MacOS X Mac OS X Q&A for switchers/noobs

TSlokgotz
post Jun 30 2006, 09:33 AM, updated 20y ago

hehehe
2,657 posts

Hi, i am creating this thread for those who just switched to Mac from Windows since the prices of apple hardware has dropped tremendously in recent years.....

i'll try to compile whatever i can here...

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jul 11 2006, 04:18 PM
TSlokgotz
post Jun 30 2006, 09:35 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

To Print Screen :
Press CMD + SHIFT + 3 = Entire Desktop Capture
Press CMD + SHIFT + 4 = Selection Area Capture
Apple + Shift + 4, then press space bar

Renaming your Mac:
System Preferences>Sharing>then change o whatever name you like

F12 is to access your Dashboard
F11 is to show your desktop
F10 (no idea what this does)
F9 is to show all active windows

any sifus would like to add???

i'll update this list accordingly....

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jun 30 2006, 09:41 AM
prasys
post Jun 30 2006, 10:41 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

If you have Windows Computers in your Network and you would like to share files with'em. Then you could try SharePoints

http://www.hornware.com/sharepoints/

It uses a Frontend for OSX Samba. That allows you to add more share points besides your own Home Folder itself. Plus you can tweak settings , etc...biggrin.gif
hazx_one
post Jun 30 2006, 02:07 PM

97 posts

10 Things Every New Mac Owner Should Know

Some other things that i found interesting.
Spring-loaded folders - when you place a file/folder/alias over an icon, after few seconds the folder will open (or press spacebar to open immediately)

Holding shift while the windows maximize/minimize will make it move in slo-mo
Deadman.Inc.
post Jul 1 2006, 11:06 PM

575 posts

To Print Screen :
Apple + Shift + 4, then press space bar capture screenshot of a selected active window

Renaming your Mac:
System Preferences>Sharing>then change o whatever name you like

F10 shows all active windows of the app. that you're currently looking at
carpathia
post Jul 2 2006, 12:15 AM

2,619 posts

how do i connect a mac and a pc at home using a normal router ?
Eithanius
post Jul 2 2006, 12:25 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jul 2 2006, 12:15 AM)
how do i connect a mac and a pc at home using a normal router ?
get an intel mac, install boot camp or parallel desktop.... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

btw, what do you mean connect a mac and a pc...? sharing files...?

anyway, here's a useful link...

and i'm bloody hell tired, don't shoot me if i get you wrong.... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jul 2 2006, 12:31 AM
|Keantan|
post Jul 2 2006, 12:29 AM

407 posts

^^ I do it exactly the way you pointed out but i have a shared 12" G4 powerbook which the family uses. works just fine. Using an old pc as file server. Works like a charm thumbup.gif
carpathia
post Jul 2 2006, 12:56 AM

2,619 posts

Thanks for the link - great info!
Oh...i have an ibook and a thinkpad (ibm notebook) and PC at home. would like to know how can i network these fellas so i can play warcraft and also share files

Should i get a router or a switch?

Some apps i think everyone should get also -
http://www.dannychoo.com/blog_entry/eng/77...to+replacement/

|Keantan|
post Jul 2 2006, 01:23 AM

407 posts

router does it fine =D I not too sure about a switch, if im not mistaken a router is a little cheaper for us home people. you can do it directly through there.. I dunno how to explain it. mac is great. it just works, i connected it and it just works thumbup.gif Thank GOD we have OSX!
mufasa
post Jul 2 2006, 04:14 AM

319 posts

sorry..need to borrow ur thread...

is it possible to install pirate softwares into apple laptop??such as adobe etc...
Eithanius
post Jul 2 2006, 09:39 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 2 2006, 04:14 AM)
sorry..need to borrow ur thread...

is it possible to install pirate softwares into apple laptop??such as adobe etc...
yo do know that you're not allowed to discuss about pirating software on LYN openly.... doh.gif doh.gif want to get your answers....?

mufasa
post Jul 6 2006, 02:53 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 2 2006, 09:39 AM)
yo do know that you're not allowed to discuss about pirating software on LYN openly.... doh.gif  doh.gif  want to get your answers....?

sweat.gif sweat.gif owhh..i really dunno bout it...sorry... notworthy.gif
TSlokgotz
post Jul 10 2006, 02:45 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

one more link......official from apple....

Switch 101, Lose CTRL and gain COMMAND

http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/
Bahir.
post Jul 11 2006, 01:00 PM

121 posts

Say guys, ive read that there are other forms of Windows emulators out there so i was wondering what are the pros or cons of installing Boot Camp over those types..?

I initially wasnt planning on doing anything of the sort, but i had bought an original copy of Football Manager that comes with both PC and MAC installation files so i thought of running it in Windows..ive been trying to play it off the OS X but ive got some stability issues, mostly it wont load up, or it would hang once ive loaded up a saved game..

any thoughts..?
supafreak
post Jul 11 2006, 01:17 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Bahir. @ Jul 11 2006, 01:00 PM)
Say guys, ive read that there are other forms of Windows emulators out there so i was wondering what are the pros or cons of installing Boot Camp over those types..?

I initially wasnt planning on doing anything of the sort, but i had bought an original copy of Football Manager that comes with both PC and MAC installation files so i thought of running it in Windows..ive been trying to play it off the OS X but ive got some stability issues, mostly it wont load up, or it would hang once ive loaded up a saved game..

any thoughts..?
Bahir,
me thinks mayb it's because ur Football Manager is designed for the PowerPC and not IntelMacs... i had the not loading thing happen to me when i tried Azureus earlier...

y dont u check wit the developers? :-)
Bahir.
post Jul 11 2006, 02:16 PM

121 posts

I was worried it was that..ive been to the developer site and there has been no mention of any updates to address that issue specifically but i am currently downloading the latest patch so i guess im gonna have to wait and see...

if it doesnt work, i might have to "soil" my MB with Windows.

0.0140sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:10 AM