6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V6, 4.3 (14.2.A.0.290 OTA) out now!

Bernard Yeo
post Feb 12 2014, 12:22 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Feb 11 2014, 08:08 PM)
I don't bother to ask my bro.

The LTE connection are between a tower with LTE transceiver and LTE phone, there is nothing to do with another equipment. If another LTE equipment located at the same area can connect to LTE, but only my phone can't, it's must be something wrong with the phone. I have 3 more LTE devices beside my phone.
My friend from NTT explained this to me a few hours ago: Its probably because your service provider is "running out of spectrum" and some unlucky users are forced to use the lower spectrum which provides the telcos distance and reach but lower bandwidth unlike those who are in the higher band when bandwidth is wider/higher but reach is less.

Which service provider are all of your LTE devices using?
They could be picking out certain numbers to be on low bandwidth, and maybe only your Z1's number is the unlucky one.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 12 2014, 05:47 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(mkabw90 @ Feb 12 2014, 05:30 PM)
Too lazy to restore the apps and setting after factory reset so havent done it yet...will do it after kitkat is released..

Btw,anyone knows how to disable the sound if you quick launch the camera while your phone is locked?pretty annoying for me..
Z1 Camera Tweak Xposed Module.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 13 2014, 08:35 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 13 2014, 06:14 AM)
Erm, guys. I was looking for silicone bumpers before this, in the previous pages of this thread. So, I finally found this 1 in Amazon. I don't know if it is trusted or not, so again, what's your opinion guys?

[http://www.amazon.com/7in1-set-designer-cr...+xperia+z1+case]
Amazon usually do not ship anything other than books to Malaysia. Or you can try to buy this bumper from another website.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 13 2014, 09:03 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 13 2014, 08:45 AM)
I added this into my Cart. It does not give me any notice like, couldn't send this particular product to KL. I only need to type in the details of my credit card and I'm good to go. But, I don't know if this is actually trusted or not. That's why I haven't make any payment. Only added this into the Cart.
My experience with Amazon is when I try to check out my items from the shopping cart, they say they cannot ship to Malaysia. Amazon works with several independent shipping companies and they won't ship my items here. Maybe in your situation, they have a shipper who will ship your particular item to you. I'm just telling you this because Amazon is one company who will not ship everything listed on their website to Malaysia. It's a hit and miss shopping experience with them. I get much better luck with eBay.

What are your concerns anyway? The quality of the bumper or if Amazon will run away with your money?
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 13 2014, 09:41 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 13 2014, 09:19 AM)
My concerns are something like these, first of all, money scam issue. Because I've not done any online trading before(honestly, like literally none). Second, shipping location. Third, quality of the products or they're maybe just some jerks who will swap my item off with some other junks.
All valid concerns. You can try to buy that bumper off Amazon. See if it checks out. If not, then look for the same bumper on eBay. See that the seller is reputable with lots of people buying from them. This will decrease your risks.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 13 2014, 11:35 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 13 2014, 10:17 AM)
How about this?
[http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Hybrid-Bumper-...=item25870995b7]
Do you think this is better or what?
Looks good.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 13 2014, 01:46 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 13 2014, 01:16 PM)
So which one do you think I should go with? Say if both the sellers are reliable and trusted, which one would you choose?
Why don't you try to buy from Amazon, see if they ship to Malaysia. If the transaction does not go through and they say they cannot ship to Malaysia, then buy from the eBay seller. Or just buy from the eBay seller since he has a good reputation, it is cheaper and has free delivery. At USD 5.59 or RM18.85, your risk is very low.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 16 2014, 11:40 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(WindChaseR @ Feb 16 2014, 10:44 PM)
well i'll still proud of the waterproof but really need to make sure the ports are closed tightly..

yea i've been thinking whether there're cases that cover all the ports.. so that when the phone get impacted it open opens up the covers..
So far, the best protection case I've seen is the Ballistic case. But it still leaves the USB port uncovered.
https://www.goballisticcase.com/shop/sony/xperia-z1/
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 17 2014, 05:13 PM

570 posts

I noticed my home screen and app drawer do not rotate unless plugged into a magnetic charger. I have set screen rotate on in Settings, even in Xblast Tools I have set it to rotate in all directions. Still these don't work unless it is charging. Is this a bug?
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 17 2014, 11:27 PM

570 posts

Seems strange they would enable rotation when charging while restrict rotation when not charging. Inconsistent user experience.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 18 2014, 11:45 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Feb 18 2014, 10:28 PM)
You really dare to swim with your Z1  thumbup.gif

Even if my phone is waterproof I won't bring it  tongue.gif
I was tempted to take photos underwater, etc. But in the end, I treat it like my iPhone 4: No cups of water near it, keep in trousers front pocket only, not shirt pocket or back pocket, no sitting on it. The phone's waterproof feature serves only as a backup plan to unforeseeable or unavoidable rain.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 20 2014, 07:18 PM

570 posts

Guys, what advertisement blocking app do you recommend? I'm using Boat Browser and I get ads and redirects. I tried Lucky Patcher and minminguard.

