Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

patienceGNR
post Feb 14 2018, 01:46 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Coming back into fishing after many years. Last I fished was about 15 years ago. I have lots to learn because my dad only taught me how to fish but not what kind of rods, reels, baits and all the other basics.

Anyone got some nice spot for lakes/ponds or streams? Prefer not those pay to fish ponds.
patienceGNR
post Feb 14 2018, 11:35 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(ex24dec02 @ Feb 14 2018, 07:44 AM)
You can try cyber lake beside mex highway. My friend landed giant catfisfh, baung, haruan before. Many bangla also jala giant talapia over there.
The small pond/valley next to federal highway Batu 3 tolll there can fish? Looks nice there haha
patienceGNR
post Feb 14 2018, 07:44 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Feb 14 2018, 04:13 PM)
actually to learn, pay ponds are some of the best places as long as you have a very good teacher/instructor on hand. i dont mind the free ponds but i feel sometimes its a waste of time and effort. not really the 'hunter' type of angler.

i used to go toman hunting earlier when i was learning how to fish but i realised that hit rates weren't up to what i was expecting so i went to paypond. and even then the fights weren't as good.

the place i go to has many big fishes but i only aim for one type, pacu. about 3 or 4 hours there is enough to tire me. maybe on good day with my girl, peak time of 2 hours i'll get 10 pacus each person. the pacus i fish vary in size from 2kg to about 20+kg. the fight is as good as toman if not better as the pond is huge and enough room for the fish to run until it tires out.

plus with most of my setups, 3000-4000 reels paired with 20lb-30lb lines, gives me plenty of room to toy with the fish and let it tire itself out.

i bring all my newbie friends here to learn because they check out my girl's ig and wonder why so many fishes, wanna try out, by end of the day they ask me if next week on or not. its gotten to the point that they will invite their friends along to try it out.
Where is this pay pond is this you're talking about?

I fish to spend my free time otherwise my gf is the one making noise that I'm sitting at home too much. She's OK if I go out to fish hahaha.

Also, my current setup is about the same as yours.

4000 reel with a 30 pounds line. Only thing is that the rod is a spinning rod. So if I were to use it like casting rods it'll wear me out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Feb 14 2018, 07:48 PM
patienceGNR
post Feb 22 2018, 10:36 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Feb 20 2018, 03:23 PM)
sg buloh pond RM20/3hr. fish can bring back or sell back.
got restoran if u hungry. yin her restaurant.

i was there recently, just for dinner but i saw ppl up keli. small size keli and only keli. didnt see anything else other than keli. keli and more keli. so if u like cheap and wasting some time, then yea, the sg buloh keli place is the place for u. my advice, bring oxygen mask. very smelly.
QUOTE(upcars @ Feb 20 2018, 03:24 PM)
Also slightly before CNY i wwas at Laguna in Kelana Jaya. RM 18 for the whole day. cheap cheap. CNR.

Conlanfirm got patin 5kg and above. Bite rate reasonable. Last time alot of pacu. dunno wht happened all dieded. tilapia mini got alot. can fish up and bring back. Bite rate for mini tilapia is about 10000000 an hour if u got skill.
Price cheap but if fish no nice like keli better no need fish liao. My house here got one pond rm 25 for four hours, I saw got people get rohu or something the other day.
patienceGNR
post Mar 14 2018, 01:01 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(ex24dec02 @ Mar 12 2018, 04:07 PM)
Toman pond rm100/3hours? That is expensive considering u can fish toman at open lake foc
Wanna fish for toman or haruan also need to find port leh.

Nowadays I can't get good spots because many people don't practise catch and release.

0.0607sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:18 PM