Google [WTB] Nexus 5 LCD + Digitizer

TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 6 2014, 12:17 PM, updated 12y ago

321 posts

Looking for someone who is able to fix a cracked LCD on the Nexus 5. Dropped it on tarmac and it cracked. Usable but screen is practically gg.
PM me if you are able to replace it for me. D821 Nexus 5 AU model.

Update:
Looks like the LCD, Digitizer etc is one whole component as the display frame. You will need to buy the whole thing to get it replaced.

Some links:
Disassemble + Reassemble video -

Ebay - http://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Display-Touch-...=item58a94ea90d

Etradesupply - http://www.etradesupply.com/lg-nexus-5-d82...mbly-black.html

Prices look to be around $120-130 plus shipping. So its gonna be costly.

This post has been edited by pizzaboyj: Jul 29 2014, 01:40 PM
thomasyke
post Jan 6 2014, 01:15 PM

409 posts

www.ifixit.com, you should be able to find what you're looking for there.
and fyi, Nexus 5 digitizer and LCD stick together, so you're gonna be facing a pricey replacement.

Alternatively, you could find LG service center and see if they have the parts to replace it for you.

This post has been edited by thomasyke: Jan 6 2014, 01:15 PM
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 6 2014, 02:01 PM

321 posts

Well the screen works fine (touch slide etc) just that the glass is cracked. I'm not sure whats the extent of the damage.

Edit: after reading ifixit it looks like the whole front panel is one component on its own. Damage is $122 for OEM LCD + digitizer. I could technically do it on my own. but looking first if there is someone who can offer the service to me as I dont have much time..
thenoobone
post Jan 6 2014, 03:27 PM

1,509 posts

walk in to LG service centre
cheaper

apendots
post Jan 6 2014, 05:56 PM

226 posts

my Nexus 5 screen is cracked too.. still looking for someone or some shop that can repair it or at least have the replacement screen. info me if u find one bro.
Noobi3
post Jan 6 2014, 06:01 PM

4,984 posts

Get on your own the screen replacement and go to Carrefour Subang . There's a stall inside , phone repair shop , the guy is willing to repair any unusual phone models as long as it's instruction is listed in ifixit or any other site which he can google it . At least it's done by someone with experience . I got my Dell Streak LCD replaced when nobody wanna do it as it was new then and also 2 Docomo units .
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 6 2014, 06:30 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Jan 6 2014, 03:27 PM)
walk in to LG service centre
cheaper
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jan 6 2014, 06:01 PM)
Get on your own the screen replacement and go to Carrefour Subang . There's a stall inside , phone repair shop , the guy is willing to repair any unusual phone models as long as it's instruction is listed in ifixit or any other site which he can google it . At least it's done by someone with experience . I got my Dell Streak LCD replaced when nobody wanna do it as it was new then and also 2 Docomo units .
i called the LG guys and asked them to give me a quote. if its much higher than what I can find online + shipping then ill buy myself and take it to the shop
thenoobone
post Jan 6 2014, 06:34 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 6 2014, 06:30 PM)
i called the LG guys and asked them to give me a quote. if its much higher than what I can find online + shipping then ill buy myself and take it to the shop
how much they charge u
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 6 2014, 06:36 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Jan 6 2014, 06:34 PM)
how much they charge u
they havent quote me yet
thenoobone
post Jan 6 2014, 06:47 PM

1,509 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 6 2014, 06:36 PM)
they havent quote me yet
I found tat i can save rm200-rm300 from the market price

tanjinjack
post Jan 6 2014, 07:02 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jan 6 2014, 06:01 PM)
Just asking, how much the guy charge? There's a Nexus 4 needs screen replacement.
Noobi3
post Jan 6 2014, 07:15 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jan 6 2014, 07:02 PM)
Just asking, how much the guy charge? There's a Nexus 4 needs screen replacement.
RM50-80 from my side , depending on how much trouble needed to replace the screen . A friend was charged RM100 for his China phone . So can safely assume between RM50-100
KENTK3
post Jan 6 2014, 10:51 PM

175 posts

if u can finf pls pm me too...my nexus 5 gone too....just not use 1mth.... T.T
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 6 2014, 10:57 PM

321 posts

mine 5 days ald drop... i just about to buy case summore T_T so bad luck
KENTK3
post Jan 6 2014, 11:06 PM

175 posts

unless i know im not alone..hahahah
apendots
post Jan 6 2014, 11:08 PM

226 posts

me too..not even a month i use it. still in shock and cant believe that im losing it
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 7 2014, 02:52 AM

321 posts

ill let u guys know once i have some sort of price quote from LG or from other guys here.
zixian96
post Jan 7 2014, 04:57 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jan 6 2014, 07:15 PM)
RM50-80 from my side , depending on how much trouble needed to replace the screen . A friend was charged RM100 for his China phone . So can safely assume between RM50-100
Do you have any idea I could contact him?
Cellphone number or what?

