Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

mikehuan
post Jan 8 2014, 12:08 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(xmascat @ Jan 8 2014, 10:36 AM)
dear all, appreciate if you can advise on this portion of itinerary for my japan trip

- is day 2 achievable? did i squeeze in too many places?
- does day 3 have too little places planned?
- having dilemma on day 1, i really want to visit Disney Sea but not sure if i would miss out much of the attractions in tokyo

thanks!
Rough Itinerary
---------------
Day 1:
Disney Sea

Day 2:
9am: Tsukiji fish market
10:30am: Tokyo Imperial Palace
11:30am: Meiji shrine
1pm: Harajuku > Shibuya > Shinjuku

Day 3:
9am: Asakusa (temples and street)
1pm: Ueno park
6pm: Akihabara
Day 4 to 7 would be mt fuji, kyoto, osaka (haven't planned the itenarary yet)
Day 2
I would suggest you start your day earlier. Trains are operational around 5. Nothing to see also at the fish market after 9. Most people already left or queuing for sushi.

Take a look at the metro map online. You're basically traveling unnecessary distance if you go around like that. Where is your hotel?

And Shibuya and shinjuku only half day? Sure you can do it if you just spend an hour or two in each place but what's the point in that?

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jan 8 2014, 12:12 PM
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2014, 12:16 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Jan 8 2014, 10:49 AM)
can.. if u are not a shopping person, just walk around the shopping street, and definitely is a tiring day.
imo, imperial palace nothing much to see, the nijubashi bridge & the palace can only observe from entrance. you can walk around at the garden. last time i do hit & run, i took pic of the bridge and palace, then cabut d, i prefer tokyo station building. lol....

day 3 u can add other places, like Skytree, Ginza....
go ueno park also go Ameyoko street.

day 4 go hakone
day 5-7 Kyoto. visit osaka & nara too.
I have pictures of the view inside the palace muahahhaha! But yeah the outside nothing much except big sized bonsai trees
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2014, 09:07 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(xmascat @ Jan 8 2014, 04:31 PM)
thanks for the response smile.gif i'm staying near tsukiji.

i saw from the forum that unless i plan to join the auction, i can only visit after 9am, or can we watch from the side? tongue.gif
Can't watch from the side. Like I said after 9 everyone preparing to leave so basically you don't get to see anything lol.

Should take advantage if you're staying near Tsukiji. Queue up for the sushi. Won't regret. If you're earlyi don't think you need to wait that long
mikehuan
post Jan 9 2014, 06:10 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Jan 9 2014, 03:14 PM)
yea.. planning to stay a night in Hakone.. didnt mention in my draft yet..

I have few days not planned yet so most probably split up some of the itenary on Monday 28/04 to other days..
yes, currently only first draft.. will re-arrange the travelling again..
Actually wanted to know any other place that i can fit in or places of interest that i have missed?
To note you need to make reservations for the romance car so need to at least buy the pass the day before.

Abit all over the place imo. What I did in the end when I was in the planning phase is to group all the attractions i want to go according to location and time needed. Then take out the metro map circle out the stations to stop to go to the attractions. This makes it was easier to plan out the itinerary.

As some attractions are closed on certain days you can put a foot note and keep that in mind when planning

Another thing to note is that it's possible to get the train from haneda to shinjuku when you land. If I could do it being a first timer anyone can. Risky for sure but it was exciting haha

As for suggestions, fuji f fujio museum in kawasaki if you're a doraemon fan. Didnt regret going there. Dorayaki was awesome

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jan 9 2014, 06:12 PM
mikehuan
post Jan 10 2014, 01:40 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(aminur87 @ Jan 10 2014, 10:48 AM)
just decided to go to Tokyo yersterday evening. will depart tonight until 15 jan. last minute decision and travel alone. Just want to lepak2 and chill.

i will stay at Ginza area. I have difficulty to understand on the train maps seem its lot of stations and line.pitty me haha. Maybe i will pick it up when i reach there.

I am still done have any proper itinerary but have some in my mind.

My question here, It is ok to travel one day to Fuji Mountain during this time? I heard its very cool for this few days.

thank you.

this is my first time at JAPAN...
kudos to you man! i could never do that with my work schedule zz. notworthy.gif

but anyways, i would say you HAVE to try to understand the system because if you dont you wont be going anywhere efficiently. just the metro system is enough. the jr line system i couldnt understand because iinm there isnt an english version.

QUOTE(chenster @ Jan 10 2014, 11:42 AM)
haha.. i know it is all over the place..

i'll try to see if i can get a train from haneda to shinjuku or not but i feel it is wasted if i pay for hotel for the night. preferably to just sleep somewhere or go to first cabin..

anyway, any attractions thats happening only on weekends? or weekends are too busy to be in shinjuku/shibuya?
If so, i'll arrange to go to hakone over the weekends..
ah, i see. that makes sense i suppose

for example, mondays the imperial palace gardens are closed, wednesday the mochi tea house in hakone is closed. small stuff like that. since you're only going once might as well go when everything is open right?
mikehuan
post Jan 22 2014, 10:34 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Jan 21 2014, 01:33 PM)
shortlisted below hotel in shinjuku, any comments?
quite a lot of hotels shortlisted though.. haha..

- Sunlite  RM310
- Sunroute Plaza RM350 – free wifi, near stations
- Sunroute Higashi RM330
- Washington Shinjuku RM310 – Great Wifi – junction hotel, old
- Toyoko Inn RM286
- Tokyustay Nishishinjuku RM336
- E Hotel Higashi RM270 – noisy choose backlane McD corner, fast wifi
- Nishitetsu Inn RM360 – free wifi ,nearby restaurants, near stations
- Viainn Shinjuku RM300? – Wifi lobby 15mins to stations, New hotel, 7/11 nearby
- Shinjuku New City RM332 – shuttle bus
- Rose Garden RM300
Stayed in e hotel. Room was really really small but then again I would imagine most hotels are like that. Location wise it was great. Lawson on one side, 711 on the other side. Don quixote within walking distance. The Red light district also nearby.

The Square Enix building was right across the street too. Service wise they were excellent. Room immaculately cleaned everyday without fail and the water bottle, towels, toiletries re supplied everyday. Hotel staff helpful, speaks English, but not all are friendly.

Metro station is literally right next to the hotel entrance, which I find is the best feature of the hotel. Sort of a moral boost for me every morning because you start your day the most efficient way possible lol.

Café downstairs was pretty meh. Coffee is really weak. Tbh the coffee there the best I had was starbies and the hot canned one that is sold in the vending machine. Restaurant ones were really really weak.
mikehuan
post Jan 25 2014, 04:20 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 25 2014, 02:02 PM)
Found a place to eat Fugu set cost around 4000 Yen ++

any 1 tried this ?? hmm.gif a lot of shop around Tokyo

http://www.torafugu.co.jp/en/menu1.html

and around what time is peak time to take train/shinkanshen hmm.gif
Shinkansen dunno, but metro is the same in every metropolitan City. Avoid going around 8am and 5pm
mikehuan
post Jan 28 2014, 07:54 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 27 2014, 08:49 PM)
First day at Tokyo.. The subway got a bit headache but try to ask people there will solve the problem.. Simple communication is not a problem.. But you must have balls to ask.. Haha so cold today
Enjoy!

Usually the entry point got officers. They very friendly and more than willing to help. Those who can't usually is because their English not that good

0.0458sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:35 PM