Office Politics - Like it or hate it?, Is it avoidable?

alqa
post Jul 2 2006, 01:10 AM

346 posts

in big GLC... from what I experienced, there are two type of politics
1. kiss up politics... everybody have to kiss up to the big guy, if he say jump, you can only ask how high?..... but problem starts when even the secretary starts to have the authority to tell you to jump!
2. camp politics.... where there are several camps within the office with conflicting interest/goal... this one is mati liao! you are either with one camp or you'll be assumed to be on the other. nobody likes a 'neutral'... too unpredictable. rclxub.gif

the hardest part is if one camp lose in the powerplay, the whole heirarchy will have to face the broom, pressured out or coldstoraged. and in the reshuffle, most of the time, even the neutrals will be sweep out together with the garbage.

its a hard life, most ppl, just for the sake of survival, had to play both sides against the middle.... now that's office politics.

thank god i'm behind all that now. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by alqa: Jul 2 2006, 01:13 AM
alqa
post Jul 3 2006, 02:32 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 2 2006, 10:58 AM)
Hi, just curious how can you behind all of those politics? Is it because you are on a higher rank of the coporate ladder now? Or you are the boss now?
quit and started my own business... still got asses to kiss, but they are not in my office!
and you get paid for the work done and not for kissing the right asses. tongue.gif
alqa
post Jul 3 2006, 02:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(valenlim @ Jul 2 2006, 11:32 AM)
Office politic...suck!
i hate those lazy people still play those politics to step on people for climbing higher... those nosy people who know to talk gossip, and do nothing
you think those are bad enuff? try and go to really, really big firms.... GLC, Govt office... not only they dont do work, they even compete amongst the gossips for who can kiss up enuff to do even less work.
alqa
post Jul 4 2006, 10:05 PM

346 posts

right after i quit from the big GLC and right before I started on my own, i joined a small growing comapny. I was invited to help the owner to transform and restructure his growing business from a 3-man operation to cater to the needs of his newly won multimillion RM contracts.

it started so small that they never had their accounts audited, even after 5 yrs of operation, never paid EPF nor SOCSO and so many other no-nos.

wehn i joined we started to create organisation chart, identify needs and create depts and start to hire ppl (it have 60+ staff now). but every step of the way u can see office politics were in play, at every turn u see kaki kipas, kaki ampu, and even backstabbers active and aggressively pitcing thier lies and maneuvering around, building camps and killing off other camps.... it was a dirty playing field...

my point is... it doesnt have to be a big company, the game is always being played. question is are u playing them or is thegame playing u?

0.0145sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:02 PM