Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

AIAF
post Oct 4 2014, 12:09 PM

272 posts

Anyone stayed in Dongdaemun area before? Is the environment ok at night? As in not too noisy or any other potential problems.

Turns out my mom would be following me to Korea for a few days, so I'm planning on splitting the accommodation between Insadong and Dongdaemun area. Just for a different feel. Insadong for the more downtown laid back, and Dongdaemun for the late shopping.

Haven't decided for my solo accommodations yet o.o
AIAF
post Oct 9 2014, 11:18 PM

272 posts

Guys (or girls), which brand of face mask is the best in terms of price+quality?

I would like to buy about 20-30 pieces, but not expensive ones.

I assume Myeongdong's the best area?

Reason: Planning to get a combo of snacks and masks as souvenirs. Not a fan of keychains and deco items.
AIAF
post Oct 10 2014, 01:08 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 10 2014, 10:59 AM)
do u know there are so many different brands and varieties?  shakehead.gif can't differentiate between which one is good or not as people have different skin types.. somemore what can you expect from a cheaper mask?

if you want better one, buy snail mask as currently it's popular but it's not cheap. average cost rm8++ per piece. if you want to buy cheaper mask, choose any mask that come in a package (consist of few masks)

for mask you can find a lot at myeongdong and lotte mart for snacks or foods
Yea I understand that there's tonnes of brands, already that many in Malaysia I can only imagine Korea lol. shocking.gif Just wondering if there's a generally popular or "trendy" ones.

Wow snail blink.gif Sounds fun, will keep a lookout for these. Quite pricey but maybe I would be lucky to strike a deal or something hmm.gif .

Just one piece for one friend as a thought, so the actual function won't matter much I guess. Maybe mix of oil control and a few moisturizing ones. First come first serve tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AIAF: Oct 10 2014, 01:08 PM
AIAF
post Oct 15 2014, 12:43 PM

272 posts

The infamous rubber duck will be floating on Seokchon Lake in Seoul from October 14 to November 14.

Anyone interested can check it out tongue.gif

Where is Seokchon Lake anyway?

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 10 2014, 02:20 PM)
than i suggest you buy few packs (consist of few masks with different function) to give your friend or etc as souvenirs la  tongue.gif

too many brands and each brand, their mask function almost the same. only difference is packaging. buy according to your budget
QUOTE(rapple @ Oct 13 2014, 04:11 PM)
We purchase most of the mask from Myeondong. Mostly is 10kwon (10+10) for 20 pieces.

And to my surprise, Lotte Mart is selling Beyond mask for 10+10 for 9,500 won only. Didn't saw any shop at Myeondong selling Beyond mask for this price..

I guess you have to first survey Lotte Mart price first before going to Myeondong.
Thank you so much for the tips guys! Will keep in mind smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIAF: Oct 15 2014, 12:43 PM
AIAF
post Oct 16 2014, 10:43 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 15 2014, 02:04 PM)

Seokchon Lake is near Lotte World. google online for the directions.

not interested on the rubber duck as saw it from other places already.. is same duck but different view only hehehe
Ah okay, thanks and will do.

Haha well I haven't seen it before! Just my luck that it falls on when I'm there thumbup.gif
AIAF
post Oct 28 2014, 08:15 AM

272 posts

In Seoul right now. Autumn foliage so beautiful! Cant stop taking pics.

Weather is quite cold but tolerable as long as I don't stand still outdoor for too long lol.
AIAF
post Oct 28 2014, 10:49 PM

272 posts

Now that autumn foliage is peaking the queue to and back from Nami was CRAZY. But worth it. Cant imagine weekends.
AIAF
post Nov 3 2014, 08:55 PM

272 posts

Its been super windy these past two days in Seoul and Sokcho. Not sure about Busan. What I'm wearing(top) Heattech inner short sleeve + casual long or short tee + fleece shirt + down Uniqlo vest. Another hoodie as backup, especially mornings and late nights. Beanie's is a must for me cause my ears always freezes when the wind blows o.o

Some locals are already using their winter gear. Thick and big jackets.

This post has been edited by AIAF: Nov 3 2014, 08:59 PM
AIAF
post Nov 11 2014, 09:53 AM

272 posts

Back from my 2 weeks trip and there's still 25k worth of credit in my T-Money.

Reloaded a bunch in Seoul before my trip down South since you can't easily find TMoney machine. Was planning to refund at Busan airport but the maximum is 20k only, and there was no way to spend any of it.

Oh well sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
AIAF
post Nov 11 2014, 11:04 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 11 2014, 10:10 AM)
actually u can reload t-money in Busan. just selected GS25 or etc. you need to ask the person inside the mart whether do they provide t-money top up  whistling.gif
Ooo, but I guess I reloaded early to avoid any problems (now end up with another problem hahaha).

Will take it as a sign that Korea wants me to go back brows.gif tongue.gif
AIAF
post Nov 11 2014, 03:52 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 11 2014, 12:14 PM)
u can go back anytime... just find for promo tickets.. somemore korea so big, i bet you only cover must go attractions but haven't fully explore finish..  tongue.gif
For sure! Not even the must go attractions were all covered. For example I skipped Tajongdae in Busan and went to Spaland instead. Didn't regret it though thumbup.gif

Also need to check out Jeju and DMZ, and a bunch of other sutff.

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Nov 11 2014, 02:46 PM)
I am going to South Korea next month.

It will be quick and rushing trip.

Day 1: Arrive at Seoul at 8 am from KUL.
Day 2: Tour to DMZ (730 to 1430), Seoul City Tour
Day 3: Seoul City Tour
Day 4: Busan City Tour
Day 5: Fly back to KL from Busan at 10 am

I shall make another trip to South Korea, maybe next year.
Rushing is the right word lol. But enjoy! Have a good look of the place and next time you can do it free and easy smile.gif
AIAF
post Aug 9 2015, 11:36 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 9 2015, 10:10 AM)
If don't speak Korean, still able to travel around in Seoul without problems? Is English used at all?
Just do some basic research before you go and it should be fine. Most touristy places has tourism booths/guides to help you out.

Though I would say Mandarin is more useful than English when it comes to Seoul.
AIAF
post Aug 9 2015, 05:44 PM

272 posts

If you're venturing out of Seoul it's a good idea to try and learn how to read Hangul (one weekend is enough if you really try). It's useful to identify that the transportation tickets that you buy is correct.

QUOTE(sai86 @ Aug 9 2015, 05:32 PM)
below. the only problem in communicating for me is at Jeju when you go those local restaurant.  blush.gif
Seoul itself is english friendly and as AIAF said, mandarin is very useful as well.
Haha when all else fails my go to is always "Bibimbap juseyo".

0.0642sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:07 AM