Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 05:27 PM

Hi sifus,
I am planning a trip to Kansai + Tokyo next spring for sakura. I have previously followed the typical Central Japan tour and want to spend more time in Kyoto than the miserably short half day at Kiyomizudera. Since 7 day JR pass is just 8540yen extra compared to Sanyo 4 day pass, I decided to add in Tokyo and Disneysea. blush.gif

My somewhat detailed itinerary is as follow:

Day 1
-Arrive KIX at 8.20am, ICOCA+Haruka to Kyoto on 10.16 train.
-Drop luggage at APA Kyoto Horikawadori and meet friend from another flight
-Subway one day pass 600 Yen
-Subway to Nijo Castle (1-3pm), Subway to Nishiki Market (3-5pm), walk to Teramachi covered arcade (5-6pm)
-Subway back to Kyoto Station, dinner and collect 7 day JR Pass, shinkansen tickets, Torokko Scenic Train tickets

Day 2
-7am use bus pass 500Yen go Kiyozimudera and drink from waterfall (did not get to do this during last tour)
- Explore Sannenzaka, Ninenzaka, Nene no michi, Ishibekoji (9-11am); If sakura blooming, Maruyama Koen
- Bus to Ginkakuji from Yasaka Shrine and visit from 12-2pm
- Walk Philosopher Path 40 mins towards Eikando if got sakura.
- From Eikando bus stop, take bus #5, transfer at Higashiyama Sanjo for bus #201/203. Alight at Shijo keihan-mae stop.
- Walk along Shirakawa canal and then turn right into Hanamikoji (4-6pm)
- Bus back to Kyoto Station for dinner

Day 3
-Activate JR pass
-7am visit Fushimi Inari, 9.30am train to Kobe Sannomiya for lunch at Mouriya (reserved at 11am)
-Go to Osaka, visit Osaka castle grounds only (2-4pm), include Sakuranomiya Park if sakura blooming
- Subway to Namba for Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi. Dinner of Daruma kushikatsu and takoyaki
-Shinkansen/limited express train back to Kyoto from Shin Osaka station

Day 4
-JR Sagano line to Umahori for Torokko Kameoka station and take first train back towards Arashiyama (9.35am)
-Alight at Torokko Arashiyama and walk through bamboo grove towards main street
-Explore Arashiyma town and togetsukyo bridge
-Take keifuku railway (randen) to kinkakuji (2-4pm)
-Back to Kyoto and check in 9 hrs Kyoto capsule hotel
-Night at Kawaramachi, Pontocho

Day 5
-7.30am train to Nara and bus to Kasuga Taisha
-Nara Park and Todaiji (10-1pm)
-Naramachi and Koshino-ie (3-4pm)
-5pm train/shinkansen to Hiroshima and check in APA Hiroshimaeki
-Night view of A-bomb dome

Day 6
-Peace memorial park and museum (7-11am)
-Lunch okonomiyaki at Okonomimura
-Train and ferry to Miyajima Island
-Walk to torii at low tide at 2.30pm, visit Itsukushima Shrine, explore main street
-Check in Ryoso Kawaguchi for dinner

Day 7
-High tide at 9am
-Ferry and train back to Hiroshima, shinkansen 11.53am to Himeji
-Himeji castle (1-4pm). If Himeji castle renovation still not finished by April 2015, will spend more time in Miyajima before earlier shinkansen to Tokyo
-Shinkansen to Tokyo (5pm) and check in Hotel Princess Garden near Meguro station
-Shibuya crossing at night

Day 8
-Disneysea

Day 9
-Ueno Park 7am if sakura blooming
-Zojoji temple for picture of Tokyo Tower
-Asakusa (10am-12pm)
-Harajuku, Meiji Shrine and Yogogi Park (2-5pm)
-7.30pm Narita Express to Narita and check in Mercure Narita because last day of JR pass

Day 10
-11am flight back

Based on the above itinerary, is it too packed and have I given enough time for visiting and transfer?

For day 2, is Shijo keihan-mae bus stop right in front of Gion-Shijo station? I am unable to get a clear answer from Google map. Gion-shijo is on the Keihan line, so also called shijo keihan?

Day 7 transfer from Miyajima torii to Hiroshima station, what is a reasonable time needed? The tide calendar says high tide at 9am and I really want a floating torii picture. So, assuming I take photo until 9.15am, when is the earliest time I can reach Hiroshima, including walking time to pier and also pier to Miyajimaguchi.

