How long do you stay in office..., ...after working hours?

TSShinichi
post Jun 28 2006, 08:17 PM, updated 20y ago

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi, as mentioned in the topic, just wanna know how long do you stay in office after work hours before going home? And what is the reason for you to stay?

kokfun
post Jun 28 2006, 08:39 PM

222 posts

0 minute.... fast go back home la.. dont OT...
OT will make ur self suffer in future..
junkieG
post Jun 28 2006, 08:43 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

still at the office...

doin work la whut else...besides, dun like traffic jam

no cun chix here...demn!

okie i wanna go home now...cannot tahan edi
namh
post Jun 28 2006, 08:56 PM

Just a passerby
1,422 posts

i stay about 10-15 minutes.. just want to relax body before going into the battle of traffic jam..
goliath
post Jun 28 2006, 08:57 PM

5,532 posts

Here a situation I want to ask you all:

You and your colleagues stayed back after office hours to work. You all are in the same team dealing some project. Say, you have finished your part (work/job/task), is it alright for you to leave first or you have to wait for everyone in your team to leave together? Btw, you are junior (just joined the company for 3-4 months). Is it a norm for you to stay back even if you have totally nothing to do so that other colleagues won't backstab/criticise you for leaving early?

I've been told by my friends that they have to stay back (even there's nothing to do) because their teammate/colleague/senior don't like the fact that they (my friends) finished early/faster than them OR even criticise their attitude for leaving the office early. I was like 'WTF........??!!'

So, I need to hear from opinions from you all.

This post has been edited by goliath: Jun 28 2006, 09:02 PM
TSShinichi
post Jun 28 2006, 09:11 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(kokfun @ Jun 28 2006, 08:39 PM)
0 minute.... fast go back home la.. dont OT...
OT will make ur self suffer in future..
I want also, but the problem now is my colleagues are telling me not to go back so early. They asked me to stay at least half hour after work only can leave sweat.gif But im on contract and I cant claim OT also cause now not rushing any projects sad.gif

So should I listen them or I stay for 15-20 minutes before leave?

QUOTE(namh @ Jun 28 2006, 08:56 PM)
i stay about 10-15 minutes.. just want to relax body before going into the battle of traffic jam..
Thats what I do normally but my colleague told me to stay at least half hour before leave. But even if i stay also cant claim OT cause not rushing projects also. Haiz...

QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 28 2006, 08:57 PM)

You and your colleagues stayed back after office hours to work. You all are in the same team dealing some project. Say, you have finished your part (work/job/task), is it alright for you to leave first or you have to wait for everyone in your team to leave together? Btw, you are junior (just joined the company for 3-4 months). Is it a norm for you to stay back even if you have totally nothing to do so that other colleagues won't backstab/criticise you for leaving early?

I've been told by my friends that they have to stay back (even there's nothing to do) because their teammate/colleague/senior don't like the fact that they (my friends) finished early/faster than them OR even criticise their attitude for leaving the office early. I was like 'WTF........??!!'

I have the same problem as you. Hope to know what others think if we should stay there for "free" or go back since no work to do. Anyway i do not plan to continue work at my current company after my contract expires even if they offer me a permanent position.
SUSflamer
post Jun 28 2006, 09:43 PM

615 posts

I feel that in Rome do as the Romans do. Eventhough it is a little unfair, staying back a little later can give a better impression. Anyway that 30 minutes can be used to creating friendship and bonding with your colleagues.
TSShinichi
post Jun 28 2006, 09:53 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(flamer @ Jun 28 2006, 09:43 PM)
I feel that in Rome do as the Romans do. Eventhough it is a little unfair, staying back a little later can give a better impression. Anyway that 30 minutes can be used to creating friendship and bonding with your colleagues.
Haiz, this world is unfair sad.gif

Its unfair to me just because I want to be fair to others, or I can choose to be fair to myself and unfair to others tongue.gif Guess I need to stay for 30 minutes and leave as soon as the 30 minutes finished even though I have nothing that I able to do.

Anyway I din plan to futher work there after my contract expires even if they do offer me to extend my contract or a permanent position.
alqa
post Jun 28 2006, 11:31 PM

346 posts

normally, out of courtesy, I sometimes stay back to 'support' the colleagues... its one of those team spirit thingy, where you're not just an employee but part of the 'family' (yeah right!)
cjtune
post Jun 28 2006, 11:36 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

Yes, the peer pressure can be quite heavy. But just go back early if you have to and psycho others to do so too so you won't be the only one to get singled out by seniors.

