Joint Management Body (JMB/JMC), Committee Member

TSycs
post Dec 18 2013, 10:35 AM, updated 10y ago

4,223 posts

Anyone tried being or are currently serving in Joint Management Body (JMB)/Management Corporation (MC) of their Condo building?

Can anyone shed some light on some of the duties of being a committee member? Does it take a lot of your time?

My condo's AGM coming up, thinking maybe to try be a committee member?

Kevin Chan
post Dec 18 2013, 10:50 AM

1,997 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 18 2013, 10:35 AM)
Anyone tried being or are currently serving in Joint Management Body (JMB)/Management Corporation (MC) of their Condo building?

Can anyone shed some light on some of the duties of being a committee member? Does it take a lot of your time?

My condo's AGM coming up, thinking maybe to try be a committee member?
The duties of JMB are as below:

a) Maintain the common property and keep it in good serviceable repair;
b) Determine an impose charges for maintenance of common property;
c) Insure the building;
d) Comply with notices and orders by local authorities;
e) Prepare and maintain a register of all purchasers;
f) Ensure that the Building Maintenance fund is audited and provide financial statement to purchasers;
g) Enforce House Rules;

Tough and thanks less job, often get accuse of mis-appropriation and when vendor selected seems to be by your friend/relative ... even if they are good and fairly priced.

get ready for politic/gangster/favouritism/
puchongite
post Dec 18 2013, 11:11 AM

33,594 posts

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Dec 18 2013, 10:50 AM)

c) Insure the building;
f) Ensure that the Building Maintenance fund is audited and provide financial statement to purchasers;
g) Enforce House Rules;

Tough and thanks less job, often get accuse of mis-appropriation and when vendor selected seems to be by your friend/relative ... even if they are good and fairly priced. 

Part of the jobs :-

1. Select the preferred vendors and buy a lot of things or services from them.
Enjoy the kick back.

2. Gang up with other committees to massage the accounts and transfer to money to own pocket.

3. .....

TSycs
post Dec 18 2013, 11:33 AM

4,223 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 18 2013, 11:11 AM)
Part of the jobs :-

1. Select the preferred vendors and buy a lot of things or services from them.
    Enjoy the kick back.

2. Gang up with other committees to massage the accounts and transfer to money to own pocket.

3. .....
thats what i suspect also coz even with sinking fund not enough to paint whole bldg, owners have to top up doh.gif
cpng75
post Dec 18 2013, 12:02 PM

180 posts

Serving the neighborhood also like doing a charity job..

Keep an eye on the costing of maintenance works,
try to maximum the dollar value from the collections.

You will be dealing many selfish ppl like the owners as well as the other committee members whom has private agenda..
cpng75
post Dec 18 2013, 12:08 PM

180 posts

The major costing of a condo management were the water/TNB/security.

Repaint the building is last job to considered becos still got others like lifts maintenance especially when the buildings were nearby 10 years old and above.
Many things are going to breakdown...especially the E&E equipments..they are very costing.
12Digit
post Dec 18 2013, 12:32 PM

589 posts

Is there any salary for committee member or chairman?
cpng75
post Dec 18 2013, 12:39 PM

180 posts

My condo are pratising change the lighting to T5 instead of LED..The costing of LEDs are the most expensive one,we just used it for spot lights.

T5 is more effective in costing& energy saving. They can bring down about 40% from normal TNB bills.

LEDs are expensive 2~3 times but lifeband is slightly 20% higher than T5..
cpng75
post Dec 18 2013, 12:43 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(12Digit @ Dec 18 2013, 12:32 PM)
They are serving as a charity workers to the neighborhood...So is FOC

Some condos may have small meeting allowance or office bearer allowance.
cpng75
post Dec 18 2013, 01:02 PM

180 posts

We are doing more neighborhood friendly steps to encouraged more owners to get known to their neighborhood.

Announcement /notices are in three languages.Managements or owner meetings also in three languages.

Because many banana ppl using English only to prohibited others languages ppl to take participate so they can doing their own private interest agenda.
aquest
post Dec 18 2013, 01:17 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(12Digit @ Dec 18 2013, 12:32 PM)
generally no but very often already discreetly covered by suppliers whether in ca$h or in kind (eg. spa/massat/f&b/gift/voucher). keep an open eye on cheque signatories as well. allowance if any, is just peanut compared to those kasi by suppliers.

hanzanep
post Dec 19 2013, 12:03 PM

62 posts

There is salaray for committee member but better to endorsed it 1st in AGM
hanzanep
post Dec 19 2013, 12:11 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Dec 18 2013, 10:50 AM)

c) Insure the building;
g) Enforce House Rules;

Even if the committee were doing their job well and no corruption involve, well there is among resident will 'cucuk' with false story and claim the committee are bad and not doing their job well.

kochin
post Dec 19 2013, 12:30 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

interesting topic.
perhaps it is a wise choice after all for government to impose only qualified property managers to maintain buildings.
and let the property managers answer to the board.
at least get reputable property managers and you would safeguard 50% of the problems already.
cherroy
post Dec 19 2013, 12:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 19 2013, 12:30 PM)
interesting topic.
perhaps it is a wise choice after all for government to impose only qualified property managers to maintain buildings.
at least get reputable property managers and you would safeguard 50% of the problems already.
Based on my knowing,
there are not enough qualified and professional property managers around for so many highrise building around.

I involved in JMB/MC before, the cost of employ a professional building management, aka they supply a onsite manager, clerk + handyman, come at a cost of around 9K-11k.

Even employ the property manager, JMB/MC still need to take in charge of many issues as well.
Just those daily and routine job may be be well taken of.

JMB/MC still need to be actively involved to ensure the building is well taken of, financially being well controlled etc.
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 02:28 PM

180 posts

The best way is to employed a management company to take over daily jobs instead of JMC/MC,The Committee rules is to monitoring and decision maker.

Many mid or low cost condo/apt get to zero reserve fund problems are due to committees want to cut cost and kick off management company ,they themselves involved in daily jobs by hiring clerks to make the daily collections and supplies payment.
But corruption happened or miss use public funds...left out a lots shits ,they sold out their units..

Bye bye chaos!
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 02:36 PM

180 posts

interesting topic.
Not 100% correct ...you mean reputation property management company also not guarantee.

KJ was wellknow before but they send rubbish ppl to handle your condo and charge you higher rate..

Three of my condo already kicked them off last year after so many times warning issued.

Your guys must beware of KJ. Their service standard getting poorer after the founders sold out their stakes ..
TSycs
post Dec 19 2013, 02:38 PM

4,223 posts

from the accounts, i see the highest cost item is staff salary and allowances at about RM230k

seems a lot to me
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 02:55 PM

180 posts

My condo site is paying $5000 management fees +
20K staffs salaries/allowance fixed...any OT fees incurred were bear by the company.

My condo has 7 blocks with 16 floors..Total units is 902. 10 years old.

The management company give us 2 floor desk clerk + 2 executies[account + admin] + 3 handymans + 1 technician + manager.
Calculator2013
post Dec 19 2013, 03:37 PM

1,275 posts

JMB or JMC is like do charity. You do it, and yet alot of other residents take it for granted. In this world, we cannot make everyone satisfy, just do your best. And becoming a JMB committee is for the good of your own living place. Make it better so that you can live in peace. smile.gif
Salute all committees of JMB!!! rclxms.gif
mingyew
post Dec 19 2013, 04:44 PM

4,177 posts

Anyone is committee member?

security guard is most headache problem.

How to get good guard with reasonable rates?

Anyone have tried employ guard/warden under JMB payroll?
puchongite
post Dec 19 2013, 04:49 PM

33,594 posts

My place the main gate car security system always fail every other day. I wonder how much money we have given to the supplier. Sounds like permanent sucker !

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 19 2013, 04:50 PM
mingyew
post Dec 19 2013, 04:52 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 19 2013, 04:49 PM)
My place the main gate car security system always fail every other day. I wonder how much money we have given to the supplier. Sounds like permanent sucker !
Please raise to JMB immediately, change new system better than maintain.
puchongite
post Dec 19 2013, 04:53 PM

33,594 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Dec 19 2013, 04:52 PM)
Please raise to JMB immediately, change new system better than maintain.
Haha that's a new system.
mingyew
post Dec 19 2013, 04:53 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 19 2013, 04:53 PM)
Haha that's a new system.
haha.. really fainted then
mingyew
post Dec 19 2013, 04:55 PM

4,177 posts

Wonder anybody can setup a database on good vendor.
puchongite
post Dec 19 2013, 04:59 PM

33,594 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Dec 19 2013, 04:53 PM)
haha.. really fainted then
They put a big screen (either 32 inch TV or LCD monitor) show the car plate number ( is there a need for it ?) and other electronics in the open air.

