Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.2, - Size doesn't matter.

hypermax
post Sep 28 2008, 11:41 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Sep 28 2008, 11:37 PM)
pkturs plss biggrin.gif
picture for??
hypermax
post Sep 28 2008, 11:49 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Sep 28 2008, 11:43 PM)
yea, i also notice this thread is housed by v350  laugh.gif

sugo quite famous too, but not here.
didn't see any other sugo user reportin' in here for long time dy..
sg01 , sg01-evo , sg02 , sg03.  any1?

i went for sugo, mainly due to its size & weight
sugo carries title of being the lightest & smallest footprint , among all SFF.
Are you sure about this? Any source to back up your claim?
No offense, just curious.
hypermax
post Sep 29 2008, 12:04 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Sep 29 2008, 12:02 AM)
i think i can't post all specs of SFF in here right?  laugh.gif

anyway, before i build my current rig.,
i did a survey on all sff case, last year.

so, i can safely say that.  icon_rolleyes.gif
unless you put m-itx case into count.  laugh.gif
I thougt all SFF are for m-atx?

Also, which sugo are you talking about? There are many different sugo.
hypermax
post Sep 29 2008, 12:12 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Sep 29 2008, 12:08 AM)
afaik, sugo series only those i stated right?
01, 02 ,03.
still got more?

anyway, originally.. SFF term is only for m-itx setup.
but then, vendors start to come out with matx case and call it as SFF.
Miss out one, Sugo 04.
I mean is there a particular model you are talking about? cuz i am building a SFF rig for friend.

Opps, read wrongly. I thought you wrote mATX in the previous post. blush.gif
hypermax
post Sep 29 2008, 09:21 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Sep 29 2008, 12:14 AM)
im ex-sugo sg03 user..what i dont like bout it really headache for cable management
QUOTE(phunkydude @ Sep 29 2008, 12:21 AM)
try sg03 if ur fren want the smallest footprint of SFF.
it's a tad bit heavier than sg01, but still @ a mere 3.5kg of weight.
sg01 & 02 , weighs lighter but bigger footprint.

& another thing is that, although sg03 'looks' bigger than sg01
they actually got the very same/close cubic weight. (so, it's eye problem only. tongue.gif)
yea, i agree  laugh.gif
i starts to think ST50e is a must to pair it up nicely.
I guess that's the reason why we dun see many sugo 03 around. I hate the PSU placement especially. Not only it limits the choice of cooler, but also the cumbersome cable management.

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Sep 29 2008, 12:46 AM)
get a CM elite 340 instead....cheaper n exactly the same... icon_idea.gif
only difference is the front panel n vent holes.good 4 modding as well!!!

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?...8&highlight=SFF
Thanks for the suggestion. However, still think TJ08 looks better. What's the price for elite 340?

QUOTE(xk2 @ Sep 29 2008, 12:54 AM)
ur fren know about computer things ot not ? personally i think choosing an eyes catching casing such as v350  sure will make ur fren satisfy biggrin.gif  becoz if ur fren seldom touch the inside part,not user frendly is not a problem ma. biggrin.gif
Yup, he knows a thing or two. Not sure whether he will change hardware often or not.
hypermax
post Sep 29 2008, 07:56 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Sep 29 2008, 02:27 PM)
price 4 TJ08 around 330 if not mistaken...
CM 340 sells not more than 130 average...
LYN got a few members selling them such as NGBH etc...try the search
i got mine 4rm cycom @ 130
yah i like tj08 as well...but my wallet not like em heheh...
n for ur info TJ08 is not full aluminum only front panel...d'oh doh.gif
Yup, i know only the front panel is aluminum. But it looks really classy in my opinion.

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Sep 29 2008, 05:40 PM)
haha nobody asking about the SG04 ka?
im getting mine next month.
the only concern of mine is the motherboard to pair with it.
Well, it looks kinda shocking.gif to me. Prefer 03 if i have to choose between them.

