Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 10:00 AM

1,680 posts

Guys,

Planning to go for S.Korea on Nov....already bought tickets...its for honeymoon anyway... biggrin.gif
will be a midnight flight on 8th Nov, reach there 7am 9th Nov.
my return flight is 19th Nov 4pm

A few things in mind that is troubling now....would be great if you guys can help advise...

1) I plan to have a domestic trip to Jeju as well....thinking of if can just fly to there on 9th after reach Incheon. The concern is the time required to get from Incheon to Gimpo, with all the stuffs u need to do (custom clearance, get WIFI/EGsim, T-money, etc), then transit to Gimpo, and drop luggage at some storage/deposit service (they do have in Gimpo airport right?), then check-in for domestic....what is the best time i should pick for the Jeju flight? lets assume if my flight may be delay n reach on 8am, what is the buffer i required to get to Gimpo and ready without too rush? 12pm?

2) If going Jeju, for sure i prefer to dump half of my luggage at somewhere without carrying to Jeju for nothing. I was told there is 1 luggage counter somewhere in Gimpo? is it true? if yes, how much the cost for a 24/28" luggage? i plan to make it 9-12 if possible.

3) Any recommendation for car rental if i wish to opt for self-drive there? if with smaller luggage, i guess A-seg car good enough?

4) what is the best airline to look for? Jeju Air? Air Busan?

5) Any recommended accommodation in Jeju/Seoul? I yet to book any? is AirBnB legal there?

6) Is it got free gift/coupon booklet to giveaway from KTO in KL? Do i need anything/document to get it? Since i going November, what is the best time to go to their office to redeem?

Thanks for any help. TQ
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 11:05 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Aug 2 2016, 10:25 AM)
Suggest you to spend one night in seoul, and flight to jeju the following day. One stone kill 2 birds, you no need have to worry about flight delay and you can keep your luggage at the hotel too(FOC).
Does that applicable even to those home stay or Airbnb type?
I would wish to consider but currently from jeju air, the flight on day after is costlier, n it's cheaper than other airlines ad

Is jeju 3d2n sufficient? Or 4d3n better?
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 12:32 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Aug 2 2016, 11:18 AM)
I not think Airbnb offer you this service, maybe for guest house.

if self drive full 3 days is enough.
QUOTE(Amatiel @ Aug 2 2016, 11:24 AM)
dinozilla

1) I would take the 1pm flight.

2) For storing luggage, may I suggest other option coz I wouldn't bother as I find it quite troublesome to store and retrieve it later. For me, I usually bring a 21'' or 22'' (maximum size for cabin baggage) then break out my 2 foldable zipper shopping bags for my loots, this way you don't have to pay for check in luggage for KL-SEOUL. For jeju, most korean airlines should allow 10-15kg carry on baggage.

3) SIXT car rental approx RM100/day. Remember you need to get an international driving license from JPJ for RM150. Take note that all car rentals open at 0800 if you wish to return to seoul in the morning.

4) Try budget airlines like Eastarjet, Jejuair. If you book early you can get below RM200 return per pax.

5) I'm gonna be staying at 2 hotels in jeju. Hotel Tong Jeju (seogwipo), Yellow Guesthouse (jeju city). 24 guesthouse premier seoul (seoul station). All 3 hotels are below RM200/night. I'd much prefer to stay near seoul station because of the AREX and not switch to subway to myeongdong etc consider we will be dragging our luggage.
Thanks all

If I pick on the 9th, currently time slot I pick is jeju air with 12:25pm, then return on 13:05 12th nov
That should give me a full 36hour in jeju
I have no idea how huge my luggage will be yet, as the trip is 9-19/11
I booked Korean air Econ, given 23kg each, which I think a combined luggage weight for me n wife later won't be more than 20kg initially
Worst case scenario, we split two baggage, all bring to jeju as it gives 15kg each lol
Currently
Jeju air : 12:40 - 11:45 : 162000won
Air Busan : 14:45 - 13:05 : 146700won
Eastar jet : 13:05 - 12:50 : 126000won
Which 1 better?
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 12:35 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 2 2016, 11:48 AM)
i didn't mention on the jeju as i'm not sure whether you plan to self drive or hired a taxi. if you hired a taxi, the person will bring you around to where you plan to go and even recommend you places. so you don't need to worry on this.