In the end you have to decide which is worse: the psychological stress from being criticized by your teammates and seniors, or that from staying in office much longer than you'd like.

Unless your position now has a very good promise of promotion or increment of pay, or if you can't find some other job out there, I fail to see why you need to be enslaved this way by peer pressure (or competition to see who's the hardest working?).

cjtune
post Jun 28 2006, 11:40 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 28 2006, 09:11 PM)
I want also, but the problem now is my colleagues are telling me not to go back so early. They asked me to stay at least half hour after work only can leave sweat.gif But im on contract and I cant claim OT also cause now not rushing any projects sad.gif

Hmm, I OT (non paid) 1-2 hours every working day.. not because of peer pressure but because the management sets really tight schedules and I fear by working super hard (I come back on weekends sometimes...) I'm encouraging them to continue setting what may be eventually unrealisable project milestones and deliverables.

I've since 'compensated' by coming in late by 30 minutes...

sunbeams
post Jun 29 2006, 03:13 AM

878 posts

Here we go again. The pressure of perception.

If you leave early, everyone thinks you are 'eating snake', and being lazy.

If you stay back late, boss has a more possitive perception on you (who would know you were yaking on MSN?)

Kayne
post Jun 29 2006, 08:14 AM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

MSN is filtered in my company... u can only surf several pages.. not to mention emails....
guanteik
post Jun 29 2006, 08:16 AM

2,656 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Jun 29 2006, 03:13 AM)
Here we go again. The pressure of perception.

If you leave early, everyone thinks you are 'eating snake', and being lazy.

If you stay back late, boss has a more possitive perception on you (who would know you were yaking on MSN?)
LOL, good say!
Normally i'd stay about 2-3hours more in my office, but currently in this one.. not that long as no jobs are assigned yet.
yumish
post Jun 29 2006, 08:41 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Jun 29 2006, 03:13 AM)
Not really. Some boss might think that you are not productive enough if you stay back late coz u can't able to complete your task on time.
Tim
post Jun 29 2006, 12:35 PM

318 posts

So to stay or not to stay, that's the question.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 29 2006, 12:42 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

I stay overnight on Friday until sunday nite.
Holidays also go back...
Just to play online games on multiple computer..
Saved money not going to cyber cafe. tongue.gif
mIssfROGY
post Jun 29 2006, 02:00 PM

2,155 posts

Asian mentality....
STAY BACK = VERY HARDWORKING
GO EARLY = LAZY

but actual fact is, is the employee efficient in his/her job by staying back? Or is he/she trying to gain the "Hardworking" title? And then back stab others coz wanna make him/herself look good. tsskk tskkk typical employee...

If u can go back early and is able to deliver quality work, y worry wat others blab about rite. Dun care..just do it...its your precious time that u will be wasting by staying in the gloomy office.

rexis
post Jun 29 2006, 02:02 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

Go back ASAP...
spie
post Jun 29 2006, 02:10 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jun 29 2006, 02:00 PM)
Asian mentality....
GO EARLY = LAZY

but actual fact is, is the employee efficient in his/her job by staying back? Or is he/she trying to gain the "Hardworking" title? And then back stab others coz wanna make him/herself look good. tsskk tskkk typical employee...

If u can go back early and is able to deliver quality work, y worry wat others blab about rite. Dun care..just do it...its your precious time that u will be wasting by staying in the gloomy office.
Exactly, I agreed with u, most of the time also depends on the bosses (manager), my manager did warn me by wasting too much time on internet. But I also receive awards from company, recommended by my manager because I achieved my goals and contributed to company. Most of the time I leave my office 6 o'clock sharp.

