122 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V4, Discover Japan start here.

phantom
post May 18 2014, 02:48 PM

174 posts

hi all experts here,

I never travel to any country b4, now my company (japan based company) gonna send me to japan odaiba in tokyo for a 3months training.

there is few thing im worry, need some help~:
-visa
now malaysia is visa free to japan, the max duration will be 90days? i will be there for 2 and half month (around 75days), so am i good?

-money (can just use CC anywhere?) company told me to use citibank account here, they say cash atm card can be used in japan also with some charging rate.

-phone calls
im using note2(no LTE/4G), with maxis postpaid line. will IDD calls works there? do i need to buy a sim card there will be cheaper?

-internet
company told me they will rent a share house for me(hotels is too expensive fro 3months ;/) im not sure it got internet or not, so i need back up plans for this.
can i able to buy/rent any 3g/wifi service in japan with a travel visa?
or data roaming with maxis? (its expensive i think)

-shoping
i plan to buy some banned action figures from japan (mostly sexy anime girls)
can bring back here if i toss the original box?

-place must go? suggestion?
is there any "must go" place around tokyo, since i dont travel dont know where to go lol.

thanks!
munkeyflo
post May 18 2014, 02:55 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(kernan_rio @ May 18 2014, 01:49 PM)
Ok thanks. Just scared they ask me for proof of funds, haha. Like must have at least 6K in bank account.
The immigration didn't ask for any additional proof or ask any questions when I was there.

QUOTE(phantom @ May 18 2014, 02:48 PM)
hi all experts here,

I never travel to any country b4, now my company (japan based company) gonna send me to japan odaiba in tokyo for a 3months training.

-visa
now malaysia is visa free to japan, the max duration will be 90days? i will be there for 2 and half month (around 75days), so am i good?

-money (can just use CC anywhere?) company told me to use citibank account here, they say cash atm card can be used in japan also with some charging rate.

-phone calls
im using note2(no LTE/4G), with maxis postpaid line. will IDD calls works there? do i need to buy a sim card there will be cheaper?

-internet
company told me they will rent a share house for me(hotels is too expensive fro 3months ;/) im not sure it got internet or not, so i need back up plans for this.

-shoping

is there any "must go" place around tokyo, since i dont travel dont know where to go lol.
thanks!
Visa - if company sending you, wouldn't they settle the visa issues for you too?
Money - CC widely acceptable. But of course cash is always handy. Most ATM cards work as long as got that logo thingy.
Shopping - Don't think you'll have any issues even with the original box on. At KLIA, the customs don't check most of the time also.
Must go places - Just do some research, Japan travel guides are everywhere over the internet.
zstan
post May 18 2014, 02:56 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 18 2014, 01:13 PM)
It's gonna be hella expensive to eat scallops here in Malaysia. Fresh or not another issue. sweat.gif
yeah lor. the biggest scallop i've ever eaten here is probably the size of a 50 cent coin sad.gif
lucaswjk
post May 18 2014, 03:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(phantom @ May 18 2014, 02:48 PM)
hi all experts here,

-visa

-phone calls

-internet

-shoping

thanks!
-visa, visa free... but since u r going there for work... u might need to go to japan embassy to get the working permit. u need a letter from ur company and the company in japan
-money, creditcard visa is acceptable... i using citibank to pay for the car rental and hotel... confirm no problem.
since u r going for very long time... u might wan to learn to use banker cheque and TT transfer for backup.
-phone, ya IDD works... just incase, u might wan to increase ur deposit and creditlimit for ur maxis line
2months... u better take japan sims
-internet, use mobile data la (from able phone)
-shopping, miniature? drool.gif tumpang buy some perfect grade stuff tongue.gif
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 04:07 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 18 2014, 01:13 PM)
It's gonna be hella expensive to eat scallops here in Malaysia. Fresh or not another issue. sweat.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ May 18 2014, 02:56 PM)
yeah lor. the biggest scallop i've ever eaten here is probably the size of a 50 cent coin  sad.gif
can find large scallops in seafood suppliers in malaysia, frozen ones, biggest i've had is around 2 inches in diameter and almost an inch in thickness. not bad lah but problem is they usually sell by the kg, so u have to fork out at least RM90-120 for a bag (depending on season price)
Human Nature
post May 18 2014, 04:16 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

In sushi restaurant (not kaiten), can we order 2 sets only and then shared by 3 people?
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 04:25 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 18 2014, 04:16 PM)
In sushi restaurant (not kaiten), can we order 2 sets only and then shared by 3 people?
yes that's what we did, , but we did spent a lot on single orders (ala carte), averaging 5k yen per person in one of the restaurants in Tsujiki Market.

This post has been edited by stormlcc: May 18 2014, 04:26 PM
diuofo
post May 18 2014, 05:12 PM

