Financial Cukai Pintu Explained, Cukai Pintu/Assessment Rate issue in KL

kochin
post Jan 7 2014, 10:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(MyKLTalks @ Jan 7 2014, 10:41 AM)
In order to provide services necessary for the city, DBKL needs the manpower to do so.

The development charges are in the Mayor's budget speech for those respective years. The projected decrease in developmental charges is by 50% next year and will continue on a downward trend as less areas in KL are developed by private entities.

Your feedback concerning the public hearing is noted. The last time there was an Annual Value Revision was in 1992. I assume you attended a similar hearing then?

According to the NST Online news report yesterday, the attendees were commenting on how fast and efficient the hearings were. We are covering the hearings this week and shall report on what happens during one.

Thank you for your questions.
I disagree that DBKL requires the existing manpower to do so.
Statistics have proven and shown other more renowned world class cities are operating at much less staff.
Based on your replies here, are you stating that decrease of manpower IS NOT AN OPTION to DBKL at all?

I requested for historical revenue stemming from development charges, not "projected decrease in the future".
This is to substantiate your claims of a decrease in the first place.
While land may decrease, but value increases. Development charge is based on land value, no? Hence revenue WOULD increase if same or even less amount of projects commence year to year.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 11:18 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 10:49 AM)
I disagree that DBKL requires the existing manpower to do so.
Statistics have proven and shown other more renowned world class cities are operating at much less staff.
Based on your replies here, are you stating that decrease of manpower IS NOT AN OPTION to DBKL at all?

I requested for historical revenue stemming from development charges, not "projected decrease in the future".
This is to substantiate your claims of a decrease in the first place.
While land may decrease, but value increases. Development charge is based on land value, no? Hence revenue WOULD increase if same or even less amount of projects commence year to year.
The decrease or increase in manpower is ultimately up to DBKL. If you believe they should decrease their manpower and lay off staff, please send them the suggestion using the contact information provided above.

As for your historical revenue request, here are all the Mayor's budget speeches from 2002 - 2014:

http://www.dbkl.gov.my/index.php?option=co...id=1231&lang=ms

The projected decrease in revenue from development charges for the coming years is based on upcoming projects in KL. The decrease in number of development projects will not be sustained by other factors, hence a decrease.

ManutdGiggs
post Jan 7 2014, 11:40 AM

13,761 posts

Not transparent at all. Nor convincing enuf.
kochin
post Jan 7 2014, 11:41 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(MyKLTalks @ Jan 7 2014, 11:18 AM)
The decrease or increase in manpower is ultimately up to DBKL. If you believe they should decrease their manpower and lay off staff, please send them the suggestion using the contact information provided above.

As for your historical revenue request, here are all the Mayor's budget speeches from 2002 - 2014:

http://www.dbkl.gov.my/index.php?option=co...id=1231&lang=ms

The projected decrease in revenue from development charges for the coming years is based on upcoming projects in KL. The decrease in number of development projects will not be sustained by other factors, hence a decrease.
Since you refuse to extract it, i have taken the liberty to extract it for your perusal to refute your earlier claims:

(in RM'mil)
2010; 2011; 2012; 2013; 2014
assessment 755.08; 783.68; 810.53; 880.5; 1,130
kawalan binaan & perancangan 116; n/a; 239.7; 270; 272.5
*figure not available for development charge in year 2011?

the stats clearly shows an uptrend for revenue from development charge.
while assessment may have witness an increse in close to 50% within 2010 to 2014, but development charge has witness an outstanding 235% growth in the same period!

i rest my case!

while you claim to explain the rationale of the need to increase cost, it's cleverly and overly convenient you chose to ignore cost cutting measures. to me, it is a biased opinion to begin with.

This post has been edited by kochin: Jan 7 2014, 11:43 AM
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 11:58 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 11:41 AM)
Since you refuse to extract it, i have taken the liberty to extract it for your perusal to refute your earlier claims:

(in RM'mil)   
                                          2010; 2011;        2012; 2013;          2014
assessment                        755.08; 783.68; 810.53; 880.5; 1,130
kawalan binaan & perancangan 116;        n/a;            239.7; 270;          272.5
*figure not available for development charge in year 2011?

the stats clearly shows an uptrend for revenue from development charge.
while assessment may have witness an increse in close to 50% within 2010 to 2014, but development charge has witness an outstanding 235% growth in the same period!

i rest my case!

while you claim to explain the rationale of the need to increase cost, it's cleverly and overly convenient you chose to ignore cost cutting measures. to me, it is a biased opinion to begin with.
Seems more like 137% increase, not 235%.

I understand your concerns. However, the development fees will not simply continue to rise based on any increase experienced in the past few years. Since years ago, KL saw rapid development by private developers, etc.

