Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> [To Paypal Users] Dont fall into this trap!, Paypal fraud mail that steals ur details

shark
post Jun 30 2006, 03:50 PM, updated 20y ago

243 posts

Recently, there're alot of paypal fraud cases. Paypal accounts were stolen, and the handicapped thieves *that can't work to earn money, but steal to live* sold the stolen fund and converted to RM to their own bank accounts. And this is how they steal paypal accounts (see right handside attachment 03.jpg).

They sent mails from:
customers_notice@upaypal.com

And in the mail, it says "To update your PayPal® records click on the following link: http://paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr.3011". But in real, when u click on the link, it will bring you to:
http://cpe00045a812ddc-cm00111a5bb24a.cpe..../Pay/index.html
(You can login to that fake paypal with any password!)

Extra note:
Don't buy those stolen/unauthorized fund. Owner of the paypal account can report to Paypal, and Paypal will hold the fund even if you've accepted them - but u've already banked in RM to the thieves. So, owner nvr rugi, thieves untung, and you're the only rugi one. It happened before. See this thread. And it almost happened to me too, and i got informed by paypal tat the fund is held (see left handside attachment 04.jpg).

How to prevent from buying unauthorized fund?
I have no idea. Hope people can share their opinions here. (Dont tell "dont buy Paypal fund then", bcoz we're buying. Dont tell "buy from seller with good reputation", bcoz sometimes they just run out of fund, and we should give some new seller chance?) Just share how to minimize the risk to the lowest.

What i usually do:
I'll ask the seller to send me a mail from his paypal email address, at least i can confirm that he "owns" the email (Thieves that use the method above to steal paypal accounts may not have access to the actual mailbox.) And, i'll divide the transaction into a few times, so that each time i will only need to transfer a small amount of money to the seller's bank account - Then if the seller runs away, i lose less money.

This post has been edited by shark: Jun 30 2006, 05:17 PM

acougan
post Jul 1 2006, 07:04 PM

590 posts

thanks for your guidelines. I've been reading on the lelong paypal fraud case too, so now i'm more careful than ever.

for a genuine paypal seller, i suggest this;

grab some screenshot of your email, paypal & maybank2u login screen, just blank-out the amount & figures. using mozilla or firefox tabbed browsing works the best - potential buyers can crosscheck the email, paypal & names detail to verify your identity.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 1 2006, 07:05 PM
acougan
post Jul 4 2006, 02:36 PM

590 posts

Seems like another conman committed paypal fraud;

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=308959

Well, i always believed paypal buyers have zero protection in this kinds of trade. This time, even paypal seller got cheated!

Come on now! if u r indeed genuine seller or buyer, a little transparency is not too much to ask. If u r dealing using fren's, family or company's accounts - be upfront & honest about it. If u r dealing using your personal account, no harm sending some screenshots of your email, paypal & maybank2u login screen to verify your identity. Sellers & buyers should be ethical and keep such information as records but P&C please.

Verifying buyer|sellerID & names via paypal
1. 1st exchange paypal email address
2. send a USD1 request, then cancel it
3. in the request details, both parties can verify each other's name

Steps to protect yourself from screenshot fraud;

1. take an unusual picture. don't share or upload for others. pict reusable many times
2. layer this picture across all the scans/screenshots/receipts as proof of identity.
3. add textual info on the screenshot to verify buyer|seller

samples;

I can think of only 2 loopholes regarding screenshots.

1. Photoshop experts can subtlely alter & present fraudulent info on screenshots regarding their email, paypal, & banking acc.

2. Seller/buyer who are 'blessed' by non-creative parents with a super common name like Wong Ah Kow, Tan Ah Kow, etc. etc., better dont trade online. Their identity can be easily stolen for fraud by the other Ah Kows.

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 20 2006, 11:15 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 4 2006, 02:45 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Well...have u think of it this way?

One person has 2 paypal account A and B..
One is main account A and another B is used to make fraud..
1st A transfer money A to other account B and use it to sell to other ppl.
Then he reports fraud and B get suspended....

He earned.. tongue.gif

Btw....u doesnt need to verify credit card to send/receive money...only for unlimited send needed
acougan
post Jul 4 2006, 02:53 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 4 2006, 02:45 PM)
Well...have u think of it this way?

One person has 2 paypal account A and B..
One is main account A and another B is used to make fraud..
1st A transfer money A to other account B and use it to sell to other ppl.
Then he reports fraud and B get suspended....

He earned.. tongue.gif

Btw....u doesnt need to verify credit card to send/receive money...only for unlimited send needed
Don't quite catch you. you mean open a acc A (verified v CC) then transfer to acc B (non-verified)? tat way, account B can only cheat USD100 total, isn't it?

How to report stolen funds to paypal? don't u need a stolen CC report? if u go tell them ur PC full of spyware and ur acc A has been hacked, paypal will believe & compensate u? most probably, they freeze accs A, B and all those funds sold out from B.

anyway, all those who have witnessed paypal frauds & schemes, discuss here, so everyone can be more prepared.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 4 2006, 03:06 PM
zorex
post Jul 4 2006, 02:55 PM

1,186 posts

Yes, actually I do send a screenshot to the conman, and guess what? He uses the screenshot and claim the money from other exchanger. Well, currently we are the another party that receive the money from the conman is helping me to clear this situation.

