG01

i'm talking bout SG01-F Link

no alu there except its front panel
E-J@1
post Jun 24 2008, 06:13 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 24 2008, 02:33 PM)
I meant the HDD cage. Mmmm... I didn't know the SG01-F have SECC body.
hmm.gif looks SECC to me

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 24 2008, 02:33 PM)
I thought the pics were just wrong on silverstone's website. Also noticed that some of the SG01-F's pic has the old chrome frame around the 5" bay while another pic doesn't.
this pic sure prove SG01-F is a constructed SECC body

E-J@1
post Jun 26 2008, 06:31 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Jun 25 2008, 11:35 PM)
Lian Li launches Tyr X2000 gaming tower
TAIWAN’S LIAN-LI has unveiled what appears to be its sexiest HTPC/Gaming Chassis to date with the Tyr X2000.

Apparently designed to allow its owners to get at their optical drives and hard drives from the side panels themselves, the Tyr X2000 is also built to look sleek, shiny and make minimal noise. Like the ideal girlfriend.

The six hot-swappable RAID SATA bays mean there’s also plenty of room to store films, with the company boasting capacity for “terabytes of multimedia”.

The enclosure doesn’t lack multimedia ports either, coming complete with four USB 2.0 ports, a Firewire (IEEE1394), an E-SATA, and a HD AC97 Audio port. The motherboard tray is purportedly removable and ‘holey’ to allow for CPU cooling.

With a Micro-ATX motherboard, enough space for no less than eight PCI cards, two 80 mm exhaust fans and water cooling, we’re beginning to understand why Lian Li didn’t include a price listing in the press release. µ

more pictures
http://www.engadget.com/photos/lian-lis-ty...n-black/879707/
why do u posted here la doh.gif

its not even small

& btw, its old news, someone already posted this way back
E-J@1
post Jun 29 2008, 07:08 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jun 29 2008, 01:26 PM)
Anyone know if any local supplier in KL sells this?

me already grab 2 units of it

1 black & 1 silver brows.gif
E-J@1
post Jul 1 2008, 10:10 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Jun 30 2008, 10:42 PM)
if i not mistaken, the clearance between mobo n psu around 10cm..experience from my v300 last time..u also have to consider when sliding the mobo tray back inside the casing..im still searching picture shown cm geminII can fit at v300 or v350(correct me if im wrong) without fan on it means u make it passive
yup, GeminII can fit into V300/V350 (but fanless la)

if its fit in SG03, sure hell it could fit in V300/V350 brows.gif

E-J@1
post Jul 3 2008, 06:34 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(tungkw @ Jul 3 2008, 12:02 AM)
Is the temperature high without CPU fan? What CPU are you using?
the temps will be higher without CPU fan

QUOTE(syahirax @ Jul 3 2008, 12:32 AM)
reading this thread day by day is absolutely poisoning.i was wondering too,how does gemini perform if without any fan?
trust me u don't want to do passive cooling here (Malaysia)

@ kujaboyde

wah, me kena poison pulak

the owner should have use those yate loon slim thin fans on GeminII brows.gif

err, yate loon 120mmx20mm fans iirc
E-J@1
post Jul 17 2008, 06:38 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jul 15 2008, 07:13 PM)
btw, Doom, how did you get a blue LED????
check the power led pins again

my best bet is that u plug it wrongly

nice setup btw wink.gif
E-J@1
post Jul 22 2008, 10:17 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Jul 22 2008, 03:15 AM)
got place to breath le the gemin? hmm.gif summore fan from psu suck air,
wont be much useful for me.. hmm.gif
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 22 2008, 04:10 AM)
haha myb u can put 1 unit blow to hsf another unit under psu make it suck from hsf to psu laugh.gif
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 22 2008, 04:12 AM)
huhu,byk nyer kipas..kompem bising. rclxub.gif
GeminII got a lil brother u know brows.gif

Geminii S brows.gif less 1 heat-pipe, shorter than GeminII, using only 1x120mm fan

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jul 22 2008, 10:19 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0540sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:16 AM