Hello everyone.We (me+son+ daugther) travelling to Haneda Airport from 21th Dec 2014 till 5th Jan 2015. This is our first time travelling to Tokyo.Our accommodation is not book yet.We will be staying at Shijuku.Can you please advice and guide us our itinerary?Do we need to buy JRpass?How many day JRpass??Can we go to MT Fuji during winter?Thanks 
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Disneyland/ Disney Sea
1 day in Tokyo- Shinjuku/ Shibuya/ Harajuku
1 day in Tokyo-Tokyo station/ Ginza/ Tsukiji market/ Tokyo Tower
1 day in Tokyo-Asakusa temple/ Tokyo Skytree/ Ueno Ameyoko market
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
1 day in Kyoto-Kinakakuji/Ryoanji Temple/Ninanji Temple/Bamboo Forest,Tenryji Temple
1 day in Kyoto-Fushimi Inari Shire/Nara Park/Nishiki Market
1 day in Kyoto-Kobe eat kobe beef/
1 day in Osaka-Osaka Castle/Shinsekei/

diuofo
post May 18 2014, 05:18 PM

Hello everyone.We (me+son+ daugther) travelling to Haneda Airport from 21th Dec 2014 till 5th Jan 2015. This is our first time travelling to Tokyo.Our accommodation is not book yet.We will be staying at Shijuku.Can you please advice and guide us our itinerary?Do we need to buy JRpass?How many day JRpass??Can we go to MT Fuji during winter?Thanks 
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
1 day in Kyoto-Kinakakuji/Ryoanji Temple/Ninanji Temple/Bamboo Forest,Tenryji Temple
munkeyflo
post May 18 2014, 06:01 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 18 2014, 02:56 PM)
yeah lor. the biggest scallop i've ever eaten here is probably the size of a 50 cent coin  sad.gif
Damn, I'm missing those hotate sashimi. Oh so big so yummy. cry.gif
stormlcc
post May 18 2014, 06:43 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(diuofo @ May 18 2014, 05:18 PM)
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
make sure u go to Osaka Aquarium (2-3 hours at least), it's worth it.
jackieatbtu
post May 18 2014, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(diuofo @ May 18 2014, 05:18 PM)
1 day in Tokyo-Nikko
1 day in Tokyo-Akihabara
1 day in Takayama
1 day in Shirakawago
So far all my research on Kansai area more, so cant commnent all those near Kanto. But I think Nikko should be put closer together with the Kansai trip to make use of the JR Pass? JR Pass if you are traveling back to Tokyo. If one way Tokyo-Kyoto, no need.

And, you miss Kiyomizudera Temple in Kyoto! And, Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi at Osaka. For my one day trip to Osaka, I pick Dotonburi over Shinsekai.

This post has been edited by jackieatbtu: May 18 2014, 07:45 PM
TSRegentCid
post May 18 2014, 07:58 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 18 2014, 01:56 PM)
Scallop have to go Hokkaido. Sapporo fish market // Otaru fish Market // Hakodate fish market. easily found 50 sen size.

But I prefer Grill Oyster more. November to Feb in Hiroshima are Oyster season. taste just blow you away.

Or all time season can go Kanazawa grill oyster. taste good also

This post has been edited by RegentCid: May 18 2014, 07:59 PM
insane.kill
post May 18 2014, 11:22 PM

209 posts

guys,going to osaka on 26 to 29,then to tokyo and back to malaysia 1st june. which place is cheap to buy action figure? tokyo or osaka? any interesting place to visit? is ok to takw bullet train to tokyo?
Band0fs1nz
post May 18 2014, 11:56 PM

38 posts

Hi guys, I'm planning a trip to Japan for about 7 days. Flying AA.

The actual plan is to get to Osaka from KL, get to Tokyo for about 3 days, then get back to Osaka from Tokyo, and fly back to KL.

I was checking about JR pass, is it worth the ¥29,110 with regards to the rough plan?
ZeroSP
post May 19 2014, 02:33 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(Band0fs1nz @ May 18 2014, 11:56 PM)

The actual plan is to get to Osaka from KL, get to Tokyo for about 3 days, then get back to Osaka from Tokyo, and fly back to KL.

I was checking about JR pass, is it worth the ¥29,110 with regards to the rough plan?
Hmm not to pick bones, but actually your AA could be misleading at first, although I know it means AK = Air Asia.
stormlcc
post May 19 2014, 09:43 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Band0fs1nz @ May 18 2014, 11:56 PM)

if just from Osaka to Tokyo then back again the price will almost be the same. if u plan to go other places (ie Kyoto etc) then it's worth it. seriously, 7 days for these 2 places (Osaka and Tokyo) is really not enough. I advice u to just stick to Osaka / Kansai area, don't waste time travel, my trip was 10 days and it's barely enough to cover roughly 50% of my planned schedule for these 2 places. u have to understand, if u are not familiar with japan u will need a bit more time to find your way around in a free and easy trip.

I like Osaka more than Tokyo btw, it's more relaxing. the only reason i would go to Tokyo is just because of Tsujiki Market. I'm not a fan of shopping, so Tokyo has nothing to offer me except the seafood. oh, and THE BEST MEAL i've had (except for the sushi in Tsujiki) is in Osaka outskirts (Minamino area) and it cost only 600 yen, super local food and local style, full meal with unlimited supply of rice, eat until u burst.
girl87
post May 19 2014, 12:00 PM

hey all, just wondering when are the sales month in japan?
electron
post May 19 2014, 12:31 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(jackieatbtu @ May 18 2014, 07:44 PM)
So far all my research on Kansai area more, so cant commnent all those near Kanto. But I think Nikko should be put closer together with the Kansai trip to make use of the JR Pass? JR Pass if you are traveling back to Tokyo. If one way Tokyo-Kyoto, no need.

And, you miss Kiyomizudera Temple in Kyoto! And, Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi at Osaka. For my one day trip to Osaka, I pick Dotonburi over Shinsekai.
You can use JR pass to go takayama too
So you might want to consider that in your JR usage planning
TSRegentCid
post May 19 2014, 12:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(girl87 @ May 19 2014, 11:00 AM)
hey all, just wondering when are the sales month in japan?
June, July, and January

122 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:53 AM