Income Tax Issues v3, Anything related to Personal Income Tax

cute_boboi
post Jan 10 2014, 06:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(propertymart @ Jan 10 2014, 03:17 PM)
Hi All, got something to ask for suggestion, example , i set up a sole partnership company, declare 20% tax per year company tax, n i write payslip to myself(do i still need declare my individual tax?) or company itself be enough
e.g.
Company sales 100k
Company pay salary to you (ownself) 20k
Expenses, etc. 30k
Net profit 50k - have to declare and taxable.

Your salary from another permanent job - 36k

When you declare tax with sole-prop, this is the amount to declare : 50k + (36k + 20k)
Then less whatever deductible or rebate for net to pay.

Why 20k is taxable ? Cause it is consider your salary (income).

If you don't get the 20k as salary, then your company profit is 50k + 20k = 70k. No where to run.

The other method is to declare false figures, i.e. false declaration or tax fraud. Well, you know the drill, it's not legal.
Source
whistling.gif

cute_boboi
post Apr 24 2014, 12:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(J_pandapuppet @ Apr 23 2014, 01:19 AM)
Hi. I really need help and advise on this one.  sad.gif

I’m a legal tax payer. However, I never look as submitting forms is important every year because to what I understand, since my payslip had deducted the amount of tax to the govt. it should be fine. Like what is there to declare if I did not owe government anything? So I was totally wrong about it and misunderstood. I even misunderstood the EPF and tax part. My colleagues do make noise everytime submitting tax, and the impression they gave me they just wanna claim some money back. To me, I am fine, it's better the govt. had the money from me than I owe them plus I really hate paperwork. You may ask why my HR/Admin never brief or at least tell me? I do not want to put the blame to my HR/Admins though I’ve asked some several people that they do have responsible to at least explain the importance of submitting tax forms every year when my salary had reach the certain tax amount.

Now after I acknowledged the importance I am actually gathering all my EA forms and other documents to file to the tax. I checked with Hasil and my Tax No. also existed (my tax no. never appear in my EA form because it's under pending but they still receive tax from my earning every year). And I just registered to e-filing. So my questions is that according to my pay I should have start submitting my tax forms since 2009 but I did not do that. If I plan to do it and submit it now, will I go to jail? I am not even doing a full time job anymore and trying to do my own business but I've decided it's better I do my tax now since it's important.

Should I really go ahead submitting my tax? The fine is RM200 (min) to RM2,000 (max) or spend some time squatting in prison (not exceeding 6 months). I've calculated that from my tax I might can redeem from 700-a thousand every yr. If it's penalty judge by every year I guess I need to really eat wind. I don't plan to buy any property in this few years though.

Please advice.  icon_question.gif
There are several ways to do it, if just 1-2 years, normally will just lump up all the gross income into "Pendapatan Tahun Kebelakang ..."

But in your case ... 2009 - 2013 are 5 years to assess.
What to do:
1) Bring all documents, receipts, EA form, PCB, etc. to LHDN
2) Ask to speak to officer, get number.
3) They will give you 5x same BE or B form, and use pen to struck out the YA2013 and write each year.
4) So you will fill up year by year, i.e. do filing for 5 years.
5) So, the PCB whether is extra or not enough, is calculated yearly.
6) Then summarize up all, whether there is balance or need to pay.
7) This whole thing may take up several tries/trip to LHDN, or may email/call the office involved.
8) Keep all the forms and docs forever.

If they penalise you for late or no submission, ask for leniency or waive (talk nicely, you know govt dept).
If still need to pay, just pay. Nothing much can do, unless you go legal/court/challenge LHDN.
Remember, there are two things in life that can't avoid: death and tax.

Even though it is messy now, if you don't sort it out now, in future, it is even more messy. And you still need to sort it out.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Apr 24 2014, 03:23 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 24 2014, 12:41 PM)
Some add on/correction :
you need to keep for 7 years only for the hard copies.
after slow talk usually can waive the penalty, but what needs to pay(under paid PCB), we still have to pay.
Officially is 7 years. But if due to some legal issues, court/officials may request for documents or proof. There are on-going court cases that is requesting for 1980's income tax returns.
Therefore, my advise is not to throw away the docs, but keep forever.

Yes, whatever needs to pay or claim back, still need to pay or claim back. What I am saying above is for the penalty or fine only, whether can waive.

cute_boboi
post Jun 10 2014, 06:36 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wan7075 @ Jun 10 2014, 06:16 PM)
not in this year but in last year:blush:
this year put the correct amount but it is different amount with last year...
LHDN can audit a person anytime they want within the year.
And when they audit, they can request you to prepare up to previous 7 years for audit purpose.

cute_boboi
post Jun 11 2014, 11:32 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jun 11 2014, 10:44 AM)
i just got IBG from akaun kerajaan malay IRB is it from LHDN? but the amount is different from what I submitted.
IRB = Inland Revenue Board = LHDN.
Weird that they still not yet standarize using Bahasa Malaysia doh.gif

Amount is different, most likely due to your wrong entry for submission, and they correct it for you.
Can be consider lucky they did not haul you up for audit.
If you think what you calculated is correct and you deserve and explanation, goto LHDN and open a case with them to investigate or recalculate. However, be prepared as this could turn into a full 7 years audit whistling.gif

If you have nothing to hide, extra time in hand and nothing wrong, you have all your rights to demand the explanation from LHDN.

