Help, fresh grad

SUSfunkyboi
post Jul 3 2006, 02:35 PM, updated 20y ago

147 posts

really need help here.
just grad for a engineer degree and looking for a job.
so what job suit me best?
i most thing also dont know 1, so many worries like screw up the interview or they hire me i everything also dunno kena sack. i heard what system and software enginner etc oledi scare cos in totally weak in programming, i thoughtprogramming is IT student job, but why enginner also need.

fyi, i always copy assignments etc in my university life but luckily still manage grad la but result not so good.

so what job is suit me most? os many worries now.
i got a degree in electronic enginner major in computer.

please all kind sir and lday here got how many type of enginner job i can apply?

This post has been edited by funkyboi: Jul 3 2006, 02:37 PM
havenzhiv
post Jul 3 2006, 03:30 PM

556 posts

fyi, i always copy assignments etc in my university life but luckily still manage grad la but result not so good.

shouldn't do that in the 1st place, even if you did, you should be smart enough to take advantage of it and learn from it not buta-buta submit it to your lecturers / tutors not knowing what did you submit.

Now regarding what suits you best, i've no idea, you didn't provide detail of what you are capable of, your strong points nor your weaknesses.

Since you are fresh and when you are applying for a position which require no experiences, you dont have to worry about not knowing anything, they are aware of freshies dumbfounded, this applies to me as well when i was a fresh graduates.

What they are looking for is confidence and willingness, just remember, this is not the university, copying work from other may get you into trouble big time.

Find a book about how to communicate effectively, read it and learn from it. That'll help you in conveying your message effectively in an efficient manner.

Start focusing on your strong points rather than your weaknesses. That should really hit the spot.

All i have say is, you were smart enough to enjoy your sophmore days by letting others to do the work while you copy them but you are stupid enough not to gain advantage of that situations and make it a shorter learning process.
SUSfunkyboi
post Jul 3 2006, 03:38 PM

147 posts

thnx, so means those jobs in jobstreet looking for engineer say senior engineer or minimum 1 yera working experience etc i cannot apply?

if the company i want to work for no place ad to recruit worker, i simply buta buta write and send them my resume they wil find me 1 boh?

got saw a few fresh grad ad, but all need work in KL im not willing to stay there, so far and high daily expenses.

This post has been edited by funkyboi: Jul 3 2006, 03:39 PM
goliath
post Jul 3 2006, 03:55 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(funkyboi @ Jul 3 2006, 02:35 PM)
You are one lazy joker who takes advantage on others for your own purposes. Why don't you copy your friends application too? Since you did it to get a degree, might as well use it right now to get a job too. shakehead.gif

Lestat
post Jul 3 2006, 11:33 PM

392 posts

heheh,funkyboi...u really in a really good mess now.

if u talk the way u write, u gonna mess up any interview too. goliath suggestion is good also sweat.gif and might land u in some interviews. but still u need to worry on HOW u gonna handle ur job. prepare to study what u've learn b4... or u could try get to more hands-on job relating to ur study. usually people who are not so good in theory are good in practical. and i assuming u do. it's time to change,dude. u r not gonna survive with ur previous attitude.
good luck..
Tehmh
post Jul 4 2006, 12:31 AM

233 posts

Hey, i am like you last time, studying degree half electronics half on programming / computers (except i didn't copy biggrin.gif ) When i come out also blur blur, if u ask me how to design a simple circuit with capacitor also tak tau. But like what haven say, focus on ur strong points loh. Luckily for me i am good in PC stuff and english / mandarin ok. So can find job after some time, but still cannot run away from electronics field...haih...

So be optimistic lah, find out your strengths, what you like, and try to improve on it and sell your good points during the interview. Good luck!
casper04
post Jul 4 2006, 12:34 AM

72 posts

where are u staying rite now funkyboi?
say_it
post Jul 5 2006, 01:16 PM

521 posts

pls sweat.gif , programing from what the IT gradute do is diffrent from the engineering 1..... blink.gif

how do u think programming is only for IT sutdent......
there is alot of thing IT student donno when they go into software engineering....bcoz they're lack of engineering knowledge.... shakehead.gif
Mavik
post Jul 5 2006, 01:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(funkyboi @ Jul 3 2006, 03:38 PM)
thnx, so means those jobs in jobstreet looking for engineer say senior engineer or minimum 1 yera working experience etc i cannot apply?

if the company i want to work for no place ad to recruit worker, i simply buta buta write and send them my resume they wil find me 1 boh?

got saw a few fresh grad ad, but all need work in KL im not willing to stay there, so far and high daily expenses.
You can check out Jobstreet, JobsDb and the Star newspapers on Saturdays. There are plenty of fresh grad opportunities there available for the picking.