And I also want to let ppl know that I'm a genuine seller. I've a e-commerce site and receiving donation and payment from people. And I'll sell the fund in exchange to RM. Currently my paypal is not verify. Plan to do so later (still studying :sob :sob no credit card).
acougan
post Jul 4 2006, 03:02 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(zorex @ Jul 4 2006, 02:55 PM)
Yes, actually I do send a screenshot to the conman, and guess what? He uses the screenshot and claim the money from other exchanger. Well, currently we are the another party that receive the money from the conman is helping me to clear this situation.

And I also want to let ppl know that I'm a genuine seller. I've a e-commerce site and receiving donation and payment from people. And I'll sell the fund in exchange to RM. Currently my paypal is not verify. Plan to do so later (still studying :sob :sob no credit card).
as a seller, after u send the screenshot, u have the right to ask a screenshot back from ur buyer to verify. all these 'man-in-the-middle' con jobs very infamous at trading sites lelong and ebay and even here, it seems.

i respect u selling ur coding projects for funds. hopefully, the other party will recognize who's the conman here.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 4 2006, 03:04 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 4 2006, 04:06 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Can we have some tips how to avoided being cheated?
Lets say the seller is in same location with buyer..and not taking into consideration the paypal are stolen, like the above dispute thread.

Both Seller and Buyer meet at a place with pc..
Buyer initiate by sending "request money" to Seller..
Seller accept and transfer money to Buyer account..
Buyer close deal with paying cash..
acougan
post Jul 5 2006, 09:37 AM

590 posts

Looking at all the conman cases lately, i've got a theory. With all those loan sharks & bookies on the prowl lately, it won't be suprising if some of them are tech-savvy. As part of the operations, they have copies of their debtors IC and bank acc#. Since most of their debtors are constantly being harrassed for daily payments, i guess some are coerced into accessories of fraud.

So ppl beware, a copy of IC and verified bank acc# is also no guarantee. Trade safe!

WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 5 2006, 12:15 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 5 2006, 09:37 AM)
Looking at all the conman cases lately, i've got a theory. With all those loan sharks & bookies on the prowl lately, it won't be suprising if some of them are tech-savvy. As part of the operations, they have copies of their debtors IC and bank acc#. Since most of their debtors are constantly being harrassed for daily payments, i guess some are coerced into accessories of fraud.

So ppl beware, a copy of IC and verified bank acc# is also no guarantee. Trade safe!
Ofcourse not guarantee lah..
Ppl can run and hide and police dont give a damm on small matter.
zorex
post Jul 5 2006, 12:39 PM

1,186 posts

Next time I should be more carefull, look for trader with good reputation and so on. Just hope that I still can earn money frm my selin of the coding project bah. Now wasted my one month expenses. :cry :cry
acougan
post Jul 5 2006, 12:50 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(zorex @ Jul 5 2006, 12:39 PM)
Next time I should be more carefull, look for trader with good reputation and so on. Just hope that I still can earn money frm my selin of the coding project bah. Now wasted my one month expenses. :cry :cry
the other party is "http://moresales.com.my/" right? did the person in charge of that site listen & understand ur case? they were the ones who bank-in to "LAM CHEE CHOONG" acc#, right? maybe, they can reimburse some back to u.
zorex
post Jul 10 2006, 01:11 PM

1,186 posts

He did. He listen to me and even contacted maybank, thats why I got the details of the people doing this. The conman trnsfer the money for few round b4 going to his own account. The moresales guy even went to maybank to give explaination and try to get back the money.
abubin
post Jul 11 2006, 02:32 PM

10,429 posts

I tried going to the fraud paypal site and it was blocked by google toolbar. There is a message from googlebar saying that it's potentially a fraud website. Cool! Another reason to use firefox and googlebar extension.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 11 2006, 03:39 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 11 2006, 02:32 PM)
I tried going to the fraud paypal site and it was blocked by google toolbar. There is a message from googlebar saying that it's potentially a fraud website. Cool! Another reason to use firefox and googlebar extension.
Lolz really?
Could be due to the site has alot of "fraud" wording.
lmcckl
post Jul 12 2006, 10:45 PM

50 posts

This is Lam Chee Choong, I can be contact at 012-3353060/lamcheechoong@gmail.com

I've been judge without a chance to defence myselft. If you guys need clarification do contact me. I am also a vistim at this case
shark
post Jul 12 2006, 10:51 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(lmcckl @ Jul 13 2006, 12:45 AM)
This is Lam Chee Choong, I can be contact at 012-3353060/lamcheechoong@gmail.com

I've been judge without a chance to defence myselft. If you guys need clarification do contact me. I am also a vistim at this case
U got a chance. U can defend/clarify yourself here. We look forward to ur explanation. Too tired for you to explain again and again to different people if we contact u seperately.
lmcckl
post Jul 12 2006, 11:21 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(shark @ Jul 12 2006, 10:51 PM)
U got a chance. U can defend/clarify yourself here. We look forward to ur explanation. Too tired for you to explain again and again to different people if we contact u seperately.
Finally, this is my side of story ...