Mavik
post Jun 29 2006, 02:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Well my boss stands up and says, "Guys, its 5.30pm on a Friday evening, lets get the heck out of here or we would have no life!"....

tongue.gif
earthkid
post Jun 29 2006, 02:58 PM

muggs rocks
970 posts

haha...there are seldom bosses like that...i'll usually stay back an hour or two more to finish what my boss left off...
madman.com
post Jun 29 2006, 03:15 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 29 2006, 02:34 PM)
Well my boss stands up and says, "Guys, its 5.30pm on a Friday evening, lets get the heck out of here or we would have no life!"....

tongue.gif
you got such a good boss, i wish my boss is like dat.........
goliath
post Jun 29 2006, 03:36 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jun 29 2006, 02:00 PM)
Asian mentality....
GO EARLY = LAZY
Stay Back = Hardworking OR Incompetent
Leave Early = Competent OR Lazy

But most of the time, others will take the second/right-side choice. shakehead.gif

tongue.gif
How I wish there are CC of your boss in every company. Heck, my friend came back from overseas, telling me that he work from 8.30am till 4.30pm. After 4.30pm consider overtime sweat.gif

F1meteor
post Jun 30 2006, 04:10 PM

1,391 posts

i would say stay there and LEARN something..
unless you got an emergency, need to leave..
else, stay there, ask if got anything that you can help..

i don't like OT, and i wish to leave at 6pm everyday..
but sometimes those tasks just cannot be completed and it's urgent..
so, OT til 11pm also needed, and i don't mind because there are tasks to do..

speak from my point of view, i don't like seeing my juniors leave when i'm darn busy and overloaded..
can't the hack he asks and offers help??
Christopher_LKL
post Jun 30 2006, 04:25 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

^- ok i just voice out my opinions ... ur juniors earns lesser than u, they have narrower job scope and they need a life. To be more sacrastic, u (i dunno how old are u ) might already have a family or something or u just hooked up and love working? but those juniors they might need to get out there for a life or maybe they just not a workaholic, but since u are so overloaded, i think u can assign them some task and i think IF they considerate enough they will help u no question ask, besides maybe the job u working on is so hard that out of their level? we duno smile.gif

But i will stay for at elast 15 mins or a few hours if there is something to do, but im sure i will leave on SHARP on friday tongue.gif
TYK
post Jun 30 2006, 04:35 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Jun 30 2006, 04:10 PM)
speak from my point of view, i don't like seeing my juniors leave when i'm darn busy and overloaded..
can't the hack he asks and offers help??
As a senior yourself, you should be able to bring the matters to management if you are overloaded, and from there management can locate more resources to help you out, not just sit there and complaining why no junior come to help me.
skyloon
post Jun 30 2006, 07:15 PM

581 posts

how much they give me, how late i stay...
but boss wont happy if see u go back early
pizzicato
post Jul 1 2006, 12:44 AM

45 posts

i met 1 account executive A doesn't like her juniors go back home sharp early.. somemore A's senior - assistant accountant go back home sharp also which came back from USA..A complained to her senior that she can't go back sharply..if continue doing so sure juniors will follow..so bad..

for me..i go back sharp..if stay also 15 minutes only..but this depends on whether got urgent task or not~~ tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pizzicato: Jul 1 2006, 12:46 AM
harrychoo
post Jul 1 2006, 03:17 AM

3,589 posts

i stay longer just the sake of OT...
SUSflamer
post Jul 1 2006, 04:37 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 28 2006, 09:53 PM)
Haiz, this world is unfair sad.gif

Its unfair to me just because I want to be fair to others, or I can choose to be fair to myself and unfair to others tongue.gif Guess I need to stay for 30 minutes and leave as soon as the 30 minutes finished even though I have nothing that I able to do.

Anyway I din plan to futher work there after my contract expires even if they do offer me to extend my contract or a permanent position.
If that is the case then it is perfectly OK to leave sharp IF there is nothing left to do. Leaving sharp and staying back when NECESSARY shows a lot of maturity in a person. Unfortunately in Malaysia people tend to perceive ppl who stay late as the "Go Getters". I used to think so when I started working 3 years ago but now I go back ON TIME once all work is done. thumbup.gif
sunbeams
post Jul 1 2006, 04:42 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(flamer @ Jul 1 2006, 03:37 AM)
If that is the case then it is perfectly OK to leave sharp IF there is nothing left to do. Leaving sharp and staying back when NECESSARY shows a lot of maturity in a person. Unfortunately in Malaysia people tend to perceive ppl who stay late as the "Go Getters". I used to think so when I started working 3 years ago but now I go back ON TIME once all work is done.  thumbup.gif
In fact, if my team members are able to complete their assignments before the stipulated dateline with quality and accuracy, I'd let them take the rest of the day off.