The water proofing is bad, and it's raining season. I think they got zapped every now and then.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 19 2013, 04:59 PM
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 05:01 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Dec 19 2013, 04:44 PM)

Many legal and insurance issues involved ,so better outsource to a licensed scurity company to handle.

By the way, our condo is paying $5.30 per hour rate to the company,we deployed 11 guards per sheet.

If you want like the desa park city quality guards ,min rate is,$8~9 per hour.

So our condo security cost is about 40k per month..
Calculator2013
post Dec 19 2013, 05:07 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Dec 19 2013, 05:01 PM)
Many legal and insurance issues involved ,so better outsource to a licensed scurity company to handle.

By the way, our condo is paying $5.30 per hour rate to the company,we deployed 11 guards per sheet.

At least there are guards.
Nowadays thieves and robbers aim for those unguarded taman, easier target.
Security in Bolehland so good that we have to rely on security guards of our own.
shocking.gif
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 05:08 PM

180 posts

My advice

Try to get into committee, if you are new, just keep silent at first ,observed the management office ppl handling the jobs and the others old committee members...

Try to get as much infos and attend the monthly meetings then after about 6 months later,you roughly figure out who is the hantu..and who are helpful ppl.

Calculator2013
post Dec 19 2013, 05:09 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Dec 19 2013, 04:55 PM)
Wonder anybody can setup a database on good vendor.
Yah, good idea.
Should setup a thread in LYN, so that people can refer to good vendors.
For example good security company, good refuse collector, good condo management company and etc...
thumbup.gif
cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 05:11 PM

180 posts

Many hantu in committee...especially those banana ppl control committee..80% have hantu inside the committee...look after their private pocket not the community interest.
CK15
post Dec 19 2013, 05:19 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Dec 19 2013, 04:44 PM)

My POV is not good idea to hire directly under JMB payroll. Don't expect the JMC Chairman/person or members to supervise them. Not mean impossible, but very2 challenging.. they already shoulder enou responsibilities without geting pay la!

If interested, pm me ur PIC name and contact, I can introduce one security company for u. Not the best, consider good only. We have been using this company since 2009.

cpng75
post Dec 19 2013, 05:21 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Calculator2013 @ Dec 19 2013, 05:07 PM)
At least there are guards.
Nowadays thieves and robbers aim for those unguarded taman, easier target.
Security in Bolehland so good that we have to rely on security guards of our own.
shocking.gif
Even you are paying high rate to security company not mean you can what you need most becos they are human being..

So my experience you condo if have budget must also buck up your condo CCTV and door access system...because machines are more trustful than human..also can be traceable.

Nowadays many condo have break in cases...90% are insider job
Calculator2013
post Dec 19 2013, 05:29 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Dec 19 2013, 05:21 PM)
Even you are paying high rate to security company not mean you can what you need most becos they are human being..

So my experience you condo if have budget must also buck up your condo CCTV and door access system...because machines are more trustful than human..also can be traceable.

Nowadays many condo have break in cases...90% are insider job
+1
Agree!!
Insider job lagi jia lat!! rclxub.gif
TSycs
post Dec 28 2013, 07:10 PM

4,223 posts

i got myself nominated in AGM elections but lost due to some of the owners holding many proxy votes voting for their members only thus 2 members are always there.

apparently, these 2 fellas always corner several tenders with high price

seems like a lost cause
jex-koi
post Dec 28 2013, 07:33 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Dec 19 2013, 05:01 PM)

Agree that it is best that JMB does not hire guards directly. I know of one JMB which was fined ~RM10k for hiring a foreign guy as security guard. Don't know the exact details.
Gami
post Dec 28 2013, 08:59 PM

I am in the JMC, second term now. It is good to be involved if you can spare some time to help out in check & balance on the managing agent and to ensure procedures etc work out to the best of the interest of all residents.

It's not easy as we've had very high staff turnover of MO staff & change of security company and unreasonable owners /residents. It's an uphill task for us but nevertheless we are still trying our very best.

It would be good to share & learn from one another here, on issues we face daily in the JMC.

We do not have anyone in our payroll. I understand that i's not easy to get our own building manager or head of security but sometimes I'm very tempted to suggest that as those under our employment, at least I think we may have a better control. I've heard of success stories of condo running on their own & not via any agent.

Our agent fees also 5k & we outsource our security too.

This post has been edited by Gami: Dec 28 2013, 09:04 PM
CK15
post Dec 28 2013, 10:16 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(Gami @ Dec 28 2013, 08:59 PM)

I am in the JMC, second term now. It is good to be involved if you can spare some time to help out in check & balance on the managing agent and to ensure procedures etc work out to the best of the interest of all residents.

It's not easy as we've had very high staff turnover of MO staff & change of security company and unreasonable owners /residents. It's an uphill task for us but nevertheless we are still trying our very best.

It would be good to share & learn from one another here, on issues we face daily in the JMC.

We do not have anyone in our payroll. I understand that i's not easy to get our own building manager or head of security  but sometimes I'm very tempted to suggest that as those under our employment, at least I think we may have a better control. I've heard of success stories of condo running on their own & not via any agent.

Our agent fees also 5k & we outsource our security too.
Well done! Good for the community and urself.

If everyone in JMC has their day job to meet the end need, try to avoid having to put too much times to manage direct reports.
For 5k management fee, mind to dhare how many units 4 ur condo/aprt?

cpng75
post Dec 28 2013, 10:40 PM

180 posts

Hi...

Welcome on board ...sharing infos...
cpng75
post Dec 29 2013, 12:02 AM

180 posts

My advise..

Try to be neighborhood friendly ..use 3 languages in condo bulletin notices..

Keep the residents informed , let them getting interest into knowing things JMC are doing.
Gami
post Dec 29 2013, 08:29 AM

QUOTE(CK15 @ Dec 28 2013, 10:16 PM)
Well done! Good for the community and urself.

If everyone in JMC has their day job to meet the end need, try to avoid having to put too much times to manage direct reports.
For 5k management fee, mind to dhare how many units 4 ur condo/aprt?
Condo is around 290 units, small land size with basic facilities, just pool & gym, small playground for kids.

Our problem is managing agent, for the past 3 years, I think we have had 5-6 building managers and it seems we are the training ground for them. Besides that, it's the same with the rest of the staff. With that price, we are given 1 building manager, 1 building exec, 1 clerk, 1 technician and 1 handyman. Most of the time, we have been shortchanged as the agent moves his people around to cover other sites, we suspect.

Communication is a problem for us as residents as we hardly know what's happening & most of the time even as JMC members too.

They are not pro-active most of the time & need to be told what to do, etc.

Any of you have a blog or updates via the internet ? Effective ?

CK15
post Dec 29 2013, 09:51 AM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(Gami @ Dec 29 2013, 08:29 AM)
Condo is around 290 units, small land size with basic facilities, just pool & gym, small playground for kids.

Our problem is managing agent, for the past 3 years, I think we have had 5-6 building managers and it seems we are the training ground for them. Besides that, it's the same with the rest of the staff.  With that price, we are given 1 building manager, 1 building exec, 1 clerk, 1 technician and 1 handyman. Most of the time, we have been shortchanged as the agent moves his people around to cover other sites, we suspect.

Communication is a problem for us as residents as we hardly know what's happening & most of the time even as JMC members too.

They are not pro-active most of the time & need to be told what to do, etc.

Any of you have a blog or updates via the internet ? Effective ?
In most pratice, not necessary apply for all, the management (agent) fee is fixed fee pay to Management Company and staffs cost is reimbursed with 5-10% markup.

Just to chk, the building mgr, buidling exe, clerk, technician, and handbyman are dedicated on-site resources, or shared resources but based at Management's (Agent's) office?
Also, interested to know how u manage the procurement and budget. Who is managing the account payable and receivable, and bank account?

Gami
post Dec 29 2013, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(CK15 @ Dec 29 2013, 09:51 AM)
In most pratice, not necessary apply for all, the management (agent) fee is fixed fee pay to Management Company and staffs cost is reimbursed with 5-10% markup.

