Joint Management Body (JMB/JMC), Committee Member

lucerne
post Jan 11 2014, 02:40 PM

1,946 posts

is it better to engage management co set up by the developer especially the developer have build many phases/projects in the same area?
eg sunrise in MK
i think this type of mgt co will try best to maintain the condo since they want to build good reputation for future projects.
lucerne
post Jan 13 2014, 11:25 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:18 PM)
I have on board for the third year,we have been doing the jobs to let the owners more awareness on their neighborhood.

Try to fixed or set up procedures or SOP, to minimize the miss of funds..maximize value of our collection.

Ppl bought their properties 500k or even more  million...if they don't bother it...I can't imaging.

is it a good idea to set up a facebook account of JMB so all owners know all the activities, happending in condo/surrounding. quotation, tenders, costs etc

i have a a few condo which has FB account and i found it is very informative.

but some JMB refused to have FB coz it will expose their wrong doing or negative thing about the condo eg break in, poor maintenance etc and affect the value of the condo.

your comments?
lucerne
post Jan 19 2014, 09:31 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 19 2014, 08:39 PM)
We have management office staffs to handle daily ,we didn't pratising the FB cos eventually we got nothing but scolding and blame..

The lobby floor got a big notice board written in 3 languages..
i think nowaday people prefer to read notice /comments via social networks..
who wanna to spend time, stand and read the notice board??

my condo has FB page and i dun see people scolding and blame, some residents just want the management to improve, they will also upload some photos so the office can rectify the problem asap. public /resident involvement are much efficient to pin point the defects.
some resident also compliment/praise (or like) the office if they managed the resolved certain problems at once.

i think majority minded residents will ignore unreasonable /non constructive , blaming comments. (if any)

lucerne
post Jan 22 2014, 10:46 PM

1,946 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ondominium-CBT/

Condominium management chairman charged with CBT amounting to RM320,000
lucerne
post Mar 25 2016, 11:50 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(A320T1T2 @ Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM)
From my experience, it is better to contract out to security company that providing Nepalese security guards.
i think it is all depend, some Nepalese is not up to the par.
it is also depend on resident attitude. you must know these Nepalese dare not to offend the owners.

most important is to have good JMB or MC which can monitor their performance and continue to push them.
lucerne
post May 15 2016, 12:05 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 14 2016, 08:11 PM)
If property management and JMC didn't play good role and choose to increase the management fee for deficit. Maintenance fee is already high as RM0.32 and being raised to be RM0.48 and then RM0.575 excluding the sinking fund. What proprietor owners can do to stop the continuous increment?
JMC must present the budget and explain why fee need to increase to seek approval during AGM. if the expenses are not reasonable eg to raise fund for capital expenditures for certain upgrading works, owners can always reject the proposal. usually if the collection is satisfactory eg >80% the income is enough to cover the expenses. only when too many defaulters where JMC has no choice to raise maintenance fee to pay for the operating costs. but we all know, Malaysia owners always refuse to pay maintenance fee, and the collection sometime is less than 50%. our authorities /enforcement are always not effective and JMB is helpless

pls take note that JMC is also owners and they have to pay the higher fee too if it has been increased.
lucerne
post May 15 2016, 12:24 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 15 2016, 10:34 AM)
JMB is passive to ignore the enquiry on the propriety owners without single word after one year. To date, owners have no information on the detailed in EGM and AGM to pass the increment. No information on the proponent, seconder, vote count, effective date, rate of increment, resolution. After enquiring for many times, owner has limited information, but still don't know the detail. In the voting procedure, property management determine who can vote and who can not vote and some disqualified candidate can be candidate. Since JMB remain silent at any condition and pay property management well, property management stands to entertain the owner and protect the JMB. First increment is temporarily for 4 months to cover OPEX, but now it does seem use to cover CAPEX. Seem JMB may continue to increase the maintenance fee with no end. Owners are relundant to join current JMB since the JMB is so negative and has risk to be sued. Owners requested property management to have EGM discussing on this issue during Chinese New Year period, but being ignored and owners are hard to see those minutes locked posted limited time in office and no full owners list to contact. My last communication, property management said the payment rate more than 80%, but JMB starts to use for CAPEX. What's a single owner who concern my pocket can do?
seems u did not attend the EGM and AGM as u have no information on the voting.

property management must follow strata act to conduct the agm, voting right, qualify candidate, or their licence will be revoked. so i believed the increment has be done properly.

please treat the jmb as equal right as you and they are not employee of u. they are the rightful owner too and you are not their boss. suggest you study the strata act thoroughly and talk NICELY to them. noticed many residents still dont understand the strata act. JMC have lot of work to do since they are just a volunteer. they have no time to entertain each owner and some owners are so rude and aggressive. you can check more info via property manager or his staffs (not JMC ) since the management co managing this property. usually the AGM minutes will be published at the notice board after 28 days. but they maybe some delay if they are too busy. u can go to COB to check too.

