hi guys...this is my 1st year doing my diploma.
i`m in design school ,and i`m looking for a notebook..
can i have some suggest which brand or model suitable for design student?
Apple or Others?, For design student
Jun 29 2006, 01:02 AM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
214 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
hi guys...this is my 1st year doing my diploma.
i`m in design school ,and i`m looking for a notebook.. can i have some suggest which brand or model suitable for design student? |
Jun 29 2006, 01:06 AM
2,823 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: West Malaysia |
QUOTE(almighty @ Jun 29 2006, 01:02 AM) hi guys...this is my 1st year doing my diploma. From a design student, to another design student...i`m in design school ,and i`m looking for a notebook.. can i have some suggest which brand or model suitable for design student? I'm telling you now that you can't afford to use a laptop for your work. Especially digital media stuff like flash/photoshop/premiere.... please do get a desktop or if you're a mac fan, get a iMac |
Jun 29 2006, 01:25 AM
2,687 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sue Bunk Jai Yaa! |
during my college days, the "laptop" is the blink blingk thingy...lol! student wanna show off how portable they can be...imagine lepaking wiff chix doin psd design wiff trendy hair and sipping those latte @ starbux
how cool is dat?! lol! anyways my suggestion is 2 go for desktop for more powarrrrr!!!!! overdose wiff the budget then go for those dual core imac lappy |
Jul 3 2006, 11:34 PM
1,619 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Land of the Polar Bears! |
Definitely a desktop. More power for sure...and it should be faster doing things.
Jul 4 2006, 03:21 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
depends on what kinda design laa. if we're talking about architectural/interior designs, then i'd say PC would probably preferrable. not better, just preferrable.
as for desktop vs laptop, go for desktop. i find that two harddrives in a desktop is a safer alternative. u can always backup ur work, and if one got screwed, u'd still have another. i've seen too many of my students coming in during submission day on the verge of tears coz their laptops kong last minute. as for style, ofcourse laptop is more savvy. so get both laa. ur REAL work is at home, but when u wanna look 'cool', bring ur laptop. careful with the GEEK vibe though. |
Jul 4 2006, 09:27 AM
4,210 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
what are you planning on MAJORING in..?
many students ignore what they want to major in then tend to not buy the option that would opt better for them. also, you have to ask the question if you need to bring your work around? maybe it's discuss with friends in group projects, or when you go on holiday with a tight deadline then you have your laptop with you. because why spend on a laptop when you aren't really doing mobile work? anyway, I major in Multimedia but more towards website design so I'm waiting for my ala MacBook. |
Jul 4 2006, 06:30 PM
319 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: malaysia |
sorry need to borrow dis thread..im also study graphic design..1st year...
what is the best pc/laptop system to make adobe+macromedia+3d software work more faster??i only use INTEL CENTRINO 1.3 + 80GB + 768MB RAM...the problem is when i open ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS2,the loading is too long...about 5-10minutes... |
Jul 4 2006, 08:46 PM
623 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: somewhere over the rainbow.. |
Having the best laptop/pc is still useless if u dunno how to manage ur memory. I have seen people who just switch on all sorts of programs that are not needed all the time. This uses up alot of memory, unnecessarily.
Besides tat its also not advisable to simply install games and junk programs. As for Mac, in my school we have a few Macs too, but the Macs are really slow. They are G3s. And they hang constantly, thus giving me a bad impression on Mac. Not only that Mac version of many popular softwares seem to abandoned much of its shortcut keys. Bottom line is get what u really like be it Mac or PC, what u can afford and invest in RAM, this is really important. 1 or 2 Gig of RAM is best especially for 3D programs. And also check if the software u need are available for Mac. |
Jul 5 2006, 10:06 AM
586 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: under MPSJ |
My advise get a desktop computer if you want performance. If you are a gamer get a PC. If you are not planning to play games get a MAC. It's just that easy. Invest in a good mouse too. Precesion is important!
Jul 5 2006, 01:39 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i was considering the same thing also but here is what i plan to get now...
decent laptop with good gfx card ram = 512-1g a good gfx card would enable me to have a fluid workflow and i could just use the computers at uni for network rendering. |
Jul 5 2006, 05:52 PM
1,955 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerych |
QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 4 2006, 07:30 PM) sorry need to borrow dis thread..im also study graphic design..1st year... Too much fonts.what is the best pc/laptop system to make adobe+macromedia+3d software work more faster??i only use INTEL CENTRINO 1.3 + 80GB + 768MB RAM...the problem is when i open ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS2,the loading is too long...about 5-10minutes... |
Jul 5 2006, 08:08 PM
Jul 5 2006, 10:11 PM
4,210 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
true.. that's why one of the advices around is to disable some of your fonts if you have Adobe Type Manager installed..
Jul 5 2006, 10:54 PM
Jul 6 2006, 03:08 AM
1,619 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Land of the Polar Bears! |
Hmm. Can you guys that study graphic design tell me what's the edge that a Mac has over the PC?
Jul 6 2006, 07:39 AM
32 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
i using toshiba dual core 1.83 with 1GB ram.
so far my photoshop and audio editing software still running smooth. PC always got software prob, which always make u hang kei. the window system itself is not stable. |
Jul 6 2006, 09:05 AM
586 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: under MPSJ |
Its all in your specs and configuration. Windows will hang at times no doubt but with proper configuration dun install too much junk- less conflicts. It will be OK
Jul 6 2006, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 5 2006, 09:08 PM) Damn you doubt my advice. Have you tried QuarkXPress with 10000 fonts? Ohhhh.... QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 5 2006, 11:54 PM) Extensis Suitcase 9 for Windows is much better for large volumes of fonts. One caveat is that your fonts CANNOT be in the Windows/Fonts folder, then suitcase won't work. For that, use ATM. It's slower, but IIRC you can disable any font that Windows activates at startup.This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jul 6 2006, 07:25 PM |
Jul 8 2006, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jul 6 2006, 07:22 PM) Damn you doubt my advice. heheh..im not doubt ur advice..only shame on me Have you tried QuarkXPress with 10000 fonts? Ohhhh.... Extensis Suitcase 9 for Windows is much better for large volumes of fonts. One caveat is that your fonts CANNOT be in the Windows/Fonts folder, then suitcase won't work. For that, use ATM. It's slower, but IIRC you can disable any font that Windows activates at startup. what is ATM actly?software?can i get in at download.com??IIRC?never heard before..sorry..i really dunno bout dat... thanks for ur advice..really appreciate... |
Jul 9 2006, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 8 2006, 01:25 AM) heheh..im not doubt ur advice..only shame on me ATM- Adobe Type Managerwhat is ATM actly?software?can i get in at download.com??IIRC?never heard before..sorry..i really dunno bout dat... thanks for ur advice..really appreciate... IIRC- not a software- If I Remember Clearly. |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
5 queries
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:03 AM |