Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

deodorant
post Jan 8 2014, 04:39 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(xmascat @ Jan 8 2014, 04:31 PM)
thanks for the response smile.gif i'm staying near tsukiji.
i saw from the forum that unless i plan to join the auction, i can only visit after 9am, or can we watch from the side? tongue.gif

tuna auction can't be 'seen from the side,' it's in an enclosed place so you need to queue for it if you wanna see. Wholesale market, tourists only supposed to go in after 9am (but I recall seeing a lot of gaijin no fucuk given and go in earlier anyway. dunno if the guards will escort them out or not). if you don't feel like waking up at 4am to go see auction then just watch video lol

deodorant
post Jan 10 2014, 09:56 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2014, 07:39 PM)
I think January tips will be route to Kawachiko or maybe a fxxx delicious food in Tokyo or Osaka or Kyoto.

This one please biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Jan 10 2014, 02:40 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 10 2014, 01:45 PM)
plan to go during cherry blossom season. When is the best time to go?

can't understand what you want, you already said you wanna go during sakura season, so ... that's the best time to go lor.

or are you asking what is the best date to go? Different places different date, so go refer to japan guide. http://www.japan-guide.com/blog/sakura13/

note that the weather leading up to the season will depend when exactly the season hits. sometimes late sometimes early by few weeks, so if you bought your tickets way in advance then depends on your luck also.
deodorant
post Jan 10 2014, 05:00 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 10 2014, 04:28 PM)
Some news about Tsukiji Market from Japan Times.
http://www.japantimes.co.jp/life/2014/01/0...t/#.Us-vACeVPIY

After the inner market moves to Toyosu, visitors will no longer be able to walk among the colorful and dizzying array of seafood — the new location will instead have a viewing area overlooking the nakaoroshi

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu liddat no siok liao.
deodorant
post Jan 10 2014, 05:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MengHoi @ Jan 10 2014, 04:58 PM)
That's why I was asking for itineraries...  doh.gif

nobody knows what you like or don't like, so giving you itinerary that is tailored to our own particular likes / dislikes is a waste of time. not to mention the regulars here been asked the same questions over and over for months and years. Go to http://www.japan-guide.com/ and shortlist what seems interesting to you, then come up with a draft itinerary then the sifu will comment.
deodorant
post Jan 12 2014, 09:43 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Jan 11 2014, 06:40 PM)
oh wow! thanks for the video man. I"m so relieved i didn't get up at 4am for this. Wud have cried tears of blood if i did. interesting for about 5 mins?  blush.gif

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jan 11 2014, 11:24 PM)
Oh thats what the auction is like? I was actually expecting hundreds of sellers in a huge space raising their hands and bidding and stuff like that and the next auction coming right after the previous one ended.
Based on the video it looked pretty simple and wasn't as crowded as expected. If that's what the auction is like then I guess I've already seen it eh?

Well ... yes lol. The viewing area is just a small corridor and is damn crowded with the 50 or whatever tourists that are allowed for each session, so you can't wander around, just stand/squat there and watch. And the security ushers you out after 10 minutes or so.

So uhhhhhhhhhh whether it's worth it or not depends on what you want/like lor.
deodorant
post Jan 12 2014, 12:18 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jan 12 2014, 11:49 AM)
Especially on how to use the train system which I'm still trying to get.

Honestly, if you're a KL guy and have taken LRT/Komuter before, Tokyo train network isn't all that different. Yes, there's a few hundred more stations and lines, and perhaps some less touristy / smaller stations might not have romajii station names, but as long as you have experience taking subway/metro in other cities you shouldn't have that much trouble in Tokyo
deodorant
post Jan 18 2014, 12:01 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jan 18 2014, 11:54 AM)
I've never had stopovers before. Do you get to like sight see around the place for a few hours or will you be stuck in the airport?

Most stopover you will only sightsee the airport. Unless it's like at least maybe 6 hours or more (mostly you will arrange 1-3hr stopover which is not enough to get out to town then come back in).

Don't take Cathay. My personal experience is they use old, OLD planes for their KL-HK-Japan route, with IFE that isn't even on demand (unacceptable for 2014).
deodorant
post Jan 19 2014, 11:46 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Jan 19 2014, 11:04 AM)
anyone stayed there b4 can give your opinion ?

