LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V4, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

vios2002
post Jan 15 2014, 01:37 PM

167 posts

wah now we in V4... good to see some new member joining..

i facing some issue on brake pad... my brake pad change color from black to some part is copper / orange color.
vios2002
post Jan 15 2014, 02:09 PM

167 posts

Nope cause of over heat...
vios2002
post Jan 15 2014, 07:05 PM

167 posts

new 3rd gen share same anti roll bar?
vios2002
post Jan 17 2014, 05:21 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Jan 17 2014, 11:12 AM)
it was really good. very low cabin NVH. Engine revving sound is very minimal unless you rev it up till >6k.

Handling is flex yet you can feel how well it stick to the road upon whacking corners. To make it more subtle, i installed rear ARB and front strut.

it was running on 215/45/17... then i changed to their famous Y Front rims which wears 205/50/16.

Still good grip and provide superb handling. It was 16' when its stock.

However, bad luck strike and i crashed it badly --> total lost.

The Crash:

I was really emotionally attached to this ride. The moment i crashed it... i was speechless... worst day of my life. However, it saved me. The strong chassis really served its purpose as high safety rating car.
bro sad to hear that how fast you was taking that corner? looking at it your rear wheel step out to oversteer then lost it right?
vios2002
post Jan 20 2014, 12:39 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Jan 17 2014, 06:18 PM)
Understeer and lost front grip upon entering a hairpin corner.
limited purchase budget.
My front lost grip and skidded upon hitting a wooden block.

I was riding 100+ at a 40km speed limit corner.

It's the hairpin corner from Kesas to Seremban Highway route, right after Carrefour Sri Petaling.
ok.. i had once same as happen to you i was had take this same corner few time and about same speed 130 at 40kmh zone..... but that day was run out of luck... car when oversteer manage to counter then 1 wheel on grass understeer then flip and landed...

after all the documentation done send suspension for checking ...it dint damage or leaking for the impact i done...

till now got new car still push push... once was in genting pushing starlet GT turbo downhill...
vios2002
post Jan 22 2014, 07:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 20 2014, 10:37 PM)
Plotong GaGa tered, ayam 1 of the owner there. That side lots of mat rempit, borrow you post to alert them shit can happen.
Roxy,

I don't mean to say your car fly. I'm saying, it can possibly caused by evasive maneuver. I have very good experience in accident investigation(been stuck with this job for years), and also fair slice of autocross experience. From what I saw in the pictures posted, that is clearly the entrance of Seremban hiway connected Kesas exit from Endah Parade direction. That place is a well know UNDERSTEER setup due to the idiotic speed breaker, also the road condition was slant FROM the LEFT to the RIGHT. Usually, if you keep your car on the RIGHT lane, you'll have better grip due to the road setting, so you have more lateral tolerance from your left wheel. But your case is, you're doing 100+ at the LEFT lane, which induce extreme understeer at such condition.

I'm not saying it's NOT the WOOD. It could be tyre start giving up(and it's the wood in your case), as an ordinary driver will ease off the gas pedal trying to gain grip(probably stab on the brake at the same time when RELEASE GAS PEDAL - technically call it lift off). When this being applied, majority of the rear weight will be shifted infront, hence the car spun into the LEFT side instead of right. Do remember, now majority of the weight being transferred to the FRONT LEFT, as your car hit the road shoulder, the only physics you can anticipate is the rear left wheel get lifted off, the rest of the story can fill in the blanks already.

Anyway, here's some reading about lift-off oversteer from wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lift-off_oversteer

Case study #1

Case study #2

wah david you so pro... some time we cant avoid if wet road still manage to control but that also depend on what speed we taking but if oil on the road then just hope the worse will not happen.

dry road is easy to control if understeer as long as dont panic....
vios2002
post Jan 24 2014, 09:06 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 22 2014, 10:21 PM)
Many a times the understeer we experienced in our car(even if the's WET condition) is not irrecoverable because the tyre traction was designed way beyond what we experienced. I'm trying to simplify some technical thing here so you can understand it well.

1) Turning right corner, lateral weight pushing the left wheel out, as a result CAMBER THRUST to the left, understeer to the right
2) Tyre screech too loud, seeing cannot cope with the speed, jump the gas pedal
3) Transmission sense left wheel on the ground, right wheel need more torque, differential use the left wheel to spin up the right wheel. From understeer become oversteer
4) Driver seen the car suddenly oversteer, scared jump the cliff, hit the wall, car, dog, bike or anything on the right immediately countersteer to the left kao kao
5) Since the left tyre is currently on CAMBER THRUST, there's nothing the steering can do much about it, and driver become even panic because the tyre is not reacting, so KICK on the brake pedal
6) When brake kicks in, majority of the weight from the back of the car will be transfer to the front.