QUOTE(Volt @ Sep 29 2008, 06:12 PM)
how much does SG04 cost bro? same price as SG03?
I think should be slightly cheaper, coz not full alu. Btw, what's the handle made of? If alu means it will be freaking expensive.
hypermax
post Sep 29 2008, 08:42 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Sep 29 2008, 08:28 PM)
SG04 flowerhorn wahahahaha
stunned when 1st time saw it during computex.. i tot modded SG03 hoho
Yeah, flower horn. lol.
Looks a bit like big daddy from bioshock to me though. biggrin.gif
hypermax
post Sep 30 2008, 11:01 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Sep 30 2008, 09:58 AM)
hypermax: Y dun u consider the COolermaster 541 as an alternative to the TJ08 ?

http://www.coolermaster.com/products/produ...tbcate=17&id=27

I'm not sure about the black color version, but i built 1 using the silver unit for my gf, the front mesh is black though, and the front panel is made of alu. Nice to the touch, below RM 150 for the price. Its in inverted ATX for, everything looks good for me, just the only complain is the HDD hardly gets proper cooler. Have to put additional fan to blow it.

I think some CM sellers will have stock for it like moderno, me and ngbh, others might not have this option.  blush.gif I din mean to promote myself here. laugh.gif
Thanks for the recommendation. However, i think Elite 340 and TJ08 look better. Also, i prefer the internal layouts for both Elite 340 and TJ08. Easier cable management.
No offense. Personal preference. smile.gif
hypermax
post Sep 30 2008, 08:13 PM

2,524 posts

Bro xk2, wanna ask you, is there a height limit for the cooler for your microfly case?
hypermax
post Oct 1 2008, 09:44 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Sep 30 2008, 09:34 PM)
hmmm,this case got mobo tray oso,height limit should be ok if u install the cooler after slide the mobo tray into casing hmm.gif i show u some picture,u agak agak,coz i dun have after market cooler sweat.gif  actually i am oso very curious to see somebody to put tower cooler inside this casing with intel platform.but all thermaltake orb series except DUO ORB can fit in this casing without problem,and zalman 8700LED.other i not very sure.i hope OCZ Gladiator can fit

Added on September 30, 2008, 9:47 pm

yo,ur hardware spec so geng,4ghz on air for u sap sap water la laugh.gif
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 1 2008, 12:19 AM)
but i think this is for an AMD setup.... source http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/509973/+220 u can still use the orb on an intel setup coz another forumer "Mayor" is using the orb on an E7200 + XqBox.source http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/701124/+20 i know hes using a 7200 coz i PMed him about it

Added on October 1, 2008, 12:25 amdoh.gif sheesh....forgive the messiness of the post...my moms laptop damn screwy ler... it just auto formats the damn text doh.gif
That means i was wrong. There is limitation for the choice of CPU cooler. Haiz. sweat.gif

How the performance of the orb? Is it just another hyped up product from thermaltake or it does have some muscles?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 1 2008, 09:46 AM
hypermax
post Oct 1 2008, 02:19 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Oct 1 2008, 11:43 AM)
the orb is a downright lousy cooler.
simple as that cause look at the construction of that thing. there isnt anything special besides the colour and the LED
i know scythe has a few low profile heatsinks now
Hmm i see. Can you pls recommend a good low profile cooler then? Thanks.

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 1 2008, 01:07 PM)
Scythe Shuriken and Zipang are drool.gif  But dunno how's the performance only.

Here's something i'm looking forward from Thermalright:

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,645245/N...ticle_id=645245

I saw it in ads over in Custompc mag yesterday, surely suitable for HTPC, and with 6 sexy heatpipes brows.gif
Scythe's coolers look cool. However, their performance is nothing to shout about according to many reviews, and they are freaking expensive as well.