Just to chk, the building mgr, buidling exe, clerk, technician, and handbyman are dedicated on-site resources, or shared resources but based at Management's (Agent's) office?
Also, interested to know how u manage the procurement and budget. Who is managing the account payable and receivable, and bank account?
Yup, management fee is fixed and contractual amt for staffing. It is supposed to be based in our MO as agreed. Procurement, the JMC has to approve above a certain figure and we set the budget too besides annual budget. We help in evaluation of suppliers or products too.

We outsourced our accounting with the software installed in the MO and the accounting firm provides us monthly reporting and attends our JMC meetings as well to answer any queries and brief us / advise us.

jex-koi
post Dec 30 2013, 02:23 PM

273 posts

I have noticed that the best condo management is actually with a JMB member (which is also a resident) in the management office. All decisions by the management's office must go thru this member. This means the JMB is running and hiring their own staff.

Pretty hard to get a full-time or part-time JMB member nowadays which can sit in office and overlook the management.
cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 05:14 PM

180 posts

Very useful link for JMC members

Building and Common Property(Maintenance and Management) Act 2007Act 663
http://www.hba.org.my/laws/building/bcpAct2007.htm

cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 05:21 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Dec 30 2013, 02:23 PM)
I have noticed that the best condo management is actually with a JMB member (which is also a resident) in the management office. All decisions by the management's office must go thru this member. This means the JMB is running and hiring their own staff.

Pretty hard to get a full-time or part-time JMB member nowadays which can sit in office and overlook the management.
Not exactly..

Hire third party management to handle the daily jobs..
MC/JMC members are not suppose to involve in directly because of interest of conflict issues.

cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 05:38 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Dec 29 2013, 09:51 AM)

My condo have 7 blocks with about 900 units.
We have one basic swimming pool, tennis court,children playground,multipurpose hall with badminton courts inside.

We paid 5k management fees monthly plus about 23k fixed for staff salary.Staff OT allowances are borne by management agent company.

We are given 1 BM+1Admin+1 A/C+2 front desk clerks+ 1 chief tech+2 handymans.

cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 05:43 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 28 2013, 07:10 PM)
i got myself nominated in AGM elections but lost due to some of the owners holding many proxy votes voting for their members only thus 2 members are always there.

apparently, these 2 fellas always corner several tenders with high price

seems like a lost cause
According to the COB and the law of building and management.

Elected members are maximum 3 years/terms of service.

Calculator2013
post Jan 9 2014, 05:48 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:14 PM)
Very useful link for JMC members

Building and Common Property(Maintenance and Management) Act 2007Act 663
http://www.hba.org.my/laws/building/bcpAct2007.htm
Thanks alot for sharing. biggrin.gif
Calculator2013
post Jan 9 2014, 05:51 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:38 PM)
My condo have 7 blocks with about 900 units.
We have one basic swimming pool, tennis court,children playground,multipurpose hall with badminton courts inside.

We paid 5k management fees monthly plus about 23k fixed for staff salary.Staff OT allowances are borne by management agent company.

We are given 1 BM+1Admin+1 A/C+2 front desk clerks+ 1 chief tech+2 handymans.
Wow, quite a number of staffs in Management Office.
Mind to share which company your condo engaged? smile.gif
cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 05:56 PM

180 posts

Although we are facing defict yearly but with give and take consideration.

We are giving out basic 1 month incentive[ purata] + 1 month performance incentive to selected staffs for their 2013 year performance.
cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 06:03 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Calculator2013 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:51 PM)
We kick out KJ in 2012 Nov due to poor performance and costly staffs allowances.

We are using Focus Management,they are very low profile chinese run management company.But with certain numbers of condos managed so can sharing resources and experience among their sites .
cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 06:15 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Calculator2013 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:51 PM)
Another of my new condo with higher standard of facilities,they also Kick out KJ after 1 years occupied.

I also giving advice/experience to the JMB members recommended to use this reasonable offer from Focus.

Unfortunately they given the excuse that they are high class condo so must use high class area like MontKiara or KLCC management agents.

So I immediately sold out this new condo even with 5 months occupied.

TSycs
post Jan 9 2014, 08:23 PM

4,223 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:43 PM)
According to the COB and the law of building and management.

Elected members are maximum 3 years/terms of service.
thanks for the info. i'll relay it to a friendly JMC member and see if they infringe
cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 09:00 PM

180 posts

Another little advice,

JMC/MC can appoint your legal advisor, the monthly retainer just only $1.5k.

Your legal advisor duty is to attend monthly meeting/AGM//EGM or any important legal advice meeting call upon by JMC.Answer or handling any legal query regarding condo matters like sending letter of demand to those overdue unit owners.

Also handling condo subsale consent.

This all included not extra charges.

JMC only need to pay the legal fees first when the overdue case bought to courts in legal process.

If your condo have budget,can consider pratising it.

CK15
post Jan 9 2014, 09:32 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 9 2014, 05:56 PM)
Although we are facing defict yearly but with give and take consideration.

We are giving out basic 1 month incentive[ purata] + 1 month performance incentive to selected staffs for their 2013 year performance.
Deficit? Sound like paying rate is low?
How much per sqft for maint fee?

cpng75
post Jan 9 2014, 09:53 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 9 2014, 09:32 PM)
Deficit? Sound like paying rate is low?
How much per sqft for maint fee?
Most cheaper $0.15 in the neighborhood.

With tennis and badminton courts,swimming pool,
24 CCTV and each block with guard.

Most owners rejected the first increment proposal of 3 cents or $30/50 per unit last year AGM.

If this year increment proposal reject again. I am going to walk away and selling this condo.
Calculator2013
post Jan 10 2014, 10:18 AM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 9 2014, 09:00 PM)
Another little advice,

JMC/MC can appoint your legal advisor, the monthly retainer just only $1.5k.

Your legal advisor duty is to attend monthly meeting/AGM//EGM or any important legal advice meeting call upon by JMC.Answer or handling any legal query regarding condo matters like sending letter of demand to those overdue unit owners.

Also handling condo subsale consent.

This all included not extra charges.

JMC only need to pay the legal fees first when the overdue case bought to courts in legal process.

If your condo have budget,can consider pratising it.
Good idea.
With a lawyer on board the JMC, committee can seek legal advice (especially when dealing with defaulters)
Anyway, thanks for sharing all these info. notworthy.gif
cpng75
post Jan 10 2014, 12:56 PM

180 posts

Another useful advise,

My condo 24 CCTV system is given a comprehensive 3+2 years service contract when we reinstalling our CCTV.

Take example, 20 new cameras+3 set monitors,we are paying fixed $1k montly retainer.The CCTV service provider cover the cost all repairing jobs & insure new cameras.This mean new E&E equipments installed under 1 year warranty.They will immediately replaced another function equipment to our condo when send back to repair the faulty ones.

If any of our old existing not done by them found faulty in the period then we only paid the repair jobs.If we want replace new ones,we paid for the new camera and add on $50 per one into the service contract monthly for warranty.

cpng75
post Jan 10 2014, 01:13 PM

180 posts

After the new 24 CCTV system was up in 2012.With cooperation from security company.

Our condo break in case managed to archive 90% rate of catching the insider jobs.

If break in cases are done by same of group of ppl,we
can easy trace their jobs if they repeat again.

Sad to said,90% of break in cases are chinese,all tenants living in the neighborhood.They formed a criminal gangs and go to rent out several condo to do the jobs.

They are keeping the stolen things in same block of break in unit after 2~3 days they swift out to different condo where they rented.

This was all told by the police when they successful catch the suspecteds.
cpng75
post Jan 10 2014, 01:27 PM

180 posts

The break in cases suspecteds all dressed like renovation workers wearing cap.

They make cases usually in daytime 9~11am or 2~4pm in weekday.

The break in units 90% didn't lock their wooden door lockset.The owners just simply locked and chained their grille only.

All the cases owners are staying in quiet floor which mean this level floor neighbors don't get in touch with others.
Calculator2013
post Jan 10 2014, 02:19 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 10 2014, 01:27 PM)
The break in cases suspecteds all dressed like renovation workers wearing cap.

They make cases usually in daytime 9~11am or 2~4pm in weekday.

The break in units 90% didn't lock their wooden door lockset.The owners just simply locked and chained  their grille only.