Honestly how often will you be in your hotel room? Go back at night shower, sleep, then next morning go out liao. Point is in my humble opinion the hotel + or - a bit oso doesn't really matter, unless you are those princess type who must have 5 star mattress only can sleep icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Jan 22 2014, 01:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jan 21 2014, 09:59 PM)
any good free GPS/maps on android market for japan?
My opinion, get some sort of data (whether roaming, rent sim card, pocket wifi etc) and use Google maps. Having data much easier since Japan hardly got any free wifi hot spots.
deodorant
post Jan 23 2014, 12:23 PM

5,691 posts

I still don't see the point in caching offline google maps for holidaying in Japan. The main navigation you would use smartphone for is subway directions, train schedules, prices, etc which all need data. If no data and just have a map, you go nearest subway station might not be correct cos that particular line not directly going to another station that you wanna go, etc, no?
deodorant
post Feb 6 2014, 08:35 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Feb 6 2014, 12:03 AM)
I when to Disneysea last week...totally for kids...not recommend  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Disneysea is already a very 'grown up' version of Disney. Lucky you never went Disneyland, then you lagi facepalm. Want totally grown up theme park need to go Six Flags, Universal Studios franchises icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Feb 7 2014, 11:21 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Feb 6 2014, 03:16 PM)
we want to visit Tokyo Disney because it's considered the best Disney in the world.  It will be a waste not to visit there at least once in a lifetime.  also, Universal Studio Singapore also got, although quite different, but it's nothing special.

Haha wut. Best Disney in Asia and Europe, maybe. Anyways USJ got a lot of repeat rides with USS so if you've visited USS recently then feels too deja vu when visitign USJ. But the cool weather (depend on season also lah) makes it SO much more pleasant than in SG.

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Feb 6 2014, 03:16 PM)
i know got a lot of affordable food, but it's best to just prepare more budget, since i'm a super foodie

must go visit narisawa liao, best restoran in asia http://www.theworlds50best.com/asia/en/asi...estaurants.html

QUOTE(belvadierre @ Feb 6 2014, 04:37 PM)
Sorry, am a noob here ~_~; Had googled around, but I think local input would be best.

RegentCid female tag leh icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Feb 10 2014, 12:09 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Feb 9 2014, 10:30 PM)
Hello guys, I'm planning for a trip to Japan

Just want to ask, will RM5k of expenses be a bit of a stretch for a 2 weeks trip? Or it's safe to up the budget a bit.

I've not decided where or when to go yet, but I'm planning to go do some sight seeing, taking photographs and such. Living and eating won't be a major concern, so I'll be okay with staying in budget hotels and such.

Oh and I'm planning for a solo trip.
This is like asking 'guys I wanna buy a car but haven't decided. Will 40k be enough to buy the car I want?'

How do we know whether 40k is enough if we don't know what cat you want?
deodorant
post Feb 17 2014, 08:31 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ChaNzy @ Feb 15 2014, 02:34 PM)
Hey, I was thinking of visiting tokyo during Dec this year and Jan next year. Any ideas how much would it cost per day? Planning to go for one week only. Rough estimations for accommodation, air tickets and transportation (suica card)? Thanks smile.gif

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2410.html
deodorant
post Feb 19 2014, 04:59 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Feb 19 2014, 04:09 PM)
whereas i am referring to our smartphone's mobile app of MAPS by google.

For subway/metro in tokyo/osaka, google maps app works perfectly as long as you have data. shows you what station to walk to, how many stops, etc etc.
For bus service in kyoto a bit spotty cos the bus stop info somehow perhaps not that accurate.

If you have no data and pre-download, then it's almost worthless cos navigation needs data.
deodorant
post Mar 3 2014, 10:50 AM

5,691 posts

NATAS (SG travel fair) promotions, MAS got return ticket to Osaka/Tokyo at barely over sgd500, must travel by June. Tempted to go again in May ... hmm.gif ...
deodorant
post Mar 3 2014, 01:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 3 2014, 12:36 PM)
500 SGD I can fly AA premium flatbead

from SG machiam surely more expensive leh. Some more I last minute tired of work wanna go holiday kind of thing lol. Surveying mid march prices ...
MAS $530
Scoot (SIA LCC) $750
AA normal $560
deodorant
post Mar 3 2014, 01:49 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shaohui @ Mar 3 2014, 01:19 PM)
anyway, any recommendation on visiting tsujiki fish market for the tuna auction?
Should I go around 4 am to queue?
I heard the trains dont operate that early morning. So have to take taxi?
I am still pondering the place to stay? Maybe stay around that area to save taxi fare?
Cause I am travelling with group of 5 including myself.
Are taxi's expensive?

I think most japan taxis only take 4 passengers.
When I went last, a ~5km taxi trip from the hotel was 4500yen
The day that I went, 4.25am already all spaces for the session taken up.
deodorant
post Mar 5 2014, 10:33 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Mar 4 2014, 11:54 PM)
Tokyo >> Hokkaido >> NAGASAKI >> KYOTO >> FUJI >>TOKYO
will i have enought time ? 8 days enought to visit all the place ?

gila ka tokyo hokkaido kansai in 8 days doh.gif like this half your trip is just travelling to touch and go from place to place.
IMO 8 days AT MOST tokyo area + kansai area only.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 5 2014, 10:36 AM

0.0248sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:45 AM