LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V4, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

TitanRev
post Jan 25 2014, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 23 2014, 10:46 PM)
You can try that tomorrow morning when you are about to go work.

Start ur engine > Reverse your car > turn left steering to reverse > put into D mode > turn steering to right > turn back to normal > press oil pedal a bit > "kruk" sound is produce everytime u start ur engine.

Scenario 2: Park ur car at straight road or near any kopitiam. Drink coffee for 10 mins.
Go inside car> start engine > put into D mode > turn ur steering right/left > brake > turn steering left/right(make it straight) > press oil pedal a bit > "kruk" sound will occur

test it on tomorrow .. for my case the sound come back after 2 days. I am going to claim for a new set.

and my bodykit side skirt left side got a bit paint peel off.. SC says after CNY will respray back for me. this is what u get from Malaysia assembly car ha ha....
Hi chong, since david called me here I try to know more detail about the problem. Your Vios is NCP42 or the 93?

1. Will the sound appear if you start car car and just drive without turning the steering?

2. Does sound only appear when steering input is given?

3. Does the sound appear everytime you come to a stop example like traffic light and move again?

4. Sound only appear when the car move forward or in reverse also?

Here's what you can do at home, get under your car and have a look at the front drive shaft, then look at the inner CV joint rubber boot. See if the boot is wet or covered in grease. If it's wet means the rubber boot tear already and dirt have gone into your CV joint and cause damage to the joint. If no, then your rubber boot is fine.

Now, get another person to drive the car and replicate the same situation as you mentioned and you stand beside the vehicle to listen to the sound and to find out the sound came from which side. Driver side or passenger side.

FYI, the ABS sensor uses a non contact sensor (proximity type) at the wheels to sense the vehicle speed when the car moves and ABS will only cut in when the ABS module detects a sudden reduce in speed of the wheels from the sensor.

I'm now no longer with Toyota so I'm not associated with them.
TitanRev
post Jan 25 2014, 03:20 PM

About the brake jam matter, this happens only with drum brakes be it for hand brake use or normal use.

Usually the jamming won't be so serious but it only happens if you wash the car at night or park at high humidity area and with the handbrake engage park overnight. Rust build up in between the shoes lining and the drum lining. fusing the 2 together. But with some force you can separate the 2.

The worst case that happen to me before was the rear drum jam at my 206 so hard that it rip the brake shoes lining off from the base because the shoe lining is just glued using epoxy but I think such cases very seldom since shoes lining now some use rivets to secure the lining material.

if you wash car at night, after washing just drive it around to dry up the brakes.
TitanRev
post Jan 25 2014, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 25 2014, 03:26 PM)
My vios is the latest model (2013 model)

1. No, the sound will not appear if i move forward until i make a steering turn and turn straight (only appear once everytime i start my engine)

2. Yes, steering input ( but for once time only after the car engine is started)

3. No, the sound will not appear. (only for once as mentioned everytime i start my engine during steering input is given)

4. Yes, sound only appear doesn't matter reverse or forward as long as steering input is given (happen once only everytime i restart my engine)

CV joint rubber boot and all rubber is dry (re-check on yesterday at toyota SC with my own eyes) - confirm no leaking or whatsoever.

Kruk or "tak" sound once time only coming from front, maybe it's from driver's side(right hand side)?
Hmm....then as david mentioned do check the front absorber strut. Maybe can try with the bonnet open, put your hand on the top of the strut then get ur bro to input the steering. you will be able to feel a knock if the kruk sound happens. Last time I have a customer with a NCP42 that has a kruk sound is because the spring moved away from the bottom absorber seat when he turn the steering. What I do is put a rubber sleeves over the bottom of the spring seat and re-tighten the bolts. Problem solved. I'm not sure will this solve your problem because can't test your car.

TitanRev
post Jan 25 2014, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 25 2014, 03:55 PM)
good input. your customer the kruk sound also happen only "once" everytime he restart his car?

if so, i will go to sc and ask them check my both absorber and ask them put rubber too.

start the car u turn right or left steering also no sound, until u make steering straight and step a bit oil pedal only the sound will come for only "once"
my customer is after turn steering to left side and go back straight got sound. It happens every time for him when he turn left so I don't know for 100% your problem is same with him. Best is to still let the tech that can drive your car to check since I'm giving info via cyber space only. Just trying to help out

0.0180sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:48 AM