All the cases owners are staying in quiet floor which mean this level floor neighbors don't get in touch with others.
Thanks for all the alerts!!
Curse these thiefs!! Insider job are more difficult to prevent.
Sigh.... rclxub.gif
lucerne
post Jan 11 2014, 02:40 PM

1,946 posts

is it better to engage management co set up by the developer especially the developer have build many phases/projects in the same area?
eg sunrise in MK
i think this type of mgt co will try best to maintain the condo since they want to build good reputation for future projects.
cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 03:10 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 11 2014, 02:40 PM)
is it better to engage management co set up by the developer especially the developer have build many phases/projects in the same area?
eg sunrise in MK
i think this type of mgt co will try best to maintain the condo since they want to build good reputation for future projects.
Budget is main problems.

1.Good management agent come first because they have ample resources of back up team or sharing infos among their sites.

2.A good Building Manager, he/she has the abilities of supervising your condo.

cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 03:16 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 11 2014, 02:40 PM)
eg sunrise in MK
One of problems you will be facing if selected developer management agent.

They will fully utilized your maintenance fund..

Cost saving is your problems not theirs.

Like said..monthly collection(excluded sinking fund) 100k..they will try their best to used up with many good excuse.
acbc
post Jan 11 2014, 03:20 PM

9,041 posts

Do understand, your hard work won't be appreciated. Everyone is out trying to milk money from JMB funds. And some owners may accuse u of corruption. Worse case, they report u to MACC and PDRM. After that, lawsuits here and there. End of the day, u really need to sell yourself for the job. If your background is auditing and currently working in a large audit firm, u may gain some respect. If not, prepare for screaming fest.
cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 03:26 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 11 2014, 03:20 PM)
Do understand, your hard work won't be appreciated. Everyone is out trying to milk money from JMB funds. And some owners may accuse u of corruption. Worse case, they report u to MACC and PDRM. After that, lawsuits here and there. End of the day, u really need to sell yourself for the job. If your background is auditing and currently working in a large audit firm, u may gain some respect. If not, prepare for screaming fest.
Ya..agree..

So appointed a legal advisor to sit on board monthly meetings.

All major repair jobs above certain amount must have at least 3 quotations..

If the JMC are following the SOP or guidelines ..you are protected by The COB or Strata Titles Acts.

This post has been edited by cpng75: Jan 11 2014, 03:29 PM
CK15
post Jan 11 2014, 04:09 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 03:16 PM)
One of problems you will be facing if selected developer management agent.

They will fully utilized your maintenance fund..

Cost saving is your problems not theirs.

Like said..monthly collection(excluded sinking fund)  100k..they will try their best to used up with many good excuse.
Make sure the SOP is ready and get management co to strictly follow. All approval for procurement and spending money must approved by JMC. Any claim/bill whithout JMC will be born by management co....
more importantly, the bank cheque signature only by JMC and at least two to three depend on amount..

CK15
post Jan 11 2014, 04:14 PM

1,466 posts

Talk/complaint only type of people every where also got la... living in strata ttitle property... u need to have peoples who willing to contribute... the more the marrier..
cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 05:36 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 11 2014, 04:09 PM)
Make sure the SOP is ready and get management co to strictly follow. All approval for procurement and spending money must approved by JMC. Any claim/bill whithout JMC will be born by management co....
more importantly, the bank cheque signature only by JMC and at least two to three depend on amount..

What you worried was miss used of funds.

What I mean is more higher standard way..

They will given expensive quotation let you to choose...If JMC members are not aware of the comparison cost..especially those E&E and Plumbing jobs.

cherroy
post Jan 11 2014, 05:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 05:36 PM)

They will given expensive quotation let you to choose...If JMC members are not aware of the comparison cost..especially those E&E and Plumbing jobs.
That's why sometimes it is beneficiary to have experienced person or person related to various industries in the committee.
Let the meeting to be more open, invite all resident, proprietor owner to come to meeting, whom may feed back some good suggestion in between.

Engage a proper, more honest property manager/management company to run the show also can help out.
As those experienced manager already knew roughly how much a particular job should be cost.

CK15
post Jan 11 2014, 05:54 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 05:36 PM)

I refer to both actually.
If the quotations price provided is not reasonable.. the JMC members will get involved to call quotation and ask the management co to execute.. 1-2 times.. they know being monitored and tracked, they will behave... if not fire them tongue.gif

cherroy
post Jan 11 2014, 05:55 PM

25,802 posts

People generally like to complain, but when really need to do the job time, or ask them to join into committee to contribute, all keep quiet, MIA, lot of excuse (no time etc).

Committee generally won't be appreciated by most resident, just get use to it.
But you need people to sacrifice in order for the overall benefit or for the sake on the building.

Whether the committee member trying to milk money or not, actually can be seen or spotted easily.
Just vote out the member if showing such a sign.

If all done according to SOP and strata title act available, there is nothing to fear about the screaming fest or not.
Every major decision is made through AGM/EGM, and hire management company to carry the task, whoever not satisfy, object the resolution, or vote out the current committee member, don't need to shout.
CK15
post Jan 11 2014, 06:00 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 11 2014, 05:49 PM)
That's why sometimes it is beneficiary to have experienced person or person related to various industries in the committee.
Let the meeting to be more open, invite all resident, proprietor owner to come to meeting, whom may feed back some good suggestion in between.

Engage a proper, more honest property manager/management company to run the show also can help out.
As those experienced manager already knew roughly how much a particular job should be cost.
Due to high demand, getting honest property manager/management company is not easy.. lots of bad apples in the market... if not careful enu.. alll funds will be gone in short period..
cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 06:18 PM

180 posts

I have on board for the third year,we have been doing the jobs to let the owners more awareness on their neighborhood.

Try to fixed or set up procedures or SOP, to minimize the miss of funds..maximize value of our collection.

Ppl bought their properties 500k or even more million...if they don't bother it...I can't imaging.

I am selfish also, I want my properties value increased ,this was my first intention to get involved JMC.

Step by step..starting from a silly observer member,spend sometimes trying get infos for those quotation.

Recognized & analysis the problems and persuade helpful ppl joined,get support became one of the JMC office bearers.Kick out the selfish private agenda members.

Because I believed anythings made by JMC will eventually impact to your valuable properties.

CK15
post Jan 11 2014, 06:21 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:18 PM)
I have on board for the third year,we have been doing the jobs to let the owners more awareness on their neighborhood.

Try to fixed or set up procedures or SOP, to minimize the miss of funds..maximize value of our collection.

Ppl bought their properties 500k or even more  million...if they don't bother it...I can't imaging.

I am selfish also, I want my properties value increased ,this was my first intention to get involved JMC.

Step by step..starting from a silly observer member,spend sometimes trying get infos for those quotation.

Recognized & analysis the problems and persuade helpful ppl joined,get support became one of the JMC office bearers.Kick out the selfish private agenda members.

Because I believed anythings made by JMC will eventually impact to your valuable properties.
Absolute agreed! and I can see u hv done a good job! notworthy.gif

cpng75
post Jan 11 2014, 06:32 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:21 PM)
Absolute agreed! and I can see u hv done a good job!  notworthy.gif
I am still learning..great to have this kind of topics,we can sharing and exchange views & ideas.

Any senior or experience JMC outthere welcome to share.

cherroy
post Jan 12 2014, 10:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:00 PM)
Due to high demand, getting honest property manager/management company is not easy.. lots of bad apples in the market... if not careful enu.. alll funds will be gone in short period..
That why JMB/MC must put some "control" on the hired management company.
Any spending (apart from petty cash that range few hundred buck), must get the consent from JMB/MC.

Management company run the routine daily work, ensure daily basic necessity issue is run properly, while JMB/MC is the one decide what to spend.

From experience, there are some good property manager/management company, while there might be some that not that professional.

You do not need to have those top notch one, as whether how well the management a lot of time run depended largely on the JMB/MC.

Simply throw everything to management company and let the management company to decide is a big no no.

lucerne
post Jan 13 2014, 11:25 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 11 2014, 06:18 PM)

Ppl bought their properties 500k or even more  million...if they don't bother it...I can't imaging.

is it a good idea to set up a facebook account of JMB so all owners know all the activities, happending in condo/surrounding. quotation, tenders, costs etc

i have a a few condo which has FB account and i found it is very informative.

but some JMB refused to have FB coz it will expose their wrong doing or negative thing about the condo eg break in, poor maintenance etc and affect the value of the condo.

your comments?
TSycs
post Jan 19 2014, 03:29 PM

4,223 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 10 2014, 01:13 PM)
After the new 24 CCTV system was up in 2012.With cooperation from security company.