Thanks a lot if you could help me
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 8 2014, 12:49 AM

321 posts

updated OP with more info
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 8 2014, 01:24 AM

321 posts

I think I am going to order and replace it myself.
The ebay link gets lifetime warranty on the screen yawn.gif

This post has been edited by pizzaboyj: Jan 8 2014, 01:24 AM
KENTK3
post Jan 8 2014, 05:16 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 8 2014, 01:24 AM)
I think I am going to order and replace it myself.
The ebay link gets lifetime warranty on the screen yawn.gif
how much it cost ?
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 8 2014, 05:20 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 8 2014, 05:16 PM)
how much it cost ?
Ebay price is USD130 including shipping..
KannaSai1
post Jan 8 2014, 05:58 PM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 6 2014, 12:17 PM)
Looking for someone who is able to fix a cracked LCD on the Nexus 5. Dropped it on tarmac and it cracked. Usable but screen is practically gg.
PM me if you are able to replace it for me. D821 Nexus 5 AU model.

Update:
Looks like the LCD, Digitizer etc is one whole component as the display frame. You will need to buy the whole thing to get it replaced.

Some links:
Disassemble + Reassemble video -

Ebay - http://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Display-Touch-...=item58a94ea90d
Etradesupply - http://www.etradesupply.com/lg-nexus-5-d82...mbly-black.html

Prices look to be around $120-130 plus shipping. So its gonna be costly.
$130, normal mail from factory. 3-5 weeks.

$160, DHL. 3-7days.
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 8 2014, 06:33 PM

321 posts

Dunno want to DHL.. i think cannot guarantee arrive 3-5 weeks also. might as well DHL lol
KENTK3
post Jan 8 2014, 08:46 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 8 2014, 06:33 PM)
Dunno want to DHL.. i think cannot guarantee arrive 3-5 weeks also. might as well DHL lol
extra 30 usd leh..rm100++ more...
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 8 2014, 09:04 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 8 2014, 08:46 PM)
extra 30 usd leh..rm100++ more...
already pay so much. rm100 is nothing!! rclxub.gif
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 9 2014, 06:16 PM

321 posts

Found this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cover-Display-LCD-...A-/151190978317

Express shipping RM30 extra. I have contacted the seller for a quote. I will be replacing the screen on my own.
simpleguy
post Jan 9 2014, 06:19 PM

167 posts

I had a cracked Nexus 4 and ordered the LCD from a Ebay seller in HongKong to be DIY few months ago. End up with a sub par LCD and broke it while installing. Then decided saving few bucks was not quite smart.LOL
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 9 2014, 08:24 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(simpleguy @ Jan 9 2014, 06:19 PM)
I had a cracked Nexus 4 and ordered the LCD from a Ebay seller in HongKong to be DIY few months ago. End up with a sub par LCD and broke it while installing. Then decided saving few bucks was not quite smart.LOL
the pictures posted by the seller looks more legit. and seller is based in Spain not HK or China biggrin.gif
crxr
post Jan 9 2014, 09:09 PM

144 posts

I can help tp repair it if interested.
crxr
post Jan 9 2014, 09:10 PM

144 posts

TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 9 2014, 09:11 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(crxr @ Jan 9 2014, 09:09 PM)
whats your charges? looks like quite a few on this thread.
thenoobone
post Jan 10 2014, 12:00 AM