Many thanks. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jackieatbtu: May 15 2014, 07:23 PM
jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 15 2014, 05:34 PM)
mind asking how much expenses u reserve, as in use for shopping and food only assuming 29100yen spent for transportation on JR railway pass
I havent actually counted the full amount, but currently other transportation (subway, buses, trams) and entrance fees are around 20000 yen. Food is budgeted 3000 yen per day for total of 40000 including the Kobe beef lunch. Accomodation average 6000 yen per night for total 54000 yen. So, total expenses excluding shopping is about 150000 yen. Top up another 50000 yen for shopping and omiyage. Is that too much? hmm.gif
jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 15 2014, 06:00 PM)
so 200000yen for accommodation  food and shopping for 10 days?
Yes. 200,000 yen for my first F&E trip to Japan. tongue.gif This time targeting all the places I have been dreaming of for years. Was supposed to be solo but end up got one friend tagging along.

And, thanks for pointing out the typo for day 9. Should be Narita Express.

So, am I giving myself enough time for each attractions? I am not sure how much time needed at least for each temples/castle.

And, does everybody here wake up early and out of the hotel by 7am during their trips?

Cheers.
jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ May 15 2014, 07:25 PM)
For me, UENO first, then Tokyo Tower, then back to Asakusa is kinda out. From Ueno, Tokyo Metro Ginza Line can directly go to Asakusa first. Then from Asakusa, you can take a straight Toei Asakusa Line to Daimon-eki near Zojoji.

And the last thing does not fit either... Harajuku way out from the direction. If visiting the shrine first then maybe it can be sorted out.
Yes, but some folks do refer Skyliner as Limited Express or Shinkansen Class. If NEX I doubt so.
Oh, that makes sense. My initial thought was that Nakamise dori shops not opened that early and I could make a quick photo stop at Zojoji before Asakusa. Ueno would be depend if sakura is blooming or not. If no flowers, I will sleep in more and then take Yamanote line straight to Hamamatsucho and then subway to Asakusa. Which subway would have lesser walking at Hamamatsucho/Daimon and Asakusa? I was planning Toei line, in case want to detour to Sumida River for sakura.

So, it should be Yoyogi Park to Meiji Shrine and then backwards towards Harajuku Takeshitadori. nod.gif

By the way, I was reading up on best places to photograph Shibuya crossing and one blogger says the Shibuya station actually has a window/viewpoint facing the road. Anybody know where in the station that is?

Cheers.
jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 08:34 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 15 2014, 08:30 PM)
Still within Shibuya Station. there was a spot......Holy Spot for taking Shibuya Cross Picture.

This will be the result:
rclxms.gif Yes, that is the spot I was talking about. Can give up the secret to fellow humankind?

So, my itinerary has pass the eyes of the guru and approved? Not too rushed or packed for two not very active girls to go on their own? wub.gif
jackieatbtu
post May 15 2014, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(electron @ May 15 2014, 10:19 PM)
It's normal for ppl to check out at 7am or earlier from hotel
You may want to inform the front desk the night before regarding early check out to minimize delay
Ok, noted. My F&E kaki for the last three trips all sleep in at least till 7-8am. Only those follow tour get up earlier. So, I worry this coming trip will be like so 'kan cheong' and kiasu must go out early. tongue.gif

jackieatbtu
post May 16 2014, 06:33 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 16 2014, 12:05 AM)
wow, 11 months in advance plan until so detail liao
Bo bien. Too excited and been reading forums and blogs non stop. Once itinerary is confirmed, will settle down till one month before trip. May recheck the hotel options once jalan.net is opened for Japanese business hotel bookings. blush.gif
jackieatbtu
post May 18 2014, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(diuofo @ May 18 2014, 05:18 PM)
Hello everyone.We (me+son+ daugther) travelling to Haneda Airport from 21th Dec 2014 till 5th Jan 2015. This is our first time travelling to Tokyo.Our accommodation is not book yet.We will be staying at Shijuku.Can you please advice and guide us our itinerary?Do we need to buy JRpass?How many day JRpass??Can we go to MT Fuji during winter?Thanks 
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Disneyland/ Disney Sea
1 day in Tokyo- Shinjuku/ Shibuya/ Harajuku
1 day in Tokyo-Tokyo station/ Ginza/ Tsukiji market/ Tokyo Tower
1 day in Tokyo-Asakusa temple/ Tokyo Skytree/ Ueno Ameyoko market
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
1 day in Kyoto-Kinakakuji/Ryoanji Temple/Ninanji Temple/Bamboo Forest,Tenryji Temple
1 day in Kyoto-Fushimi Inari Shire/Nara Park/Nishiki Market
1 day in Kyoto-Kobe eat kobe beef/
1 day in Osaka-Osaka Castle/Shinsekei/
So far all my research on Kansai area more, so cant commnent all those near Kanto. But I think Nikko should be put closer together with the Kansai trip to make use of the JR Pass? JR Pass if you are traveling back to Tokyo. If one way Tokyo-Kyoto, no need.