Our condo break in case managed to archive 90% rate of catching the insider jobs.

If break in cases are done by same of group of ppl,we
can easy trace their jobs if they repeat again.

Sad to said,90% of break in cases are chinese,all tenants living in the neighborhood.They formed a criminal gangs and go to rent out several condo to do the jobs.

They are keeping the stolen things in same block of break in unit after 2~3 days they swift out to different condo where they rented.

This was all told by the police when they successful catch the suspecteds.
my condo got cctv but they say every few months kena lightning strike/surge spoilt the whole system including car entry/exit system. apparently insurance paid until don't want to insure anymore??
cpng75
post Jan 19 2014, 08:32 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 19 2014, 03:29 PM)
my condo got cctv but they say every few months kena lightning strike/surge spoilt the whole system including car entry/exit system. apparently insurance paid until don't want to insure anymore??
Install surge protector to prevent lightning strike directly..

Almost everything related we installed the protector..

But need to keep monthly maintenance, replace the protectors after any incidents..
cpng75
post Jan 19 2014, 08:39 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 13 2014, 11:25 AM)
is it a good idea to set up a facebook account of JMB so all owners know all the activities, happending in condo/surrounding. quotation, tenders, costs etc

i have a a few condo which has FB account and i found it is very informative.

but some JMB refused to have FB coz it will expose their wrong doing or negative thing about the condo eg break in, poor maintenance etc and affect the value of the condo.

your comments?
We have management office staffs to handle daily ,we didn't pratising the FB cos eventually we got nothing but scolding and blame..

The lobby floor got a big notice board written in 3 languages..
lucerne
post Jan 19 2014, 09:31 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 19 2014, 08:39 PM)
We have management office staffs to handle daily ,we didn't pratising the FB cos eventually we got nothing but scolding and blame..

The lobby floor got a big notice board written in 3 languages..
i think nowaday people prefer to read notice /comments via social networks..
who wanna to spend time, stand and read the notice board??

my condo has FB page and i dun see people scolding and blame, some residents just want the management to improve, they will also upload some photos so the office can rectify the problem asap. public /resident involvement are much efficient to pin point the defects.
some resident also compliment/praise (or like) the office if they managed the resolved certain problems at once.

i think majority minded residents will ignore unreasonable /non constructive , blaming comments. (if any)

lucerne
post Jan 22 2014, 10:46 PM

1,946 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ondominium-CBT/

Condominium management chairman charged with CBT amounting to RM320,000
bobadlin
post Jan 23 2014, 04:52 PM

116 posts

this is a good thread..
i've been looking for this..hehe
i'm 1 of the JMC..and we're in the midst taking over from developer..
so we are now evaluating quotation from several management company..
such as: KJ, JL & Hartanah...
have you guys came across this company?
appreciate if you can give some feedback..

HuiChyr
post Jan 23 2014, 11:00 PM

567 posts

interesting topic.
"Qualified Property Managers" are rubbish. They also in the take from the suppliers. Worst bcoz they do not own the property, any project is "good" go. And another important fact .... just bcoz they are qualified property management from Valuer Board, they price is calculated by the square feet.

They charge exorbitant fees but hired low class building managers ... so these managers cari makan on the side lor.... brows.gif
HuiChyr
post Jan 23 2014, 11:06 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(bobadlin @ Jan 23 2014, 04:52 PM)
this is a good thread..

I had been in JMC for first 5 years. Retired for the last 3 years.
Experience tells me ALL management companies are the same devil.
My advise: permanently hire a GOOD Building manager & staffs to run your property.
It's cheaper and easily control.

Management Companies only hire cheapo building manager to make more profit.
And you cannot control who the Building manager is....
Bcoz most important factor of a building manager is PR and trustworthiness.
kochin
post Jan 23 2014, 11:14 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(bobadlin @ Jan 23 2014, 04:52 PM)
this is a good thread..

i notice rahim and co did quite a decent job in one of the building i visited lately.
CK15
post Jan 25 2014, 08:55 AM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Jan 23 2014, 11:00 PM)
"Qualified Property Managers" are rubbish. They also in the take from the suppliers. Worst bcoz they do not own the property, any project is "good" go. And another important fact .... just bcoz they are qualified property management from Valuer Board, they price is calculated by the square feet.

They charge exorbitant fees but hired low class building managers ... so these managers cari makan on the side lor.... brows.gif
+1.
Many cari makan management companies and managers out there... need to be careful when engaged them... also need to close monitor the managers' activities ... they know all the jalan to take adv!

CK15
post Jan 25 2014, 09:01 AM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Jan 23 2014, 11:06 PM)
My advise: permanently hire a GOOD Building manager & staffs to run your property.

Not easy and cumbersome to direct manage Building manager & staffs... avoid this path when possible..

As the JMC, u hv a say for the build manager to be place at ur management office la! U can ask to join interview and decide the candidate, and decide how much 4 the salary... pay peanut get monkey lor!

CK15
post Jan 25 2014, 09:04 AM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 23 2014, 11:14 PM)
i notice rahim and co did quite a decent job in one of the building i visited lately.
for good manage property, the credit shld go the JMC first, then to management company. Many bad apples even with good name.

cpng75
post Jan 25 2014, 10:49 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 25 2014, 09:04 AM)
for good manage property, the credit shld go the JMC first, then to management company. Many bad apples even with good name.
+1

Yup...JMC/MCs came first, Building manager the 2nd,the last one is Management agent.

JMC/MC members must not have private agenda first...
cpng75
post Jan 25 2014, 10:57 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jan 25 2014, 08:55 AM)
+1.
Many cari makan management companies and managers out there... need to be careful when engaged them... also need to close monitor the managers' activities ... they know all the jalan to take adv!
Management agents and the building managers are cari makan...correct...market pratising it all the while.
But my our condo experience »» as long as you response quickly and get the jobs done perfectly, we don't mind pay a little bit higher if our members not familiar with the areas involved.
cpng75
post Jan 25 2014, 11:31 AM

180 posts

Another infos regarding fire insurance sharing

As our property value increasing significantly during the decade especially in klang valley.But most of our
condos fire insurance covers remained the same from the starting when we are occupied it

So what I mean the fire insurance policy you have were underinsured.

Take my condo for example,our condo have triple the values.

So we based on the valuation suggestion from the insurance brokerage house, we are increasing our insured amount 10% annually to meet the market value according.

The fire insurance are divided among the oweners,
Management office will rebilling to individuals according so not extra cost for it.

We chosen insurance brokerage house not engaged the insurance company directly, we can get more quotantion among them which the brokerage proposed.Extra benefits maybe the premium much lower and the claims rate & processes definitely fast and higher.

mingyew
post Jan 15 2015, 03:58 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Jan 23 2014, 11:06 PM)

Older generation leader dont prefer this way, they feel like pick up all the responsibility on themselves.

evilea
post Aug 20 2015, 03:27 PM

Just wondering, so many pple in JMB here, Can recommend a good security company? Im currently a JMC member and would like to propose some options to replace the current company. thanks for your advice. smile.gif
kukai
post Jan 25 2016, 01:36 AM

Hello everyone, need your advise on this matter please.

1. Can a JMC member holding position become a Building Manager without having to step down?

Your advise in this is much appreciated, thanks
cherroy
post Jan 25 2016, 10:09 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kukai @ Jan 25 2016, 01:36 AM)
Hello everyone, need your advise on this matter please.

1. Can a JMC member holding position become a Building Manager without having to step down?

Your advise in this is much appreciated, thanks
It may have conflict of interest issue, by then. So no something advisable.

The newly enacted strata title only limit the term of JMC tenure, it doesn't state building manager can come from JMC member or not.

Also building or management manager is not a mandatory requirement.
As if JMC can run the management on their own, they can opt for not appointing a manager.

TSycs
post Feb 12 2016, 02:27 PM

4,223 posts

can those who are MC members help to explain how your condo's 'prayer room' is operated?

i.e. is there a special committee that handles its daily affairs, maintenance, electricity bills?

my condo's 'prayer room' committee only contribute RM100 towards utilities whilst the monthly bill is RM300-RM400

very tricky to solve
stryfox
post Feb 12 2016, 03:13 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 12 2016, 02:27 PM)
can those who are MC members help to explain how your condo's 'prayer room' is operated?

i.e. is there a special committee that handles its daily affairs, maintenance, electricity bills?

my condo's 'prayer room' committee only contribute RM100 towards utilities whilst the monthly bill is RM300-RM400

very tricky to solve
Normally, prayer room will be under Common Facilities which is shared amongst Resident.

