Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

seand19
post Feb 14 2018, 04:13 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Feb 14 2018, 01:46 AM)
Coming back into fishing after many years. Last I fished was about 15 years ago. I have lots to learn because my dad only taught me how to fish but not what kind of rods, reels, baits and all the other basics.

Anyone got some nice spot for lakes/ponds or streams? Prefer not those pay to fish ponds.
actually to learn, pay ponds are some of the best places as long as you have a very good teacher/instructor on hand. i dont mind the free ponds but i feel sometimes its a waste of time and effort. not really the 'hunter' type of angler.

i used to go toman hunting earlier when i was learning how to fish but i realised that hit rates weren't up to what i was expecting so i went to paypond. and even then the fights weren't as good.

the place i go to has many big fishes but i only aim for one type, pacu. about 3 or 4 hours there is enough to tire me. maybe on good day with my girl, peak time of 2 hours i'll get 10 pacus each person. the pacus i fish vary in size from 2kg to about 20+kg. the fight is as good as toman if not better as the pond is huge and enough room for the fish to run until it tires out.

plus with most of my setups, 3000-4000 reels paired with 20lb-30lb lines, gives me plenty of room to toy with the fish and let it tire itself out.

i bring all my newbie friends here to learn because they check out my girl's ig and wonder why so many fishes, wanna try out, by end of the day they ask me if next week on or not. its gotten to the point that they will invite their friends along to try it out.

This post has been edited by seand19: Feb 14 2018, 04:14 PM
seand19
post Feb 14 2018, 11:27 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Feb 14 2018, 07:44 PM)
Where is this pay pond is this you're talking about?

I fish to spend my free time otherwise my gf is the one making noise that I'm sitting at home too much. She's OK if I go out to fish hahaha.

Also, my current setup is about the same as yours.

4000 reel with a 30 pounds line. Only thing is that the rod is a spinning rod. So if I were to use it like casting rods it'll wear me out biggrin.gif
i go to ponds in semenyih but the only one i pay attention to is huge. from one end to another its about 150m to 200m.

my gf does that too but then complain sometimes that i go out and fish too much. sometimes 3-4 times a week.
so now i bring her and she loves it, competing with me on who gets the biggest fish or the most fishes.

i prefer to use spinners as bc is too tiring to cast and cast, never appealed to me.
either because you have to be really attentive to notice subtle changes in water surface or really lucky to simply throw and hope a fish takes the bait.
plus as i'm getting older, i no mood to walk around the edges and cast and if nothing move to different place. i rather just cast and wait for a bite.

i prefer using spinning compared to casting anyways. seem to have a better control of distance and accuracy than the latter. maybe because i'm a casting noob or just used to spinning reels for so long that i'm good with it.
but next time you wanna tag along, pm me and i can let you know.

seand19
post Feb 15 2018, 08:40 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Feb 15 2018, 12:22 AM)
i think you the pond you been going is fish valley ?
yeap
seand19
post Feb 19 2018, 04:19 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Feb 19 2018, 03:04 PM)
How much is the entry fee now and how is the bite rate?
Any places for shades as I might plan to bring my gf along too.
the entry is 45 for the whole day 7am to 7pm
or 30 for half day, 12 pm onwards
no matter what the place closes at 7pm
unless you opt for night fishing which is by booking only and 8pm to 12 am
if 2 people, 100 each, if more it depends but they said about 80-70 per pax

bite rates are okay, depending on your tactic but if its normal bottom then maybe 1-2 bites every hour given the enormity of the lake
unless you have a really pungent bait then maybe your odds are 2x or 4x better.

i normally go at 3pm onwards when its cloudy and the sun starts to set then it wont be so hot because the places with no shade seems to be where the fish congregate when its not too hot

my bite rate depends on how hardworking i am, if 100% fish on mode every 10-15 mins from hook up, battle to release back into pond

one tip though, if you're going yourself dont be dissapointed if you dont catch anything. even as an experienced angler, it can be quite frustrating.
ive been going there for the better part of the 7 years and for more than half that time, i went home with no bites at all.
every pond has a 'cheat code' to unlock once you fish there long enough.

my suggestion is to wait for me tongue.gif
seand19
post Mar 9 2018, 02:30 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 8 2018, 09:56 PM)
Its the toman pond still alive? My luresss needs to swim
yes, very much alive. they remove all the pacu so now only exclusively toman. will be heading there this saturday.
seand19
post Mar 12 2018, 09:27 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 10 2018, 04:08 PM)
toman pond same rate/??
RM70 for 3 hours i think
seand19
post Mar 12 2018, 09:54 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 10 2018, 06:39 PM)
Aww,they shud remove those mekong instead.
Please share us the field reports
in the main pond? i didnt even know they had mekong until the guy next to me caught one by accident. small baby one.
how to do report? i try write one below and see.

all i did was reach there around 3+pm. havent had lunch and was rushing to sort out fishing rods for my friends.
got there, makan, went under the tree for shade in the corner of the pond to fish for small fishes.
did this to pass the time till the sun strated setting or a cloud came to block out the sun.
the sun was blistering hot and there wasnt enough bait. so we waited out till 5.30pm and started.
it was a very slow day but we still managed to get some bites.
started picking up around 6.30pm when the pacu started coming out.
i landed 4 pacus ranging from 2kg to 5kg. my 150lb leader line was bit through twice because the fight was longer than usual.
one particular fish, was a beast. no idea what it was but i think it might have been a monster pacu. around the 4th bite it happened. casted out and waited. casted as far as i could and went 10-20% further than normal. thought the further it went, the deeper the area, the bigger the monsters.
one bite, BOOM and it went running. normally these standard size pacus would sprint for 20 - 40m and be tired out.
this one was different, it bit, ran and emptied half my spool in the process. i had about 320m on there.
i realised 10 mins into the fight, it was a beast. my drag barely makes a dent on the fish because whenever it decides to run, my reel cant hold it back. my best option was to wait it out and tire him. but that shimano stradic, mhmmm. so smooth. wub.gif
after just holding on the rod and keeping the pressure since its bite, almost 40 mins have passed. it was getting closer and closer, my friend next to me was really geram and angry that i was getting tons of fishes but he caught 1 or 2 pacus only. he said, i hope your line snaps.

lo and behond, 5m out, saw the fin break the surface. the reminiscent iridescent shade of black gray tail. it was HUUUUUUUUGE. drool.gif
battled a few more mins because it made 1 or 2 more runs, 2m out. i asked my friend to get the net to land the fish. i was looking at him and TING KRRRRCKT.
My rod snapped in 3 places. FAAAAAAAK ranting.gif line snapped too.

it was my first time using that rod. bought over cny because it was all red, ONG AH! my gf didnt believe that i was landing so many. so i told her it was opening ceremony for the rod, that's why got so many fishes. now close ceremony already. bye.gif have to look for a new one.

oh well, i dont know how this fares as a report but i hope there's is enough info on it. sweat.gif

0.0591sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:54 AM