Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

joytest
post Aug 23 2016, 01:07 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Hi all, planning to go again sometime mid-Oct for approx 10 days.

3 years ago, 7d6n was too short for Jeju-Busan-Seoul.

This time I plan to take 3d2n in Seoul, then travel to Busan via KTX and spend a few days in the southeast region. I was checking out Tour Seoul Korea on facebook, and the per day rates are typically USD250 onwards, which is quite hefty.

I wonder if it would make sense to rent a car for approx 7-8 days and drive around on my own? Prices work out to about RM300 per day, which seems reasonable, and since it is autumn, scenery should be fantastic and I could take the road less travelled.

I plan to drive my way meandering down to Busan and then take a train back to Seoul.

Any recommendations for or against self-drive?

Travel is 2 pax with 2 luggages. Prefer driving around, stopping for photos and local food.

All help appreciated.
joytest
post Aug 23 2016, 09:47 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Aug 23 2016, 03:36 PM)
I drove in jeju, not the main city. Rental car is quite easy, simple and straight forward. But their driver seat is on the left, so it takes time to get used to the directions. Just drive slow, and get all the telephone number of the destination ready then you are good to go.
Thanks, though I don't think I'll be heading to Jeju.

Was trying to get more info from people who had done some driving around in the mainland.

Read some travel blogs which wrote about biking around but I won't be doing that.

I would also appreciate if anyone could share some contacts of daily guides, which I suppose can drive you around for about RM400-600 a day ?

And btw,would the Naejangsan park be crowded around mid-to-end October?

I won't be doing too much urban stuff, prefer some natural getaways.

This post has been edited by joytest: Aug 23 2016, 11:08 PM
joytest
post Sep 5 2016, 11:37 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Sep 5 2016, 04:28 PM)
Because baru found lubang a few months ago.
PM please
joytest
post Sep 7 2016, 05:56 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 7 2016, 05:23 PM)
haha bcoz we not just visit those touristy place..but my local friend also brought us around jalan jalan and makan..thats why =)

but if u plan for 5 days, also can la..just that u might miss out some places..
Can share the jalan jalan makan makan places?

I'm planning to do the same.
joytest
post Sep 7 2016, 11:46 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Sep 7 2016, 10:34 PM)
As long as you belanja makan, I can bring u jalan haha  rclxm9.gif
Scared become lightbulb only
Can arrange. icon_idea.gif

Will figure out my itinerary over this weekend.

0.0214sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:06 AM