4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Nexus 5 Official Thread V4, KOT49H is OTA YAY!

Ahmaz
post Jan 17 2014, 11:57 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jan 17 2014, 09:51 AM)
for those using rhino shield..
u think its possible to apply another SP on it?.. so that its oleophobic too?..
maybe it will become too thick.. lol..
Rhino shield already has oleophobic coating la
Ahmaz
post Jan 17 2014, 08:54 PM

500 posts

Nah.. Speed test in full LTE coverage area

Ahmaz
post Jan 17 2014, 09:00 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(RyonanGT @ Jan 17 2014, 08:59 PM)
hi all,

may i know how do i check if the Nexus 5 is D821?
the sticker on the box.. it'll tell you the model number.
Ahmaz
post Jan 17 2014, 10:41 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Jan 17 2014, 10:24 PM)
Alright so Diztronic doesn't works well with Rhino. It is giving me bubbles sigh. So I am thinking of getting nillkin glass SP as I read they both work well together.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2610419

In short I wasted 77RM on Rhino. sad.gif. Not that it's a bad SP! Just that it's not compatible with tight fit or slim type? cases. So be careful guys (y).

I heard someone managed to use rhino well with Ringke fusion hmm, can that someone confirm it works well together?
I can confirm Ringke fusion doesn't interfere with Rhino shield SP

Ahmaz
post Jan 18 2014, 01:00 AM

500 posts

My last post about cases... tongue.gif
http://www.androidcentral.com/best-cases-l..._medium=twitter
Ahmaz
post Jan 18 2014, 09:24 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(mrlakml @ Jan 18 2014, 08:41 AM)
is it like the easy way (one-click) update and the phone will do everything or do i need to plug in my phone to pc>copy image file blabla...
Ive used android before but new to rooting.
It will be the easy way i.e. OTA update

The only thing you might lose is the root access itself (which you can easily reapply after the update)
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2014, 01:16 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Jan 19 2014, 11:53 AM)
That form IS for the nexus 5, the list is for ADDITIONAL rhino shield that others may like to order.
I think you both are misunderstanding. tanjinjack 's bulk order is for Rhino Shield, not for Nexus 5.

The rhino shield is for Nexus 5 BUT you can order for other phones as well.
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2014, 01:50 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(hkenh @ Jan 19 2014, 01:47 PM)
duhhhhh, obviously
chillax with the attitude. it's not obvious to the other guy...
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2014, 07:26 PM

500 posts

Guys, i'm trying to source a better car charger for my Nexus 5, currently i'm using a Samsung with 500/700mA (can't remember which one to be exact) charge rate.

Any recommendations for a better car charger? is there one that charges at 1.2A (same as wall charger) ?

This post has been edited by Ahmaz: Jan 19 2014, 07:27 PM
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2014, 09:11 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Jan 19 2014, 07:42 PM)
Galaxy Tab car charger works great..... almost as fast as ac adaptor
I read that it charges at 2A rate... won't that be bad for our Nexus 5 battery? even the stock wall charger only charges at 1.2A?

QUOTE(tridibsahabd @ Jan 19 2014, 08:52 PM)
I emailed LG Malaysia a day before I decided to get the nexus 5 (last week). Their reply was Nexus 5 in malaysia is still on planning stage and not fully confirmed yet due to stock availability, market research and pricing confirmation.

My AP set is from HK, so I've registered the device IMEI under my name as well on the LG website. Don't know if that helps in warranty claim.
How did you register the Nexus 5 IMEI on the LG Website?
I see no options for Nexus 5?
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2014, 09:55 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(tridibsahabd @ Jan 19 2014, 09:49 PM)
Sorry, should have clarified. I registered on LG HK website. D821 is there.
Cheers I should do it too.. thanks!
Ahmaz
post Jan 20 2014, 05:49 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Jan 20 2014, 05:47 PM)
Also I think in MY opinion in this nexus 5 over seas set case. It all depends on the seller how he deals which is pay full you get the sealed box unit. Any problem I RMA for you. Or open box unit... (opened to check the phone n all before shipping it to MY or open it to put thr company stickers or wht not) and then if any problem. 1 to 1 exchange at the same time. But I am not sure. I got my sealed box unit and I got no issues with it at all. Just the slight yellow tint which is very common in new batch nexus 5 sets. Some say it's because of glue or color calibration problem. hmm.
It's most likely not colour calibration... Nexus 5 has one of the best calibrated screens OOTB according to Anandtech.
Ahmaz
post Jan 21 2014, 10:27 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 21 2014, 10:25 AM)
any kind soul in aussie now can help to check how long google needs to deliver the phone upon order?
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2209899

