The Nexus 5 Official Thread V4, KOT49H is OTA YAY!
Jan 8 2014, 11:51 AM
1,513 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Me? Where? Huh? |
Man
Jan 8 2014, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(monsh @ Jan 8 2014, 11:59 AM) Great anticipation for Nexus phone. I wonder why not many people know this phone. I carry around so many people ask "What phone is that?" QUOTE(presario3839 @ Jan 8 2014, 12:05 PM) Remember they call the Nexuses are phones for the geeks? When ppl asking, they would only respond when I mention the price tag. Everyone will go like "eh! You f**king serious?!" Lazy to explain what's a nexus after all. Malaysians are ignorant iPhoners and Galaxiers. |
Jan 8 2014, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jan 8 2014, 12:16 PM) HTC One-series faggies n Sony Xperia's i showed Xperia Z n Nexus 4... all people will asking me "nexus phone nice to use meh?" me:!@#$%^ try la weih... Aww well, proud to be one N5 user |
Jan 8 2014, 03:25 PM
I guess 50% of Samsung users don't know they're actually using Android. Whenever they look at other android phones, all they have to say is "yerrr, why the interface all copy Samsung 1"
Ignorant Malaysians All they care about is BRAND. Apple and Samsung. That's all they know. What to do. |
Jan 8 2014, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 8 2014, 07:11 PM) Ok, that's very harsh, but I like it. You might wanna say Samsung is good at building and producing hardware, but never good at designing one.So what if you've S Note, S Voice and all Crapsung apps if you don't use them? I myself don't use those S Note or whatever crap, so I ventured into custom ROM and never look back. As I always tell my friends, Shamesung is good at designing hardware, but software is a big no-no. Anyway, back to the topic. I'm still waiting for LG Malaysia to launch Nexus 5 officially. If DiGi is able to bring in, that'll be better. Look at their designs.... |
Jan 9 2014, 12:11 AM
Jan 9 2014, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 9 2014, 01:21 AM) One of the reason I dont like Samsung was their UI, overloaded with features and lagness. They could learn from HTC, who had the same problem ( bad UI lag ) until they revamped Sense UI on HTC One. Is being cartoonish now a trend?Hopes the leaked TouchWiz was good |
Jan 9 2014, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 9 2014, 05:02 PM) Good to know Nexus is getting recognized. Remembered I'm having difficult time to explain Nexus S to my friends. Being an android user with lots of surrounding iPhoners, they usually call me an Apple hater eventhough I've used iPad (lost it due to clumsiness). Sometimes its hard to explain to ppl this one simple question. "Why Android?"Exactly. Circumstances would only go worse when you mention the word "Nexus". When ppl trying to ask you why do you choose Nexus? I don't know why that's the most difficult thing I can ever explain about a phone. Prompt updates? ROMs...? Kernels...? Root...? Boot loader...? I would only say, Nexus can customize a lot and can tweak for good battery life. Responses : A. you sure boh...? Samsung cannot meh, also android mar! B. Ohhh.... (Deep down there, I know they don't even understand a thing) C. Cheh. iPhone also can jailbreak mar! One thing about testing out experimental stuff on your phone, When you're trying to do something like keep rebooting to flash and wipe cache and datas. My friends would go like "eh, you sohai, spoil lo! Also don't know wtf you doing." Even mounting a pendrive. He would like "wa! Can put pen drive ar! You don't act pro ar!" They wouldn't understand and kept nagging about what you're doing, calling you a phone geek sometimes. In saying this, I'm not a pro at tech stuffs, but when their Epal Aifon gone into some serious mess, I'm always the one they call first. Being a Android enthusiast can sometimes be "unique"? Wonder anyone else have experiences like mine. |
