LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V4, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners
dares
Jan 24 2014, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 24 2014, 10:14 PM) If lidat quite con9lan7fem is the spring seat/bearing issue like xakarix84 mentioned suspension issue. If this shit has been inherited since P42, there are not going to layan you coz even they themselves don't know what is happening. So, we need more people to look into this matter. If we can con9lan7fem all Vios shares the same sickness, we can write to tribunal pengguna & giveToyol some pressure to fix it for us My P42 at home does not have this issue.
dares
Mar 9 2014, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(anwarmatlani @ Mar 9 2014, 10:54 AM) Just curious, my next service is 50k/april. My mileage now is 45k, dont think it'll reach 50k in april(use car for short distance travel only)Which 1 should i follow? April
dares
Mar 9 2014, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(Xu3r @ Mar 9 2014, 02:30 PM) why cant we spend 80k on a proton whats wrong with it ? akak do you know what thread is this? mcm pakai Man U Jersey to a Liverpool vs Chelsea match. This post has been edited by dares: Mar 9 2014, 08:01 PM
dares
May 1 2014, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(kelvencck @ Apr 30 2014, 10:17 AM) Yup,my sis dugong can go ard 500-550 for a full tank.. Somemore the pickup pedal feel is slightly light if comparing to my vios.. After drove my car.. I tried my sis car.. Once stepped on the fuel pedal.. It jz liked got dashing towards feel.. Tat time both car also 100% original.. Reli kena con dah!! Sigh!!
dares
May 24 2014, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(madguy88 @ May 24 2014, 02:37 PM) any one know whats the fuel capacity for vios gen 1 ?? gear box is the straight one not the curve one. manufacture date : 2007 registration date : **/07/2007 thanks 45 litres Yours really the last last batch of the NCP42 (1st gen Vios) liao in M'sia.....
dares
May 24 2014, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(madguy88 @ May 24 2014, 07:16 PM) icic ok thanks so my Transmission is 4-speed or 5-speed ?? All Automatic Vios is 4-speed. Only manual Vios is 5-speed.
dares
May 24 2014, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(madguy88 @ May 24 2014, 08:39 PM) ok but i think the vios gen 3 still using the same engine as gen 1 last batch's engine... All 3 gens of Vios uses the same engine, with minor modifications. The gearbox is also the same, although starting from 2nd gen the control unit has been upgraded.
dares
Jul 19 2014, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jul 19 2014, 12:46 PM) 2. Then sometime one of his tyre will suddenly lose air as in tyre pancit. But when to tyre shop and checked, found that there are no holes on the tyre. His tyre only 4 months old. Check the lip of the rim where it meets the tire. Last time my SIL's Viva was also inexplicably losing air, but once the tayarman submerge the wheel into water, can see bubbling from the lip area. Summore your friend baru change rims, it is a strong possibility.
dares
Jul 19 2014, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jul 19 2014, 09:05 PM) weird he told me when to tyre shop and check and found no leakage. Another possibility is the valve. Did the tayarman submerge the whole wheel (rim+tayar) into water? If yes then should be easy to find, where ever the leak is This post has been edited by dares: Jul 19 2014, 09:10 PM
dares
Aug 14 2014, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(turbovtec @ Aug 14 2014, 07:05 PM) today had a bit traffic jem due to accident. Had to change from D to N for 15-20 min, suddently when in N engine start to rev to 2,000rpm . had anyone had this problem before? solution? [toyota vios year 2005 1st gen][170k millage] 1st gen Vios? Off the top of my head: idling control valve or O2 sensors or vacuum leak.
dares
Aug 20 2014, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(Js23 @ Aug 20 2014, 11:29 PM) hey guys, Just want to ask that new vios is using timing chain or timing belt? Chain
dares
Aug 26 2014, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(3536837 @ Aug 26 2014, 12:22 AM) if i install voltage stabilizer at new vios does it will void the warranty ?.. Possible. Just cabut before send to SC....takes just 5 minutes.
