anybody still has Altec Lansing ATP3 ?, mine still kicking, and no sign of dying

herojack41
post Jan 4 2014, 12:34 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

wave.gif

here2....owner atp3 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ Jan 4 2014, 12:32 AM)
of coz cannot fight...both have diff subwoofer...
atp-3 uses downfiring subwoofer....its nice if u sit at back of the room....the bass  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
hows your treble and bass knob?

i max it
herojack41
post Jan 4 2014, 12:52 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ Jan 4 2014, 12:38 AM)
treble is maxed out all the time...
i set my bass at half only...already everything in my room start shaking...mum complain alot...
but sometimes i increase to 75%...during weekends smile.gif
beyond 75%, the bass no longer sound natural...

inb4...i use the basic office table with long penghadang at the back
i place the woofer against the back wall, allowing the bass to move between the penghadang space and wall...
outcome is explosive...
u will not get this effect if just place under normal table...
reflection......it isnt good

in sound...u dont want the sound bounce back
herojack41
post Jan 4 2014, 07:55 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ Jan 4 2014, 12:56 AM)
down firing bass works that way lor...u will not get exact response of the bass like normal woofer...
the midrange and twitter is the 1 giving clarity to the bass...which sits on top of the table... which is why is set to max...
so i hear the bass fired from front but it rattles whole room.... wub.gif  wub.gif  drool.gif

u can try holding the subwoofer with nice bass song and u will understand what i mean...
u wont even feet it hitting you, but place it downwards under table where it can reflect all the bass back and boom...
there are two kind of subwoofer and two type

front face solid type or down face soft type...usually is categorize like this

the pair of tower speaker bottom also have a woofer to handle higher frequency bass.

the sound isolation or you can call your room isnt compact enough...thats why when the bass is heavy it rattles the whole room smile.gif ...which by then acoustic sound absorbing foam comes into help.

previously my rojak HT setup room doesnt have any of the acoustic foam stick to the wall...and i get all the rattles when bass comes in

after spending a few thousand rupiah whistling.gif ....the rattles gone

also....usually down firing subwoofer is good for music only

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jan 4 2014, 07:46 AM)
nowadays AL quality are like shit, is not that your ATP3 is godlike, you go for other brand (as long not SG) quality are not bad too
altec lansing changed their business model....dedicated on making ifag compatible product mad.gif mad.gif
herojack41
post Jan 4 2014, 12:56 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ Jan 4 2014, 11:59 AM)
ayam a music enthusiast....
brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
maybe...i should not compare HT with Hi-Fi laugh.gif laugh.gif

0.0203sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:36 AM