for the city tour bus, i already mentioned i won't recommend but all depends on the individual. some people enjoyed taking the tour bus. for the wifi thingy, it depends on whether you want or not. of cause it would be more convenience to have it. some people don't bother to online during travel and use the wifi only after they back to their hotel/guesthouse room. most of the tourist places, they know to speak in english & mandarin. so do not worry else you can seek the help from the tourist information center.

better for you to stay 1 night before depart to jeju. i suggest you stay at least 2 days in seoul before heading to jeju. you can leave your luggage in the hotel/guesthouse in seoul so you don't worry to tag along all those stuffs. more convenience that way.

no really specific which airline to jeu is the best la.. but eastar is the cheapest but you need to always check on their promotions online. so many accommondation in jeju & seoul. you can search online to check which one meet your budget. you can go to take the booklet anytime but during weekday will be better. they only open on selected saturday if i'm not mistaken.
Just wondering
If a night stay in Seoul is made first
What is a good timing for going jeju next day?
Air Busan only has 2-4 per day while eastar n jeju has many
How safe/secure in leaving additional luggage with guesthouse?

I called to Korea plaza just now, they say open on Saturday, didn't mention only selected Saturday

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Aug 2 2016, 12:42 PM
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 01:35 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 2 2016, 01:10 PM)
i can say quite safe. so far no issue with those hotel or guesthouse. of cause you need to bring along important documents with you. leave your unimportant stuffs and packed a small baggage or backpack to jeju. by this, you do not need to drag all you baggage along so troublesome.

it would be better to take the morning flight. when you reach jeju still have time to take your rental car (if you rent a car) and explore a few places. you will not waste a day
No special fare on 10 Nov....
09:45/10:20/11:10 all 34900W
if leaving morning 10/Nov, how many day best to go for it?
plan to drop return rented car before the full 1 day (say example i rent the car at 12pm 10/Nov
hence i will return to rental company maybe 10am? then check-in at airport by 11am...can take flight maybe 12:50...
i look at 13/Nov...combined fare is 186000won...
jeju air need 228000won ad....
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 03:08 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(haru20 @ Aug 2 2016, 02:13 PM)
Do checkout Asiana Air, sometimes they do have better deals. I bought my return ticket from Jeju to Seoul for 90,000 won for 2 pax.
For date I picked
It seems eastar is lowest so far
N best rate is on 9th
Wonder what's the rate for luggage storage at airport?
Eastar rate is 126000 vs 186000 for 9-12 vs 10-13
60000w enough for 4 days storage fee?
dinozilla
post Aug 2 2016, 05:02 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 2 2016, 04:30 PM)
actually it would be better to allocated at least 3 days 2 nights in jeju. the car rental company no bother what time you return the car as long as it's within the rental period. it's better for you to return the car earlier as they need to check the car and etc.. take some times if many people.
guess i need to assess a bit on pro & con for direct depart to jeju vs stay seoul 1 night before go....

dinozilla
post Aug 3 2016, 10:04 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 2 2016, 04:30 PM)
actually it would be better to allocated at least 3 days 2 nights in jeju. the car rental company no bother what time you return the car as long as it's within the rental period. it's better for you to return the car earlier as they need to check the car and etc.. take some times if many people.
either you stay in jeju city or seogwipo city. since you rent a car, shouldn't be an issue. in jeju city more happening compare to seogwipo but attractions is more in seogwipo city
after discussion...she thinks that since our luggage usually less than 20kg combined...(not including carry-on)
it is okay we just bring along to Jeju...lol
so its okay to just go on 9th/Nov as that gives us the cheapest fare across few days....
checked and seems easter is giving lowest fare here now...
departure
11:40 takes 28900
13:05 take 25900
is 11:40 giving enough buffer for 7:10 incheon arrival?

will plan to have return flight from Jeju done at 12:50 12/11
dinozilla
post Aug 4 2016, 06:47 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 4 2016, 02:07 PM)
enough if no delay and check out fast after arrival. else take the 13:05
Yea, 13:05 might be just relax a bit if reach earlier...explore a bit the airport lol
Tot will be lesser time to go around after reach Jeju...

