Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V33, Official 4.3 arrived in Malaysia

ojtee
post Feb 12 2014, 10:33 PM

214 posts

I did the 4.3 update last week when i got a OTA notification.....Biggest mistake

After the update, phone went bongkers! worst part was i didn't backup anything, but luckily enough i manage to get some backup

To make matters worst i couldn't get the phone to connect to my pc, usb or wireless, couldn't access some folders, include my photos

Finally decided to reset back to factory, wiping all data
After the reset phone is back to normal, but painfully have to install back all my programs and some data loss

So for those who have not update the phone, either don't do it or backup ALL of your stuff before you do

I'm going to permanently switch off the software update
Now thinking of rooting my phone.......
ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 12:21 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Feb 13 2014, 01:04 AM)
Direct upgrade without factory reset for a major software version will surely have risk of weird issue. Especially when u have lots of apps installed.

And I can't believe you trust Samsung that much with their ota by not backing up. Even apple screw my iPad when I update ota from ios6 to ios 7. I got stuck in DFU mode (android equivalent of boot loop)

The point is, always backup before os update. It's common sense.
Well, i have not had any issues for the past 2/3 updates since i got the phone late 2012, thats why i blindly press the button......buta buta oledi masuk longkang...... cry.gif
Used to backup every month or so, but since early 2013 i somehow lapse, serves me right !! mad.gif

Well, at least i can advise other users and share my experiences with this updates, and after much searching, the 4.3 is problematic especially OTA, those using kies don't have any issues

Funny thing is that the phone decided to move the pix folder back to the phone although i still had ample memory on the SD card
ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 11:06 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(boonseng @ Feb 13 2014, 12:40 AM)
You are seriously misleading people, please read before you update your phone. You don't even bother to read and backup your files. Don't root or you might screw up your phone and blame chainfire or any other methods u used.
Am I MISLEADING PEOPLE by telling them to BACJKUP their phones before any updates?

I'm just stating what I experienced, it's up to whoever that wants to believe or take my advise
ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 11:10 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Feb 13 2014, 09:26 AM)
your previous updates are normal bug fixes, still on the same android version. 4.1
now you are skipping 2 versions ahead. and since android 4.2, the file system is different,
the internal memory have a new location. surely there will be issues regardless how hard samsung tries.
best is a clean install to avoid weird issues.

even a device as fast as note 3, the kitkat update cause some slow downs for some (a minority, not all) device.
since 4.3->4.4 is very different as well
and I had to learn it the hard way...... blink.gif

wonder why Samsung didn't send out some kind of advisory note for the update or did they and I totally missed it

ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 12:46 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:06 PM)
Managevto configure the kernel to produce high performance 19999 antutu reading without OC...biggrin.gif
wow! ...... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 01:00 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(cl7 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:45 PM)
Any user facing battery drain issue after 4.3 version updated?
Yes, compared to 4.1.2 the battery drain is faster,
I made a few changes like switch off wifi, gps, bluetooth had it on all the time previously, but seems to drain the battery alot with the 4.3 version.
Further changes I did is to disable the lock screen effect from ripple effect to none, and in the developer option turn off the animation ( windows scale, transition scale,duration scale) Phone feels faster and battery drain back to almost my normal rate

ojtee
post Feb 13 2014, 01:36 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(cl7 @ Feb 13 2014, 02:11 PM)
ok..so just disable the 3 things in developer option but not all?try it now..thanks
Welcome. I disabled all 3 options of the animation, and kept the developer options on. If the developer option is switched off, the animation ,all three, will go back to 1x, as for the wifi,bluetooth and gps, switch it on when need to use.
There are other tweaks at the beginning of this thread and some more on the xda-forums.
ojtee
post Feb 21 2014, 02:37 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 21 2014, 03:06 PM)
Sammy may give up S III...no kitkat for S III....

http://www.sammobile.com/2014/02/20/global...samsung-poland/
it's time to get a Nexus!!
ojtee
post Feb 21 2014, 03:03 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 21 2014, 03:40 PM)
not care already, this year sure change phone whistling.gif
no memory card
totally is a NO for me
haiz.....so sien, don't have that feature.....well, time to search for others..... rclxms.gif
ojtee
post Feb 23 2014, 10:24 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Feb 23 2014, 01:47 AM)
couldn't be bad apps coz i memang wipe data cache dalvik before flashing the stock rom and kernel..
if it's really SDS.. what is the next thing that happened to your phone that time? o_o
did the phone drop a few times? could be possibly a hardware issue if it fell down

hapopen to my old SE P910, droped it a few times, then it started to shutdown by itself randomly, and sometimes just by shaking it ! Diagnose as faulty/ damaged hardware electronics, retired the phone after 4 years plus of ownership..... cry.gif
ojtee
post Feb 23 2014, 10:26 AM

214 posts

Anyone here using a wireless charger for the S3?

Any advise/ tips if I were to get a kit?
ojtee
post Feb 24 2014, 08:57 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(kinjiokia @ Feb 24 2014, 09:25 AM)
why i go Xda there, there always said is tar file,
after i download Extract,
is a Recovery.Image File, not a tar file?
try not to extract, if you get a IMG file then you have extracted it twice

try and look at the links by bro calvin
ojtee
post Feb 26 2014, 10:34 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(dayfly @ Feb 26 2014, 10:27 PM)
Seems like after update to 4.3 stock rom, the internet data speed very unstable...anyone encounter same case like me?
did you do a full factory reset before the upgrade? if not, then possibly there would be some bugs here and there, had the same problem too, mine just froze and hang sometimes even wifi connection failed a few times, but after the factory reset/wipe things got way much better

BTW....where did you get that CJ7...its HUGE!!! drool.gif , i'm a CJ7 collector too....
ojtee
post Mar 7 2014, 02:27 PM

214 posts

Wanna ask those using 64GB SDcard
1. is your phone rooted?
2. which brand and class?
3. exfat or fat32 format
4. any issues so far?

and the golden question, would you like your S3 to have a kitkat on it? biggrin.gif laugh.gif
ojtee
post Mar 7 2014, 02:28 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Mar 7 2014, 02:29 PM)
Like i said before things still not clear until official announcement. rclxub.gif
meanwhile we all should have a break ( pun intended) laugh.gif
ojtee
post Mar 11 2014, 12:49 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 11 2014, 01:42 AM)
I just flash samsung version beta 5 today lol
How is it so far? Would you recommend it to anyone? smile.gif

0.1730sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled