Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

stormlcc
post May 1 2014, 03:07 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ May 1 2014, 02:23 PM)
Where/which shop did you buy it from? I was told a box cost around RM60. Inside got 10 miniboxes with 4 sticks. So total per box is 40 sticks. But I think that's probably at the airport.
if i remember correctly it's in the shop beside Uniqlo in Dotonbori.
stormlcc
post May 1 2014, 10:57 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 1 2014, 06:24 PM)
If I take Nozomi from shin osaka (depart 5.10pm) to tokyo (arrive 7.40pm) and then take JR to Ueno, will I get caught up with the rush hour crowd?

If I want to get a glimpse of Mt Fuji during the train ride, what is the latest possible time should I depart from shin-osaka?

if u want to look at Mt. Fuji i suggest u depart an hour earlier
stormlcc
post May 1 2014, 11:22 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(streme21 @ May 1 2014, 11:09 PM)
Hi guys, just want to ask, if any of u guys ever get a JR PASS?  smile.gif
If you did, do we need to get a visa just to redeem the ticket? icon_question.gif
u don't need visa, just your passport
stormlcc
post May 2 2014, 07:07 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ May 2 2014, 06:18 AM)
Must visit then. Looks like a good place to bring something home. Thanks.
and don't be afraid of the loooooooooooooong queue, Japanese is super efficient remember?

when i first arrived at KIX the immigration checkpoint was filled with people (almost 400 of them). i thought it's going to take at least an hour and half, but it only took 30 minutes! if it's in malaysia..................... sweat.gif
stormlcc
post May 2 2014, 07:19 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 2 2014, 07:11 AM)
Malaysia got the world fastest imigration system. But most malaysian dun want used it.
Malaysian leaving country or back to Malaysia just need slot the passport in machine and scan fingerprint only.

Like go through subway station ticket gate
not talking about Malaysians. talking about foreigners.

for malaysians, immigration and customs don't even bother checking anything.
stormlcc
post May 2 2014, 03:35 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 2 2014, 08:43 AM)
Malaysia Immigration counter for Foreigners are fast too.  If you go any Airport in Malaysia.  If got 10 counter 8 counter are for handle foreigners.  2 for Malaysian.

In Malaysia Airport if you saw a very long Q mostly are Malaysian counter.  Those Malaysian 90% all dunno how to used that fast lane system.
If talking about slowest, China are the slowest.  Super strictly rules and alot of checks stage by stage.
maybe in KLIA will have more efficient counters but LCCT? I've never heard any "efficiency stories" there. fyi for malaysian counters, the "fast lane" system are actually slower than those with officers because the machines DO NOT WORK most of the time.

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ May 2 2014, 02:51 PM)
If it is in Malaysia.. You will then half of counters from Buka to Tutup

Reason: Malas ko nak layan  doh.gif
yup, most of the time half the counters are closed
stormlcc
post May 2 2014, 05:19 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2014, 04:54 PM)
If i ask my ryokan to call a taxi for me, will the taxi charge more?
there's a standard extra charge for called taxis, not expensive
stormlcc
post May 5 2014, 03:40 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ May 4 2014, 03:03 PM)
Lol....me first time in jpn. All I see are eateries and lady's clothing store everywhere. All I got in osaka castle was a cone of ice cream. Lol!just back from umeda and gosh...people mountain people sea! Jpn is really not a place for me...too much of walking Liaotongue.gif
that's why u don't see many fat ppl there!

i lost almost 1kg during my stay in japan, and i'm a foodie, i went there just for the food..........
stormlcc
post May 5 2014, 05:45 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 5 2014, 05:35 PM)
LOL, I still a fatty.  6 years plus when Japan over 150 times. I still fatty.

