7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V4, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

mengfart
post Feb 27 2014, 04:43 PM

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Giff Me Mana Kotol
1,701 posts

hey guys. I'm getting my new vios soon. Maybe next few days as per told by my SA. (car arrived d. pending registration).

Anything that I need to check before signing acceptance of the car?
mengfart
post Feb 27 2014, 07:38 PM

1,701 posts

Wah.. so many things to check.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Thanks for the tips bro. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
mengfart
post Mar 4 2014, 01:04 PM

1,701 posts

Hey guys. I just got my TRD yesterday. So far no problem detected yet. Overall it's quite a nice driving experience. Btw, I heard alot of people saying that it's not good to keep on stepping on the gas and go full throttle with a new car before dunno how many mileage. Is it true?
mengfart
post Mar 4 2014, 07:03 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 4 2014, 02:20 PM)
from my personal experience, i whack the car till 140km/h even before the 1k service. So far no issue with the ENGINE.

Do take note on the front driver side knocking sound upon crossing hump. Its a common issue for Vios.

The other thing is the loose "freeplay" mechanism used on our brake pedal... the bounce knocking sound is annoying.
Icic, driver side knocking sound comes from where ah? didn't notice it yet. and regarding the 'freeplay' mechanism, what does it mean? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

mengfart
post Mar 5 2014, 01:02 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 4 2014, 08:06 PM)
The knocking sound intrudes your dashboard from the steering side... Try drive on bumpy road... If the jerk is significant enough, you'll hear the knock sound.
Icic. Happens to all new vios or depends on luck? btw, if I choose to change my headlights to HID, will it void the warranty?
mengfart
post Mar 6 2014, 07:04 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 5 2014, 08:31 AM)
it comes from behind of your steering, which refers to the engine compartment driver side.

HID is just the bulbs and pallast right? If its plug and play, then it should be fine. make sure no cutting wires involve to avoid any argument with Toyota.
hmm.. so far didn't hear any sounds yet. Maybe I didn't try hard enough. lol.

Yeah. Should be ballast only I think.. so basically anything that involves cutting the wires can or will void the warranty?

Oh yeah. I notice that the water temp signal will stay blue for around 10-20 sec after a cold start. Is it just me or it's normal?

QUOTE(Henry217 @ Mar 5 2014, 10:29 AM)
If you're a J or E spec owner, please don't be the idiot smile.gif you will give everyone a very bad glare and pissed out everyone
I'm driving the TRD. So should be no problem regarding the glare since it's smoked.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
mengfart
post Mar 6 2014, 07:39 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(Henry217 @ Mar 6 2014, 07:49 AM)
no, the best part is, HID on projector lens biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 6 2014, 09:57 AM)
its normal for cold start. I have this popped up every single time.
Icic. Oh btw, regarding the knocking sound near the steering wheels, I think my car has it too. Like a hard knock when going too fast on rough terrain. /sigh.

Any advice on this? Send it to SC like everyone else?

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Mar 6 2014, 06:28 PM)
it is temp, since we don't have analog or digital 1, blue is cold, red is over heat, nothing means normal.
Icic. Thanks for the heads up. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
mengfart
post Mar 7 2014, 12:58 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Mar 6 2014, 09:29 PM)
TRD also have this issue?  doh.gif  shakehead.gif
Apparently yes. doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 7 2014, 08:41 AM)
they will say "its common", and "not an issue".. "its nothing one"... "even Dugong also have this, but no problem one."
its an overpriced cheapo car, what do you expect? So, the answer is no.

normally only C-Segment cars have it.
Well that's sad to hear lol.

Oh yeah and one more.

It seems like the new vios doesn't have a auto locking system. (auto door lock when stepping on brake or reaching a specific speed).

My SA told me that it's a new law from JPJ stating that all new cars cannot have this function.

Is it true or he's just messing with me? = =
mengfart
post Mar 7 2014, 07:04 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 7 2014, 01:19 PM)
ya, its true. Its been removed due to legal safety issue.
Oh... yawn.gif yawn.gif

QUOTE(Eugene Ong @ Mar 7 2014, 03:26 PM)
Just saw this thread, Just thinking share some my pass experience with my first gen VIOS about the knocking sound. Hopefully this will help you all. My first gen VIOS do have knocking sound came from the fender (if I not wrong about the name) every time hit by the absorber when go over the hum. The Toyota Sungai Rasak SC help me to rectify this issues by cutting big hole so that the absorber will not hit that plastic again.