Conclusion: With a full left steering lock + weight being shifted from the back to the front + having camber thrust to the left. We've finally made up an irrecoverable OVERSTEER

Now, finally I can answer your question if you did grind through the above. In wet condition, you don't hear tyre screeching sound. You going over speed also don't know. Again, the tyre will still have decent wet traction, but it's even easier to make it spin if you jump the gas pedal and stab the brakes. Usually, if you're already heavily understeer, just continue negotiate your steering and GRADUALLY relief your gas pedal until suitable speed. Last but not least, you wouldn't wanna hear this, I was once below 25 year old, buy insurance also kena loading. Instead of adrenaline rush, I fuel up my blood with octane. Being a male, and below 25 that 2 factor is already troublesome, couple with a CAR will be a perfect combination of overspeed. Drive steadily my friend. I didn't ask you to hog on the main road at 40kph, just trying to enjoy the car.
wah bro you are so technical in my driving history experience before understeer, oversteer from dry & wet road and know how to recover from there... insurance loading or some even they black list you from buying is a normal case when your age is young and past history of accident.

by the way what car you driving now and till date how many mileage you have done so far.

vios2002
post Jan 24 2014, 07:26 PM

167 posts

wah davidke20 sad to hear that some bad experience happen to you... Gen 1 vios is good model...

i like your reply on technique part... i never came across got member car reply so good. For me i like to adventure, challenge from sport to driving now mostly target how to archive better FC even so engine history is reaching 150k mileage.

how to have good traction in wet road during cornering for medium speed 60kmh ~ 90kmh enter and exit corner beside change to good tire, suspension, chassis, anti roll bar?

happy hunting for your car...

vios2002
post Jan 25 2014, 12:31 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 24 2014, 08:00 PM)
Need to know your vacuum in order to achieve good FC. I can teach u how to cheap mod to gain ultimate grip to tapau most vios across the country in corner without flying to the moon, but you're not going to like the look of the car yawn.gif
Ha ha vacuum is the old school tips to monitor FC as long as vacuum reading is required between range. ...

I think you still dint get my question... install wing to make your car good traction this is not the answer I'm looking for. Any way happy learning...
vios2002
post Feb 16 2014, 11:17 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Edwardlew @ Feb 15 2014, 10:24 PM)
Anyone encounter Air-con magnetic clutch problem? is this problems causes the air cond blowing hot air? anyone can recommend how a good workshop with reasonable price in KL ,subang jaya ?

thank you
I have the same issue after mileage about 130k km, this is normal for wear and tear. Had the magnetic clutch replace market got 2 version. 1 so call cheap no brand cost less the RM 200 and another is ori from Dens cost less then RM 350 both exclude install, labour, air con gas.

If hot air mostly is magnetic pull but if really bad luck some time it can be compressor.

Mostly any car air conditioning shop can do this job try look for those with vacuum service system and refill oil this may help u prolong ur compressor and air conditioning is colder.

This post has been edited by vios2002: Feb 16 2014, 11:18 AM
vios2002
post Feb 23 2014, 11:10 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Feb 23 2014, 02:57 PM)
Via OBD port?

I just got 1 autospeed lock include delivery around RM 100

vios2002
post Feb 24 2014, 12:57 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Feb 24 2014, 12:05 AM)
Tat will not work on the new vios
QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Feb 24 2014, 09:09 AM)
for latest Vios?
your taking the risk by tapping wires even the car still in warranty period? sweat.gif
thats what i have in mind... biggrin.gif
Bro I'm not sure but install and tested on the last batch vios odd connecter. . It works...

My understanding previous gen and new vios use same engine and ecu system should be the same even most of the sensors is the same.

If you worry I can borrow for you to test out.

vios2002
post Feb 24 2014, 02:54 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Feb 24 2014, 01:05 PM)
its via OBD??

i did check with another seller on this kind of device, he said the latest Vios OBD head is different hence need to wait.
Yes via ODB2 connection, don't get con small car like vios manufacturer will not change the connector ODB2 is a universal connection for OE maker. Even Mercedes also use same connector.
vios2002
post Feb 25 2014, 12:12 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Feb 24 2014, 10:19 PM)
Wait , now are we talking about the last batch or thelatest vios. Last batch yes. If the latest vios , I doubt
Boss I'm not going to debate on this as I say if not sure can be or can't be never mind ... can used my autospeed odb2 tested it out.

Myself I have a odb2 reader tested it on different car all works on reading information live from ecu.

I'm not selling this autospeed lock but sharing info.

vios2002
post Feb 26 2014, 09:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(janggutbiru @ Feb 26 2014, 10:47 AM)
a dealer told me that it would damage your ecu unit if its not compatible. but i dont know. how was it?
  sweat.gif i wont take the risk.
bro check with you does ODB2 connector does? i dare to challenge ur dealer if it able damage
vios2002
post Apr 3 2014, 11:42 AM

167 posts

wah recently see alot guy go genting practice ... be careful
vios2002
post Apr 3 2014, 07:58 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Lil'omni @ Apr 3 2014, 12:32 PM)
Means you are 1 of them?  tongue.gif  thats why you saw.. brows.gif
some time i just follow the flow tongue.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif
vios2002
post Apr 10 2014, 03:26 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 10 2014, 12:19 PM)
also,can anyone recommend which tire i should go for with RM250 budget?
tire size is 205/45/r16 and looking for quiet and comfort ride
for 16 inch on budget of RM250 nothing much good tire available.
vios2002
post Apr 13 2014, 07:04 PM

167 posts

Just install did DIY install stiff ring on my milo tin & redo my alignment camber setting...Here my below feedback.

My steering feel very minor stiffer compare before and also a bit direct feel.
Front sub frame feel stiff maybe 5 to 10%.
Cornering speed not much able to increase.

This post has been edited by vios2002: Apr 14 2014, 03:28 PM
vios2002
post Apr 17 2014, 01:10 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Apr 17 2014, 01:44 AM)
nope, just the photo light problem lol
i don't have spray skill... wait time to do balancing n alignment baru ask them do for me tongue.gif
Don't spray your brake light, later regret if car behind bang you.

you can proceed with tint your brake light more safer.

0.0482sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:52 PM