I post a thread to sell celcom XPAX vip number 0193623333
XPAX

then this Conman contact me and offer me, so i accept the offer and "he" transfer RM RM 100 to my maybank account. Then suddenly he request for refund given the reason need cash urgent so I refund the money to him lor
this is the receipt
Attached File  Funds_Transfer_to_3rd_Party_Account.pdf ( 63.61k ) Number of downloads: 74

... case close for that day. then suddenly the next day i receive a call from maybank subang telling me that somebody wrongly transfer money to my acc# and wish for reimbuse, I contact the person Mr Han Chung Kit (0123769116) for clarification, then from Mr Han I know the con case and I know i was being used to help the con case. I am also a vistim here sad.gif

I notice this post when my friend told me and i was supprise that i was being judge without a chance to denfence myself

That i had to said... for now

Thank for reading the post and i wish to clear the mis-understanding and my reputation at LYN

This post has been edited by lmcckl: Jul 13 2006, 01:07 AM
lmcckl
post Jul 13 2006, 12:00 AM

50 posts

I almost forget i still keep the PM the person who ask for refund at the first place... the LYN id is "ServerDown". Guys Please Take note
acougan
post Jul 13 2006, 12:04 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(lmcckl @ Jul 13 2006, 12:00 AM)
I almost forget i still keep the PM the person who ask for refund at the first place... the LYN id is "ServerDown". Guys Please Take note
hi, if u r indeed a victim of identity theft, or identity confusion, its best u if u can attach all appropriate screenshots/PMs/messenger logs/sms/bank-in receipts.

pls help expose his nick/names/contact info/bank acc#/etc

try to contact forumer zorex & p_otential_c for clarifications.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 17 2006, 11:46 AM
lmcckl
post Jul 13 2006, 12:54 AM

50 posts

This is all the PM i manage to KEEP.

And Mr Han is doing the paypal exchange business. He is the person who transfe the money to my acc# at the first place...
lmcckl
post Jul 13 2006, 01:13 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 13 2006, 12:04 AM)
hi, if u r indeed a victim of identity theft, or identity confusion, its best u if u can attach all appropriate screenshots/PMs/messenger logs/sms/bank-in receipts.

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/Archive/2006-05AStd3044796.htm
^are u refering to this person?

pls expose his nick/names/contact info/bank acc#/etc

try to contact forumer zorex & p_otential_c for clarifications.
is Han Chung Kit from http://moresales.com.my/?
I think i transfer the money to the lelong guy (Please refer to my previous post with attacthment) and Mr Han is doing the paypal exchange for Money business
acougan
post Jul 13 2006, 01:28 AM

590 posts

edited & updated;

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=8250872

This post has been edited by acougan: Aug 26 2006, 11:50 AM
acougan
post Jul 14 2006, 04:31 PM

590 posts

PAYPAL & E-GOLD & moneybookers FRAUD (details)

/
zorex opened a WTS paypal trade. suspect claimed his paypal account was moresales and his name was lmcckl. paypal send to moresales. no money received.

total loss to zorex: paypal USD33.95, believed lmcckl & then leekhoe to be the conman

lessons to be learned:
inexperienced paypal seller, sell paypal 1st then wait for money, own screenshot was used for fraud, forgot to ask screenshot & verification from buyer.

/
lmcckl opened a WTS celcom pack trade. suspect 'sends' money to buy, but RM100 actually came from moresales. suspect claimed emergency & cancel trade, wanted & received instant refund. suspect claimed he was leekhoe.

total loss to lmcckl: mb2u account used for fraud, reputation affected

lessons to be learned:
money coming in and going out from his mb2u was from 2 separate acc#! buyers who pay in installments or suddenly ask for full refund are very suspicious.

/
moresales trades paypal at lelong. suspect claimed his paypal account was zorex and his name was lmcckl.

total loss to moresales: paypal account used for fraud

lessons to be learned:
the name on paypal, mb2u & emails of his buyer are all different! beware of conman who to claims to trade using fren/family/company acc. paypal traders must be more alert on identity theft. screenshots can be abused & altered, email addresses can be spoofed.

/
leekhoe trades paypal/e-gold at lelong. suspect used yahooID r2goldcom but claimed name as lmcckl. traded e-gold USD26.04 for RM100.

total loss to leekhoe: mb2u, egold, paypal accounts used for fraud, reputation affected

lessons to be learned:
this trader welcomes everybody & anybody to trade with him via email & instant messaging. did not do enough to verify buyer's identity.

/
r2gold operates an exchange site. yet another victim of ID hijack. suspect registers a similar yahoo email to 'trade' other the name of r2goldcom@yahoo.com

loss to r2gold: no tangible loss, but suspect may strike again

lessons to be learned:
if u a r active & genuine trader (especially seller) try to register & monitor all trade dispute corners at lelong, LYN, ebay, etc. u nvr know if ur reputation has been hijacked or smeared by other scammers .

please note the difference of emails r2goldcom@yahoo.com (suspect's|spoof) vs r2gold_com@yahoo.com (real r2gold)

QUOTE(r2gold.com/FAQ.htm)
"...Do you trade over Yahoo Messenger or MSN Messenger?
No. We will never trade over instant messenger, all transactions and orders must goes through our website. We will never ask customers to bank-in money to our bank account without placing order at our site......."

REMINDER: since they are so many parties involved, everyone will be 'innocent until proven guilty'. please protect yourself from identity theft.