Against my company's policy, but it's a form of appreciation for smart-workers.

TSShinichi
post Jul 1 2006, 09:44 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(flamer @ Jul 1 2006, 04:37 AM)
If that is the case then it is perfectly OK to leave sharp IF there is nothing left to do. Leaving sharp and staying back when NECESSARY shows a lot of maturity in a person. Unfortunately in Malaysia people tend to perceive ppl who stay late as the "Go Getters". I used to think so when I started working 3 years ago but now I go back ON TIME once all work is done.  thumbup.gif
Hmmm but I dont want them to think that I will leave the company anytime soon cause if they do, I think I will suffer working there sweat.gif

Haiz so what to do, I think will stay for 30 minutes for 2-3 days in a week and the rest will stay for around 15 minutes then leave.
lhwbrian
post Jul 1 2006, 10:10 AM

39 posts

I have a simple solution for it.

Do your report on what you have achieve within a day, a week, problem faced. make it thick thick.. then show it to management so that when there is some ppl backstab you, you have the "fact" to show that u r a disciplined person, doing everything organisly, hence your work can finished faster than others.. i think ur boss should stand at ur side = =+

kennyukm
post Jul 1 2006, 10:15 AM

257 posts

I work in UKM, as usual office hours for government staff will be from 8am to 5pm. Anyway, I reach office before 7am as I don't like have jam... as for going home... I'll stay in office until 7 or 8pm. Not because of OT (government not OT), but because I need to settle my work.

SEP910
post Jul 1 2006, 10:22 AM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

tongue.gif
Ya I also wish have boss like you, I work 2 or 3 hrs after office hours, even worst at the end of the month until 2am or 3am. And saturday and sunday all the days for 8hrs for free. I can't claim overtime.

All together 2hrs x 20day = 40hrs
Saturday or Sunday 8hrs x 4day = 32hrs.
Total 72hrs to 100hrs is free for one month.

This post has been edited by SEP910: Jul 1 2006, 10:25 AM
simon82
post Jul 1 2006, 10:49 AM

567 posts

Stay for 10 to 15 minutes afta work.
No OT coz... no allowance given from my company...

SUSflamer
post Jul 1 2006, 11:40 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(kennyukm @ Jul 1 2006, 10:15 AM)
I work in UKM, as usual office hours for government staff will be from 8am to 5pm. Anyway, I reach office before 7am as I don't like have jam... as for going home... I'll stay in office until 7 or 8pm. Not because of OT (government not OT), but because I need to settle my work.
This is a good work ethic which should be brought over to other govt offices.
sp:)
post Jul 1 2006, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Jul 1 2006, 10:22 AM)
Ya I also wish have boss like you, I work 2 or 3 hrs after office hours, even worst at the end of the month until 2am or 3am. And saturday and sunday all the days for 8hrs for free. I can't claim overtime.

All together 2hrs x 20day = 40hrs
Saturday or Sunday 8hrs x 4day = 32hrs.
Total 72hrs to 100hrs is free for one month.
Last time I used to work like you, but my superior didnt appreciate my efforts. They kept to say that i am not efficient, cant finish paper work even i work longer hours. I need guideline from them,I need their advice If i did mistake.They told me that i should notice my mistake Before somebody tell me. I work like in hell. I just assistant in that company, but my superior did that to me.
mIssfROGY
post Jul 1 2006, 10:23 PM

2,155 posts

Work long hours also no use ler.....after 8hours, your brains will start to get tired and start to slow down. might as well go home and rest and start kambatte the next day.

As i am writing this, i am in the office working...so freaking lame to work on a sat and worst still i will be working tomolo too!!!! Think i wanna work? not even paid OT or meal allowance or watsoever....i ll be working 1 whole week nonstop...well, this is msian mentality and i am getting tired of it. Am i being efficient? I really dun think so...but wat to do?? According to my boz, longer hours means PRODUCTIVE......so i must stay late and work on weekends. 8pm go home consider VERY EARLY.....11pm will be the PERFECT TIME.....tis is my life....freaking angree now. btw, i start work at 9am.

If i come at 2pm and go home at 11pm, considered i worked only hafday!! My working hours is from 9-6!! wat happened to the extra hours i put in which is from 6-11? Not counted???? Yes! Its freaking not counted and i am forced to take a hafday leave!