dares
Sep 4 2014, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(aromachong @ Sep 4 2014, 01:09 PM) new problem.. parking at my own garage.. pull one click handbrake no ngek ngek sound from rear pull handbrake 2 clicks ... if i go out from the car sometime at night(very silent) can hear ngek ngek from rear ...suspect absorber? or handbrake not tighten enough? pull 3 clicks... same ngek ngek sound happens... sometime when i try purposely goyang my car from rear.. ngek ngek sound also will occur.. but if i release handbrake completely the ngek ngek sound will not come out.... and if i do one click pull on my handbrake also no ngen ngek sound... weird? roxymunky ur car experience this problem? and if i tinted my car window not-so-dark.. sometime when the sun gets in... i cant see my meter rpm, fuel reading , etc.. clearly.. like got reflection. The sound comes from the brake drum rubbing against brake shoe when they are pushed tight against each other. When your handbrake is release or only at one click, there is no sound because they are not pushed tightly enough. If you pull the handbrake very tight sampai going to patah, there should be no sound as well. This post has been edited by dares: Sep 4 2014, 01:46 PM
dares
Sep 4 2014, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(aromachong @ Sep 4 2014, 03:49 PM) Are you sure? It happens to rear disc brake car. Your explanation / solution? Explanation: rear disc brakes uses a drum in the middle for the parking brake aka handbrake. Solution: xyah peduli the sound, all cars will eventually have that sound. As long as the handbrake can keep the car from rolling then it is working. If you die die wanna komplen, ask SC to tighten your handbrake cable. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Feel free to not believe me, though This post has been edited by dares: Sep 4 2014, 05:17 PM
dares
Sep 4 2014, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(aromachong @ Sep 4 2014, 05:33 PM) Ok. problem its new car. i dont expect this kind of ngek ngek sound on new car. lets see the outcome when i ask sc to tighten the handbrake area during mu next service and sometime, when i drive a bit bumpy road or the road is not "rata"... then got ngik ngik sound undercarriage... suspect its braking system or maybe suspension or lower arm? becareful not to overtighten the handbrake, too tight will cause excessive brake wear and higher FC. Make sure the SC knows what they are doing. If the handbrake force is within spec, they may refuse to tighten further for you, all they will do is dismantle your rear brakes and service it. If you say when there is nyek nyek sound when entering or exiting the vehicle with the handbrake pulled, it can be either suspension or parking brake. Since you say there is no sound if you release the handbrake, then likely the cause is the rear parking brakes. But for the undercarriage squeaking while driving, can be many possible factors. You need to test drive with the SC technicians and let them diagnose where the sound is coming from. This post has been edited by dares: Sep 4 2014, 06:11 PM
dares
Sep 10 2014, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(giko @ Sep 10 2014, 08:26 PM) The insurance company will definitely want you to over-insure as they will only pay for the market value of your car should anything happens. My friend's car was stolen years ago but the insurance company refused to pay the insured amount but quoted a much lower market amount even though my friend insured his car at a higher amount! Funny thing but the insurance accepted the higher insurance but refused to pay out the insured amount!!! So why should I accept the insurance company's recommendation knowing that this may happen to me too? So sifus, any other suggestions for the following:- To avoid such scenario, look into something called "agreed value clause" and which insurance company offers it for Toyota.
dares
Sep 29 2014, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(eugeneyeehang @ Sep 26 2014, 04:52 PM) Checked by foreman before this, he told me have to adjust timing, but FC were become higher. 1st gen is cable throttle, should be able to simply adjust the IAV with a screwdriver, no?
dares
Jun 24 2015, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Jun 24 2015, 05:25 PM) You owned a Proton or National car before that cause so much trouble to you ke? Don't worry, once you reject all local cars and non-local B-segments, you will miraculously be able to afford a non-local C-segment or D-segment  That's your only choice!!