The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V18

alanyuppie
post Dec 30 2013, 11:56 AM

2,834 posts

Im intrigued on the purpose to pinpoint who and who is not tycoons. We all are AFOLs and unique in our own preferences and purchasing /playing pattern. Does being found spending tons of $$ on LEGO = instant worship/admiration?
alanyuppie
post Dec 31 2013, 09:27 AM

2,834 posts

Saw huge LEGO Movie ad near Phileo D'sara on my way to work juz now.

Sometimes felt so surreal of all the happenings these few years. When I was small and played with LEGO, cant believe this hobby (re)poisoned me till adulthood. And back then... LEGOland seems like a dream place to go but its half the world away. Who would've known one would open in this beloved country of ours. And when its the norm for movies /cartoon to spawn toylines, LEGO did the exact opposite by making a movie based on their toys.

Im excited to see what else will come...future is very promising indeed.

alanyuppie
post Jan 2 2014, 09:12 AM

2,834 posts

LEGO Powermaster Optimus Prime up! Part 1 of 2 that is. There are just too many photos to compile , I just have to split them into 2 parts. Would've been done and released by end of 2013 but I'm a bit fickle minded on some trivial design considerations (eg. flip-flopping between the colors of the headlamps).

Do visit my mocpages link below to see more , or click on my siggy/blog:

http://www.mocpages.com/moc.php/377823

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
alanyuppie
post Jan 2 2014, 03:17 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Jan 2 2014, 04:09 PM)
WAH !  drool.gif  drool.gif
Thanks for sharing bro. thumbup.gif
You mean can add-in motor for it to walk? This is AWESOME  drool.gif  drool.gif
YEP.U need 4 of these to make it walk properly smile.gif

alanyuppie
post Jan 2 2014, 03:31 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Jan 2 2014, 10:51 AM)
Bro, can get the mini-hulk (polybag/Key Chain)
Wow ! Awesome MOC  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:37 AM)
awesome!! salute your dedication!  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:55 AM)
very nice! better than hasbro ones...  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(nickygin @ Jan 2 2014, 11:11 AM)
Very nice!! biggrin.gif
Thanks guys! Support are very much need to push me on.

QUOTE(ccyeoh79 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:39 AM)
awesome build....  thumbup.gif  can transform?
Yep.... not a partsformers.. but a full-formers.

alanyuppie
post Jan 2 2014, 03:33 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jan 2 2014, 11:09 AM)
Awsm! inspire me to build one (non transforming) red truck
Looking forward to your own rendition!

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Jan 2 2014, 11:38 AM)
again..awesome!  icon_idea.gif

plan to do his truck also? biggrin.gif
If you meant the trailer..... yep .. dah pon siap! Its in part 2. might photograph it this weekend smile.gif

QUOTE(ryucando @ Jan 2 2014, 12:51 PM)
one word "SIFU"  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Im only a "sifu" in my special personal building world (jaguh kampung only erks) . Just another day of enjoying my hobby. =)
after the ALJ massive haul I made, I also excited to wrap up this MOC project coz I wanna quickly return to opening the sets I bought and built them.

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Jan 2 2014, 01:36 PM)
Awesome. My favorite Autobot. Have so many versions of him in toy from be it Hasbro or Takara.
I think Prime and bumble is always the top 2 favorites of all TF by most people. You cant go wrong MOC either one of them and gets googled more and be seen. hehehe...

As u can see, I tried MOC other less popular Transformers with even more effort put in.. but less hits/visibility , coz those are obscure characters
from Transformers universe tongue.gif

alanyuppie
post Jan 6 2014, 09:16 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(altaf_hoho @ Jan 6 2014, 09:53 AM)
Buy 1 set and you already got the whole Simpsons Family, really nice set to have  thumbup.gif
free neighbourino too!

hmm...... wish the garage could be wider by 4 studs.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 6 2014, 09:36 AM
alanyuppie
post Jan 6 2014, 11:18 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Ultraman the great @ Jan 6 2014, 12:02 PM)
the lego movie ship set is rumoured to be USD299. so i expect this simpson set to exceed that since this one got "copyright" to bayar...
Yea. look for nearest licensed set equivalent with similar piece count from SW range, then that would probably the average price too for Simpson House

alanyuppie
post Jan 6 2014, 04:41 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Jan 6 2014, 05:38 PM)
10197 Fire Brigade officially discontinued. RIP 31st Dec 2013. Of course production of the set would have stopped months before that... Having said that, you can still find it in the open market at decent prices... Don't think you can get it below RM700 anymore but RM800-900 would be a good price now me thinks. icon_rolleyes.gif

With Modular Buildings, unless you have deep pockets my advice to you is don't look back! Buy what's available now and make this your starting point in your Modular Buildings collection. nod.gif

My guess is 10211 Grand Emporium will be discontinued end of this year. So if you need to plan this will be my suggested list in order of priority:

10197 Fire Brigade (must buy in 1st half of 2014)
10211 Grand Emporium (must buy before 3rd quarter of 2014)
10218 Pet Shop (Preferably start shopping for it in last quarter of 2014)

Once you have the above you can take a breather and slowly buy the newer Modular Buildings one by one each year if you can tahan... lol!

