6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V6, 4.3 (14.2.A.0.290 OTA) out now!

Bernard Yeo
post Dec 26 2013, 05:58 PM

570 posts

Hi, anyone can help me root my Xperia Z1 C6903? It's on Jelly Bean 4.3, Build 14.2.A.0.290. Fastboot.exe is stuck on < waiting for device >

The instructions are very complicated. If someone could help me do it, I'll treat her / him a cup of ice blended or frappucino smile.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 27 2013, 09:44 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 26 2013, 08:10 PM)
You need to be on .534 to be able to root, then only flash to higher firmware.
Won't you lose your root if you rooted .534 then update to .290?

This is the site I tried to follow the instructions on. It tells how to root .290 without downgrading firmware:

http://techbeasts.com/2013/12/19/install-c...e-how-to-guide/

Too complicated for me. rclxub.gif The furthest I got was install Android ADB & Fastboot drivers on my PC.

BTW, I'm a fresh android user. This is my first android phone which I got a few days ago. So I'm trying to understand lots of things at the moment.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Dec 27 2013, 10:00 AM
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 27 2013, 10:38 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(WindChaseR @ Dec 27 2013, 10:23 AM)
1. If u follow this guide, goodbye for ur warranty.. at least temporarily lol
2. else, u need to be rooted, and to root u need to downgrade to 534
3. If u're really new to android, pls play around with user level stuff 1st, understand all the functions and terms b4 u jump straight to this part.. u dont need to be rooted for most of the functions.

walk first before u learn to fly -..-
Alright smile.gif I'm just a curious cat. I have jailbroken iPhones and a custom firmware PSP. The reason why I thought of rooting is because I cannot find an app or widget that would conveniently reboot my Xperia without needing to press the hardware button. I have seen some apps that can do that but the phone must be rooted. On my iPhones, they have to be jailbroken before an app can also do that.
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 27 2013, 10:59 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Dec 27 2013, 10:46 AM)
ok... u r right that to add a reboot shortcut/widget, u need root access.

so, if u really needs root, i suggest u do it the "proven" way. that is flash the 534 fw, root with 1 of the easy rooting kit, and then OTA update to fw 257 (since OTA update for 290 is still not available).

fw 257 is not the latest fw (the latest being 290). but nonetheless, it's actually very stable. IMO, so far 290 seems more like a cosmetic update with minor performance improvement.
If I do this, do I download the unbranded/generic firmware C6903 14.1.G.2.257 Generic MY 1272-7939_R7A from the xda-developers forum link from the opening post?

EDIT: I came across the Sony website for unlocking the bootloader. That means it's possible to do it for the latest fw, right? http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/unlock/step1

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Dec 27 2013, 11:06 AM
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 27 2013, 02:06 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Dec 27 2013, 11:11 AM)
just to confirm, your phone is ori malaysia set right? model number c6903 right? are u currently on fw 290?

if yes, then u'll need to download unbranded/generic firmware C6903 14.1.G.1.534 in order for the rooting kit to work.

and if you are currently on fw 290, as pointed out by ZeneticX, you may need to first download and flash the C6903 14.1.G.1.534 commercial version to keep your IMEI.
then download and flash C6903 14.1.G.1.534 HK (or other country at your own preference)
then download 1 of the easy rooting kit to root
then after root, initiate the OTA update to fw 257

done!
Yes, it's ori malaysia set C6903 and I updated to fw290 when my PC notified me.

QUOTE(WindChaseR @ Dec 27 2013, 11:16 AM)
If u just want to root, u dont need to unlock bootloader at all.. if u go thru this official way, basically u've signed the agreement with Sony to void ur warranty.. unless if u dun mind biggrin.gif
I see. I thought I need to unlock bootloader first before rooting.
Yeah, I was concerned about warranty if I notified Sony through their website.

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Dec 27 2013, 12:40 PM)
face it, u want to use jack sparrow games/software so u want to root. jailbrake fruit phone and custom psp is different from root android. we would need root because we need to flash mod, custom rom. or many others thing. til you can understand the full usage of root, you shouldnt.
dont get me wrong, but i just think if you only wish to play jack sparrow games you wouldnt want to risk you warranty. ROOT WILL VOID WARRANTY. plus the possibility of brick ur phone and lose ur imei. normally we root our old phone when we first try to root. rooting for newcomers shouldnt do in top end, and if it is ur only phone, even worse.
I like to be able to tweak a device to my liking, which is this case requires rooting. For instance I mentioned earlier that I would like a shortcut or widget to reboot my phone, not using the hardware button. I would also like to try underclocking the processor when the screen is off to extend battery life, and getting rid of the bloatware that came with the phone. These are just a few ideas I have right now.