1,509 posts

If u you guys got parts and need other ppl to install

I have a friend who always fix phone for me

Charge should be around rm30-rm50 depends on difficulties

KENTK3
post Jan 11 2014, 06:59 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 9 2014, 09:11 PM)
whats your charges? looks like quite a few on this thread.
bro, crxr can help to fix the item in vy cheap price
u should pm him :-)
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 12 2014, 12:50 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:59 PM)
bro, crxr can help to fix the item in vy cheap price
u should pm him :-)
need to get the actual item first right? unless he got stock?
KENTK3
post Jan 12 2014, 10:59 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 12 2014, 12:50 AM)
need to get the actual item first right? unless he got stock?
he offer me say can bring the item go to china and change it
fix it at rm2XX only
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 12 2014, 01:30 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 10:59 AM)
fix it at rm2XX only
i ordered my screen from LG already... sad.gif
KENTK3
post Jan 12 2014, 01:46 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Jan 12 2014, 01:30 PM)
i ordered my screen from LG already... sad.gif
oversea LG or local LG center ?
apendots
post Jan 12 2014, 03:00 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 10:59 AM)
fix it at rm2XX only
Really? Just the screen or with the frame as well? If rm2xx is really good deal.
KENTK3
post Jan 12 2014, 04:50 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Jan 12 2014, 03:00 PM)
Really?  Just the screen or with the frame as well? If rm2xx is really good deal.
if not mistake that is frame only.u should contact him for more detail..
apendots
post Jan 12 2014, 05:04 PM

226 posts

Already PM him, wait reply from him
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 12 2014, 07:22 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 01:46 PM)
oversea LG or local LG center ?
oversea...

QUOTE(apendots @ Jan 12 2014, 03:00 PM)
Really?  Just the screen or with the frame as well? If rm2xx is really good deal.
QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 04:50 PM)
if not mistake that is frame only.u should contact him for more detail..
should be frame only. LCD + Frame + Digitizer should be exp
KENTK3
post Jan 12 2014, 07:52 PM

175 posts

change only change frame ??
mine 1 outside glass break only...
simpleguy
post Jan 13 2014, 11:18 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 07:52 PM)
I seriously hope Nexus 5 glass is much easier to fix than Nexus 4.
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 13 2014, 10:41 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(KENTK3 @ Jan 12 2014, 07:52 PM)
QUOTE(simpleguy @ Jan 13 2014, 11:18 AM)
I seriously hope Nexus 5 glass is much easier to fix than Nexus 4.
mine just glass too. but from what i see on ifixit it looks like it is one whole component. most of the parts are glued together and phillips screwdriver can take out the screws easily.
the glass is also glued to the frame but its stronger and harder to take out and replace... much easier to replace the whole front frame..
apendots
post Jan 15 2014, 01:36 AM

226 posts

anyone ever try to buy this? i want it but donno how to deal with the payment and etc.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/100-Guarant...1583679192.html

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/For-LG-Nexu...1584143275.html
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 15 2014, 02:11 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Jan 15 2014, 01:36 AM)
anyone ever try to buy this? i want it but donno how to deal with the payment and etc.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/100-Guarant...1583679192.html

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/For-LG-Nexu...1584143275.html
very cheap! can do with credit card ma? no?
crxr
post Jan 15 2014, 07:18 PM

144 posts

Have check, new screen only rm480 siap pasang else new screen with new frame rm600 siap pasang.
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 16 2014, 10:10 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(crxr @ Jan 15 2014, 07:18 PM)
Have check, new screen only rm480 siap pasang else new screen with new frame rm600 siap pasang.
if i have the screen, how much your labour charge to pasang? cool2.gif
crxr
post Jan 17 2014, 11:32 AM

144 posts

rm80 labour to pasang
mudkipryan94
post Jan 19 2014, 07:34 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jan 6 2014, 07:15 PM)
Taikor , can u PM me the location?
xKAIZERUx
post Jan 19 2014, 11:16 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

TS, please update after you have service also, and the final price you paid for everything. I too cracked my screen, but now too penniless, and payment for my project takes up too much time...

ncool15
post Jan 19 2014, 11:24 PM

Hazardous
1,119 posts

Anyone wish to sell their faulty Nexus, can PM me. smile.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Jan 19 2014, 11:29 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

how much you take?
ncool15
post Jan 19 2014, 11:31 PM

Hazardous
1,119 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Jan 19 2014, 11:29 PM)
how much you take?
Depends on the condition. PM me so can nego easier.
TSpizzaboyj
post Jan 25 2014, 12:29 AM

321 posts

Got my screen today. Quality very good. Original from LG Europe. Costed almost RM500 including shipping. 10 days to arrive.