However, this source is running out in the next five to 10 years. You can see the declining trend as we go from 2014 to 2018 with the projected income for the city.

Even if there is an increase, as you can see, the development fees can hardly cover even half of the budget or even development expenditure on any given year.

TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 7 2014, 12:01 PM

69 posts

Costs will also increase over time. The costs to maintain KL city will go up as manpower and material costs go up.

Furthermore, as a modern city, KL would have to cater to new needs in the coming years.
toh2020
post Jan 7 2014, 12:02 PM

493 posts

kochin,

you are right track with current issues related to dbkl. does MyKLTalks really represent DBKL to address concerns by rakyat?

if that is so, since dbkl is consider overstaff. why don't their representative comes here to have a say to justify the hike. provide his/her authority card, contact and email. whererea on other hand, they dbkl have to engage 3rd party aka cybertrooper to talk things on their behalf. most of all parrot what beeing told. while many queries from readers are left unanswered. the best answer is please go to dbkl website and do what's being told there.

point noted was year end 31 Jan 2013 was dark day in history for dbkl. where the mayor of dbkl gets the loudest Boo from rakyat. i presume this is reason MyKLTalks are here to exist. basically just to test water. NOT to address concerns and real time issue.

in reality dbkl officers must to go to the field. face to face with rakyat. give the timeline and get things done.

we all have far more important things to do in life. lets not waste time entertaining cybertrooper. we all know time is money. there are more to be done for the day itself.
kochin
post Jan 7 2014, 12:08 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jan 7 2014, 12:02 PM)
kochin,

you are right track with current issues related to dbkl. does MyKLTalks really represent DBKL to address concerns by rakyat?

if that is so, since dbkl is consider overstaff. why don't their representative comes here to have a say to justify the hike. provide his/her authority card, contact and email. whererea on other hand, they dbkl have to engage 3rd party aka cybertrooper to talk things on their behalf. most of all parrot what beeing told. while many queries from readers are left unanswered. the best answer is please go to dbkl website and do what's being told there.

point noted was year end 31 Jan 2013 was dark day in history for dbkl. where the mayor of dbkl gets the loudest Boo from rakyat. i presume this is reason MyKLTalks are here to exist. basically just to test water. NOT to address concerns and real time issue.

in reality dbkl officers must to go to the field. face to face with rakyat. give the timeline and get things done.

we all have far more important things to do in life. lets not waste time entertaining cybertrooper. we all know time is money. there are more to be done for the day itself.
i fully agree with you hence it is important to spread awareness to gen y who prefer to read postings in lyn.
if yours and my message gets across into their thick skulls, it would be another battle won!

what to expect with mentality of "if only 30% residents object to increase in assessment rates, means they agree!".
doh.gif

peace bro. i shall stop my rants in this thread. icon_rolleyes.gif
toh2020
post Jan 7 2014, 12:17 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 7 2014, 12:08 PM)
i fully agree with you hence it is important to spread awareness to gen y who prefer to read postings in lyn.
if yours and my message gets across into their thick skulls, it would be another battle won!

what to expect with mentality of "if only 30% residents object to increase in assessment rates, means they agree!".
doh.gif

peace bro. i shall stop my rants in this thread.  icon_rolleyes.gif
no worries the gen y for themselves never trust one sided info like govt controlled website and media. they judge base on both side of the stories. what is actually happening that affect their lives.
godlikexioo
post Jan 7 2014, 07:32 PM

745 posts

The reason of Gov need that huge number of staff is because most of the department under Govt is redundant. The easy ways to cover up the inability to handle daily routine job is with the reason not enough man power and we need setup a special committee or gruop of expert for it. Everytime new department been setup we need recruiting a group of new staff, but the existing department just goyang lol. That y number of gov servants is increasing in yearly. I.e traffic police with DBKL traffic warrant, spad with JPJ, epu with pemuda more n more.......
ManutdGiggs
post Jan 7 2014, 09:29 PM

13,761 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...jalan-mahameru/

mr. Kl, Wat do u think the cause for tis???

if not corruption Wat else ll b ur excuse???

Minolta
post Jan 7 2014, 09:41 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(MyKLTalks @ Jan 6 2014, 04:21 PM)
We are an online team set up to clarify this issue. Our Twitter handle is @MyKLTalks and our FB is fb.com/mykltalks . The website is www [dot] mykl [dot] com [dot] my
So what is your background to be qualifies to answer any questions? How many of you in the team? Please state your name down, age, qualification and previous working experience.
And are you a company? What is the name of your company? Who is paying you? Please list down the names of all your directors and affiliation. Are you or any of your directors family members of any current management staff of DBKL? How are you paid? By number of posts/replies? By duration of contract?

