Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V6, 4.3 (14.2.A.0.290 OTA) out now!
Feb 4 2014, 09:40 PM
812 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Just wanna share, Sony Style has a new batch of casings for Z1 that are pretty awesome. I got this one from Elecom that's featured in the Z1 Sony coffee table magazine, it fits the doc, made of thin lightweight metal, enough room at camera lens to not reflect flash, has opening for noise cancelling mic, comes with a really nicely designed sp with anti grease feature and the casing has a beautiful shade of purple which compliments Z1's purple. Finally, a perfect match for my gadget.
Feb 4 2014, 09:50 PM
Feb 4 2014, 11:27 PM
Feb 6 2014, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Feb 6 2014, 12:21 AM) went to Sony store in 1U and they dun have this casing. Mind tell me where is the Elecom u got it and what is this casing call?? Oh, sorry I didn't know they didn't stock it. Bought it at the Curve Sony Style. They have 2 types that could fit the dock and a few other nice new ones. |
Feb 6 2014, 06:43 PM
Feb 6 2014, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 6 2014, 04:16 AM) I sent a reply in one of the previous pages in this thread. Asking about a case for this phone. But, it seems to be like no one cares. LOL! I will just try and ask here for the one last time, or else, I will just start a new thread. So, here we go. The purple model of this phone is especially striking, I'm in love with it. But I just couldn't find the right case for it. Be it a bumper or case, it doesn't matter. All I am looking for is rubberized material, as long as it is kinda shock absorbent... And cheap of course. I am using this case right now, as you can refer in the photo below. This is actually quite a fine case. But it is in a freaking ugly colour. It is covering the sexiness of my phone itself. So, I'm asking if anyone of you here know where can I get something like this but in transparent? Any help will be very much appreciated, thank you. Try the semi transparent rubberised casing by Elecom, they come in 2 variants, black and white (would've gotten that one myself if they had purple). Very thin, fits the dock and fits the phone perfectly. I have no idea how durable it is though but the brand is featured by Sony in their Z1 magazine so should be of decent quality. This post has been edited by mode893: Feb 6 2014, 06:53 PM |
Feb 7 2014, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Feb 7 2014, 01:44 AM) anyone know where can i buy Sony SPA-ACX2 Camera Attachment Case? sony centre at east coast mall kuantan & other shops dont sell it No shops sell it, had tp buy it online, waiting for it to arrive today actually. I'll review and post it here when I have it and if I have the time |
Feb 7 2014, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 7 2014, 01:35 AM) I will find some way to work around it, thank you for the advice. My only main problem right now is to find a silicone case or bumper which is transparent enough to bring out the sexiness of my phone. That's why I specifically recommended Elecom, it is compliant to all the Xperia Z1 features and ticks all the right boxes since it's endorsed by Sony themselves. However, you seem to not consider it at all, strange. |
Feb 7 2014, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 7 2014, 07:26 AM) I went to the Elecom website to check them out as you said earlier. I saw a few there but, it is only pictures. So, I can't really make a decision until I saw them. Or perhaps, you may suggest me where can I check them out in KL. Somewhere near my area, places like KLFC or Lowyat. Actually, I haven't come across any, online or physically except at Sony Style The Curve. I have no idea how to get them otherwise but their collection seems to be the best designed and most comprehensive compared to other brands. I didn't go through their entire collection at the Curve because I found one that was perfect for me immediately after glancing through since I just wanted one that fits the charging dock. Good luck with your searchEdit: These are the few of those that I like, but I still feel like something is missing. Maybe it is not that transparent enough according to the pictures provided. [http://www.elecom-europe.com/index.php?id=8&L=2&product=907] [http://www.elecom-europe.com/index.php?id=8&L=2&product=925] [http://www.elecom-europe.com/index.php?id=8&L=2&product=930] This post has been edited by mode893: Feb 7 2014, 08:41 AM |
Feb 7 2014, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Feb 7 2014, 10:17 AM) Was sold at Sony Style for RM99 only, but out of stock for a long time and as always, Sony staff is clueless, can never come up with a date for new stock so after 3 months waiting, I bought online for RM160 |
Feb 7 2014, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Feb 7 2014, 10:17 AM) Received it today, some photosWith my current purple casing Can't take the ACX2 together with the phone as I don't have any other camera with me right now. Anyway, it is made of plastic of course, texture feels nice in the hand and looks good on the phone as it fits perfectly. I don't see how it won't as it's purpose made by Sony themselves. However, on its own, it feels very fragile. It doesn't feel like it is made to be used as a full time casing, but rather just when you would like to use the QX cameras because I don't think it can survive a single drop from any height. However, this is just how I feel, maybe it is actually sturdier than it looks, but I doubt it. I don't mind it being used specifically with my QX10 only because without it, the clamps have to be used and they look kinda clumsy though they do create a buzz when you're around people because they would realize it's some add on. However with the ACX2, it looks like a dedicated camera as you can see in my photo which is super cool IMO. Well, that's all that I can share at this moment, I'll update my experience with it as I go along. Hope this helps *Edit* I take back what I said about the casing being fragile, accidentally dropped the phone already just now from about 3ft high on tiled floor, no scratch, no cracks, it seems the build is pretty decent however, a big minus for me is that it doesn't fit the charging dock so I can't use it as a regular casing anyway eventhough it's quite durable This post has been edited by mode893: Feb 8 2014, 01:33 AM |
Feb 9 2014, 07:59 AM
Feb 9 2014, 01:47 PM
Feb 9 2014, 07:16 PM
Here's the latest photos of the Sony ACX2 casing with Z1 and QX10. I stand corrected a second time, the casing can be used with charging dock but without any adapter fixed to it. The round protruding part where the QX cameras are affixed to seems to hold it in place in the dock without using any adapter at all.