I pasang myself. Fairly easy lol. All nice and dandy now biggrin.gif

The screen I got was this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cover-Display-LCD-...A-/151190978317

Seller was very responsive and though mostly translated from Spanish, very friendly and I'd recommend anyone who'd want to get - this is legit. Even the frame comes with pre-sticked tape that u just pull off and stick the parts in. Looks very much like OEM part.
stevenlee1989
post Apr 16 2014, 11:53 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(crxr @ Jan 15 2014, 07:18 PM)
Will u still be doing nexus 5 crack screen? Mine is crack and i need it to be fix asap..

lucas_podolski
post May 16 2014, 10:41 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee1989 @ Apr 16 2014, 12:53 PM)
Will u still be doing nexus 5 crack screen? Mine is crack and i need it to be fix asap..
Me too, just use it for 2 months 1st fall then cracked.. seems like nexus 5 screen is too fragile. any one has the service to change it? how much?

This post has been edited by lucas_podolski: May 17 2014, 10:25 AM
mandyxt
post Jun 18 2014, 03:34 PM

190 posts

My nexus 5 screen has cracked from a fall not too serious, where can I fix the screen itself or do I have to fix both screen+digitizer?

Anyone you may recommend and how much does it roughly cost?

Hope to get some advice! Thanks
TSpizzaboyj
post Jul 29 2014, 01:41 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(mandyxt @ Jun 18 2014, 03:34 PM)
My nexus 5 screen has cracked from a fall not too serious, where can I fix the screen itself or do I have to fix both screen+digitizer?

Anyone you may recommend and how much does it roughly cost?

Hope to get some advice! Thanks
sorry for the very late reply - but check the first post. the video on how to disassemble yourself and refix everything is there. links to new parts are there too.

eteractive
post Sep 24 2014, 08:12 AM

126 posts

Having trouble with my Nexus 5 front camera and power button. Where can I get this fix?

LG or those shops in Subang?
fyezool
post Oct 21 2014, 08:09 PM

anyone selling broken nexus 5..pm me
TSpizzaboyj
post Oct 25 2014, 10:06 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(eteractive @ Sep 24 2014, 08:12 AM)
Having trouble with my Nexus 5 front camera and power button. Where can I get this fix?

LG or those shops in Subang?
front camera quite cheap if you google for it. i might have a spare power button lying around... one of the guys in Subang Parade can fix for you provided you give him the part.
laigeek
post Oct 31 2014, 12:00 PM

80 posts

How much is LG service center charging to fix a broken screen for nexus 5 now?

TSpizzaboyj
post Nov 1 2014, 07:54 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(laigeek @ Oct 31 2014, 12:00 PM)
How much is LG service center charging to fix a broken screen for nexus 5 now?
N5 still is not official in malaysia so I doubt that the LG centre will replace the screen for you. You will have to go somewhere else or DIY.
Links to order is in the OP.
laigeek
post Nov 1 2014, 10:45 PM

80 posts

True? Anyone contacted LG service b4? How genuine are the parts out there?

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 1 2014, 07:54 PM)
N5 still is not official in malaysia so I doubt that the LG centre will replace the screen for you. You will have to go somewhere else or DIY.
Links to order is in the OP.
Charnique
post Nov 17 2014, 08:42 PM

45 posts

Guys, I just wanna ask. I'm having issue with N5 restarting by itself to the point i cant even start my phone. Suspecting the phone power button is faulty. Do LG center here fix that kind of faulty? if not, know where can I get my N5 fix?

This is the exact problem I'm having.

This post has been edited by Charnique: Nov 17 2014, 08:45 PM
TSpizzaboyj
post Nov 17 2014, 10:28 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Charnique @ Nov 17 2014, 08:42 PM)
Guys, I just wanna ask. I'm having issue with N5 restarting by itself to the point i cant even start my phone. Suspecting the phone power button is faulty. Do LG center here fix that kind of faulty? if not, know where can I get my N5 fix?

This is the exact problem I'm having.
I can't see the vid but from your description does look like your power button faulty. If you can get the power button switch on your own, its just less than rm50 labour to fix @ subang parade
Charnique
post Nov 17 2014, 11:08 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
I can't see the vid but from your description does look like your power button faulty. If you can get the power button switch on your own, its just less than rm50 labour to fix @ subang parade
Do you know where I can get the power button switch?
Agniman
post Nov 18 2014, 01:46 PM

Guys i have a Nexus 5 that dropped into the water. Took it out quickly and dried it. Worked fine for about 2 months. Then GSM Network couldn't be detected and battery cant charge more than 20%. Any suggestions what could be wrong and where would be a good place to fix it?