Walk more eat more.  Haha
lol, your body already accustomed to all that walking, need to do more 'extreme' sports to cut fat
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 04:07 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 18 2014, 01:13 PM)
It's gonna be hella expensive to eat scallops here in Malaysia. Fresh or not another issue. sweat.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ May 18 2014, 02:56 PM)
yeah lor. the biggest scallop i've ever eaten here is probably the size of a 50 cent coin  sad.gif
can find large scallops in seafood suppliers in malaysia, frozen ones, biggest i've had is around 2 inches in diameter and almost an inch in thickness. not bad lah but problem is they usually sell by the kg, so u have to fork out at least RM90-120 for a bag (depending on season price)
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 04:25 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 18 2014, 04:16 PM)
In sushi restaurant (not kaiten), can we order 2 sets only and then shared by 3 people?
yes that's what we did, , but we did spent a lot on single orders (ala carte), averaging 5k yen per person in one of the restaurants in Tsujiki Market.

This post has been edited by stormlcc: May 18 2014, 04:26 PM
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 06:43 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(diuofo @ May 18 2014, 05:18 PM)
Hello everyone.We (me+son+ daugther) travelling to Haneda Airport from 21th Dec 2014 till 5th Jan 2015. This is our first time travelling to Tokyo.Our accommodation is not book yet.We will be staying at Shijuku.Can you please advice and guide us our itinerary?Do we need to buy JRpass?How many day JRpass??Can we go to MT Fuji during winter?Thanks 
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Disneyland/ Disney Sea
1 day in Tokyo- Shinjuku/ Shibuya/ Harajuku
1 day in Tokyo-Tokyo station/ Ginza/ Tsukiji market/ Tokyo Tower
1 day in Tokyo-Asakusa temple/ Tokyo Skytree/ Ueno Ameyoko market
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
1 day in Kyoto-Kinakakuji/Ryoanji Temple/Ninanji Temple/Bamboo Forest,Tenryji Temple
1 day in Kyoto-Fushimi Inari Shire/Nara Park/Nishiki Market
1 day in Kyoto-Kobe eat kobe beef/
1 day in Osaka-Osaka Castle/Shinsekei/
make sure u go to Osaka Aquarium (2-3 hours at least), it's worth it.
stormlcc
post May 19 2014, 09:43 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Band0fs1nz @ May 18 2014, 11:56 PM)
Hi guys, I'm planning a trip to Japan for about 7 days. Flying AA.

The actual plan is to get to Osaka from KL, get to Tokyo for about 3 days, then get back to Osaka from Tokyo, and fly back to KL.

I was checking about JR pass, is it worth the ¥29,110 with regards to the rough plan?
if just from Osaka to Tokyo then back again the price will almost be the same. if u plan to go other places (ie Kyoto etc) then it's worth it. seriously, 7 days for these 2 places (Osaka and Tokyo) is really not enough. I advice u to just stick to Osaka / Kansai area, don't waste time travel, my trip was 10 days and it's barely enough to cover roughly 50% of my planned schedule for these 2 places. u have to understand, if u are not familiar with japan u will need a bit more time to find your way around in a free and easy trip.

I like Osaka more than Tokyo btw, it's more relaxing. the only reason i would go to Tokyo is just because of Tsujiki Market. I'm not a fan of shopping, so Tokyo has nothing to offer me except the seafood. oh, and THE BEST MEAL i've had (except for the sushi in Tsujiki) is in Osaka outskirts (Minamino area) and it cost only 600 yen, super local food and local style, full meal with unlimited supply of rice, eat until u burst.
stormlcc
post May 24 2014, 10:00 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(renjiv2 @ May 23 2014, 03:10 PM)
I will travel to Osaka next month, wonder if I buy some watch & electronic stuff, wil I b taxed?
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 23 2014, 05:02 PM)
watch price wise is about the same...

but u can go to duty free shop
show your passport, on top of duty free... u can have special discount price for foreigner only

ps: seiko star wars edition wub.gif
no need duty free shop lah, normal shop also can get discount if the item price is =/> 10k yen
stormlcc
post Jun 2 2014, 07:23 PM

1,954 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jun 2 2014, 07:23 PM

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0642sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:37 AM