Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

vin6
post May 31 2016, 10:04 PM

202 posts

Hey guys, I need advice. I usully fish at paid pond and all but now I'm going for sea fishing with some ppl but I don't have the right gear. Can someone educate me.

depth : 35 to 75 meter.
technic : Bottom.

I would really need some assistant.
vin6
post Jun 1 2016, 09:59 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jun 1 2016, 12:19 AM)
Average 50m bottom, my recommendation for no skill ppl is 8000 reel, 3:6 mh rod, 60-80lbs braid 90 lead twin hook or Sam char ngau if u empty handed for an hour. No Apollo. Who invented Apollo should be shot dead.

With heavy gear u can bottom up with less effort. Easiest still electric reel but beastmaster still expensive. I wish I can beastmaster also sigh. Can only dream.
Ok tq bro. Going to look for second hand1 if can....budget below RM400 hopefully. Well i prefer manual . Any other suggestion for a sea newbie. Please shoot.
vin6
post Jun 2 2016, 09:56 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Jun 1 2016, 04:02 PM)
may i ask which boatman you going with ?
bro bottom lah , you need to take the sinker size in to consideration
Port klang zeezone will be using at least 18 to 32 , average is 24

your setup for jigging can lah , for bottom cannot lah
this setup is ok , but i wont recommended to use triple hook
Going with Hamzan setia.

Hopefully fruitfull.
vin6
post Jun 13 2016, 03:48 PM

202 posts

Fuu nice stuffs. Any trip in the planning? I'm all itchy everyday after the last trip last sunday eventhough I couldn't test my cheap rod n reel.
vin6
post Jun 14 2016, 02:46 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jun 14 2016, 02:37 PM)
ok guys here's some pictures from my recent trip 3 days 2 nites
landed on sunday

group photo whence we just departed. i'm the blue shirt bald headed eagle biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=6842332]
group photo once we're back at the landing zone. heaviest is keratang (goliath grouper 17kg, tenggiri around 10 to 12kg) boatman caught one moray eel also around 5ft plus long
[attachmentid=6842372]
my super small humble catch. there's another titir 2kg not in the picture cos i sold off to shop since cannot fit my fridge that long..
[attachmentid=6842376]
another member's catch, mine sure can't compare to his
[attachmentid=6842379]
12 ppl, all electric reel except for 3 ppl on manual including me also manual..

first day i seasick badly, no one to guide me what to do plus I don't know any of them before also. eat, drink i puke all out, until the end i decided take nap bit wake up and then sat down puke again, so decided to sleep first until meal time, woke up swallow and drink straight to go sleep til the next day. I lost 50% of my trip cos one whole day mabuk...

only woke up second day and started fishing whole day till nite until rain started pouring, then a small storm came up with lightning, rain and wind, i cooped up in bed, worry and scared to see the wave.. slept until big waves started jolting the boat around bit and by then i can't close eyes dy cos of the rocking

anyway, i was quite blessed, my birthday was at sea and on that day i could fish! hahaha
best fight fish was kerisi bali, first time get it, took me around 3 to 4 min to bring it up from depth of 80M
it was my new personal record of 2.6kg now, crazy fight fish.. it fought from beginning till even surface

felt quite blessed to be back on land... i know my catch is small but at least i could fish 50% from my trip so not all is lost..
Nice bro, where was this? mind sharing some additional info on this trip> cost and etc etc ?
vin6
post Jun 14 2016, 03:50 PM

202 posts

good info brother FireIceCombo
vin6
post Jul 14 2016, 11:17 AM

202 posts

Guys,

Just a suggestion , If everyone agrees i would like to host a whatapps group for lowyat anglers for purpose below:

i) Planninng for fishing trips , easy feedback and fast response .
ii) Quick discussion or advice need on fishing equipments or trips
iii) And many more we can think of later.

So please let me know your thoughts , the more the merrier. Dont worry you can silent this group and dismiss its notification so it doesnt annoy you if that concerns you.
vin6
post Jul 15 2016, 03:15 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jul 15 2016, 01:45 PM)
i think this is a good idea if lots of kaki that always go pancing but i guess depends on location?
i'm in few fishing watsapp group as well so can get to know deep sea trips, bagang/tukun, nearby island, ponds, fishing competition etc
of course it will stray away once in a while or most the time which also keeps the group alive

i based in sabah so not ngam for me, u all go ahead bah
haha well bro, trips can be in sabah or any other place as well. We can even invite outsider to join. The idea is easy access to plan trip and quick feedback.

Others no comment meh?
vin6
post Jul 24 2016, 01:27 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jul 21 2016, 11:59 AM)
thx bro but not looking for casting at the moment
kena poisoned deep sea dy and looking electric reel
almost all anglers on boat using electric nowadays here oh
deep sea fever in the air.
vin6
post Aug 5 2016, 02:55 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ Aug 4 2016, 04:40 PM)
Guys,
A friend ajak pergi Sealion...not sure which one but he seems to be regular.
I have a Daiwa Lexa 100 with 20lbs braid..
What kind of leader needed ? I have 30lbs fluoro but he suggests at least 40lbs
Hooks 2/0 enough?
Anyone else here been there? which is better...casting, floating or bottom?
Any other recomendations?
Hi bro,

Sealion is ok la if your going to kolam perdana. 20lb is Ok already fishes are not that big there. 2-4 kgs. Leader use 30-40lb also enough. hook 2/0-3/0 also ok. floating usually the fav over there but mix and try la sometimes btm also can. leader should be around 4-6 ft long max.

Let me know how it goes , i also so long never go.

0.0707sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:06 PM