[attachmentid=3803357]
My Groupon order also received this morning. Got a heart attack when I saw the "packaging"... I hope the boxes are in good shape, can't wait to inspect them later.
like its namesake... the box seemed like its been groped on.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 6 2014, 04:41 PM
alanyuppie
post Jan 9 2014, 11:28 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Jan 9 2014, 12:26 PM)
thats why need to plan or put priority which to get first..hehe
yup..the house looks good enough to do many interesting stories and  playability..
love the house when its open!  sweat.gif

LEGO The Simpsons House (71006) by tormentalous, on Flickr
I love open house too. *hints*

alanyuppie
post Jan 10 2014, 10:48 AM

2,834 posts

The more I look at LEGO Simpsons house, the more Sylvanian Family vibe I got.

alanyuppie
post Jan 10 2014, 02:05 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Jan 10 2014, 02:09 PM)
Don't know how many of you guys know this American dude, "The Frozen Food Master" @ Gregory Ng.

I usually watch his videos of frozen food which is pretty interesting to know the kind of products they have in the US of A.

Just saw this video last night and found out he's also an AFOL. Not only that he days his kids and wife loves LEGO as well. I can't remember if he said he has 200,000 bricks or 400,000 bricks.  rclxub.gif

Anyway,  the highlight of the video is a scanner + screen that shows you a VR build of your set when you scan the set in front of the scanner. It has motion sensors that rotates the view along with you as you turn.

First time I've seen it and looks pretty cool. It's somewhere in the middle of this video.

I keep adjusting the antenna on top of my laptop but the video still fuzzy. what give?

alanyuppie
post Jan 12 2014, 02:57 PM

2,834 posts

PART 2 OF my MOC is finally uploaded!!

More than 100 photos is located in my blog entry below:

http://alanyuppie.blogspot.com/2014/01/leg...-prime-aka.html

And a recap of my part 1 for those who are new here smile.gif

http://alanyuppie.blogspot.com/2014/01/leg...ime-part-1.html
alanyuppie
post Jan 13 2014, 04:42 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(ccyeoh79 @ Jan 13 2014, 10:44 AM)
OMG  shocking.gif this is amazing built bro..... how many pieces using?
Not sure. didnt count. but definitely >1000 parts. Now Im running out of space to display my MOCs. time to sembelih my other "less important" City and Chima vehicles and sort them into the pile of bricks.

alanyuppie
post Jan 15 2014, 11:11 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Jan 14 2014, 11:18 PM)
just finiz the small batman set~
surprised that the batman logo is printed on the brick n not sticker~  thumbup.gif

Penguin Attack!!!

Kinda reminds me of upcoming batman sequel..

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 15 2014, 11:11 AM
alanyuppie
post Jan 15 2014, 01:56 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Jan 15 2014, 12:54 PM)
oh..its reissue ah? i thought 1st time out..haha
Nope. not reissue. 2nd version is different than 1st version.

As usual... for such huge set.. I believe SHIPPING cost will be high. I think this set is good for those with OCD, they can enjoy repetitively building the same type of containers over and over again . =)

alanyuppie
post Jan 15 2014, 02:20 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Jan 15 2014, 03:13 PM)
i have ocd~
i keep checking my pocket during my taiwan trip~  sad.gif
Most of us have certain degree of that. After nearly losing my phone once, I also kept groping checking my pocket as well . I also prone to checking the water taps and windowpanes multiple times before I leave my house.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 15 2014, 02:22 PM
alanyuppie
post Jan 19 2014, 10:19 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Kinsella @ Jan 19 2014, 12:56 AM)
Is there any Lego Monopoly set in market?
Considering Monopoly is a property of rival toy company (Hasbro) , nope.

however, LEGO have its range of boardgames-like products in the market:

http://www.brickset.com/browse/themes/?theme=Games

alanyuppie
post Jan 20 2014, 12:28 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(burunghantu @ Jan 20 2014, 01:23 PM)
guys, sorry for trolling this message, i just want to share my outcome on the issue of 'unlevel' of my Lone Ranger train set 'couplers. obviously there are some additional 'bricks' that were put on top of the steam locomotive coupler.....

now, i'm a happy 39 years old father playing with my Lego.. hahahaha
Thank you for your presence. Now I dont feel so old anymore . smile.gif

alanyuppie
post Jan 24 2014, 04:46 PM

2,834 posts

with LEGO, my dompet never lega. sigh.