And for those who feel unfair for having too much work while their collegues able to leave early....please ask them to help out loo or tell your boz about your workload. make it known to the boz. Dun keep doing it and feel like shit when yer collegues get to leave early. If u dun voice it out, then dun complain.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Jul 1 2006, 10:30 PM
travis_ckf
post Jul 1 2006, 10:31 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jul 1 2006, 10:23 PM)
Work long hours also no use ler.....after 8hours, your brains will start to get tired and start to slow down. might as well go home and rest and start kambatte the next day.

As i am writing this, i am in the office working...so freaking lame to work on a sat and worst still i will be working tomolo too!!!! Think i wanna work? not even paid OT or meal allowance or watsoever....i ll be working 1 whole week nonstop...well, this is msian mentality and i am getting tired of it. Am i being efficient? I really dun think so...but wat to do?? According to my boz, longer hours means PRODUCTIVE......so i must stay late and work on weekends. 8pm go home consider VERY EARLY.....11pm will be the PERFECT TIME.....tis is my life....freaking angree now. btw, i start work at 9am.

If i come at 2pm and go home at 11pm, considered i worked only hafday!! My working hours is from 9-6!! wat happened to the extra hours i put in which is from 6-11? Not counted???? Yes! Its freaking not counted and i am forced to take a hafday leave!
wow, that what i called overwork!!!! rclxub.gif There are signs showing u gonna get burn out!

what ur work as? IT line? Well that typical consider seing my former colleagues suffering frm now.

If i were u i leave such pathenic company, no offense but ur company does not respect worklife balance. Well that happends in most chinaman companies sweat.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Jul 1 2006, 10:31 PM
eivan120
post Jul 1 2006, 11:01 PM

38 posts

Me leave or stay is my business, others leave or stay is their business. Staying back doesn't mean u're productive, leaving early doesn't mean u're lazy. Maybe i'm the kind that doesn't bother what ppl say as long as i done my part. Of course, as a matter of courtesy if i finish my work n it's off work time i'll ask my colleague if there's anything i can help them with? If none, means i'm free to go lo? What's the point satying in the office but nothing to do? If u think u wanna stay n chat with them oso need to see if ppl r free to chat with u or not mah....Anyway, my point is.....if nothing to do, i'll leave.

mIssfROGY
post Jul 1 2006, 11:01 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 1 2006, 10:31 PM)
wow, that what i called overwork!!!! rclxub.gif There are signs showing u gonna get burn out!

what ur work as? IT line? Well that typical consider seing my former colleagues suffering frm now.

If i were u i leave such pathenic company, no offense but ur company does not respect worklife balance. Well that happends in most chinaman companies sweat.gif
ya...IT line......hiezzzz......
Ya me leaving...no doubt about tat! Definately!! hahahaha.....now me leaving the office.....soon will be leaving it permenantly and as if i care. Hoho! I yan coz still havent have time to go look for new job.

rclxm9.gif
ZZZzzz...
post Jul 2 2006, 02:39 AM

136 posts

In this competitive world, even good friends in company will actually backstabbing you behind as you never knows... Smile in front of you but shows all the anger when you get promoted or huge increment.......

As everyone fighthing to climb the ladder, if you stay late... Your "competitors" will let everyone knows that you are not productive/efficient, If you go back too early although you finish all you work, "competitors" will "think" you lazy eventhough they knows its not......

Nothing is fair in this cooperate world.... From my very own opinion, Workers would stay late in company is because:

(1) OT Claims/Allowances (Extra Income)
(2) Company Culture
(3) Awareness and visibility to other co-workers/managers
(4) Something to learn ( valuable knowledge that will be priceless for next job hop)
(5) Too many jobs (overload) but you dont want to pass to other people, you owned more, do more, get more kind of philosophy.
(6) You dont like to go back, you feel that staying in office is better ( I have many of this kind of friends, wonder why... smile.gif ).
sinoffire
post Jul 2 2006, 03:26 AM

3,557 posts

for me, if there're OT, yes, i'll stay. if no OT given, times up & i'm gone. wat for staying when u r not paid for it?! mayb u might say i'm abit lansi but i dun care wat other ppl say about me leaving sharp or staying back late doing OT. so wat?! it's my life, i do wat i want & wat i see as proper. if my bos ask me to stay & help, i'll create shit loads of reason if no OT given.

0.0242sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:07 AM