Jan 9 2014, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(ptewee @ Jan 9 2014, 06:28 PM) Haha. Glad that we're on the same boat! QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 9 2014, 06:45 PM) Similar experience on me. It's rather normal human behavior, when you had better knowledge, they try to discriminate you. Well, when your gadget broke down, who do they call? Pro in PC, nerd. Pro in phone, geek. Pro in Android, Apple hater. Didnt heard anyone said doctor was pervert who love to cut people. QUOTE(hhoong @ Jan 9 2014, 06:54 PM) haha, IMHO ur way of explain not so accurate in term of nexus, the way your explain is more about android. Exactly, this is nexus like the "you sure boh...? Samsung cannot meh, also android mar!" Samsung also can costume rom to run vanilla i think the better way to explain is that ... Nexus is Google direct child, others is adopted. others OEM take android and put in their bloatware that cosmetically and try to make the phone look nice ... just like put a desktop x theme in windows 7 (make a analogy so they understand). so when ever Google (windows 7) have a new version, desktop x will need to take the new version of win7 and do some compatibility test with their desktop x theme, then many month later only will release the new version of win7 with desktop x where android run purely on the nexus, when Google release a new version, nexus is the 1st to get, no need to wait for months and months .... Btw, I mean I don't even bother to explain to them thoroughly. They wouldn't understand a thing we're saying! |
Jan 10 2014, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 10 2014, 07:21 AM) My iFruit photography friends said the same thing to me when I used OTG cable + card reader to read my SD card. I just kept silent until I Whatsapped the entire table (we were having lunch) 2 photos I took with my DSLR earlier on (very sharp photo, its impossible for my S3 to take such photos). They straight away diam When comes to car, auto for me The next thing I showed was connecting my 650D to my phone and used it as a liveview to take a group photos, again more jaws fell. I personally think that, iPhone and Android users are pretty much wide across the range. iPhone users are typically business people who doesn't have much time to deal with the technical aspects and is satisfied as long it works as a communication device cum personal assistant (or maybe a little entertainment). iPhone users are catered for people that wants to be flashy but knows nothing about how it works nor they want to know how it works. However, people who opt for Android might be one that is more budget concious or wanted more control (think: Automatic vs Manual transmission; ease vs control debate). As Android phones are generally cheaper and therefore it caters for more people ranging from low income earners to school going kids. They are not phone geeks at all, however they might know how to operate their phone or is more able to utilise what the device is able to provide them. I shall stop here, need to go to work +1 about Apple's usability, whenever someone come to me about recommendations for smartphone, iPhone always pop out of my mind. Unless he/she is one serious techie. No point recommend androids as they don't really spend much of their time discover the true beauty about android. Instead, they just complain about lags and it somehow complicates their usage sometimes. This is where they start bashing Android and the OEMs and say something like I should have get myself am iPhone. Whatsapp, Facebook and Phone calls only, you take iPhone la. QUOTE(GingerbreadGirL @ Jan 10 2014, 10:11 AM) dropped my nexus 5, tried to catch it then accidentally kicked it into a pole, Damn. I feel bad for you man. Back in V3, someone mentioned that there's replacement can be bought on ebay. But it's kinda difficult to replace it. You might need professional help for it.crashed the screen at the btm but all functions still intact. went to LG center in KJ theys aid nexus5 too new for Malaysia hence cant replace screen. any idea where i can go to? QUOTE(JPSB @ Jan 10 2014, 10:26 AM) Ahhh. I have one too. Too bulky for my liking. |
Jan 10 2014, 11:08 PM
Jan 10 2014, 11:36 PM
Jan 11 2014, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jan 10 2014, 11:44 PM) is Ooi Shi Teng la... abang.. FB find her I'm from an older batch. Haha. Balik kampung, they're selling in brick and mortar now.n haven't tried yet... anyway Ahhh. Back to topic. Guys, any stable custom Roms you guys tried so far? Been using Omni for a few days, still unstable but updates are being pushed out on a daily basis. Now, cataclysm appears to be the most stable rom of all. This post has been edited by zorbyss.: Jan 11 2014, 12:04 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0439sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:30 AM |