Where do you stay that you are not willing to work in the KL? If you happen to be near Johor or Penang or Kulim, you can find plenty of jobs there as an electronic engineer.

On some occassions you may not put your electronic or computing knowledge to work but that would be a plus for you since you copied off work from other people. icon_rolleyes.gif

I really do hope you sense the sarcasm in the last paragraph.

Anyway you may need to improve on your writing skills and communication skills. Do read the many articles here in this part of the forum as there are plenty of good reads to prepare yourself.
swlong
post Jul 6 2006, 10:20 AM

548 posts

man...shame on you!
I do admit that i copied some of my coursemate work during my studies time but instead of pure and blank copy...i tried to study and understand the logic, further more i try to consult my mates to understand on why they solve the problem like this...
but you....1 word describe.. HOPELESS!!!
better get ur lazy ass up and start to work on your own to write your own resumeand think of what you can do....or unless u got a rich daddy to support you for the rest of your life...
you are graduate oledi and dun ever wait for other people to spoon feed u
change ur attitude and think of what to say in the interview or else wait to ukur jalan in front ur house lah.....

Austin123
post Jul 9 2006, 02:49 PM

1,336 posts

there are too many faggots like threadstater study for nothing... doh.gif doh.gif
jojoko1982
post Jul 9 2006, 08:35 PM

399 posts

hahaha..threadstarter..damm respect ur honesty man! rclxms.gif

no wori on technical skills la..
if u r initiative enuf, for sure u will able to pick up the knowledge required with the on-job traning provided.

Ido
post Jul 9 2006, 09:36 PM

325 posts

Thread starter, many out there have a similar situation. Nothing to worry. What you need to do now is find any job included those require experience 1 to 2 years. You never know they might consider you as well.
goliath
post Jul 9 2006, 11:24 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(Austin123 @ Jul 9 2006, 02:49 PM)
there are too many faggots like threadstater study for nothing...  doh.gif  doh.gif
Are you sure they are studying? To me, they are donating to waste their time rather than to donate to those who needed the most
sinoffire
post Jul 10 2006, 12:09 AM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Jul 9 2006, 11:24 PM)
Are you sure they are studying? To me, they are donating to waste their time rather than to donate to those who needed the most
wasted 10k at least to get himself a so-called degree. but in fact deep inside themselves, they know shite!!!! u shud be lucky u got urself a farking degree. utter rubbish. well, money talks.

to threadstarter, u better get ur lazy @$$ up fast and fill urself with wateva shite that benefits urself or u gonna suffer later in ur life. unless u got a 'datuk' daddy to back u up.
LanEvo7
post Jul 11 2006, 07:16 PM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

hey guys give him a break ler, the fact that he's remorseful (threadstarter I hope u are) shows he still can be saved mar

Anyway, just check on jobsdb, jobstreet and stuff, and since u urself admit ur results are not really colorful, dun try to action action and tarik harga lo, if ppl offer a slightly below-on-par pay then just take it for the experience u can gain lah.

After u got ur first job then it's critical u move on to a more positive attitude and not living day as it goes liao ..

If u oso bullshit ur way through the 1st job and post here asking which company u should hop to and "fyi, I outsourced all my previous job's work secretly without letting my boss know" then nobody can help u liao ..
goliath
post Jul 11 2006, 10:37 PM

5,532 posts

^ I think he is speechless when reading this topic. 80% of the contents are criticising him because of his Copying-No-Jutsu smile.gif
swlong
post Jul 13 2006, 11:22 AM

548 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Jul 11 2006, 10:37 PM)
^ I think he is speechless when reading this topic. 80% of the contents are criticising him because of his Copying-No-Jutsu  smile.gif
geram oi~~ vmad.gif
if u dun get good degree grade...it is still not the end of the world...as long as u have possitive attitude,you still able to get a job.(FYI, i am a 3rd class holder)
He is only waiting for people to spoon feed them, come on! Graduated already, and he cant make up his own mind what path to seek for his career? It is not like he is a spm leaver who dunno which major to choose....

This post has been edited by swlong: Jul 13 2006, 11:23 AM

0.0141sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:36 PM