8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

LV-strom
post Nov 10 2014, 07:38 PM

13 posts

any anglers here caught bawal emas before from surf fishing on the beach before?
LV-strom
post Nov 13 2014, 07:24 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Nov 13 2014, 02:09 PM)
did some survey on catching bawal emas....it is close to impossible to catch them on rod and line, here is the reason:
1: the mouth is sooooo small u have to use very small hook
2: they hang around mid water so bottom feeding is out of question, only way is to play by float...when u play float, with small hook....in such big sea....what are the chances? lol.. plus, small hook, small bait, easy target for other small fishes, they will kacau your bait....

only person i heard caught with rod and line was a restaurant operator in sabah, just next to his restaurant and cast by the beach, but i think it was pure luck
maybe i'm wrong, u can try google up a bit about bawal emas...good luck, if there is any info please share here...thx
been there done that.

from google :
you need a drooper loop rig and sand flea....
cast from the beach using 10ft+ suft rod....
best time would be to cast it where the sand flea r hiding......
or after casting twitch the rod....abit so it look like a sand flea is jumping out of the sand bed.

from the place where I usually go fishing :
I need live prawn....( how can a toothless fish take a bite at a live prawn )
then cast far far then wait.....
don't remember they said need to used floating rig...

well bawal emas or snubnose pompano's mouth is small but its not that small.
its still big enough that I can stick my whole finger in.

LV-strom
post Nov 13 2014, 07:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Nov 13 2014, 02:09 PM)
what are the chances? lol.. plus, small hook, small bait, easy target for other small fishes, they will kacau your bait....
have to cast very far loh....
have to swing the for the home run

forget float......you can't cast very far with a float rite?

fyi I've seen people and I've also caught some small selar before using threeway rig.

selar and bawal emas r close relative.........so it should work If I use the same method..........who knows

This post has been edited by LV-strom: Nov 13 2014, 07:28 PM
LV-strom
post Nov 30 2014, 07:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(cyapd @ Nov 30 2014, 02:37 PM)
any of you sifus going for fishing on weekdays night? Wanna tag along and observe to learn a thing or 2 from you all biggrin.gif
what in the hell you want to know about fishing?

what rig to used, what bait to used or is it what kind of lure for what kind of fish?

maybe you r hoping to know which is the best spot to fish?

look dude.....fishing rely on 80% luck , 10% skill and 10% common sense.

as for me I don't give a shit what people recommend.
if they tell you to bring more rod to increase the chance of catching a fish....that's bullshit.
at the end of the day it all comes down the one rod being at the rite place at the rite time.....

LV-strom
post Jan 19 2015, 09:21 PM

13 posts

have anyone here used this two reels before?

banax lexima and infinity?

then......

which one is better
shimano svs scorpion or citica or curado or daiwa lexa hp
LV-strom
post Jan 19 2015, 09:51 PM

13 posts

dude add two more names to that list....

eeee
abu garcia ambassadeur 7000i
LV-strom
post Jan 20 2015, 10:56 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Jan 19 2015, 11:52 PM)
You casting how heavy lures?
Targeting what fish?
What rod you using?
lure will be around 15-25 gram
sinker would be around 2-4 oz depend on the strength of the current and wind.....

kingfish.

don't know yet.....

LV-strom
post Jan 21 2015, 10:18 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Jan 21 2015, 12:41 AM)
Wouldn't a spinning reel or round reel for jigging and bottom more suitable for your application?
I personally think you will destroy your low profile baitcasters if you use it for bottom fishing at sea.
You spool will be stripped in a flash and even with max drag on a baitcaster (3-5kg).
But this is just my 2 sen worth opinion.
abu Garcia ambassadeur 7000i is a round reel...... hmm.gif
this abu max drag is 8.....kg

don't like spinning reel.......it always curl up my lines...... mad.gif

hmm I've seen people pull golden dorado with a baitcaster though......

oi what reel do you folks used to go against queenfish?

one forum recommend me to buy this one.....

daiwa sealine lever drag.....
LV-strom
post Jan 22 2015, 10:29 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Jan 21 2015, 10:06 PM)
hmmm if still want LPBCs ....

shimano :
speedmaster 200 (check line capacity)
baygame 300
curado 300

shimano rbc:
the new ocea jigger is nice
calcutta 400 for more line capacity
calcutta TE

good ol' reliable ABU LPBCs:
inshore
bigger sized toros & toro winch

the sifus may suggest better
dude can include the price ma? biggrin.gif
hmm Calcutta.......hehehe that reel comes about 1000+ each.

hmm from experience ( although not much ). low profile baitcaster r easier to cast since all of them have magnetic breaking system which round baitcaster don't.
then again eee daiwa magforce Z sound fun.....

that abu Garcia ambassadeur 700i really cannot huh sweat.gif

hey have anyone seen this abu Garcia revo s for sale before?

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jan 21 2015, 11:25 PM)
Erm old man.im using handline for kingfish or GT
i'm 29.
if what you say is true, then all I can say is.................you r an idiot.