REMINDER: come2bet@hotmail.com <- i'm guessing this is a e-gold/paypal account used for illegal betting. the suspect is either a punter or the bookie himself.

REMINDER: for traders who simultaneous trade at lelong,ebay,LYN, its pretty easy to verify their identity. rmb to contact them via lelong or ebay own email system to verify. all genuine & honest traders, always remember a successful conman/fraudster will always be smarter/more cunning than u. don't take anything at face value. practice risk-assessment b4 all kinds of trade.

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Aug 19 2006, 04:07 AM
zorex
post Jul 14 2006, 05:19 PM

1,186 posts

I trust moresales, he helped me a lot. He even go to maybank to clearify this problem and try to get the people doing this.

this is the screenshot I took from my paypal

and also the PM XinXin PM me.

I don't have screenshot for the MSN. No history also.

This post has been edited by zorex: Apr 29 2022, 01:52 AM
lmcckl
post Jul 14 2006, 06:41 PM

50 posts

Thanks for shorting the problem.. I really learn a leason
beck_ken
post Jul 15 2006, 01:55 AM

4,716 posts

wow, so many people involve in this. The conman used so many accounts and conned ppl. From what i see, the con man start from lmcckl then used his mb2u a/c to start his conning plan
acougan
post Jul 16 2006, 11:05 PM

590 posts

MORE E-GOLD FRAUD!!

XinXin and his gang is back??

refering to this thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=314427

mintec_2001 is a fraud!!!!

lelongID mintec is not related to him/her!!!

edit: thanks to careful forumer yiivei, if he was newbie, sure more victims will be defrauded.

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 16 2006, 11:14 PM
mintec
post Jul 17 2006, 12:49 AM

71 posts

This is mintec (;e;ong). I'm shocked after reading all these posts. come2bet@hotmail.com has tried buying e-gold from me but luckily no deal soa he asked me to transfer first. He even sent me his scanned ic and driver's license belonging to Abdul Rahim b. Rashid! But I doubt that's really him. I've traded with Lee KoK Hoe a number of times and he's no fraud. Just another case of identity theft.
tonYe
post Jul 17 2006, 02:00 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

all these trouble & risk to cont hat 200 bucks?
omg
acougan
post Jul 17 2006, 02:56 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(mintec @ Jul 17 2006, 12:49 AM)
This is mintec (;e;ong). I'm shocked after reading all these posts. come2bet@hotmail.com has tried buying e-gold from me but luckily no deal soa he asked me to transfer first. He even sent me his scanned ic and driver's license belonging to XXXXX! But I doubt that's really him. I've traded with Lee KoK Hoe a number of times and he's no fraud. Just another case of identity theft.
lelonger mintec, glad u can join us. Lee KoK Hoe (leekhoe) will post his side of his story soon. Nice of u to vouch for him. this suspect (XinXin, ServerDown) still using XXXX to fraud?? hmm, maybe XXXX is not as innocent as i thought. hopefully, someone can reach XXXXX if he is a genuine trader at other forums/sites. anyone willing to check his addresses on his IC or driving license?

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 25 2007, 01:44 PM
maxxeric
post Jul 17 2006, 10:59 AM

This post has been edited by maxxeric: Mar 16 2017, 04:32 PM
r2gold
post Jul 17 2006, 02:38 PM

This show how easy to get scam by trading over YM or any other Instant Messenger, you never know who behind that ID.

I guess all of you already clear that the scammer with Yahoo ID "r2goldcom" has nothing to do with us, right? If anyone still have any doubt or questions, please contact us directly or you may post your question here.

That's is one of the reason we setup R2Gold.com to service Malaysian market, you may not get super low and unreasonable rate at our site, but definately reliable and peace of mind.
zorex
post Jul 18 2006, 09:36 PM

1,186 posts

I already posted the paypal screenshot I send to moresales and also the PM XinXin send me. Other screenshot I dun have already cuz its all in msn. For email, come2bet@hotmail.com nvr email me and he uses the screenshot I send to him after trading for money as something to cheat third party in order to get the money I guess. He nvr send me any of his account number even after I told him mind.

Now we dunno whose the last person behind receiving the money. Lee, did you receive any money from Lam? I wuz told by Lam, he send the money to Lee.

There are too many info theft already, we dunno who is really who now. Personal info is private and confidential, I dun think its good for seller or buyer to expose other party personal info to public. For egold and paypal seller its better next time trade through phone if can.

This post has been edited by zorex: Apr 29 2022, 01:53 AM
byter
post Jul 19 2006, 10:44 AM

32 posts

huh conman everywhere...hard to trust ppl today.. those conman feed his wife / child with not good food sure their children will become conman also later mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
p_otential_c
post Jul 20 2006, 08:49 PM

193 posts

So lam chee choong what clarification have you got?.. i transfered 100 usd egold to you and you only paid rm350...
acougan
post Jul 20 2006, 09:32 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 20 2006, 08:49 PM)
......i transfered 100 usd egold to you and you only paid rm350...
p_otential_c,

u have dealt with this suspect (XinXin) b4. can u clarify his details?

suspect's contact: 0178500810, come2bet@hotmail.com, r2goldcom(YM ID), e-gold acc# 3360808

suspected LYN nicks: XinXin, ServerDown, alamjaya

is the email & e-gold acc# the same? how about the mb2u acc#? did he send u an email/receipt showing the acc#?