If you are transparent, then above questions answered will greatly help your credibility. Forumers here don't appreciate bullshits.
cutealex
post Jan 8 2014, 12:02 AM

Buy Lands,Properties& Precious Metals..
4,790 posts

Who is going for tomorrow Hearing?
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 8 2014, 03:51 PM

69 posts

Anyone else has any questions related to the Annual Value Revision as well as the Assessment Rate?

UPDATES: DBKL is currently conducting the public hearing on objections to the proposed New Annual Value.

A total of 153,000 objection letters were received and DBKL will process every single case.
godlikexioo
post Jan 8 2014, 04:29 PM

745 posts

i have submitted 3 surat batahan for my 3 properties in KL but till only 1 surat reply i had recieved from DBKL regarding my bantahan. So who should i refer for the remaining surat bantahan which i had submitted?
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 8 2014, 05:43 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(godlikexioo @ Jan 8 2014, 04:29 PM)
i have submitted 3 surat batahan for my 3 properties in KL but till only 1 surat reply i had recieved from DBKL regarding my bantahan. So who should i refer for the remaining surat bantahan which i had submitted?
All notices to attend the public hearing should have been received by or before Jan 6 2014.

If you or anyone has not received a notice to attend the public hearing after submitting your objection before or on the deadline last year, please contact the DBKl JPPH:

Tingkat 4, Bangunan TH Perdana, Jalan Sultan Ismail, 50250 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2617 1038
Email: jpph@dbkl.gov.my

AlexCbn
post Jan 9 2014, 02:01 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MyKLTalks @ Jan 6 2014, 06:13 PM)
Actually, your property is perhaps outside a 36-mile radius from the city center. This is why your previous Assessment rate percentage was 10 %.

The good news is - yes, for Commercial properties outside the 36-mile radius from the city center, the New Assessment rate Percentage is 8%.

The Proposed Annual Value under the revision is now up for appeal with DBKL. Have you submitted an objection by Dec 17 2013? DBKL received 153,000 objection letters by the deadline.
thanks for the reply. But my property is definitely within 36 mile radius criteria, so will DBKL still reduce the rate to 8 % ? ya, i have submitted the appeal letter pending the hearing date to be fixed...
AlexCbn
post Jan 9 2014, 02:35 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MyKLTalks @ Jan 8 2014, 05:43 PM)
All notices to attend the public hearing should have been received by or before Jan 6 2014.

If you or anyone has not received a notice to attend the public hearing after submitting your objection before or on the deadline last year, please contact the DBKl JPPH:

Tingkat 4, Bangunan TH Perdana, Jalan Sultan Ismail, 50250 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2617 1038
Email: jpph@dbkl.gov.my
Again it is kind of ridiculous hearing exercise again. received one on 6/1/14 asked to attend on 8/1 12 noon.have meeting at 11am on 8/1/14 .How to go we are all working peoplelah so no go eventually ... IF DBKL is sincere should give sufficient notice and conduct it at week ends..my other two appeal letters all sent on time but until now not received anything from DBKL on the hearing date yet...so should i blame post slow or what said you DBKL..im sure there are many people here facing same problem like me...
TSMyKLTalks
post Jan 9 2014, 03:32 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(AlexCbn @ Jan 9 2014, 02:35 PM)
Again it is kind of ridiculous hearing exercise again. received one on 6/1/14 asked to attend on 8/1 12 noon.have meeting at 11am on 8/1/14 .How to go we are all working peoplelah  so no go eventually ... IF DBKL is sincere should give sufficient notice and conduct it at week ends..my other two appeal letters all sent on time but until now not received anything from DBKL on the hearing date yet...so should i blame post slow or what said you DBKL..im sure there are many people here facing same problem like me...
Thank you for your feedback. We have compiled similar inputs and presenting them to DBKL.

TiramisuCoffee
post Jan 9 2014, 05:54 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(AlexCbn @ Jan 9 2014, 02:35 PM)
Again it is kind of ridiculous hearing exercise again. received one on 6/1/14 asked to attend on 8/1 12 noon.have meeting at 11am on 8/1/14 .How to go we are all working peoplelah  so no go eventually ... IF DBKL is sincere should give sufficient notice and conduct it at week ends..my other two appeal letters all sent on time but until now not received anything from DBKL on the hearing date yet...so should i blame post slow or what said you DBKL..im sure there are many people here facing same problem like me...

We just received similar notices today 9/1/14 afternoon, to attend hearing yesterday 8/1/14 at ***9 am!!!! blink.gif cool2.gif

In short, just want us to miss the hearing, shut up and toe the line lah! Say so la, dbkl....!!! mad.gif

Note: ***All at the same time? I wanna know, how many of you guys also receive hearing to be on 8/1/14 9am? Mass hearing, huh? How huh r these hearings conducted? rclxub.gif

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:26 AM