Edit: I googled and downloaded Adblock Plus. Works wonders.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Feb 20 2014, 07:56 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 22 2014, 09:40 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Feb 21 2014, 02:15 PM)
Pen mode! Any root user tried this? Maybe it's time for me to root my phone again...

http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/02/20/xperi...il-as-a-stylus/
It works best with my wife's eyeliner pen cap. I don't have a scratch resistant screen protector so I don't want to try with a pencil.

It's excellent for sketching and showing off, especially to friends with Xperia Z1 phones.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 22 2014, 10:05 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Feb 22 2014, 09:46 AM)
But need rooted phone right?

[attachmentid=3863740]

Not 100% defocus because my son shirt in between drink still visible.
Yes.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 22 2014, 11:02 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 22 2014, 10:38 AM)
Anyone bought this ?
http://www.sonymobile.com/global-en/produc...lder-spa-ck20m/

am just wondering how good is this will hold on to a plastic/soft plastic dashboard ?
The suction is normally very good. No worries about that.

Is this made of metal or plastic? I've got numerous plastic cradles over the years and they tend to break apart after a few months due to the hot sun because my workplace is a shop lot with non shaded parking areas. If you normally park in shaded areas or underground parking, then I think this is ok.

The other thing is, if you use the GPS function while on this cradle, the heat from the sun and the heat generated from GPS usage will overheat the phone.

My solution at the moment is to put it against my speedometer. It is shaded from the sun and doesn't block my view of the road.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 24 2014, 05:51 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(aidy_ash84 @ Feb 24 2014, 05:16 PM)
whats the point of having bigger spec but when taking videos the phone heat up and the camera apps shut down. i wonder taking video with 4K. 1 min roll then shut down?. then need to wait it to cool down.
that the one thing annoyed me.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 25 2014, 08:52 PM

570 posts

The reason I decided to Android was because of the Z1. All the while I use iPhone because Samsung phones look like a child's toy with that super rounded corners, that terribly low quality plastic feel, that child-like colours on the interface.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 28 2014, 12:10 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 27 2014, 11:24 PM)
Can a current owner of Z1 tell me how do you replace the battery? Is it replaceable in the first place or is it fixed like that? My friend bought a HTC One Max and it cost hime RM170 for non ori battery from normal shop. He says ori battery can cost more than that. I like the phone, I just don't like the non-removable battery part.
If you like to swap batteries like the old Nokia ways, maybe the Z1 is not your kind of phone. You have to use a powerbank method.

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Feb 28 2014, 10:22 AM)
It was just me messing around with the white balance settings in my camera, I find it quite decent for my eyes actually. It is really too much?
Way too much blue. For example, I have my PC on default colour settings which is already less blue than your phone. Once I use a hardware screen calibrator, it removes even more blue from my monitor. The results is photos of people look more natural.

There's research on the effects of blue light that makes your eyes tired, even affecting your ability to sleep. I started reading about this when I came across this app called Bluelight Filter for android.

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Feb 28 2014, 10:33 AM)
At the moment no. But it happened when it was the most crucial when i was overseas.

Doesnt happen at home thank god. But what annoyed me was that la, my wifes note connected without any fuss. Her iphone 4s which is idle, only used for gaming also connect.

My z1 pula cannot connect. Somemore i needed it to whatsapp my parents back here as i have an emergency..

Oh well. Bite the bullet
Don't forget there's SMS on your phone. Small money to pay during emergencies. Or use your wife's iPhone.

QUOTE(jakeX1 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:47 AM)
dear all sifu ,

Recently after the updates , whenever calling the receiver voice is way too soft, anyone experience this ?! sad.gif

anyway to enhance it ?
The volume is naturally quiet even at max settings. Unless you root your phone and install a Volume Boost mod.
Bernard Yeo
post Feb 28 2014, 08:51 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 28 2014, 06:59 PM)
Thanks for the link. Need quite some effort to get the back opened and closed again.
I thought powerbank method will kill the battery faster? I like the camera of th Z2. S5 can still swap batteries. Wait to see which one has the best review though
I've not heard about powerbanks killing batteries faster. The salesman who sold me my Z1 at Pyramid told me removable batteries tend to swell after time. The built in ones are the best. I don't know if he told me that to convince me to buy the phone, but I'm inclined to believe him. My 4 year old iPhone is still on its first battery and it still lasts. My old Nokia batteries all swell after a while, even to the point of breaking the catch on the cover.
Bernard Yeo
post Mar 3 2014, 03:42 PM

570 posts

Smart Call Handling ported from Z2. For rooted and deodexed roms only. Check it out.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2667925

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0526sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:37 PM