And, you miss Kiyomizudera Temple in Kyoto! And, Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi at Osaka. For my one day trip to Osaka, I pick Dotonburi over Shinsekai.

This post has been edited by jackieatbtu: May 18 2014, 07:45 PM
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 19 2014, 01:11 PM)
After immigration at Haneda, do they still allow us to bring water (purchased at tax free zone) on board the plane?
I have been to a few international airports in Asia, Europe and USA. So far, only those flights flying into USA seem to be more strict on liquids bought/obtained from boarding gate. My usual practice is empty bottle through the x ray machine. Then refill at boarding gate before getting on the flight. But, the flight HKG-ORD got extra liquid check inside the aerobridge itself right before reaching the plane!
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(electron @ May 19 2014, 05:22 PM)
If i remember correctly, that's true for all US bound flight from HK - the security check is very near the gate. Can't recall if there's a water dispenser after the check point
Japan to US flight in Narita, there's a water dispenser near the gate, after the security checks
Definitely no more water dispenser. I filled up my water bottle at the boarding area (after immigration) as usual. Then, I boarded the plane at the gate and walked along the aerobridge. Inside the aerobridge, literally steps away from the plane, they set up three desks and manually checked all hand carry bags. Luckily the guy was friendly and didnt demand that I surrender my lovely water bottle. He secretly poured away the water into the plastic lined boxes under the table and returned my empty bottle.

This October will be my first time travel USA via Incheon. Not sure of the procedure. To be safe, no water inside my bottle. Ask water from the lovely SQ girls instead.
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 19 2014, 06:17 PM)
Japan to US all are premium flight. No budget airline. You can ask air steward give you brand new mineral water or refill your water bottle during flight.
I one time travelled MAS KUL-LHR. The 'lovely' lady don't want refill my bottle when I walked to the galley mid flight. She directed me to this dinky dispenser at the side of the galley wall. Water ended up taste funny. mad.gif
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 09:02 PM

RC Sifu, you mentioned previously that you like staying at APA hotels. I am now looking through the online booking system and managed to book a room with the Japanese system. I just keyed in my name, address and booking date without any need for credit card. The English version look totally different and need credit card information. My question is,

1) Is my Japanese booking valid even though they never ask for credit card as guarantee? I saw something as credit card prepayment at the end of the booking page. Does that I mean I must prepay before I arrive in Japan?

2) If I go for the English booking system and keyed in my credit card details, would I be charged immediately?

3) As I am going to stay at APA hotels in Kyoto and Hiroshima, will there be any member discount like the Toyoko Inn member card if I appy for the APA card? I saw something like points system?

4) Any comments on APA Kyoto Ekimae vs APA Kyoto Horikawadori? Horikawadori is further away but has indoor public bath. Ekimae is nearer. Which one would you pick?

Many thanks.
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 19 2014, 10:31 PM)
Just used Agoda to book the APA Hotel. All my APA Hotel are near to Train Station. Because I always reach very late and wake up very early then continue my reserch journey
I would normally use Agoda. But for this time, APA Kyoto Ekimae in Agoda only showing single room and small double bed. I am looking for a twin room, which is only available at the APA website.

Does this mean you usually book with Agoda for APA hotels and you never use their own website? I just need to know if they require prepayment though most Japanese hotels dont. Their own website help page is not very helpful in this and I am not sure if emailing the hotel would answer me or not.
jackieatbtu
post May 19 2014, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 19 2014, 10:43 PM)
Agoda Cheaper. I always choose most cheapest. Single Bed as I always check in late check out early.
Not possible for my dates though. Agoda is asking for 16,400 yen per night for a single room. The APA twin bed is just 20,666 yen per night. rclxub.gif

0.0493sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:24 PM