Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

mat sputnik
post Jan 9 2014, 05:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2014, 05:16 PM)
Got menmissed and sacwoh do the explain.

I also can start plan retired already. You two should come much earlier then you gius can do V4. And I can  go ular.
Ya lah. You should retire and go to Darjeeling!

mat sputnik
post Jan 9 2014, 05:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2014, 05:33 PM)
You finally pop out.

Darjeering rail open at 2015.
The Toy Train is fun!

Btw my son going to Tokyo tomorrow with AirAsiaX. Will stay until late Feb, bunking with a friend living in Sendagaya. His first trip there, should be fun! biggrin.gif

mat sputnik
post Jan 9 2014, 05:43 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2014, 05:41 PM)
Want me taking him to Kabukicho?  Party X and some chicks
Hahaha, I'll pm you!

mat sputnik
post Jan 10 2014, 08:38 AM

13 posts

RT @japantimes: Record high foreign visitors in 2013 http://jtim.es/sqliO
mat sputnik
post Jan 11 2014, 12:09 PM

13 posts

Big potential for Nagoya too!

RT @japantimes: Chubu won't stop at just 10 million tourists http://jtim.es/ssm8c
mat sputnik
post Jan 20 2014, 08:05 PM

13 posts

Maybe his passport not ICAO-compliant, so cannot enter without visa, hehehe!

RT @themmailonline: Putrajaya denies any role in Anwar being booted from Japan: KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 20 — Wisma Putra denied today any... http://dlvr.it/4l2F4B
mat sputnik
post Jan 22 2014, 11:16 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 21 2014, 09:59 PM)
any good free GPS/maps on android market for japan?
Use free Google Maps, download required areas for offline use when traveling.
mat sputnik
post Jan 23 2014, 11:29 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 22 2014, 11:43 PM)
Can't preload the maps... I think the Google map have problem..
You are right. Saving maps for JP disabled already.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comments/1..._to_japanchina/
mat sputnik
post Jan 23 2014, 12:20 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 23 2014, 11:57 AM)
although google maps cant be save
1) u can pre-cache it by scrolling around the area
and dont close the apps and let it run in background
2) bookmark/star/fav the locations
3) goto nearest 7-11, they have free wifi... starbuck suck
4) the search navigation will not work, coz it required you to go online
but u can still get the pre-routed route working before you depart
Actually what I notice is this. When you open an area on G Maps, it's automatically cached and you can reopen same area offline later. But I'm not sure how long it remains in cache though.

So what you can do is, before leaving hotel in the morning (or the night before), open the maps of areas you would be going, so that they are cached. Then close Maps, no prob. When you are out of the hotel, with no internet, open G Maps and you should be able to view offline the maps you open/cached in the hotel.

If unsure, test it here in KL first. Open say, KLCC area on G Maps, then close everything. Go offline, re-open G Maps and go to KLCC area. The map viewed before should re-appear.
mat sputnik
post Jan 28 2014, 08:23 PM

13 posts

Looks nice!

http://wikitravel.org/en/Izumo
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Izumo,_Shimane
mat sputnik
post Feb 8 2014, 11:05 PM

13 posts

RT @bbcweather: JAPAN: A winter storm saw Tokyo go from no snow to 27cm (11in) of snow between 0600 and 2300 local time Saturday. MT http://pic.twitter.com/9qvEgNTaoA
mat sputnik
post Feb 8 2014, 11:34 PM

13 posts

RT @robertspeta: My walk on the way home from the NHK studios today. Heaviest snowfall in years. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fKrAXYsyfI
mat sputnik
post Feb 18 2014, 08:49 PM

13 posts

Amazing pics!

RT @jt_sayuridaimon: Here is how bad heavy snow is affecting many parts of Japan. Japan snowed in . . . as witnessed on social media | http://j.mp/1j7LzD0
mat sputnik
post Feb 19 2014, 03:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Feb 19 2014, 02:57 PM)
I have used google map before but that was walking. It wasnt so accurate compare. Accurate means that its about maybe 10m behind. Most probably the issue is my device. I would suggest you used GPS for driving as you need to be as accurate as possible. Please note that unlike KL, you cannot simply "gostan" here if you miss a turn.  smile.gif
That delay is due to your device doing calculations after receiving signals from the GPS satellites, to find your exact position and plotting it on the map. So its 'accuracy' depends on how powerful your navigation device is. I have a simple solution - whenever you approach a junction/ramp/turnoff/whatever, just reduce your car speed.
mat sputnik
post Apr 29 2014, 06:41 PM

13 posts

Hahaha, useful!

RT @jtben: The guide u won't get anywhere else-> Tokyo: what not to do and when not to do it, by Tom Dillon| The Japan Times http://ow.ly/wdtIE
mat sputnik
post May 24 2014, 11:53 PM

13 posts

RT @WSJAsia: Tokyo was voted "the best overall experience" for tourists, beating out New York, London and Singapore. http://on.wsj.com/1k02ftv

0.0488sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:15 AM