Networking Your New Home, Cables, Faceplate, Homeplug, etc

weikee
post Feb 14 2014, 01:50 PM

12,019 posts

From my earlier testing, homeplug connection speed are bad when the distance go longer, and more equipment are sharing the same live wires. Worse if your neighbor using another homeplug (on the same live wires). Sometime can even drop to 10Mbps. I also encounter putting two cheap LED driver, and the homeplug speed became unstable.

Maybe newer homeplug have improvement over the noise.
weikee
post Feb 14 2014, 03:59 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 14 2014, 01:53 PM)
I just spend ~rm150-200 for wireless N network and my whole house can get connection, no wire mess.
For small throughput maybe 10Mbps or less, wireless are good, but if want to run few high throughput connection say few Media player playing from a NAS storage wireless may not be good.

If house are under renovation, is good to wired it. I have 11 LAN points, 5 for LAN, remaining for future CCTV.
weikee
post Feb 14 2014, 08:50 PM

12,019 posts

Not about walking is about storing movies and images. I have like 50gigs of kids cartoons, and many full HD good movies.
weikee
post Feb 14 2014, 11:44 PM

12,019 posts

50 only kids stuff, hd are more, few hundred gigs, and My nas not only putting videos and images. I use it as iscsi to run VMware, and is operate with raid in case disk failure. So far synology servings me well.
weikee
post Feb 15 2014, 11:37 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 15 2014, 01:56 AM)
You have some point here, but after I had HDD failure, I'll try to keep low. After watch, clear it out.
Now I also do backup over the cloud. Usd60 per year can get few T.Bytes. cheaper than buying h.disk
weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 12:27 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 15 2014, 11:43 PM)
Guys want to ask my electriction uses cat6 cable but uses cat5e faceplate/socket is it ok?
Is useless because you won't get cat6 performance.
weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 11:13 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 16 2014, 08:59 AM)
http://donutey.com/ethernet.php
Do some read ups on cables first before you being cheated.
Network cable from start till today are still using RJ-45, the socket has not been changed on the standard, your electrician is right.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif 
My jaw dropped when I read this doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
You can drop what you want, but it also show the knowledge of network you have.

I managed and design network for many years, I know what I am writing. Cat6 performance can go up to 10gpbs, but that need to be operate at higher frequency. Cat6 uses thicker copper better insulation which helps reducing near end cross talk - the CAT6 jacks are made to take this into accounts. If you use Cat6 cabling, but only Cat5E connectors on each end, the network is only going to be rated to Cat5E

All Cat6 cabling need to run a series of noise testing before it get certified as Cat6 enviroment. Putting Cat6 cabling and all the socket with cat6 is not certified if its not tested. Running at 10Gbps will generate lots of CRC error if noise level are high and create worse network compare to CAT5e. The only true CAT6 environment i see as of now is only in Data center running and maintaining 10Gbps, not even in big corporate.

If a home owner want to have so call CAT 6 cabling, but only running on 1Gbps, my advice go with CAT5e good quality cables like KRONE or AMP which both under the same umbrella.

weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 11:15 AM

12,019 posts

If worry Cat5e get outdated, better lay entire house with single mode fiber. Can go up to 100Gbps.
weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 11:56 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 16 2014, 11:30 AM)
I said you made my jaw dropped is the socket have difference which in the fact not. I never say the cable.
And you don't really know what you are typing. Type and write is totally different in cyber world.
Also, cat5e that nearing to its lifespan in networking world, some of them do have twisted pair which is same at cat6. And do our PC's network card really can support 10Gbps also is a ?
This remind me on audio's RCA cables, some like to boast around that they have a rm10000 RCA that are far more superior than those rm100 RCA cables. But when I do a blind side by side test between his superior RCA to my DIY RCA that using cat6 network cable, he can't really hear the difference.
Let get it clear, my definition of socket is this (http://www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photo-computer-network-socket-image3101095) some called it keystone.