As for jack sparrow games/software, you don't need to root to get them. I'm simply not interested in games anyway.
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 27 2013, 02:16 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 27 2013, 12:49 PM)
You won't.

Which is what I am currently experimenting - can we keep FULL root access and not partial when we are rooted on .534 then update to .290, not via OTA but flashing .290 firmware.

Long as you do not "WIPE DATA" "WIPE CACHE".

I am still experimenting, in order to give proper rooting guide.
Looking forward to your guide. rclxms.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 28 2013, 01:34 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 27 2013, 11:32 PM)
Unfortunately, mine is not reacting to anything.

Not even fastboot.
Sh1t. The last time I bricked something, it was an iPhone 3GS. Stuck in a bootloop as well. What did the xda forums say so far? Any hope of recovery?
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 28 2013, 02:25 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 28 2013, 01:46 AM)
Mine macam no hope. Sending back to Sony tomorrow.

If bootloop I'm not scared. Mine currently brick to the state it'll not respond.
Have you tried using a pen to press the red reset button next to the SIM tray? Try this while plugged in and charging from the wall socket and without. Hope that helps.
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 30 2013, 04:16 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Dec 30 2013, 01:45 AM)
Bro try using a 3rd party app call QuickPic. Best 3rd party photo album app you can get..
QuickPic is also great for opening animated gifs.
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 30 2013, 04:35 PM

570 posts

I want to connect my phone to a TV using HDMI. Do I need to buy the MHL adapter from Sony or can I get any MHL adapter? Is it possible to use a standard HDMI cable that has a micro USB connecter on one end?
Bernard Yeo
post Dec 30 2013, 05:38 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Dec 30 2013, 05:13 PM)
you can buy any MHL (MHL 1) cable but don't buy any that compatible with S3/S4/Note2/Note3 because have more pin inside.

depend on your TV, this pict might help

Remember, there is micro hdmi to hdmi cable too, use by xperia s. micro hdmi look like micro usb if you not look closely.

Thanks for the info. The shopkeeper wanted to sell me the
QUOTE(nordingh @ Dec 30 2013, 05:13 PM)
you can buy any MHL (MHL 1) cable but don't buy any that compatible with S3/S4/Note2/Note3 because have more pin inside.
Thanks for the info. The shopkeeper wanted to sell me the micro HDMI cable but I wasn't sure until now.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 8 2014, 10:13 AM

570 posts

Questions about QuickPic, Photos and Album.

1. Can I uninstall Album app through Settings>Apps>Album>Clear Data
2. Can I uninstall Photos app the same way?
2. I noticed sometimes QuickPic and Photos app cannot display thumbnails. Why is that and how do I solve it?
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 8 2014, 01:27 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Jan 8 2014, 11:24 AM)
you can check in the Z1 manual... or online

http://www-support-downloads.sonymobile.co..._Android4.3.pdf

page 21
It shows LTE on at certain areas. But does that mean my SIM card is really connecting at LTE speeds? I changed my SIM card at the Maxis centre in Pyramid last month. Do they give the LTE SIM cards by default?
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 8 2014, 06:25 PM

570 posts

Anyone deleted the demo videos from the demovideo folder in Internal Storage? Will there be problems with the phone if I did that?
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 8 2014, 06:26 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 8 2014, 01:31 PM)
There is no such thing as LTE simcards. As long as you are using the 128k simcard and which is not a cut sim, then its fine.

Not every location has LTE. Do a speed test when you see LTE on the signal bar.
Thanks, I'll try the speed test out.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 9 2014, 02:14 AM

570 posts

My dock works with any case. A simple solution.

Bernard Yeo
post Jan 10 2014, 10:42 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 10 2014, 07:56 AM)
Yep, I can confirm this.

Using flipboard or the stock browser is less power hungry (% of battery per hour of usage)
What is the stock browser? I thought Chrome is the default with Xperia Z1.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 10 2014, 01:19 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Jan 9 2014, 10:14 PM)
wah. i just got myself 1 magnetic cable and 1 magnetic charger adaptor  shocking.gif

dun scare me wei  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
That's scary, I have a magnetic charger from China but so far so good. I also ordered 3 magnetic adapters too. Hope those will be alright.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 11 2014, 10:00 AM

570 posts

Talking about extending battery life, what apps do you all use to monitor battery sucking apps? Are they really useful?
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 13 2014, 12:15 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jan 12 2014, 10:28 PM)
at 2.2Ghz speed sure really hot... it's time to get fan installed inside...  brows.gif
Maybe can suggest at Sony Mobile FB page....
16GB class 4 good enough for me as I only save my own data.
Instead of a fan...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:21 PM