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 25 2007, 01:45 PM
beck_ken
post Jul 21 2006, 04:14 PM

4,716 posts

So lam chee choong what clarification have you got?.. i transfered 100 usd egold to you and you only paid rm350...
Read page 1&2 and you will see what's Lam Chee Choong had clarified.

lmcckl
post Jul 22 2006, 02:27 AM

50 posts

Who is this? I did not receive USD 100 and I did tno Pay RM 350 to anybody..Please go through the post and get a better understanding of my situation...

Thz
MonkeyEggBalls
post Jul 22 2006, 03:27 PM

35 posts

How about we appoint a mod to ban the conman's IP address?
p_otential_c
post Jul 22 2006, 07:01 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 20 2006, 09:32 PM)
p_otential_c,

u have dealt with this suspect (XinXin) b4. can u clarify his details?
is the email & e-gold acc# the same? how about the mb2u acc#? did he send u an email/receipt showing the acc#?
/
This is illogical.. the scammer is Lam Chee Hong.. What explanation can you give?.. prove that you're innocent..scammers got no where to run, once we've got you, we've got you.. There can only be so many excuses and you will eventually run out of them.

Okay assuming that Lam Chee Hong is innocent... heres the scam details..

I transfered $100 egold to his acc.. we were communicating via msn.. his email is
come2bet@hotmail.com and nickname is come2bet. His LYN nick is XinXin.

He paid me RM350 via M2U

Account Holder Name: LAM CHEE CHOONG
Account Number: 114366068074

So, if the scammer is not Lam Chee Hong, how can he have access to his m2u acc and make payments?

acougan
post Jul 22 2006, 09:22 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 22 2006, 07:01 PM)
I transfered $100 egold to his acc.. we were communicating via msn.. his email is

He paid me RM350 via M2U
this suspect (XinXin) is known to commit ID theft & hijack, alter & abuse screenshots to commit fraud.

p_otential_c, regarding the transfer of RM350 via mb2u, do u still have the screenshot & email? we need to be certain from which acc# the RM350 really came from.

p_otential_c, so we can at least confirm suspect (XinXin) uses e-gold acc# 3360808 (Come2bet) right?

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 22 2006, 09:24 PM
p_otential_c
post Jul 22 2006, 10:49 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 22 2006, 09:22 PM)
this suspect (XinXin) is known to commit ID theft & hijack, alter & abuse screenshots to commit fraud.

p_otential_c, regarding the transfer of RM350 via mb2u, do u still have the screenshot & email? we need to be certain from which acc# the RM350 really came from.

p_otential_c, so we can at least confirm suspect (XinXin) uses e-gold acc# 3360808 (Come2bet) right?

/
affirmative.. his egold is confirmed. I do not have the screen shot but im certain the acc# is correct. The questions left now is how did xinxin gain access to the m2u acc..it is almost impossible so the primary suspect is still lam chee hong.

There is no signs of alter & abuse off screenshot as THERE CAN BE NON. The notification is MAYBANK GENERATED...Lam Chee Hong has to answer this now...

If the excuse is his maybank acc was compromised or hacked that it cannot be accepted as a loss of rm350 would be noticed immediately and shown in the records and he would have lodged a report. Why didnt he do this?..

All this circumstancial evidence will only point to him... he will now have to answer it.

A transaction record can easily be obtained if requested from a maybank branch.. there can be no cover ups. Now lets see what has he got to say about this.

This post has been edited by p_otential_c: Jul 22 2006, 11:00 PM
acougan
post Jul 22 2006, 11:00 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 22 2006, 10:49 PM)
affirmative.. his egold is confirmed. I do not have the screen shot but im certain the acc# is correct. The questions left now is how did xinxin gain access to the m2u acc..it is almost impossible so the primary suspect is still lam chee hong.
i'm not a seller, so i dont have ppl transfering money to my mb2u account b4 but i'm pretty sure u have no way to know 100% where the RM350 came from unless mb2u sends u an email notifying "MR XXX has transferred RM350 to ur account", or the buyer sends u a real (unedited) screenshot right?

did u get the name & acc# by calling up maybank personnel?

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 22 2006, 11:02 PM
p_otential_c
post Jul 22 2006, 11:02 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 22 2006, 11:00 PM)
i'm not a seller, so i dont have ppl transfering money to my mb2u account b4 but i'm pretty sure u have no way to know 100% where the RM350 came from unless mb2u sends u an email notifying "MR XXX has transferred RM350 to ur account", or the buyer sends u a real (unedited) screenshot right?
The email generated message would have to be filled by the person paying.. in this case he did not so i didnt receive any email notifications.. However i did receive a notification when i logged in to my m2u and during that time they had provided the transaction details.. its lam chee hong...

The maybank personnel mentioned that i would have to register for phone banking for them to access my transaction history...

As of now it doesnt matter.. lam chee hong would have to answer.. the proof will come.. sooner or later..