Socket/keystone have a different. Cat6 certified socket will have low noise operating at 250mhz, and for some can afford others can even go up to 500mhz. Even the patch cords, and patch panel need to be tested at 250Mhz and above to get CAT6 certified.

Cat6 is made for high frequency and 10Gbps with backward compatible. Cat5e is not nearing to its lifespan, Cat5e is been proven to run from 10mbps up to 1Gbps without any issue, even some old office with Cat5e cabling by just replacing Switch + new notebook all running at 1Gbps without any error.
weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 11:57 AM

12,019 posts

Without proper noise testing on CAT6, is as good as using only CAT5e
weikee
post Feb 16 2014, 12:48 PM

12,019 posts

My reply is very clear, can use cat5e socket but can't get cat6 performance.
weikee
post Feb 17 2014, 12:52 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 16 2014, 10:03 PM)
Guys! rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

What should i tell my electrician now? as he already lay cat6 cable what socket/faceplate he SHOULD use?(Cat6/5e?)
Do i need to ask him on testing it or anything?

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

one more thing should i get my electrician to install 2-port faceplate over here?
my electrician said he just going to put the head connector there no need socket he said....
(i scared of accidently pulling it can break the cable..)
which is the proper way?
- install 2-port faceplate
- or just connector (electrician way)
Is the blue color network cables? The Network cables need minimal 6" apart from power points. Hope internally they gab minimal 6" apart.
weikee
post Feb 17 2014, 10:20 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 17 2014, 09:43 AM)
I dont think so they gap the network cables from the power points, what can i do?
Can't do much already. Cables already in the walls. Just use it, if have lots if packet drop you will have to configure to lower speed, and reduce to half duplex. Usually good network switch will do auto switching when performance or high CRC detected.

weikee
post Mar 5 2014, 09:19 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jellybeanz @ Mar 5 2014, 09:00 AM)
Sometimes during laying the cables some of the wires might be broken due to force and quality of cable. Lan cable consist of 8 wires in 4 pairs.

So better to check all wires in the cable are working by using simple tester. Contractor should have the basic ones.

The tester only good for connection testing, but for the cable photo you attached is Cat 6, need noise tester that cost few Grand. Sometime the contractor may cut bit of the cables and the basic connector will still detect normal, but with the noise tester it will failed. My last installation of CAT 6 environment the contractor need to redo about 10 points.

weikee
post Mar 6 2014, 09:07 AM

12,019 posts

using homeplug with 3 phases is only possible if the pair of homeplug are on the same phase / live wires.
weikee
post Mar 6 2014, 09:13 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Mar 6 2014, 03:44 AM)
Yeah find that most of people starting to use homeplug, but i dont know if my house is able to used it since it 3-phase

If they got the similar test or noise test like weikee said what reading should it be getting? so when they test i have some rough idea that the test is stable.. so that they cannot kelentong me..

hope they got that kinda tester, cause they haven't do any check up yet..

Also i took some picture after installation of the keystone is that what they call it where the cat6 cable are installed on ..I let u guys judge the work to me its like cincai punya kerja  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif , here..
Living room
notice that i circled in red where the wire not sit properly in those slot...
Bedroom

compare to this i found on the internet very neat
and i read somewhere not to exposed those wire too much, then more noise disturbance happens which can degrade the performance... rclxub.gif also found that the keystone doesnt have dust cover..

seems like they dont have a proper tool to do a proper job...  mad.gif
Not all keystone come with the cover, with or without cover is ok. The installer should clean the edge of the exposed wires, he didn't do a nice finishing job, it won't affect the normal LAN speed 100Mhz (100Mbps / 1Gbps), but going higher which I doubt you will going to do it (10Gbps) may generate noise.

Don't expect the normal cable guys to have a noise tester.
weikee
post Mar 8 2014, 08:08 AM

12,019 posts

Can always go to Pasar road to find.

Not all keystone compatible with the faceplate, better bring sample before you buy.

0.0254sec    1.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:35 AM