even the collection now at 80%, but they are still many arrears after deficit for many years. this will affect the cash flow of the current operation.
it is not easy to contact all the owners , as some give wrong address or has sold the property to new owners. title checking at PTG land office also not updated

lucerne
post May 15 2016, 02:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 15 2016, 01:33 PM)
I did attend EGM and being elected as a subcommittee and I sent a proxy in 1st AGM. For 2nd AGM, I am abroad. Owners need to check the formal minute as formal document. Sometimes it is also easy to miss points in the meeting.

As my limited understanding, proxy is able to make one vote since not that kind of one proxy agent holding many votes. If proprietor owner did not clear the previous payment, proprietor owner is not qualified to vote or be candidate. To date, proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee due to support from floor. I am sharing my view based on my understanding of the act. I support any fellow neighbour to be committee since this is voluntary works, but act has to be followed.

For the first increment in EGM, owners have dispute and angry. But, owners mostly agreed to have temporarily increment for 4 months for immediate needs. What to do? Still have to pay TNB and water. Owners faced a tuff developer with big name. In EGM, subcommittee was being formed. Subcommittee started to act actively to write to architect and developer particularly suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood and contacted DBKL. JMC is neither supportive nor responsive to subcommittee. Then what for subcommittee works so hard since subcommittee seem not a recognized body in act but only workload. After long ignorance, subcommittee are better acts as common owner to pay maintenance fee and have less hassle.

But the condition does seem getting worse when temporary increment does not seem stop after 4 months as agreed in EGM. Then owners continue to pay. What to do? 2nd increment imposed with low attendant rate in 2nd AGM.

Owners experienced from zero (waived by developer initially), to be RM0.32, then RM0.48 and now RM0.575 within one year. To accelerate the payment, JMB and property management imposed late charge for non-payee. I understood JMB have right to do that. But the action is really pressure to owners. What to do? Pay to prevent as defaulter.

Owners are worrying the next increment.
proxy not allow to vote- is it a co owner?

proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee - u can report to COB and disqualify the AGM/commitee
only those fully settled fee 7 days before AGM are qualified as committee,
he must not being elected as committee for the past 3 consecutive years
he is not bankrupt

since u care much - pls nominate your self as JMC (not sub committee) to give instruction to PMA

suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood - please fill at tribunal , there is no time bar.

lucerne
post Mar 15 2017, 12:09 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(aerokhart @ Mar 14 2017, 10:19 AM)
would like to ask regarding JMB enforcement on house rule,

we have several house rule which owner tends to ignore or violate : e.g wearing full cloth swimming/littering everywhere/consume alcohol at pool.Current management choose to do verbal warning to these offender only and no further action. When question management for impose fine, Management hesistate as it's not in the house rule to impose fine.

Can JMB enforce fine/penalty on these offender after multiple warning been given out? seems like management office indicated that we are not suppose to issue fine to owner.
yes u can change the house rules at EGM, AGM.
pass the resolutions to fine offence that most residents want to impose.
fine up to rm200.
lucerne
post Mar 15 2017, 06:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Mar 15 2017, 12:09 AM)
yes u can change the house rules at EGM, AGM.
pass the resolutions to fine offence that most residents want to impose.
fine up to rm200.
please take note u cant add additional by law which contravenes to federal law eg reject certain tenant by nationality, discriminate, imposed higher penalty/fine vs federal law, contravene to contract law eg limit tenants to use facilities , impose higher fee for tenants vs live in owners etc. as owners has transfer their full rights to tenants
lucerne
post Mar 27 2017, 06:18 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Mar 27 2017, 10:29 AM)
Impose higher fee? eh.....i thought under Strata Management Act, you are not suppose to simply impose higher fee though...is all based on unit size to calculate maintenance fees..?
i mean fee eg resident cards, access cards, extra fee to use common facilities etc
lucerne
post Sep 7 2018, 03:24 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Aug 10 2018, 03:23 PM)
I only heard of UBS for building management software. Personally have experience with CSS online based accounting.

I heard there are plenty of other online based software. Some are promoted as free because they just enter the market. Not sure how relevant or how reliable.
I am not in position to recommend.

Weigh in your pros and cons before you decide.
yes better get a 3rd party accounting eg CSS ..it is safer and provide check and balance.
u just need a account clerks to input the data eg invoice, payments etc. system will generate reports

https://www.cssdecisions.com/product10.html

0.0257sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:53 PM