This post has been edited by p_otential_c: Jul 22 2006, 11:04 PM
acougan
post Jul 22 2006, 11:22 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 22 2006, 11:02 PM)
The email generated message would have to be filled by the person paying.. in this case he did not so i didnt receive any email notifications.. However i did receive a notification when i logged in to my m2u and during that time they had provided the transaction details.. its lam chee hong...

The maybank personnel mentioned that i would have to register for phone banking for them to access my transaction history...

As of now it doesnt matter.. lam chee hong would have to answer.. the proof will come.. sooner or later..
I see, sorry I din't know mb2u autogenerates a notification for 3rd party transfer coming in. I do have one last question though, y u keep saying 'lam chee hong" in all ur posts vs LAM CHEE CHOONG??

Edit: did the mb2u auto-notification list name&acc# or just name only?

Edit2: a simple check with yellowpages inidicated there are many 'lam chee hong's with registered landlines & only 1 'LAM CHEE CHOONG' with a registered line. guess its a pretty common name.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 22 2006, 11:33 PM
shark
post Jul 23 2006, 08:37 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 23 2006, 01:02 AM)

Did you receive the 3rd party notification or not? Previous message u said u received the notification, but this message u said u didnt receive any email notification? How did u see the "transaction details" with his name/account number if he didnt fill out the 3rd party email address?

Let's say u received a "notification", did u double check the email address, are u sure that it was a REAL notification, and not fake notification generated by fake m2u site? (just like the fake paypal site sending fake paypal notification i posted in the 1st post)

So did u manage to access ur transaction history actually? How to see "transaction details" in m2u? I can see only who and what i paid for, but i dunno how to see who made payment to me. Can u pls teach? (Or yea... if u've obtained ur transaction history from maybank branch, with "lam chee "X"ong's name on it, why not scan and show us?)

So who is Lam Chee Hong and who is Lam Chee Chong? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by shark: Jul 23 2006, 08:50 AM
r2gold
post Jul 23 2006, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 22 2006, 07:01 PM)
This is illogical.. the scammer is Lam Chee Hong.. What explanation can you give?.. prove that you're innocent..scammers got no where to run, once we've got you, we've got you.. There can only be so many excuses and you will eventually run out of them.

Okay assuming that Lam Chee Hong is innocent... heres the scam details..

He paid me RM350 via M2U

Account Holder Name: LAM CHEE CHOONG
Account Number: 114366068074

So, if the scammer is not Lam Chee Hong, how can he have access to his m2u acc and make payments?
This is one of the reason that I can think of: -

LAM CHEE CHOONG is a another victim of 3rd Party Scam as well. XinXin want to buy e-gold from you and LAM CHEE CHOONG trying to buy e-gold from XinXin. So, XinXin order e-gold from you and give your bank a/c number to LAM CHEE CHOONG. XinXin expect LAM to bank-in money to your a/c then you can send e-gold to XinXin. The only thing that XinXin can't control is the amount that LAM finally bank-in.

So, there is a possibility that LAM is not a scammer, instead a victim of a scam case. Look at this, if LAM really is the real scam, why he want to bank-in RM350 to you? He can just eat all your e-gold and run away.

This post has been edited by r2gold: Jul 23 2006, 11:08 AM
p_otential_c
post Jul 23 2006, 08:25 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(shark @ Jul 23 2006, 08:37 AM)
Did you receive the 3rd party notification or not? Previous message u said u received the notification, but this message u said u didnt receive any email notification? How did u see the "transaction details" with his name/account number if he didnt fill out the 3rd party email address?

Let's say u received a "notification", did u double check the email address, are u sure that it was a REAL notification, and not fake notification generated by fake m2u site? (just like the fake paypal site sending fake paypal notification i posted in the 1st post)

So did u manage to access ur transaction history actually? How to see "transaction details" in m2u? I can see only who and what i paid for, but i dunno how to see who made payment to me. Can u pls teach? (Or yea... if u've obtained ur transaction history from maybank branch, with "lam chee "X"ong's name on it, why not scan and show us?)

So who is Lam Chee Hong and who is Lam Chee Chong?  rclxub.gif
well you see.. when you first receive funds from someone.. the first time you log in and check there will be a notification saying that you have received funds from blablabla acc... But after that there will be no records of the account unless you go to a maybank branch to request for it or if you have phone banking services(which i dont have) they can check it for you.. as the ammount ive lost is RM20, im not too free to go to the bank or atm to do al this as im quite busy at the moment.. but sooner or later i will do it to reveal the scammer..

when i received it it happens to be from Lam Chee Hong..

Look at where lam chee hong is now.. come on and explain... what can you say...

I a not surprised if some or the posts here are from the same person to try to defend him as this a technique used by scammers trying to escape... the mods would be able to tell if they have the same IP...
p_otential_c
post Jul 23 2006, 08:28 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(r2gold @ Jul 23 2006, 11:06 AM)
This is one of the reason that I can think of: -

LAM CHEE CHOONG is a another victim of 3rd Party Scam as well. XinXin want to buy e-gold from you and LAM CHEE CHOONG trying to buy e-gold from XinXin. So, XinXin order e-gold from you and give your bank a/c number to LAM CHEE CHOONG. XinXin expect LAM to bank-in money to your a/c then you can send e-gold to XinXin. The only thing that XinXin can't control is the amount that LAM finally bank-in.