As you had a special committee that specifically managed this 'room' and utilities bills record had shown that increased usage by that particular room, then MC will need to inform the special committee of the increase in utilities charges and request for special committee to increase their contribution to cover the shortfall.

Special committee has to evaluate the reason of increase in utilities - is it due to higher activities being performed there or wastage (i.e. Aircon / Fan / Lights left switch on when no one is using then they need to be more discipline and switch off after usage (example)

This post has been edited by stryfox: Feb 12 2016, 03:16 PM
aiskrimcup
post Mar 17 2016, 03:24 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(cpng75 @ Jan 25 2014, 11:31 AM)
Another infos regarding fire insurance sharing

As our property value increasing significantly during the decade especially in klang valley.But most of our
condos fire insurance covers remained the same from the starting when we are occupied it

So what I mean the fire insurance policy you have were underinsured.

Take my condo for example,our condo have triple the values.

So we based on the valuation suggestion from the insurance brokerage house, we are increasing our insured amount 10% annually to meet the market value according.

The fire insurance are divided among the oweners,
Management office will rebilling to individuals according so not extra cost for it.

We chosen insurance brokerage house not engaged the insurance company directly, we can get more quotantion among them which the brokerage proposed.Extra benefits maybe the premium much lower and the claims rate & processes definitely fast and higher.
Agreed!

Some more, this can solve a problem where new owner (subsale transaction) coming in. The new premium rate must sync with current value.
A320T1T2
post Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(evilea @ Aug 20 2015, 03:27 PM)
Just wondering, so many pple in JMB here, Can recommend a good security company? Im currently a JMC member and would like to propose some options to replace the current company. thanks for your advice. smile.gif
From my experience, it is better to contract out to security company that providing Nepalese security guards.
stryfox
post Mar 25 2016, 06:40 PM

354 posts

try calling this company. so far their nepalese guards are good

Attached File(s)
Attached File  IMG_6490_copy.pdf ( 122.16k ) Number of downloads: 159
lucerne
post Mar 25 2016, 11:50 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(A320T1T2 @ Mar 25 2016, 02:14 PM)
From my experience, it is better to contract out to security company that providing Nepalese security guards.
i think it is all depend, some Nepalese is not up to the par.
it is also depend on resident attitude. you must know these Nepalese dare not to offend the owners.

most important is to have good JMB or MC which can monitor their performance and continue to push them.
montagut
post Apr 25 2016, 07:04 PM

34 posts

Hi.

Its good to have this talk.

May I know, upon transferring from developer to JMB, there has been deficit by developer around RM100k. How to tackle this problem?

Currently we have partial block develop by developer. block 123 completed and rent out to students, facilities managed by developer and owner that rent out all unit to students. After 2 years block 345 completed and developer has appointed 1 new JMB to manage block 123 and block 456. We have been told that block 456 cannot have their own JMB, it must be under 1 JMB that the developer has appointed because the development is under 1 developer. Now final block 789 is building up and I think there will be a lot of problem occur after that. Please help. need expertise help here.

P/S: May I know anyone experience using software system that can handle for maintenance fee/sinking fund/electrical & water bill and complaint form?

The problem is when audited account transfer, it stated there got deficit for RM100k++
stryfox
post Apr 25 2016, 07:28 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(montagut @ Apr 25 2016, 07:04 PM)
Hi.

May I know, upon transferring from developer to JMB, there has been deficit by developer around RM100k. How to tackle this problem?
[COLOR=red][B]Deficit due to what reason? Is it becasue defaulters? or Expenses more than Income?

Currently we have partial block develop by developer. block 123 completed and rent out to students, facilities managed by developer and owner that rent out all unit to students. After 2 years block 345 completed and developer has appointed 1 new JMB to manage block 123 and block 456. We have been told that block 456 cannot have their own JMB, it must be under 1 JMB that the developer has appointed because the development is under 1 developer. Now final block 789 is building up and I think there will be a lot of problem occur after that. Please help. need expertise help here.

JMB formed after AGM? COB issued the Certificate?

P/S: May I know anyone experience using software system that can handle for maintenance fee/sinking fund/electrical & water bill and complaint form?

Any accounting solution would be able to manage since very simple accounting entry.
The problem is when audited account transfer, it stated there got deficit for RM100k++
montagut
post Apr 25 2016, 08:39 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Apr 25 2016, 08:28 PM)
1. JMB Formed after 2nd AGM, 1st AGM between developer and owner block 123
2. Audited reports mention because of commercial rate of water and electricity, due to that got deficit 100k++ and payment to maintenance contractor. But building on block 123 still under warranty from developer as dlp preiod is 2 years
3. Will check on the COB certificate

This post has been edited by montagut: Apr 25 2016, 08:41 PM
stryfox
post Apr 26 2016, 12:16 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(montagut @ Apr 25 2016, 08:39 PM)
1. JMB Formed after 2nd AGM, 1st AGM between developer and owner block 123
2. Audited reports mention because of commercial rate of water and electricity, due to that got deficit 100k++ and payment to maintenance contractor. But building on block 123 still under warranty from developer as dlp preiod is 2 years
3. Will check on the COB certificate
JMB Committee must play a strong role in going after Developer during DLP. Lodge report to COB for any complaint provided notify Developer first to rectify or remedy any breaches especially on Common Facilities. For individual owner, suggest they file at Strata Management Tribunal for Defects.

JMB have to scrutinise the Account. Normally, no payment to maintenance contractor as Developer to bear cost for rectification during DLP and should not charge to JMB Management Funds Accounts.

Alternatively, JMB have to call for EGM to raise Maintenance Charges to cover for expenses.

This post has been edited by stryfox: Apr 26 2016, 12:18 AM
aurora97
post Apr 26 2016, 04:21 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(montagut @ Apr 25 2016, 07:04 PM)
Hi.

Conduct an audit first.

The JMB will need to first know how much monies was received and how much monies have been paid and what for. The questions should be fairly straightforward because the monies in the maintenance account can only be used for limited purposes.

Once you have determined your income and expenses, you have to cross check against section 10(4) Act 757. If the monies claim is out of scope, claim back from developer. Also note, not all defects are claimable from maintenance because it is covered under DLP as per SPA.

Block 456 cannot have their own JMB really?

See section 17/18 of Act 757. After that make a report to COB.

Most condominium management use UBS accounting software. I suggest you guys start hunting for a facilities management body.

joshuawhlam
post May 14 2016, 08:09 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Apr 26 2016, 12:16 AM)
JMB Committee must play a strong role in going after Developer during DLP. Lodge report to COB for any complaint provided notify Developer first to rectify or remedy any breaches especially on Common Facilities. For individual owner, suggest they file at Strata Management Tribunal for Defects.

JMB have to scrutinise the Account. Normally, no payment to maintenance contractor as Developer to bear cost for rectification during DLP and should not charge to JMB Management Funds Accounts.

Alternatively, JMB have to call for EGM to raise Maintenance Charges to cover for expenses.
This post has been edited by joshuawhlam: May 14 2016, 08:13 PM
joshuawhlam
post May 14 2016, 08:11 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Apr 26 2016, 12:16 AM)

If property management and JMC didn't play good role and choose to increase the management fee for deficit. Maintenance fee is already high as RM0.32 and being raised to be RM0.48 and then RM0.575 excluding the sinking fund. What proprietor owners can do to stop the continuous increment?
cherroy
post May 14 2016, 10:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 14 2016, 08:11 PM)
If property management and JMC didn't play good role and choose to increase the management fee for deficit. Maintenance fee is already high as RM0.32 and being raised to be RM0.48 and then RM0.575 excluding the sinking fund. What proprietor owners can do to stop the continuous increment?
The only proprietor owner can do is call for EGM to remove existing JMC.

