Samsung Galaxy S4 Official Discussion Thread V8, The fourth Galaxy series.
asdasd
Dec 30 2013, 09:45 AM
anyone here using GE 4.4.2? I've been using it for a few days now, it seems to me like the battery life is shorter than TW 4.3 or GE 4.3. can barely get it past 24 hours with SOT less than 3 hours.
previously it was more than 48 hours with SOT around 4 hours. anybody having the same issue?
This post has been edited by asdasd: Dec 30 2013, 09:52 AM
asdasd
Jan 6 2014, 12:15 PM
just curious, is it ok if we flash stock kernel into a custom TW rom? will the phone function normally?
thanks for any feedback..
asdasd
Jan 12 2014, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(redframelowyat @ Jan 12 2014, 01:35 AM) Help me guys. My s4 won't turn on wifi. It's just happen suddenly. Already reboot and turn off many time still don't work friend, maybe it would be easier to help if you give some details like what did you do last before the having the problem... did you update firmware? installed any new apps? drop the phone? any info can help..
asdasd
Jan 22 2014, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(coolguy_eugene @ Jan 22 2014, 08:59 PM) but, a lot of shops no longer selling except Samsung store for LTE SME maybe you can try AP set if you've set your mind on the S4 LTE..
asdasd
Jan 22 2014, 10:09 PM
warranty is given by the store, not by samsung malaysia. samsung SC will repair AP phones but you'll need to pay more I think.
asdasd
Jan 30 2014, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(88chuan88 @ Jan 29 2014, 05:17 PM) guys, anyone owning a i9500 and i9505 at the same time? my gf i9505 getting from uk unlock version is terrible lag while playing candy crush also delag n lag, any way to solve this problem? while my i9500 have smooth animation of candy crush experience, her phone will be boot with '3', one of the network provider in UK. her fren who is getting from uk for i9505 also facing the same prob you should check if power save mode is activated. maybe you can also try to force 2D hardware acceleration in the devs mode..
asdasd
Feb 21 2014, 10:40 AM
kitkat will be available soon, the leaked version has been available since january. better to wait a bit so samsung can work out all the kinks..quite fed up with manufacturers releasing buggy roms.
asdasd
Apr 16 2014, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(lowstate @ Apr 15 2014, 10:39 PM) oh god why. My original cable burned, currently using cable from powerbank. Couldn't transfer data using the cable Any other method? usually I would just use helium to backup the app's data, not the app itself. for contact and msg u can use other app such as Super Backup or similar...
asdasd
Apr 29 2014, 10:44 PM
 I took this photo from my office on the 25th floor. no problem with focus here, you can clearly see the copter blades. for me this is good enuff for a phone camera, anything more falls under DSLR category. not sure why people are complaining about lagging, could be some other problem.
asdasd
May 9 2014, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(TieL @ May 9 2014, 02:35 AM) finally hide my apps using solo launcher, can switch back to default launcher anytime that launcher a bit lagging, but it should do its job whenever my GF is around coupled with applock, which password protect the hidden apps, that will be my double safety 1.6GB is after applied the ROM? i am looking for a ROM to get rid of bloatwares too on my i9500 just want basic stuffs on the phone, and free up my storage let me know if there any good one  bro, if you want a lightweight ROM you should try the Google Edition ROM. super smooth and minimal footprint in the memory...
asdasd
May 9 2014, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ May 9 2014, 04:34 PM) GE rom doesn't have much camera function right? a little short on filters like the one you find in TW rom but you will get the nice photosphere function.
asdasd
May 25 2014, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(evanttc @ May 25 2014, 02:42 PM) Was thinking to help my sis to flash custom rom. Lost track about it. Need suggestions which is the latest stable n great custom kitkat rom that used by everyone? Thanks any specific features you need in the custom ROM aside from stability?
asdasd
Jun 3 2014, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jun 3 2014, 11:25 AM) how about for i9505? any GE rom that can just be install without rooting? you can try jamal's GE rom although its rooted. there are other GE roms available but jamal's is very close to stock with very little mods installed.. jamal's GE Rom
asdasd
Jun 3 2014, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jun 3 2014, 01:35 PM) so i can just download and install? provided i 1st install cwm? yes you can. other than cwm you can also use twrp or philz, both are touch enabled. a reminder, pls make a nandroid backup before you flash just to be safe. and also pls read and understand the instructions given, if unclear get help.
asdasd
Jun 3 2014, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jun 3 2014, 10:00 PM) guys suggest me a custom rom??? been asking since few days..sifus help plssss maybe you can be a bit more specific as to what you need in a custom rom. basically there are 2 types of rom available for the S4 lte. Touchwiz aka stock samsung-based ROM or AOSP-based ROM (Google Edition, MIUI and etc). if you're not sure what you want I would suggest you try the TW-based rom with minimal mods but custom kernel such as wanamlite or goldeneye roms. understand that stock roms with less mods are more stable and reliable which is very important. Roms with lots of mods such as echoe, x-note, phoenix will give you more options to customize but make the rom less stable/reliable. but if you want something totally different then try the GE roms for the full Android experience. AOSP roms are very fast and smooth but you may lose some hardware features such as sensors and LTE. hope this helps...
asdasd
Jun 5 2014, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(adibhaniff @ Jun 5 2014, 10:34 AM) Anyone ever tried undervolting their i9500? Currently undervolting my I9505, should not be a problem but you'll need a kernel that supports this feature. try not to go overboard as this can cause your phone to be unstable. try limiting your core clock to below 1.2Ghz first, this wont affect normal use only gaming.
asdasd
Jun 20 2014, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(adibhaniff @ Jun 20 2014, 05:39 AM) custom kernel provides you with the flexibilty to play around at the hardware level. some of the things you can do are enable over/under-clocking and undervolting both CPU and GPU giving you the option to prolong battery life or increase performance. some custom kernel may also allow you to change the notification LED function but most important is that custom kernel comes with additional governor that changes how the CPU throttles up and down based on how you use your phone.
asdasd
Jun 25 2014, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jun 25 2014, 02:00 PM) are there no new kernels for s4 lte?  there are a few kernels for I9505 that has been updated to TW4.4 such as KT kernel and AEL kernel. both are quite up to date if you are interested. QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jun 25 2014, 02:07 PM) how do i flash cwm philz touch?  must use odin? yes you need odin to flash philz. make sure to get the latest version that is compatible with your stock bootloader. iinm the current version is 3.09 but pls double check to be sure.
asdasd
Jul 20 2014, 05:38 PM
thread so silent past few days...everybody upgraded already?
anyone tried Imperium rom 7.1? any problems with the S5 apk?
asdasd
Jul 21 2014, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(wajahebat @ Jul 20 2014, 10:23 PM) That is one heavily modded rom. Im not surprised if battery drain problem arise But its one of a kind rom, good looking  I'm not overly concerned about battery but if it affects stability then its a big problem for me since I use my phone for work too. just interested to know the features included in the S5 and yes the new samsung theme does look nice..  ps: dang, v8.0 released last nite and I just spent the whole of yesterday afternoon downloading v7.1  anybody wanna try this Ultra Power Saving Mode ?? This post has been edited by asdasd: Jul 21 2014, 07:51 AM