Plenty of Aussies keeping track of their purchase progress... that's V4 thread.. you can check older ones too
Ahmaz
post Jan 21 2014, 06:17 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jan 21 2014, 06:12 PM)
Greenify works without root, just rather limited - no auto-hibernation but can kill hibernate those apps you hardly use.
But honestly speaking, does it really enhance battery life? (didn't feel much changes for my previous phone)
For people who know how to setup their apps/manage wakelocks, probably little difference..

That being said, I do have greenify just in case tongue.gif
Ahmaz
post Jan 22 2014, 04:26 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Jan 22 2014, 02:43 PM)
To clarify everyone about this much discussed issue. Taken from XDA.

'Serial numbers are not revisions

There's thread after thread after thread about Nexus defects and "311k fixed this but broke that". I've been posting a common response in most of these threads multiple times but it is too much effort to keep doing this.

Now please, all of you do this. Boot into your bootloader and look at your hardware version. It's rev_11, right?

That's because there is only ONE hardware version as per LG's understanding.

So what does 310, 311, 312 mean? Well it looks like month of manufacture doesn't it?! October, November, December?

"But, but, but i've got bigger speaker holes and my buttons don't rattle..."

Sure, manufacturing tolerances mean there will always be slight variances. Devices are built on different manufacturing lines, in different plants, in different countries perhaps - all maintained and calibrated by different teams. This is common. It is impossible (IMPOSSIBLE) to manufacture 2 identical devices. Humans are not good enough at it. This is why all the CPU's are binned between PSV 0-6.. these are within tolerance. Otherwise they'd all be PSV 3, or whatever is thought to be "optimum".

These tolerances mean that there are variations in every single component. No 2 are identical, meaning no 2 Nexus 5's are identical. Technically, every Nexus 5 is a variation. A variation of the perfect one, which probably doesn't exist

All these questions about "If I buy from store x" or "If I RMA now"..... "will I get new version?" Are pointless... there are no newer versions.

The defects reported exist across all the serial numbers. My 310 doesn't have any button rattle. It only rattles the autofocus when I rattle the device from side to side. So to say all 310's buttons rattle and all 311's fixed this is false... and now we have 312's with rattle... what happened? Did LG remove the fix? No! It was never a fix.

It seems some people want to RMA based on their serial number and nothing else or trying to avoid a particular serial... don't. Buy the device normally. If it has specific faults that you're not willing to put up with, RMA it. That's it. Please stop stressing about serial numbers. Buy your device and enjoy it, but please can we try and keep these threads where everyone posts "I've got a 311k and I have x fault" to a minimum? They're not helpful and mean nothing and clog up this forum with nonsense.

I admit the Defects thread may serve some purpose but this is happening there too, meaning the information is tainted.

Further logic

Here's some further logic I would like to include in this post.

The Nexus 5 is not manufactured in batches. It is manufactured 24/7. There is no end of an old batch and beginning of a new batch. The phone that rolls off the production line at 23:59 on October the 31st gets the 310K serial number. The very next phone that rolls off the same line at 00:00 on November 1st gets the 311K serial number.

If a fault had been found in 1 out of every 200 Nexus 5's, where the vibrator motor was faulty, what do you think would happen? Do you think that LG would discard the millions of vibrator motors they have in stock, replace every one with millions more and cease production immediately until the new motor is put in? The fact of the matter is if for every 1 Nexus 5 with a faulty vibrator, there are 199 with a working vibrator, it would be cheaper to repair the 1. What would you do if you were LG? Would you discard 199 good "type A" vibrators and buy 200 "type B" vibrators? Would you stop all of your productions lines and lose money by being unable to service demand? Or would it be cheaper to repair that 1 faulty device with a new vibrator and let the other 199 get manufactured and sold? Would you use up all the old stock of "type A" vibrators until they were gone, knowing only 1 in 200 would be faulty, then when you run out, start using "type B"? I certainly would as that is much cheaper than ceasing production in multiple plants around the world ans scrapping all the good "type a" motors.