JMC is empowered to collect management fee for the upkeep of the building, any owner refuse or fail to pay in full on time is considered defaulter.

lucerne
post May 15 2016, 12:05 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 14 2016, 08:11 PM)
JMC must present the budget and explain why fee need to increase to seek approval during AGM. if the expenses are not reasonable eg to raise fund for capital expenditures for certain upgrading works, owners can always reject the proposal. usually if the collection is satisfactory eg >80% the income is enough to cover the expenses. only when too many defaulters where JMC has no choice to raise maintenance fee to pay for the operating costs. but we all know, Malaysia owners always refuse to pay maintenance fee, and the collection sometime is less than 50%. our authorities /enforcement are always not effective and JMB is helpless

pls take note that JMC is also owners and they have to pay the higher fee too if it has been increased.
joshuawhlam
post May 15 2016, 10:34 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ May 15 2016, 12:05 AM)
JMC must present the budget and explain why fee need to increase  to seek approval during AGM.  if the expenses are not reasonable eg to raise fund for capital expenditures for certain upgrading works, owners can always reject the proposal.  usually if the collection is satisfactory eg >80% the income is enough to cover the expenses. only when too many defaulters where JMC has no choice to raise maintenance fee to pay for the operating costs.  but we all know, Malaysia owners always refuse to pay maintenance fee, and the collection sometime is less than 50%.  our authorities /enforcement are always not effective and JMB is helpless

pls take note that JMC is also owners and they have to pay the higher fee too if it has been increased.
JMB is passive to ignore the enquiry on the propriety owners without single word after one year. To date, owners have no information on the detailed in EGM and AGM to pass the increment. No information on the proponent, seconder, vote count, effective date, rate of increment, resolution. After enquiring for many times, owner has limited information, but still don't know the detail. In the voting procedure, property management determine who can vote and who can not vote and some disqualified candidate can be candidate. Since JMB remain silent at any condition and pay property management well, property management stands to entertain the owner and protect the JMB. First increment is temporarily for 4 months to cover OPEX, but now it does seem use to cover CAPEX. Seem JMB may continue to increase the maintenance fee with no end. Owners are relundant to join current JMB since the JMB is so negative and has risk to be sued. Owners requested property management to have EGM discussing on this issue during Chinese New Year period, but being ignored and owners are hard to see those minutes locked posted limited time in office and no full owners list to contact. My last communication, property management said the payment rate more than 80%, but JMB starts to use for CAPEX. What's a single owner who concern my pocket can do?

cherroy
post May 15 2016, 11:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 15 2016, 10:34 AM)
JMB is passive to ignore the enquiry on the propriety owners without single word after one year. To date, owners have no information on the detailed in EGM and AGM to pass the increment. No information on the proponent, seconder, vote count, effective date, rate of increment, resolution. After enquiring for many times, owner has limited information, but still don't know the detail. In the voting procedure, property management determine who can vote and who can not vote and some disqualified candidate can be candidate. Since JMB remain silent at any condition and pay property management well, property management stands to entertain the owner and protect the JMB. First increment is temporarily for 4 months to cover OPEX, but now it does seem use to cover CAPEX. Seem JMB may continue to increase the maintenance fee with no end. Owners are relundant to join current JMB since the JMB is so negative and has risk to be sued. Owners requested property management to have EGM discussing on this issue during Chinese New Year period, but being ignored and owners are hard to see those minutes locked posted limited time in office and no full owners list to contact. My last communication, property management said the payment rate more than 80%, but JMB starts to use for CAPEX. What's a single owner who concern my pocket can do?
This is the root of problem.
A negative thinking/mindset, won't be able to rectify anything.
Owners need to be proactive and willing to remove the existing JMC and become JMC themselves if doesn't satisfy about current situation.

I had seen plenty of cases, that owners constantly complaining about existing management, but when tell them to involve directly time, lot of them "chicken out" already with excuses just like above.
No offence. smile.gif

Normally, JMC is covered by office bearer insurance that JMC can use the maintenance fee to pay for it.
Also, if JMC is always acting based on the act that empower them, there is nothing to fear.

lucerne
post May 15 2016, 12:24 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 15 2016, 10:34 AM)
seems u did not attend the EGM and AGM as u have no information on the voting.

property management must follow strata act to conduct the agm, voting right, qualify candidate, or their licence will be revoked. so i believed the increment has be done properly.

please treat the jmb as equal right as you and they are not employee of u. they are the rightful owner too and you are not their boss. suggest you study the strata act thoroughly and talk NICELY to them. noticed many residents still dont understand the strata act. JMC have lot of work to do since they are just a volunteer. they have no time to entertain each owner and some owners are so rude and aggressive. you can check more info via property manager or his staffs (not JMC ) since the management co managing this property. usually the AGM minutes will be published at the notice board after 28 days. but they maybe some delay if they are too busy. u can go to COB to check too.

even the collection now at 80%, but they are still many arrears after deficit for many years. this will affect the cash flow of the current operation.
it is not easy to contact all the owners , as some give wrong address or has sold the property to new owners. title checking at PTG land office also not updated

joshuawhlam
post May 15 2016, 01:33 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ May 15 2016, 12:24 PM)
seems u did not attend the EGM and AGM as u have no information on the voting.

property management must follow strata act to conduct the agm, voting right, qualify candidate, or their licence will be revoked. so i believed the increment has be done properly.

please treat the jmb as equal right as you and they are not employee of u.  they are the rightful owner too and you are not their boss. suggest you study the strata act thoroughly and talk NICELY to them. noticed many residents still dont understand the strata act. JMC have lot of work to do since they are just a volunteer. they have no time to entertain each owner and some owners are so rude and aggressive. you can check more info via property manager or his staffs (not JMC ) since the management co managing this property. usually the AGM minutes will be published at the notice board after 28 days. but they maybe some delay if they are too busy. u can go to COB to check too.

even the collection now at 80%, but they are still many arrears after deficit for many years. this will affect the cash flow of the current operation. 
it is not easy to contact all the owners , as some give wrong address or has sold the property to new owners. title checking at PTG land office also not updated
I did attend EGM and being elected as a subcommittee and I sent a proxy in 1st AGM. For 2nd AGM, I am abroad. Owners need to check the formal minute as formal document. Sometimes it is also easy to miss points in the meeting.

As my limited understanding, proxy is able to make one vote since not that kind of one proxy agent holding many votes. If proprietor owner did not clear the previous payment, proprietor owner is not qualified to vote or be candidate. To date, proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee due to support from floor. I am sharing my view based on my understanding of the act. I support any fellow neighbour to be committee since this is voluntary works, but act has to be followed.

For the first increment in EGM, owners have dispute and angry. But, owners mostly agreed to have temporarily increment for 4 months for immediate needs. What to do? Still have to pay TNB and water. Owners faced a tuff developer with big name. In EGM, subcommittee was being formed. Subcommittee started to act actively to write to architect and developer particularly suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood and contacted DBKL. JMC is neither supportive nor responsive to subcommittee. Then what for subcommittee works so hard since subcommittee seem not a recognized body in act but only workload. After long ignorance, subcommittee are better acts as common owner to pay maintenance fee and have less hassle.

But the condition does seem getting worse when temporary increment does not seem stop after 4 months as agreed in EGM. Then owners continue to pay. What to do? 2nd increment imposed with low attendant rate in 2nd AGM.

Owners experienced from zero (waived by developer initially), to be RM0.32, then RM0.48 and now RM0.575 within one year. To accelerate the payment, JMB and property management imposed late charge for non-payee. I understood JMB have right to do that. But the action is really pressure to owners. What to do? Pay to prevent as defaulter.

Owners are worrying the next increment.

lucerne
post May 15 2016, 02:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ May 15 2016, 01:33 PM)
I did attend EGM and being elected as a subcommittee and I sent a proxy in 1st AGM. For 2nd AGM, I am abroad. Owners need to check the formal minute as formal document. Sometimes it is also easy to miss points in the meeting.

As my limited understanding, proxy is able to make one vote since not that kind of one proxy agent holding many votes. If proprietor owner did not clear the previous payment, proprietor owner is not qualified to vote or be candidate. To date, proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee due to support from floor. I am sharing my view based on my understanding of the act. I support any fellow neighbour to be committee since this is voluntary works, but act has to be followed.

For the first increment in EGM, owners have dispute and angry. But, owners mostly agreed to have temporarily increment for 4 months for immediate needs. What to do? Still have to pay TNB and water. Owners faced a tuff developer with big name. In EGM, subcommittee was being formed. Subcommittee started to act actively to write to architect and developer particularly suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood and contacted DBKL. JMC is neither supportive nor responsive to subcommittee. Then what for subcommittee works so hard since subcommittee seem not a recognized body in act but only workload. After long ignorance, subcommittee are better acts as common owner to pay maintenance fee and have less hassle.

But the condition does seem getting worse when temporary increment does not seem stop after 4 months as agreed in EGM. Then owners continue to pay. What to do? 2nd increment imposed with low attendant rate in 2nd AGM.