So, there is a possibility that LAM is not a scammer, instead a victim of a scam case. Look at this, if LAM really is the real scam, why he want to bank-in RM350 to you? He can just eat all your e-gold and run away.
Why he want to bank in 350 to me?.. heres the reason..

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Jul 8 2006, 10:02 PM)
got conned by him as well.. he still owes me RM20.

Here's the story, he comes to me telling that he wants 100 egold and i need to transfer to him first.. after I transfered he went offline and online several times saying he has internet problems.. then he told me his tac expired which is illogical because a tac lasts for 3 hours.. I suggested that he requested another tac and he gave and excuse that it wont be usable..

So i purposely told him that I have another 200 egold and would gladly sell it to him after receiving payment for the 100egold.. he accepted it and this time he asked me to wait for 5 minutes.. clearly this is the time when he really requested for tac.. and after that he said he would transfer 350 first... clearly another indication of how much balance he's got...Once he transfered RM350 i breathed a sigh of relieve..

Today he came to me again asking for egold.. i said i only had 20... he asked me to transfer the egold to him first before he would pay.. and if i dont he wouldnt pay the RM20 he still owes me..

Lam Chee Hong is a scammer and will be reported to the appropriate authorities to take action. Anyone of you who have been scammed by him please report it here.
And what are you talking about, if it was a scam Lam would have made reports about it...and if your conclusion is right Lam Chee Hong would have mentioned it but he claims that he doesnt know me and hasnt dealt with me before..

these are all circumstancial evidance and it will all build up and point at him...

heres the quote
QUOTE(lmcckl @ Jul 22 2006, 02:27 AM)
Who is this? I did not receive USD 100 and I did tno Pay RM 350 to anybody..Please go through the post and get a better understanding of my situation...

Thz
I will try to go to a maybank branch to get a copy of the transaction history and to really confirm who the depositor really is.. the objective of this post should be constuctive and to reveal the real scammer.

As of now, Lam Chee Hong cannot be said to be at fault until i receive the hard copy proof from maybank.

This post has been edited by p_otential_c: Jul 23 2006, 08:38 PM
acougan
post Jul 23 2006, 08:39 PM

590 posts

p_otential_c,

to summarize;

1. mb2u auto-notifies u when u login (around Jul7th?) that a 3rd party transfer of RM350 is coming in from 'lam chee hong'. was the acc# stated also?

2. u do realise forumer lmcckl declare his name as LAM CHEE CHOONG, right? his mb2u savings acc# is 11XX66XX80XX as stated in his screenshot. why r u so adamant these two different names belong to 1 person?

reminder: alot of LYN IDs and leongIDs is mixed up in this paypal/e-gold case. who is the true victim & who is an acomplice is difficult to prove, thats why we try to gather as much info on suspect (XinXin) and his M.O. to prevent future fraud cases.

reminder2: i'm 99% sure this is all a misunderstanding stemming from an earlier post from zorex at the other thread. forumer lmcckl, if u feel uncomfortable having ur name & acc# openly displayed, pls let me know & i'll edit accordingly.
forumer p_otential_c still havn't verify where the RM350 transfer came from.

/

This post has been edited by acougan: Aug 19 2006, 04:40 AM
beck_ken
post Jul 24 2006, 10:07 AM

4,716 posts

Why suddently Lam Chee Hong pop up in this case? Isn't it only Lam Chee Choong?

p_otential_c
post Jul 24 2006, 07:48 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 23 2006, 08:39 PM)
p_otential_c,

to summarize;

1. mb2u auto-notifies u when u login (around Jul7th?) that a 3rd party transfer of RM350 is coming in from 'lam chee hong'. was the acc# stated also?

2. u do realise forumer lmcckl declare his name as LAM CHEE CHOONG, right? his mb2u savings acc# is 114366068074 as stated in his screenshot. why r u so adamant these two different names belong to 1 person?
reminder: alot of LYN IDs and leongIDs is mixed up in this paypal/e-gold case. who is the true victim & who is an acomplice is difficult to prove, thats why we try to gather as much info on suspect (XinXin) and his M.O. to prevent future fraud cases.
I will try to go to a maybank branch this weekend if i am free, as off now lam chee choong cannot be put to blame..... as the ammount ive lost is rm20, i am not that compelled to spend all of my time over it.. but for the benefit of all LYN members, i will try to contribute as well..
acougan
post Aug 19 2006, 03:54 AM

590 posts

Beware of Online Bookie(s)

note: i have nothing against online bookies (even though they deal with illegal betting), but when they are so low that they keep coming back with their schemes & frauds at LYN, i just want more forumers to beware!

just remember! any paypal/e-gold deals involving EK Trading is bad news! photography equipment/gadgets offered at tempting discounts are also suspicious!

reminder: online bookies also have many ICNos # & bank acc# from their regular customers!