In regards to the above, would all "type A" vibrators run out at 23:59 on October 31st, in every plant around the world? Then at 00:00 on November 1st, all "type B" would be used? If you were to scrap all "type A" vibrators and replace them with "type B", would you wait until the next month, when the serial number automatically changes? What would be the significance in that? If you're really going to be bold and scrap them all, you wouldn't wait until the end of the month. if you were happy to wait until the end of the month, then there would never have been a need to scrap them all in the first place. If the bold decision to scrap them ALL is made, you'd do it immediately

If you tightened Quality control, or started adding more glue to hold something in place, would you wait until midnight on the last day of the month to implement it? Why?

If tight rocker buttons and larger speaker holes are a fix and LG have waited to change serial number before implementing the fix, why are there even newer devices with newer serial numbers that do not have this "fix"? If loose rockers are something that needs to be fixed, why haven't all older devices got them? Why hasn't mine?'

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2597276
Someone had Rev_12 in their HW_REVISION already tongue.gif

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Jan 22 2014, 03:09 PM)
that makes 2 of us. I hardly use them. In fact I've never relied on cards.
I love Google Now.. so so useful.. maybe you guys just don't know how to utilise it fully?
I was so amazed when it detected my booked flight information and created a card for it; transportation, flight schedule, gate information etc.. !!
Other than the usual weather and home/work cards, I also have sports card (EPL scores) and cards based on my recent chrome history (news, articles, etc)
Ahmaz
post Jan 23 2014, 09:39 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Jan 23 2014, 07:32 AM)
Guys, this morning suddenly there is mm-qcamera-daemon which drain my battery like 50%.did anyone face this?any solution other than factory reset?
One of the photo apps is the culprit.. instagram I think? You have instagram on your phone?
Ahmaz
post Jan 24 2014, 10:00 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Jan 24 2014, 09:35 AM)
based on that graph itself hard to tell. try downlaoding apps to detect wakelocks.

Last night i slept with phone 3% juice left at 11.30p.m, today 7.45 a.m alarm still rang. WIFI and 3G all de way LOL.
Phone will allocate enough power even when at 0% for alarm to go off. e.g. if you went to sleep and your phone battery finished.. it will still ring alarm in the morning
Ahmaz
post Jan 24 2014, 10:23 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jan 24 2014, 10:04 AM)
i dun thk that is the case for android leh... but yes for last time those non-smartphones and nokias....

nt sure if they have changed anything in the later version of android..
QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Jan 24 2014, 10:06 AM)
sorry but android doesn't work that way. I remember last time my iphone 4 used to wotk that way too now not so sure.

Anyway i had 1% left when i wake up. after i brush teeth take bath den no more.
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Jan 24 2014, 10:09 AM)
Um..I'm not sure for android/latest, but the alarm is part of the software in the device, if you turn off the device, how would the alarm ring if your phone is off? (assuming battery 0% > auto power off)
I don't think so it will ring. Have you tried this? Really curiousĀ  hmm.gif
I read somewhere on N5 reddit that this was the case.. I'll see if I can test it tonight/tomorrow.

When you off your phone, it's not actually fully off.. e.g. if 10% and you off, your alarm will still work.
The reason 0% and alarm will still work is because android allocates a bit more power to prevent battery from draining completely (this is bad for Li-Ion) so in actuality, when your phone reaches 0% and turns off, it actually has some juice left in it.

Of course, I will test and confirm with you guys wink.gif

EDIT; just did quick double check .. all evidence points to the contrary.. BUT I'LL STILL TEST ANYWAY!

This post has been edited by Ahmaz: Jan 24 2014, 10:29 AM
Ahmaz
post Jan 24 2014, 11:23 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Jan 24 2014, 11:21 AM)
but my stock charger (i suppose its 1.2 or 1.5) can charge fully in 1 1/2 hour.
our stock charger runs on 5.6V/1.2A

most other chargers run at lower V (usually 5V) but higher A.. I think maybe that's why?
Ahmaz
post Jan 24 2014, 06:12 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jan 24 2014, 06:01 PM)
any android app or security measure that is as good as ios7's anti-theft system? the one where you can only unlock your device with apple ID
Cerberus is miles ahead of IOS's Find my iDevice.

With root, even better.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0293sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:07 AM