Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

happyshirt
post Jan 11 2014, 06:40 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 8 2014, 04:39 PM)
tuna auction can't be 'seen from the side,' it's in an enclosed place so you need to queue for it if you wanna see. Wholesale market, tourists only supposed to go in after 9am (but I recall seeing a lot of gaijin no fucuk given and go in earlier anyway. dunno if the guards will escort them out or not). if you don't feel like waking up at 4am to go see auction then just watch video lol
oh wow! thanks for the video man. I"m so relieved i didn't get up at 4am for this. Wud have cried tears of blood if i did. interesting for about 5 mins? blush.gif

This post has been edited by happyshirt: Jan 11 2014, 06:41 PM
happyshirt
post Jan 18 2014, 09:26 AM

412 posts

Hi guys, What airlines do you normally use to get to Tokyo from Malaysia? Apart from AA, MAS, Silkair, SQ? Tiger is 2 stopovers that's too much. I"m trying to find flights for Dec Christmas timeframe.

happyshirt
post Jan 18 2014, 10:26 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 18 2014, 10:24 AM)
AA, MAS , JAL are direct flight
ANA have to fly to Singapore first.
EVA have to go Taipei first.
Ok that helps. Thanks. I'm originating in Penang so EVA oso out unless there's a direct PG to TPE flt else 2 stopover.

This post has been edited by happyshirt: Jan 18 2014, 10:32 AM
happyshirt
post Mar 11 2014, 10:09 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(juwels @ Mar 11 2014, 08:11 AM)
this site is trusted - i used them nov last year and rented the higher end MiFi model. since i was arriving late, i had them send the unit to my hotel. package was handed to me as i checked in, and i used it continuously for a week before dropping it off at a postbox in the airport. bring a portable charger if you want to use unit whole day smile.gif also - MiFi comes with sim card inside, so you can use it immediately.
I'm trying to decide between this and getting b-mobile sim which i used in my last trip. What is the benefit if using the wi-fi over the bmobile sim? Been trying to figure this out but no success. apprecaite any insights as i'm going to japan again next month.
happyshirt
post Mar 11 2014, 12:02 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Mar 11 2014, 11:45 AM)
With the dongle thing, you can connect more device to it compare to the sim which can only use on 1 device. I used the MiFi from Global Advance Comm last 2 weeks and it was superb. Had them delivered to the hotel since I arrived in Tokyo at night and returned it back at Haneda airport post box (which is just a small post box inside a shop).
did u get the 75mbps or 21mbps? since i'm travelling alone then maybe sim enuf d? its cheaper oso
happyshirt
post Mar 31 2014, 03:12 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 30 2014, 09:30 PM)
eh give some pointers..where is it, name, etc  looks good biggrin.gif
Yeah i'm leaving for kyoto this friday. Those scallops look yum! where's the shop?
happyshirt
post Apr 24 2014, 09:51 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2014, 12:05 AM)
dont worry..i can assure you that signage placement is better than KL
Absolutely!! It occured to me at Osaka Station. There so big so many railway lines got clear signs and easy to find your way around. KL ah?? 1 small station i stood there where to go??!?!?!? scratching my head.
happyshirt
post Apr 24 2014, 09:53 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 22 2014, 05:15 PM)
Bus are not like train. Time hard to predict. Might facing traffic jam.
I don't like the Kyoto busses, they can get crowded verrrrry crowded, just keep packing em in squeeze, squeeze, squeeze, as far as possible i took the subway and walked. And during peak periods i dunno bout non peak yes got traffic jam in Kyoto.
happyshirt
post Apr 24 2014, 11:47 AM

412 posts

So i've been to Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima, Tokyo, and some of the surrouding areas that can be covered by day trips. Hokkaido is next.

Where else should i cover? Not Okinawa, I'm not keen on the climate. I usually travel in spring and autumn when it is cool. Bearing in mind I travel solo that would mean transportation needs to be convenient. Can't afford to be renting car to get around.

Any recomendations? And before kena i've done some research, i'd just like some 1st had recomendations.

Thank you.
happyshirt
post Apr 24 2014, 12:15 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 24 2014, 12:08 PM)
See my Signature then pick one place.  Those are the placed in Japan I already visited.
oh ya there's a buffet to choose from. yeah i'll start from your siggie and google them and see.

happyshirt
post Apr 26 2014, 11:39 AM

412 posts

Hey guys. I like the coffee from the vending machines and this trip was trying to figure out if any of the black coffee had sugar. All the ones i tried were black no sugar. I can't read kanji so buta huruf there. My friend taught me look for the kanji that has like fence means no sugar but she couldn't find any with sugar to show as example.
Got or not?
happyshirt
post Apr 27 2014, 10:47 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 26 2014, 12:07 PM)
the ones that has written: 微糖 = little bit sugar

無糖 = NO sugar

The little bit sugar one is black or with milk? Got black no milk with sugar?
I spend a ridiculous amount of time in front of the vending machines trying to figure what is wat biggrin.gif

happyshirt
post Apr 29 2014, 01:04 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 29 2014, 11:35 AM)
Is not only cheap, It also have to make sense also.  You going Japan vacation and you bring back French chocolate as gift? 
That will be so disappoint.

Same like I going French but I bring back Sushi to you as gift.  Sushi made from French Chef.  Instead I bring you French Wine.

You will be so Dafuq......
Ahhh RegentCid i was wondering if i was the only one who thought that way. Last trip to Japan my friend bought perfume as her gift to people estee lauder and issey miyake I was wondering so much nice stuff why buy things that you can get at your local supermart. maybe she thought issey miyake is jappie brand kut? blink.gif
happyshirt
post May 5 2014, 11:23 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 3 2014, 01:23 PM)
yeah..i also wonder, they didnt ask for my CC details at all even thought their policy states

※About cancellation Fee
The charges for cancellation of reservations are as follows.
・Cancellation requests made two days prior to the scheduled arrival date: 30% of the total charge.
・Cancellation requests made one day prior to the scheduled arrival date: 50% of the total charge.
・Cancellation requests made on the day of scheduled arrival: 80% of the total charge.
・No-show: 100% of the original reservation fee.
I think it depends on the timing. When i was there in March last year it was fully booked.
happyshirt
post May 14 2014, 12:30 PM

412 posts

Does anyone have recomendations to for accomodation in Furano and Biei for solo traveller? How about car rentals which website do u use? I found Tooco but are tehre any others? Thinking of picking up the car at Furano.

happyshirt
post May 14 2014, 01:33 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 14 2014, 12:55 PM)
waste money.  in Hokkaido just stay at Sapporo.  Sapporo will be your base.
2nd Base will be Hakodate.
No need waste money on other place.  If really want then Asahikawa.
Why is it a waste of money? Can elaborate please? My primary goal is the flower fields in spring and photography. Thus the destination. Why
happyshirt
post May 15 2014, 07:53 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 14 2014, 11:11 PM)
Bro,

You anwser can get HERE

I used to take the Tomamu & Sahoro Crystal Express to Furano during last year July.

Journey time around 2hours, take the most early train and remember to make reservation seat.
[attachmentid=3971154]

and trust me,

the moment you saw the flower field, you will Wah Wah Wah yelling,

but after 2-3hours,

you wish to back already...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif whistling.gif
Thanks for sharing your inputs ahpaul82 and RegentCid and i'm not a Bro btw. Yes Japan guide I use all the time. And from my initial research it seems that transport around the towns is a bit of a problem. After you get there i mean. There is also the Panorama and patchwork roads which i'm interested in.
How did u get around? did you go to the places with public transport only?

0.0445sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:58 PM