This post has been edited by acougan: Aug 26 2006, 12:00 PM
acougan
post Aug 26 2006, 11:50 AM

590 posts

BEWARE OF SCAMMER/ONLINE BOOKIE

list of LYN victims: klww2001, zorex, lmcckl, p_otential_c, r2gold, magpies14, choiheng, slacx, esssymanex......
list of lelong victims: moresales, leekhoe@maxxeric, mintec, alamjaya, walao88, iweblite, ....
(there r a few more victims at those photography forums)

pls note mintec & alamjaya are established lelongers. LYN nicks alamjaya, mintec_2001 are spoof IDs used by suspect. magpeis14@gmail.com is also a spoof of trader magpies14. cheewooi23 is yet another spoof on member cheewooi

/
suspect's contact: 0178500810, come2bet@hotmail.com, r2goldcom(YM ID), e-gold acc# 3360808, digi88mobile@hotmail.com, 0128753310, Chow Mun Keong, alancydic@hotmail.com, egold no: 3135142, LYNX TIONG XUNJIA, 0983664, quarts818@yahoo.com, CHANG SZE SEONG, bl_rss@yahoo.com, William Tan, williamtan1961@yahoo.com, 0194830300, ektrading@gmail.com, magpeis14@gmail.com, , 014-8829291, Andy Seo, tmgemini@gmail.com, 014-6811859, EMMTRADING@gmail.com, Goon Chin Chung, Lee Cheng Kiat, etc....

update: Chong Tze Seong, ctze_seong@hotmail.com will be listed under 'VERY SUSPICIOUS' category, waiting for further confirmations.

update2: DANG THE AN from goldert may be a victim of ID theft/hijack

suspected LYN nicks: Makan_makan, XinXin, ServerDown, alamjaya, mintec_2001, alancydic, fellowes, Gadgeter, ^Chubb^, cheewooi23, finalsky, edward5105, wilsterman03, etc..........

these suspects most likely operate in a gang or they just copycat each other's M.O. 'vultures of a feather flock together'

suspect's M.O.:
1. pretend to be initiate trade to glean name & maybank acc# info from others via LYN PMs or IM.
2. register nicks, email and other spoof IDs similar to other genuine traders to create confusion & cover tracks.
3. alter/abuse screenshots from others to perform identity theft & fraud.
4. suspects are most probably online bookies/loansharkers - uses the ICNo. & mb2u of his 'clients'. convince victims to top-up their own internet bookie account - ezbets, ektrading, yishengbo
5. on the prowl at lelong, LYN, Free-to-ZOUK, other photography forums & all those HYIP e-gold forums.

related links;

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=308959
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=289170
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=300333
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=314427
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=282287
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=240769
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=278355
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=323982
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=267776
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=263265
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=271518
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=326060

http://bbs.lelong.com.my/bbs/showthread.php?t=24171
http://bbs.lelong.com.my/bbs/showthread.php?t=24787

http://photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?p=636
http://photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13755
http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11754
http://www.photokaki.com/forum/viewtopic.p...bebb962800a2fca

http://www.nogold.com/forum/alert/12496-bl...take-notes.html

http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:br1o1C...y&ct=clnk&cd=10
http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:nDJRS9...my&ct=clnk&cd=1
http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:A-AhyB...my&ct=clnk&cd=1
http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:3q-lS1...my&ct=clnk&cd=1
http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:eFwLwv...y&ct=clnk&cd=10
http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:9FRRwV_...my&ct=clnk&cd=2
http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:0GdGbeJ...my&ct=clnk&cd=1
http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardw...jaks/index.php3

^ sorry if some of the google cache links r not working. they are not static, please use google with the above emails to get the working links

lelong admin posted a warning regarding this kind of identity theft/fraud;
http://bbs.buysell.net.my/bbs/showthread.php?t=18107

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/372664
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/373036
/

This post has been edited by acougan: Mar 31 2007, 09:58 PM
wKkaY
post Sep 29 2006, 04:06 PM

misutÄ supÄkoru
6,008 posts

I think information from this topic should be compiled and put into the Resource Center. Any volunteers?
acougan
post Sep 29 2006, 05:22 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 29 2006, 04:06 PM)
I think information from this topic should be compiled and put into the Resource Center. Any volunteers?
u mean create a new topic to warn of this kind of ID theft/hijack/spoof M.O.? or simply a topic to list/suggest prevention/precautionary steps when trading online and banking in? i admit this thread abit of a mess, i can edit and rewrite most of the pointers.

anyway account alancydic still logs in from time to time to pm newbie paypal/e-gold traders sad.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Sep 29 2006, 05:28 PM
acougan
post Oct 30 2006, 02:41 AM

590 posts

re: [wta]about 'serverdown' this people... by lcyeap90 Yesterday, 10:48 PM

i'm bumping this post becos account ServerDown recently login to pm some potential buyers & sellers. hopefully, ppl will beware & be alert. thats all.

/
acougan
post Nov 25 2006, 12:54 AM

590 posts

it seems this scammer/group of scammers have struck again. the usual M.O. hopefully a small bump now can alert potential victims in the future.

Added on February 3, 2007, 8:21 pmsince last year, i've been waiting for a

Chong Tze Seong, ctze_seong@hotmail.com, of MAYBANK ACC NO:114478068997

to clear his name/connection with this bookie/paypal scammer. someone tip me off the real Chong Tze Seong is aware of the lelong thread about him back in august.

http://bbs.lelong.com.my/bbs/showthread.php?t=24787

it appears the scammer is back in action. whether the scammer is Chong Tze Seong or someone close who is using his mb2u account, hopefully police will track him down.

This post has been edited by acougan: Feb 3 2007, 08:21 PM

0.0300sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:37 AM