LV-strom
post Jan 23 2015, 11:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jan 22 2015, 11:25 AM)
well im 26..still makes you an old fag to me.
u've been asking for so many things since you're old acc has been banned.
so do you still wanna know any female angler here?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3367978/all
give it sometime you'll get there kidd....

unless I suddenly find dude attractive (like that ever gonna happen, I hate dudes), yeah I'm still fishing for female angler.....
why?

QUOTE(fookie @ Jan 22 2015, 02:42 PM)
how's ur octopus business doing?
sucksss
some kl goon don't know how to raise an octopus and didn't read my thread properly, blame me becoz the octopus died after 3 days.
hey facker. when I hand you the octopus its still alive. if it died the next 2-3 days. that's not my fault you stupid SOB
unexperienced marine aquarist should never raise and octopus.

actually they r relatively easy to raise. if you just follow my guideline in my octopus thread.

yes yes yes I still haven't manage to breed my own batch of baby octopus yet. why? becoz I like to bring them out to the coffee shop or mall. why? becoz I like the attention i'm getting. people look up to me. they r impressed by it. now like every animal in the world they do get stress......exceed it and it'll died ofcoz.

so yeah the reason why they died is becoz of over stress not becoz they r hard to raise.

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 22 2015, 04:29 PM)
So you mean magnetic bc easier to cast than centrifugal ones? Let me quote you back
depend lorrr.....

if using 6ft rod both works well
if using surf rod........centrifugal SUCKSSS..............used to much strength in casting, backlash. reduce the brake, backlash, used heavier sinker backlash.....T.T

LV-strom
post Jan 23 2015, 11:06 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Jan 23 2015, 09:31 PM)
chill chill we're all anglers

the 1000+ is the conquest range
the new ocea jigger 1500/1501 (i think) is worth the rm1400-1500

wow....
guess i'll pass on those two reels.
what else you got?

LV-strom
post Jan 24 2015, 04:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jan 24 2015, 01:50 PM)
You're a real old fag,it takes you 2 day to reply such an easy reply from me.
????
LV-strom
post Jan 24 2015, 04:07 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 24 2015, 07:18 AM)
Adjust your tension knob properly man. I use good old centrifugal without much problems, occasional birdnest thats all. Its more finesse than brute strength
forget that!!!
that's not important anymore......
i'm going to buy either starion or banax infinity.......depend what's available on the shelf the day I visit the tackle shop.

anyway about that abu Garcia ambassadeur 7000i c3. eeeee
I seach mudah.com. and it only sold for 480+.......but those tackle shop in my hometown sell for 900 o why huh

what do you all think about that reel?

LV-strom
post Apr 30 2015, 10:17 PM

13 posts

hey can I ask you all something.

daiwa lexa 100 cost rm 560 worth buying or not?
LV-strom
post May 2 2015, 11:09 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ May 2 2015, 12:33 AM)
Aren't you that snob who doesn't like suggestions from other forumers?
hey i'm glad you remember me.

i'm just asking for the daiwa lexa price only

LV-strom
post May 2 2015, 11:11 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ May 1 2015, 03:16 PM)
My opinion would be to go with tatula which is bout the same price. Lighter & smaller.
Depends on what you fishing for. both have same size of spool and capacity.
daiwa lexa 300 looks more powerfull o....
LV-strom
post May 3 2015, 02:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 3 2015, 02:49 AM)
Define powerfull? Mind to enlighten us how powderfull it is?
why? do you think lexa 300h not powerful enough for a baitcaster?

oh by the way......that tatula very expensive o. RM700+

which baitcaster do you think is powerfull ?

shimano SVS scorpion ka? oo oo oo maybe shimano curado....
LV-strom
post May 3 2015, 10:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ May 3 2015, 03:49 PM)
back to the question. define powerful. max drag? speed? durability? all of these falls under powerful.
max drag 11kg powerful or not for a low profile baitcaster?
speed is 6.3.1......I acutally prefer slower reels....
oh well

there is that part where it says high capacity reel..............I wonder what they meant by that.

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 3 2015, 09:11 PM)
Donno leh,u also nvr tell me how powderfull it is yet.
I think shimano tiagra is dam pounderfull
What do you think ?smile.gif
i'm talking about a low profile baitcaster. but you brought up a level drag reel build to fight bull shark.
that's like taking a rifle to a gang fight.

i'll humour you.
if a level drag reel like shimano tiagra is not powerful....then I guess it pointless to made it in the first place now isn't it.

This post has been edited by LV-strom: May 4 2015, 11:52 AM
LV-strom
post May 4 2015, 11:53 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 3 2015, 11:14 PM)
Owwh..i donno ma.Sorry lo
oh...nvm geh.

hmm I thought everyone knows about daiwa lexa 100.

so what reel r you using mon-ami

This post has been edited by LV-strom: May 4 2015, 11:54 AM
LV-strom
post May 5 2015, 09:40 PM

13 posts

how much is that daiwa lexa 100 selling for in kl?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0612sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:26 PM