Samsung Galaxy S4 Official Discussion Thread V8, The fourth Galaxy series.

xixo_12
post Jan 15 2014, 11:36 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

brand new in box, bought yesterday, faced an issue where touch screen automatically simulate the touch by human repeatedly. but i dont touch the screen at all.

annoying, and waiting for 1 to 1 replacement.
so sad for the new unit .. quality downgraded.
xixo_12
post Jun 18 2014, 12:14 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

Hello im using s4 i9505.. still having permissice status 4.2.2.. where can I download malaysia original firmware without knox trip?

If I want to root it.. no problem right? Bit confuse with current samsung...

I read a lot info..but a bit afraid to root n having different kernel
xixo_12
post Jun 18 2014, 06:55 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jun 18 2014, 03:44 PM)
You can download your latest firmware from www.sammobile.com. And flash using Odin without tripping the knox.

Root will trigger the knox flag to 0x1, that's the basic until now but im unsure of i9505. As im i9500 user.
Ive seen quite a lot of dev's doing an analysis on how the knox behavior.

Visit XDA's forum nod.gif
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jun 18 2014, 04:07 PM)
as ex-S4 4G , i9505 owners said, once u root w CF-auto root, your knox counter will triggered forever...
since Knox BL is started from 4.3 MK5 firmware till NDNB firmwares [imo]

well, just root it n dun fear about it as well smile.gif

anyway, own opinions smile.gif

cheers.gif
this s4 is still in warranty,

my concern is to have another kernel so that i can control n limit voltage so that it consume low power and yield minimize temp..

but root will knox counter, im thinking twice to do or not to do..

my s2 is super easy then this s4 matter sweat.gif rclxub.gif
xixo_12
post Jun 18 2014, 07:53 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jun 18 2014, 07:18 PM)
Haha, in my opinion, just go for it. What for the risk if it wasn't for us to take?

brows.gif
Lol great poison there...cant resist...haha .. will download official first..then only root it.

Btw.. I read somewhere but lost it..
Which official rom is started using new bootloader?
After I update im no longer can dowgrade rom ..correct?
xixo_12
post Jun 18 2014, 10:21 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jun 18 2014, 08:46 PM)
Since 4.3 JellyBean. Why cant downgrade? Use only Odin to flash previous firmware nod.gif
Oic..tq for clarification..thats mean put aside the knox.. once trigger u will have a lot of rom to play.. tq so much
xixo_12
post Jun 21 2014, 11:03 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

Im coming from 4.2.2 .. yes it's 4.2.2

let me check with u guys before proceed

so it got this file ... 1.6gb shocking.gif rclxub.gif drool.gif
Model: GT-I9505
Model name: GALAXY S4 LTE
Version: Android 4.4.2
Changelist: 481100
Build date: Mon, 24 Feb 2014 20:18:09 +0000
Product Code: XME
PDA: I9505XXUFNBE
CSC: I9505OLBFNB3
MODEM: I9505XXUFNBE

now do this

Instructions
Extract (unzip) the firmware file
Download Odin v3.09
Extract Odin zip-file
Open Odin v3.09
Reboot phone in Download Mode (press and hold Home + Power + Volume Down buttons)
Connect phone and wait until you get a blue sign in Odin
Add the firmware file to AP / PDA
Make sure re-partition is NOT ticked
Click the start button, sit back and wait a few minutes

and lastly just apply this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2281738

should be good rite?

anything to backup just in case.. using helium should be ok for data right?
xixo_12
post Jun 21 2014, 11:22 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jun 21 2014, 11:13 PM)
So true, Helium app should be good to make app backup. But i think problem may arise when you restore your app data after flash 4.4.2

As previous rom (where you made backup) is on 4.2 JB. But im not soo sure. Can try tho.
is there any method to root 4.2.2 so that i can install TB ..easy like that.. so that sure i can't have prob to restore data sweat.gif advice plz
xixo_12
post Jun 23 2014, 11:14 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

Finally I root it using adam kernel

Any chance to tweak the volt n speed?
And one more

How to full wipe ? I dont want leftover.. try using backup n reset.. but doesnt work..

My phone equipped with latest msia firmware + twrp 2.7.1 + adam kernel
xixo_12
post Jun 23 2014, 11:27 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jun 23 2014, 11:15 AM)
Reboot to recovery, Wipe Data/Factory reset

Or can just flash latest firmware through ODIN, new firmware NE7 for Malaysia XME is out already
Orite will take a look on it..
New firmware again? Haha.. downloading is such a pain... too big in size..lol
xixo_12
post Jul 14 2014, 09:51 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

what other kernel is good to try?
im using i9505 with adam kernel right now
xixo_12
post Jul 15 2014, 10:00 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 15 2014, 02:42 PM)
1st page...smile.gif [choose by your own xD]
but i mostly prefer

Faux kernels
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2273437

kinda weird.. advice please which one to download.. using stock rom rooted

0.0271sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:44 PM