> tweaked my touch n go and got free credit

SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 07:52 PM

2,276 posts

From: subang, sunway, puchong, pj -- does_this_annoy_you?

QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Jan 3 2014, 07:12 AM)
Nope. I think it is stored in the card. You can check your balance using smart tag device, offline. Plus if the balance is stored in a database, it'll not be Touch N Go, it'll be Touch N Wait Then Go. Also, if it's stored in a centralized server, there should be a way to top up your card online, but there's none.

If you know the APDU during top up, you might be able to hack your card and add extra credit. But I'm not so sure whether you can do it another time. They might have a record of how much balance you have based on top up and end of the day clearance. The next time you tried to use the card, it's already blocked.

Just a theory. laugh.gif
you are partially correct in the sense that whenever you use your card, it is instant with no wait time.

however you are also wrong because , as some ppl already commented, the transactions/balance will be synched with the server.
fyi, it is possible to top up using ATM machine but you have to physically place the card on the ATM to update the balance in the card.

why they dont allow internet reload ? reason is because it is physically impossible for users to update the balance in the card.

summary: balance is stored in both card and server.

This post has been edited by sootienann: Jan 9 2014, 07:53 PM
SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 09:11 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 9 2014, 08:01 PM)
how about using touch and go at the bus? I dont think all bus connected to internet. If the data is gathered by batch to the server, would there be a way to detect tampered card by an offline scanner?
it doesnt need to be realtime.
they could do a daily or weekly sync and reconciliation
SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 11:09 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 9 2014, 10:38 PM)
that mean prior to the sync, we can alter the data in the card and use it again on the other buses.
just for scamming a few ringgit ? doesnt seem worthwhile to me.
SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 11:15 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 9 2014, 11:11 PM)
that's just an example. There are few food outlet that can use tng as method of payment brows.gif
what monetary value can be gained from scamming the restaurant ?
you dont get any richer. only can get a full stomach. unless u wanaa tapau the food then sell in it lelong ?
SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 11:20 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(boyot @ Jan 9 2014, 07:54 PM)
there is VIP touch and go card with unlimited balance
which is only given to VVIP
my uncle has one
i wonder how this is implemented.
maybe using a binary flag, where 0=unlimited VIP, and normal card=1 ?
or maybe setting a variable to max value of 32 bit (roughly 2 billion).
SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 11:23 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 9 2014, 11:17 PM)
wow. you don't see the big picture here. What if you be the one to provide this kind of service to other people?
service==money
if not mistaken, you need to provide IC to buy the card right ?
if so, then once the sync-reconcile fails, then the polis will come after whoever owns the card.

SUSsootienann
post Jan 9 2014, 11:28 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 9 2014, 11:26 PM)
so how you tamper the amount?
the more important question is, what can we buy using touch n go ?
for example, is there any mall or retail outlet which accepts the card as payment for purchases ?

0.0182sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:07 AM