I have flashed the phone to Lolipop and its lovely to use. Only cant use the GSM and the battery issue.
TSpizzaboyj
post Nov 18 2014, 04:58 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Charnique @ Nov 17 2014, 11:08 PM)
Do you know where I can get the power button switch?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/331220263763

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/141383992590

you can search on ebay and stuff like that.

This post has been edited by pizzaboyj: Nov 18 2014, 04:59 PM
Charnique
post Nov 19 2014, 08:16 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 18 2014, 04:58 PM)
So I did tear my Nexus 5 down. Seem it is not the power button faulty at all. Think might have to do something with the one attached to the motherboard but not sure how much would it cost to fix it
TSpizzaboyj
post Nov 19 2014, 02:04 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Charnique @ Nov 19 2014, 08:16 AM)
So I did tear my Nexus 5 down. Seem it is not the power button faulty at all. Think might have to do something with the one attached to the motherboard but not sure how much would it cost to fix it
yes its the actual switch that is soldered to the mobo. subang parade did it for me rm50 in an hour.
Charnique
post Nov 20 2014, 10:09 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 19 2014, 02:04 PM)
yes its the actual switch that is soldered to the mobo. subang parade did it for me rm50 in an hour.
I see, so they have the replacement part?
TSpizzaboyj
post Nov 20 2014, 10:42 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Charnique @ Nov 20 2014, 10:09 AM)
I see, so they have the replacement part?
no you will have to source it yourself. they wont have the parts.

this one is the one that is soldered to the mobo. i got this one and they did it for me.
Charnique
post Nov 20 2014, 05:33 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 20 2014, 10:42 AM)
no you will have to source it yourself. they wont have the parts.

this one is the one that is soldered to the mobo. i got this one and they did it for me.
thx, I'm going to order this item. Btw bro, do you know the name or exact place shop at Subang Parade? So that it's easy to find them
biotin
post Nov 27 2014, 10:58 AM

57 posts

bump .. looking for the shop to fix my n5 power button too ..
Charnique
post Nov 27 2014, 01:37 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(biotin @ Nov 27 2014, 10:58 AM)
bump .. looking for the shop to fix my n5 power button too ..
as mentioned by pizzaboyj, think you have to buy the parts from ebay and have the technician here to solder the parts the the phone motherboard.
MegaLombax
post Dec 4 2014, 11:02 AM

Hi guys...my Nexus 5 isn't able to receive any network signals. This happened after I changed from Maxis to Celcom sim card. It was working with Celcom for a while then the phone totally couldnt receive any network signals. Its currently running on Android 5.0 btw. tried swapping that Celcom sim card to other phone and it was working fine. Any ideas on what may be the problem? Thanks in advance
samgooi4189
post Jan 7 2015, 02:26 PM

59 posts

Found this: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3389679/all, anyone use this service before?
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jan 7 2015, 03:41 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(samgooi4189 @ Jan 7 2015, 02:26 PM)
Found this: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3389679/all, anyone use this service before?
This guys. Haha.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/19575/?autho...urvin%20Abruzzi

Applied for safe trader tag, but don't know why not getting.
Grudges from admin I guess.
hins910
post Jan 14 2015, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(Charnique @ Nov 20 2014, 05:33 PM)
thx, I'm going to order this item. Btw bro, do you know the name or exact place shop at Subang Parade? So that it's easy to find them
hi, may i know you order the power button all the way from us?
the things take how long to deliver to your home?
Charnique
post Jan 19 2015, 04:24 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(hins910 @ Jan 14 2015, 03:56 PM)
hi, may i know you order the power button all the way from us?
the things take how long to deliver to your home?
Maybe around 2-4 weeks time. I shipped it to my friend's address then they help me to ship the item to Malaysia
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jan 19 2015, 05:02 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(Charnique @ Jan 19 2015, 04:24 PM)
Maybe around 2-4 weeks time. I shipped it to my friend's address then they help me to ship the item to Malaysia
Hi.
How much is cost of item?
Shipping 1?
Shipping 2?

Total cost with shipping?

0.0452sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:15 PM