As for Thermalright, i am still not convinced due to the uneven contact surface issue which has plagued many of its cooler. Also, the price is shocking.gif

QUOTE(xk2 @ Oct 1 2008, 01:50 PM)
The orb series is not an idea cooler despite the looks,thats why it has various colour and pattern such as temperture reading on the BLUE ORB FX.But this cooler has been use in the MSI Iron Tech Overclocking Competition recently,forumer such as Coolice ,Superfly and other are able to clock their E7200 to 4ghz on air with this cooler but of course other part such as mobo and ram oso important,maybe can ask them about the performance of this cooler hmm.gif
according to review,the Scythe Shuriken and Zipang  has nothing to shout out if compare with other performance cooler,its main selling point is silent and targeting HTPC/SFF with the performance that better than intel stock cooler. hmm.gif

the themalright cooler is 140mm right ? haiz,unable to use again in microfly. cry.gif
Wow, that means the cooler is not bad at all, given its size.
Perhaps i should consider it.

hypermax
post Oct 1 2008, 02:39 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Oct 1 2008, 02:30 PM)
thermalright is also freaking expensive sweat.gif  can buy 2 thermaltake orb with one thermalright cooler laugh.gif
Yeah man, freaking expensive and the temperature results are not consistent from one cooler to another. However, without the uneven surface issue, thermalright is no doubt the king of air cooling.

Added on October 1, 2008, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 1 2008, 02:27 PM)
Its true that both Scythe are not very  drool.gif in reviews, i have a unit of the shuriken,hoping to try it out soon.

For the blue orb, actually, its quite a good cooler considering the price and it's size for a SFF. At least i think its worth the effort to cool most proc sufficiently on oc. But the downside is just the noise from its fan, coz in SFF / HTPC, noise level should b kept to the minimal in my opinion.
Wow you actually got your hand on it? Faster test it dude. Really interested to know how it perform under Malaysian temperature.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 1 2008, 02:40 PM
hypermax
post Oct 1 2008, 11:54 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 1 2008, 10:26 PM)
the thing with TR's base is not a plague or wat la....its actually their choice to design the heatsinks that way....

reason being the CPUs (dunno which one) are curved in, so the TR's base are curved out the match the CPU...

or something like that....read it in an article somewhere...

i think it was one of the IFX's review....
but then ah.....which CPU nowadays has the curving in thingy? now all i see are flat...
That why it has become an issue which plague TR's flagship cooler. Many reported much better results with the base lapped.
Btw, madman, you are using one right? How's the temp?
hypermax
post Oct 2 2008, 03:30 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 2 2008, 03:38 AM)
yeah me using IFX for my gaming rig Q6600 @ 3.0 with stock vcore...

open case the temps about mid-high 30s in AC room...
close case i forgot liao.....
not using the belakang mari cooler coz cant fit in my case...
Idle or full load?
hypermax
post Oct 2 2008, 03:47 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Oct 2 2008, 03:41 PM)
i think it is idle la,wah,if full load at 30c ,then IFX really geng liao,RM3xx worth kao kao.wuahahaha
yeah true, lol. If full load 30C, i think RM400 also i buy man. biggrin.gif
hypermax
post Oct 2 2008, 08:46 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Oct 2 2008, 04:36 PM)
If full load 30c blink.gif  all WC company can ta pao go home eat themselves liao doh.gif  sweat.gif  whistling.gif  tongue.gif
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Oct 2 2008, 06:58 PM)
Go to winter country icon_rolleyes.gif
Believe me, once i brought my Shuttle XPC with AMD Athlon 64 in it to Taiwan during autumn. The idle temp in Msia was around 50C, but when in Taiwan, only 25C shocking.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 2 2008, 07:38 PM)
idle la....

i dont load it that often except for games so i couldnt be bothered with load temps...

plus during gaming the temps would be the last thing i look at man tongue.gif
Lol. So how is it compared to your last cooler?
hypermax
post Dec 16 2008, 11:23 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Dec 16 2008, 06:51 PM)
Any rich man here wan to try this ? X58 based SFF  brows.gif

DFI LP JR X58-T3H6
Damn, this mobo is going to cost a bomb. sweat.gif
hypermax
post Dec 26 2008, 11:12 PM

2,524 posts

That is seriously a beauty. Wonder how it will perform.
hypermax
post Jan 1 2009, 01:15 AM

2,524 posts

From the review, it performs worse than intel stock cooler.
Any idea how much is it? Dun think it's worth the extra bucks though. Might as well use the stock cooler.
hypermax
post Jan 8 2009, 08:07 PM

2,524 posts

silvestone SG05 looks nice. Too bad it's not fully aluminum.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0479sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:39 AM