Otherwise, just close case and move on with life.

cute_boboi
post Feb 24 2015, 11:58 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(squall8985 @ Feb 24 2015, 11:39 AM)
Im not sure someone has ask this before.
On last year 2014 example, im working from January 2014 until May 2014 in company A.
From May 2014 onwards im working in company B.

I have been given both by company A and B EA form.
How do i do my tax declarations?
Manually combine both company A and B EA form.
You can even combine other income such as well, such as part-time, tuition/piano teacher, etc.
since there is only one field available per item.

cute_boboi
post Mar 18 2015, 12:25 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(CuriousKitten @ Mar 18 2015, 11:10 AM)
If my annual income for 2014 is less than 36k, I technically do not need to file for income tax this year? Can I still claim for tax exemption (books, EPF, etc) if my income didn't exceed 36k per annum?

I've filed previous years when income exceeds 36k.
Once you started filing, every year need to file (declare). In your case, after you fill up the form or e-filing, the auto calculation will show you no taxable amount.
So, you submit, and then print/softcopy and keep for 7 years.

In this way, every year you have submission and record tracking.

cute_boboi
post Mar 18 2015, 05:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(CuriousKitten @ Mar 18 2015, 05:16 PM)
Nah, it's just the digging out receipts to claim tax exemption part that I dislike. Am not very organised so the receipts are stuffed everywhere. But will do!
You need to start a practise, keep a large envelope or folder in an important drawer/cabinet.
Each time you buy books, or sports equipment, or valid donations, etc. just put the receipts there. Every year income tax submission, bring out that file, filter/throw those invalid, etc.
Each year submission done, put into separate file/envelope as "case closed", label the envelope, e.g. "2015 submission for Year Assessment 2014".

Rinse and repeat every year.

cute_boboi
post Apr 14 2015, 11:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 13 2015, 09:01 PM)
And you ignored the letter?  blink.gif
The letter is just a notification, saying delay processing as LHDN needs extra time to review the file. Therefore, unable to refund within the fastest time of 1/2/3 weeks as advertised.

So, within 3 months from the letter, if there is no response of 2nd letter (or no refund yet), you may contact LHDN rolleyes.gif "table audit unit" biggrin.gif to check for status. By contacting, there is a 50-50 chance LHDN call you in for full audit. Or they may just close the file and refund you.

cute_boboi
post Apr 29 2015, 02:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kb24 @ Apr 28 2015, 08:21 PM)
hi guys, i have not been submitting my BE form for past 2 years and only did it this year... actually i been started working in aug 2012 and by then i didn't know about this tax until this year.. so may i know will be charged penalty? Can i fill in previous year and submit? By the way, my company automatic will deduct for tax every month from our salary
Go and fixed it now, rather than years later and keep haunting you.

Goto any LHDN office. Tell them what you mention above. They will most probably give you 2x forms, use pen to cross out the year in front and write YA2012 and YA2013.
Year Assessment 2012 means for you Aug-Dec 2012
YA2013 means Jan-Dec 2013

YA2014 is to declare this year, which you should do also.

For the two forms, find your previous EA form, receipts to claim for deductions, PCB paid, etc. If receipts lost or no proof, then cannot put in.
Fill it up, then submit by hand to counter and double check to ask if properly filled up and submitted or not.

Then, just wait. Since you just started work, the fine is just RM50 and penalty is very minimal or none.
Follow up with LHDN every 1 month until they snail-mail you the letter for each YA.

If not, then you wait 5-10 years, you still need to do the same thing but multiply it many times.

cute_boboi
post Jun 18 2015, 03:04 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I don't know what's wrong with those who complain above. LHDN staff are paid to collect tax and work for you. If you have any single slightest doubt, go ahead and confront/question them. Ask for full details. You are entitle for it.
If you think taking one day off or wasting time, then just to shut-up, swallow the money lost and not complain here. You should be complaining directly to LHDN.

Throw the ball at them. I've been there, done that. Bring my 7 years file to LHDN and go through one by one with them. Nothing to be scared. If LHDN wants to charge me extra RM10, I want to know where it comes from.

Side track recent case earlier this year, TNB back-charge me due to faulty meter. However, somewhere RM10+ was unaccountable, even after pro-rata. I ask for explanation. TNB don't bother.
I lodge complain to TNB, TNB CS explain, but halfway only. The other half cannot explain.
I lodge complain to Suruhan Jaya Tenaga. TNB call me again, still can't explain and try to close case. I complain again, case reopen. In the end send 4 staff to meet me (at my home, at my convenience) to explain. 2 more was outside. The senior explain to me in 10 minutes only. Understand and settle, I accept. Case can close. In fact, TNB back-charge me lower than suppose to, I told them, please, if TNB want, you go back and bill me, I am willing to pay. I'm not scare they audit my meter or install tracking. I use, I pay, I told them. The usage does not fluctuate by large margin or amount.
All the above are done using online website, email, then they call my mobile. It's not that inconvenient.

My point is, YOU have your right to question LHDN. If you want to chicken out, don't grumble or say different out-of-topic things like government no money, corruption, songlap, etc.

Every human make mistakes, me included during submission in the beginning of my working/tax file. Just admit humbly, ask for forgiveness, first time (unless you purposely evade or under declare). I have no issue of not getting fine/penalty, they will give you chance to fix or pay it, if it is a sincere beginner mistake.
yawn.gif
tl;dr , wall of text -> goto Kopitiam

0.0510sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:53 PM