Regarding the auto locking, it only happen only to Japanese car. In year 2011, Malaysia have sign agreement between Malaysia automotive and Europe Automotive (ENCAP) compliance. 1 of the rules which effective to new model is about looking system. During side impact of the car, the car lock should be unlock to let rescue team to perform. Since this only happen in Malaysia and they did want to invest to R&D on the lock system, they have disable it. Mean if you lock it, you lock at your own risk. No matter you having VIOS or Camry 2.5V spec also same.

All Continental car remain the same since they have side impact featured. They still will auto lock at certain speed and disengage the lock upon side impact.
Hope this make it clear.
Well that explain alot. Sigh. Can't really do much about it then since modding it requires some wiring works that might void warranty. sweat.gif sweat.gif
mengfart
post Mar 8 2014, 07:24 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(sky1223 @ Mar 7 2014, 09:30 PM)
after three years,you can modify ....lol

my auto folding mirror,sport rim also install already...done my 1k service...

but their service centre too bad,spoil my tinted film.. vmad.gif
Yeah.. need wait 3 years.. don't dare mod not. scare void warranty.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Lol. why spoil your tinted?

Didn't ask them pay?

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 7 2014, 11:33 PM)
Heard that there's this OBD port device option which is plug and play. Of course, it's yet to available for latest Vios.
Ya... Speechless....
Well.. that sucks..
mengfart
post Mar 10 2014, 10:35 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Mar 10 2014, 09:37 AM)
Hi. is there any specific area that we need to look into upon car collection?
Here.

btw, what spec are you taking?
mengfart
post Mar 10 2014, 10:49 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Mar 10 2014, 10:43 AM)
Brilliant. Thanks, i'm getting E spec smile.gif What about you?
I see. yeah, obviously they targeting the City launch
I took the trd.

2k rebate? I only got 1k rebate. = =.

Booked around Oct but waited for quite some time so that I could take 2014 instead of 2013.
mengfart
post Mar 10 2014, 11:13 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Mar 10 2014, 10:55 AM)
1k rebate, is that the offer for pre-booking customers?

More than 2 months waiting, that's way too long. Is there any reasons that given by them, why take ages to arrive? And my order form is stated 2 months  blush.gif
Im not really sure about the rebate since when the time i'm surveying about this car, there's a few shop that actually doesn't provide any rebate at all. So I went to my friend's outlet and got the 1k rebate.

Yeah it was quite long since I didn't want to take 2013 car.

They told me that there isn't much demand on trd so have to wait quite some time.

mengfart
post Mar 10 2014, 08:16 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Mar 10 2014, 07:07 PM)
How to make vios look badass? I just think add bigger rim.haha  what about 17inch? U think ok? Or 16inch?
16 or 17 is enough.

18" is too heavy for a 1.5cc.

mengfart
post Mar 10 2014, 11:32 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Mar 10 2014, 09:38 PM)
U urself uses 17 or 16?
Original rims. tongue.gif tongue.gif

Don't dare change. Scare warranty void.
mengfart
post Mar 11 2014, 06:49 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(sky1223 @ Mar 11 2014, 07:54 AM)
I dont think they can simply void our warranty.

When service my car,i did see got customer with 2nd gen vios also change rim already.

Myself also change, of coz the ori toyota rim i also using

Rim just plug and play...you not going to cut any wires
Hmm.. the SA told me better don't because later they don't allow you to claim anything around the suspension.

QUOTE(666devil @ Mar 11 2014, 08:19 AM)
That is the best discount they can give? New city is going  tapao new vios when it's launched.
Yeah. That's what they gave me couple of months ago. Now how many discount idk larr..

Vios is actually over rated to be honest.

Expensive but spec is like = meh..
mengfart
post Mar 12 2014, 12:16 AM

1,701 posts

[quote=sky1223,Mar 11 2014, 11:31 PM]
[quote=mengfart,Mar 11 2014, 06:49 PM]
Hmm.. the SA told me better don't because later they don't allow you to claim anything around the suspension.

Huh??suspension part wear n tear 1,how you claim that ??

Except your taking the car 1st day got sound already but is impossible

If lower arm i dunno lat,mine ride so far so good icon_rolleyes.gif

If your rim bengkok by yourself ??cant change rim ???

[/quote]

like that I don't know wor... lol
mengfart
post Mar 12 2014, 07:48 PM

1,701 posts

I still don't understand what is freeplay brake. I try to move it but don't feel anything also.. ==
mengfart
post Mar 13 2014, 08:50 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(fahmiyaeii @ Mar 13 2014, 05:42 AM)
Aiyooo.. Honda city spec is out.. Need to test drive first n decide.. If anything goes wrong, i immedieately book vios G..
Price?
mengfart
post Mar 13 2014, 11:59 PM

1,701 posts

uhm guys. I'm going to my 1k service soon. May I know how much they charge? estimated.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:15 PM