I also found the lack of info and live photos of the ACX2 casing rather disturbing so here it is, an updated version of my review from a few pages back: The ACX2 is made of plastic of course, texture feels nice in the hand and looks good on the phone as it fits perfectly. I don't see how it won't as it's purpose made by Sony themselves. It also seems slick and slim, whereby hardly any bulk can be seen added on to the Z1 with it. However, on its own, it feels very fragile. Its brother, ACX1 is apparently meant for Xperia Z which can be found in abundance in Sony Style stores unlike itself. Build-wise, it doesn't feel like it is made to be used as a full time casing, but rather just when you would like to use the QX lenses because I don't think it can survive a single drop from any height. However, in a twisted turn of events, I accidentally dropped the phone already from about 3ft high on tiled floor, no scratch, no cracks, it seems the build is pretty decent after all! And the great thing that I just found out is that it actually fits into the charging dock which is a big plus point for me, meaning that it may very well qualify to be my main casing instead of simply for the purpose of the QX lens attachments since it is durable and charging-dock compatible. And with the ACX2, the Z1 looks like a dedicated camera as you can see in my photo which is super cool IMO. Well, that's all that I can share at this moment, I'll update my experience with it as I go along This post has been edited by mode893: Feb 9 2014, 09:45 PM |
Feb 9 2014, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(rocks&bones @ Feb 9 2014, 10:11 PM) hey. anyone here have problem with their smile shutter function? Set it to big smile or average smile. Small smile captures everything like what you're experiencingi tried out mine and the problem is that it keeps snapping shots after the first smile triggering. the smile meter seems to be duplicated for next few shots. even when i turn away the camera after the first smile shot, it keeps snapping including the floor, wall etc etc...any advice? |
Feb 9 2014, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(rocks&bones @ Feb 9 2014, 10:33 PM) yes i know. FYI, i have tried all 3 smile shutter modes and they gave me the same problem. Any of you also experience this problem or know of a solution? Oh, in that case then something is wrong, probably software & that means you probably have to flash your phone again. I have some problem with bluetooth audio but can't be bothered to backup & flash again so I opt to wait out for the next update & hope it'll fix the problem |
Feb 10 2014, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 10 2014, 10:25 AM) I found out that camera on this z1 is not up to expectation. If you wanna compare Z1, compare with Nokia, iPhone is not worthy With Sony G lens, 20mp, 2.0 aperture, I was expecting at least on the same level as iphone (tho it should be better as specs speak it all) but it is way off. can you guys post some pictures taken with this phone? I just wonder if there any tweak, etc. My first impression on the z1 camera is not so good. I hate it! .. Some latest photos.. ![]() ![]() |
Feb 10 2014, 12:24 PM
My example of what Z, Z1 and the waterproof lineup can do
![]() iPhone underwater shots is the worst, confirm nothing come out This post has been edited by mode893: Feb 10 2014, 12:54 PM |
Feb 11 2014, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 10 2014, 06:14 PM) i'm being kind for not posting full sized pics unlike him Nice one bro more here http://www.flickr.com/photos/77017154@N05/...57639571293886/ |
Feb 16 2014, 12:20 AM
136 update is giving superb battery efficiency so far as I can tell. Was lightly surfing, taking photos with my QX10 lens for 2 hours and battery just dropped 2%. Wow.
| Change to: | 0.0477sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:59 PM |