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 4 2016, 05:22 PM)
our rm depreciate hence can't complaint much. depends on where you eat. stay in hotel definitely expensive than guesthouse. at least expenses is cheaper than japan  whistling.gif
2yrs ago when I went, was around the best time of recent years, ¥1000 vs MYR30.xx
Now looking at the 39.80, feel scary to go...lol
dinozilla
post Aug 7 2016, 08:02 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Aug 6 2016, 11:59 AM)
Can consider Wiyo too.

Wiyo - RM12/day excluding RM200 refundable deposit
Travel Recommend - RM13/day, no need deposit if book online.
wiyo got so cheap meh???
the voucher i got from Korea Plaza shows 28/day... blink.gif
dinozilla
post Aug 7 2016, 08:56 AM

1,680 posts

Okay i got my initial plan now....will need some input help to revise...

8 Nov 23:59 depart KLIA
9 Nov 07:10 arrive ICN
planning to depart straight to Jeju so the flight pick will be eastar jet
9 Nov 13:05 depart Gimpo
9 Nov 14:10 arrive Jeju

Jeju plan yet to settle...but will opt for self-drive
Jeju will last until 12 Nov

any suggestion what type of car to rent?
I searched holiday autos, Sixt is shuttle bus to location to rent, Hertz pass to you at airport(costlier, but with additional insurance coverage like theft)
I may carry 2x 24" luggage....is car like Kia Morning able to carry in its luggage compartment?

And is it okay to rent just 1 place in Jeju main town across the days, or better with different places over the nights?

Still need work out entire plan in Jeju

12 Nov 12:50 depart Jeju
12 Nov 13:55 arrive Gimpo

Considering to be based in the same hotel/guesthouse until departure on 19 Nov
Any recommendation?
Excluding 12 Nov and 19 Nov, i will have 13-18 total of full 6 days for Seoul and outer...
Still not yet have full thought on where to cover but i have some key places wish to included:
1) Everland
2) Nami Island
3) Premium Outlet (still deciding...but Icheon is the biggest and furthest i think)

(1) and (3) each can consume a day....that can be 2 days gone...
The remaining 4 would be for Nami + other Seoul spots....yet to spend enough time to compile any Must-go/Can-go.... biggrin.gif
Any recommend?
dinozilla
post Aug 8 2016, 10:14 PM

1,680 posts

Just booked Easter Jet
9/Nov 13:05 to Jeju
12/Nov 12:50 back Seoul

now will be accommodation and transport plan...

any recommendation if all 3 nights in Jeju should i stick in Seogwipo?
or should i have last night at Jeju-si?
I checked from Google map, seems the distance back from Seogwipo to Jeju-si is 1hr 33min....
if i gonna return car and catch for check-in, basically need to wake early n rush to airport ad...
but is it worth to have that night shift to Jeju-si?
or just stick on to the south...lol

and haven decide where to get car...

yvonnesoo any advice? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Aug 9 2016, 08:41 PM
dinozilla
post Aug 17 2016, 09:36 PM

1,680 posts

yvonnesoo, any recommendation for Jeju car rental?
My friend shown me holidays autos (its also shown in LYN ad space lol)
i might aim for Kia Morning (small n sufficient for 2) i guess...
Yet to decide if to bring all luggage to there or keep in airport deposit since we go for 4d3n

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Aug 19 2016, 06:11 PM
dinozilla
post Sep 24 2016, 07:05 AM

1,680 posts

When i book my flight from EastarJet....spotted car rental page offer associated with EastarJet at bottom...
price not bad also...so end up i book through there
http://www.rentalcars.com
price from ordinary link looks more pricy...
but if i click the link from eastar jet...rate looks more reasonable...
its actually a compilation of all the rental companies....
so i took AJ Rent A Car....lol

0.0649sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:53 PM