Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.
LukeMjstc
Jun 20 2014, 08:19 AM

Ohayou minasan!
I am planning for a 14 days trip to japan and will mainly cover kantou and kansai region... Need some recommendations on side trips... Below are my itinerary:
Day 1: Chubu (overnight flight - arrive morning) - Kyoto Day 2: Kyoto Day 3: Kyoto Day 4: Nara Day 5: Kyoto - Hiroshima Day 6: Miyajima - Tokyo Day 7: Tokyo Day 8: Tokyo Day 9: Tokyo Day 10: Tokyo Day 11: Tokyo Day 12: Nikko or Takayama Day 13: Nikko or Takayama - Nagoya Day 14: Nagoya - Chubu
Need some opinions on: 1. Should I add a day for Kobe or Mount Koya by slashing one day off Tokyo? Which will offer a more authentic Japan experience? 2. Which will be more satisfying in between Nikko and Takayama in your opinion? Should I skip exploring Nagoya and spend more days in one of these two places? I am more keen for cultural exposure and scenic views btw.
LukeMjstc
Jun 20 2014, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 20 2014, 10:22 AM) Thanks sifu. Sorry for not informing but I am going 6-19 sept. Not reli wanna shopping but would like to see the metro part of japan too... I don't think culture explore in japan is complete without experiencing the stark contrast of traditional vs modern japan. Don't mind to slash a day off tokyo though anyway since I'll be spending mamy days there. Thanks a lot.
LukeMjstc
Jun 21 2014, 08:46 PM

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jun 20 2014, 08:00 PM) Underestimating Tokyo is not good yo~~ QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 21 2014, 05:38 PM) I'm willing to spend 1 week in kyoto alone I would also like to spend much more days in Japan, but unfortunately I am not son of millionaire and I am not having a dream job that can take leave for a month or more. So basically I'll have to either cut down the number of destinations or the amount of days spent at each locations. But I will be landing at Nagoya and my initial planning is based on the assumption that I will get a 2 week JR pass, which makes spending more days at Tokyo and Kyoto and skipping the others don't seem to be a good idea. Thank for your feedback anyway and I'll see what I can refine after I have detailed out my itinerary in Kyoto and Tokyo.
LukeMjstc
Jul 5 2014, 06:00 PM

Guys, just wondering if Mazda plant visit is a good substitute for Toyota? It's more convenient to get to Mazda while I am at Hiroshima as to go to Toyota is a bit more time and money consuming.