Owners experienced from zero (waived by developer initially), to be RM0.32, then RM0.48 and now RM0.575 within one year. To accelerate the payment, JMB and property management imposed late charge for non-payee. I understood JMB have right to do that. But the action is really pressure to owners. What to do? Pay to prevent as defaulter.

Owners are worrying the next increment.
proxy not allow to vote- is it a co owner?

proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee - u can report to COB and disqualify the AGM/commitee
only those fully settled fee 7 days before AGM are qualified as committee,
he must not being elected as committee for the past 3 consecutive years
he is not bankrupt

since u care much - pls nominate your self as JMC (not sub committee) to give instruction to PMA

suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood - please fill at tribunal , there is no time bar.

joshuawhlam
post May 15 2016, 04:19 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ May 15 2016, 02:40 PM)
proxy not allow to vote- is it a co owner?

proxy disallows to vote and non-qualified candidate can be committee - u can report to COB and disqualify the AGM/commitee
only those fully settled fee 7 days before AGM are qualified as committee,
he must not being elected as committee for the past 3 consecutive years
he is not bankrupt

since u care much - pls nominate your self as JMC (not sub committee) to give instruction to PMA

suspected wrong architectural design to cause flood  - please fill at tribunal , there is no time bar.
Our community appreciates the kind reply for improvement.

In first AGM, I plan to be the committee member but coincidently I am not around. I used the clauses 8, 13, 12-2-c to be a qualified candidate because I am one of the trouble maker to complain the deflects at developer. I appointed my sister (she is neither owner nor co-owner) to be proxy (clause 8 said my sister as proxy cannot be candidate) and I have the right to be candidate (clause 13). However, my right has been disallowed and even my voting right by proxy has been disallowed (clause 12-2-c)

(8) For avoidance of doubt a proxy appointed by a proprietor shall not be eligible for election (as I my understanding, proxy ONLY cannot be candidate).
(13) an absent proprietor shall not be nominated for election as a member of the management committee unless he has appointed a proxy and has given his written consent to be nominated and elected as a member of the management committee.
(12-2-c) a notification to each proprietor of his voting rights and that he may vote in person or by proxy at the meeting

I wrote to property management, JMC and DBKL. DBKL gave respond that proxy can vote in conditions. I visited DBKL and COB many times to push forward the things. Most worrying, I don’t think the property manager understands the act well. No offence and I may be wrong. PMA seem busy until the next AGM and new property manager came.

In 2nd AGM, I believe the election process has been violated again. I am supportive for my neighbor to be committee, but act has to be followed.

(9) Notwithstanding subparagraph (7), an individual referred to in that subparagraph shall not be eligible for election as a member of the management committee of a management corporation if, on the seventh day before the date of election,
(a) where he is a proprietor or co-proprietor of a parcel, all or any part of the charges or contribution to the sinking fund, in respect of the parcel are in arrears.

I met the DBKL, COB, PMA and developer. DBKL and COB are the most helpful person without the conflict of interests. After I wrote letters and make more than 10 visits to DBKL, DBKL sent the team to confirm the flood, but PMA and JMB are really weak to follow up.

I am not a lawyer and my understanding may not be perfect. I try to prevent a close minded community formed in the city and to protect my pocket. Thanks for the suggestions. Have to compete in next AGM and instruct PMA directly and file Tribunal for suspected faults.

joshuawhlam
post Jun 7 2016, 10:22 PM

100 posts

I feel that law is weak in Malaysia. After two months, the respond from the JMC and property management are,

a) Owner's Enquiry: Abuse EGM outcome to increase maintenance fee only for 4 month probationary.
JMB and PMA Respond: Admitted. Strata Management Act 2013 (Act 757), Section 21 (2) (h), the JMB shall do all things reasonably. Then, incensement has been extended.

b) Owner's Enquiry: Allow disqualified member to be candidate and elected as committee due to 'floor support'.
JMB and PMA Respond: Admitted. Have sent the minutes to Commissioner of Oath (COO) and Commissioner of Buildings (COB) and they have made no further comment.

c) Enquiry: Disallow proxy to vote, which proxy can vote according to act.
No respond at all.

The current JMB and big name property management misinterpret that "JMB shall do all things reasonably" according to Strata Management Act 2013 (Act 757), Section 21 (2) (h) to ignore everything. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
shaniandras2787
post Jun 8 2016, 09:17 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ Jun 7 2016, 10:22 PM)
I feel that law is weak in Malaysia. After two months, the respond from the JMC and property management are,

a) Owner's Enquiry: Abuse EGM outcome to increase maintenance fee only for 4 month probationary.
JMB and PMA Respond: Admitted. Strata Management Act 2013 (Act 757), Section 21 (2) (h), the JMB shall do all things reasonably. Then, incensement has been extended.

b) Owner's Enquiry: Allow disqualified member to be candidate and elected as committee due to 'floor support'.
JMB and PMA Respond: Admitted. Have sent the minutes to Commissioner of Oath (COO) and Commissioner of Buildings (COB) and they have made no further comment.

No respond at all. 

The current JMB and big name property management misinterpret that "JMB shall do all things reasonably" according to Strata Management Act 2013 (Act 757), Section 21 (2) (h) to ignore everything.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
the law is not weak in Malaysia, it's the enforcement that is weak.

moganic
post Aug 15 2016, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ Jun 7 2016, 10:22 PM)

No respond at all. 

The current JMB and big name property management misinterpret that "JMB shall do all things reasonably" according to Strata Management Act 2013 (Act 757), Section 21 (2) (h) to ignore everything.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Judging from what said,
a)bring the JMC to tribunal on the matters of extension of period of the increasement without prior voting.

b) send in a official enquiry to COB for their Official answers.

c) get the evidences and ask the COB to disband this JMC and request a new EGM to elect new JMC member.

my advice prepare yourself for the next AGM, such as make a recording of the AGM, or get the others owner together to vote for u or some1 u prefer. If u intent to "fight" them, its easier to become 1 of the committee at least.
kiddyinvestor
post Mar 13 2017, 04:52 PM

447 posts

Anyone can recommend good Management Company to manage Condo? What about security guard firm? Care to recommend?
vandechrome
post Mar 13 2017, 04:56 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Mar 13 2017, 04:52 PM)
Anyone can recommend good Management Company to manage Condo? What about security guard firm? Care to recommend?
for which area?
aerokhart
post Mar 14 2017, 10:19 AM

89 posts

would like to ask regarding JMB enforcement on house rule,

we have several house rule which owner tends to ignore or violate : e.g wearing full cloth swimming/littering everywhere/consume alcohol at pool.Current management choose to do verbal warning to these offender only and no further action. When question management for impose fine, Management hesistate as it's not in the house rule to impose fine.

Can JMB enforce fine/penalty on these offender after multiple warning been given out? seems like management office indicated that we are not suppose to issue fine to owner.
lucerne
post Mar 15 2017, 12:09 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(aerokhart @ Mar 14 2017, 10:19 AM)
would like to ask regarding JMB enforcement on house rule,

we have several house rule which owner tends to ignore or violate : e.g wearing full cloth swimming/littering everywhere/consume alcohol at pool.Current management choose to do verbal warning to these offender only and no further action. When question management for impose fine, Management hesistate as it's not in the house rule to impose fine.

Can JMB enforce fine/penalty on these offender after multiple warning been given out? seems like management office indicated that we are not suppose to issue fine to owner.
yes u can change the house rules at EGM, AGM.
pass the resolutions to fine offence that most residents want to impose.
fine up to rm200.
kiddyinvestor
post Mar 15 2017, 09:23 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Mar 13 2017, 04:56 PM)
for which area?
Puchong
lucerne
post Mar 15 2017, 06:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Mar 15 2017, 12:09 AM)
yes u can change the house rules at EGM, AGM.
pass the resolutions to fine offence that most residents want to impose.
fine up to rm200.
please take note u cant add additional by law which contravenes to federal law eg reject certain tenant by nationality, discriminate, imposed higher penalty/fine vs federal law, contravene to contract law eg limit tenants to use facilities , impose higher fee for tenants vs live in owners etc. as owners has transfer their full rights to tenants
sailou
post Mar 15 2017, 06:51 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Mar 15 2017, 09:23 AM)
Puchong
So what sort of problem that you require a change of management company?

Management company are more or less the same unless you are willing to fork out higher price for better quality.

Otherwise, you will need a set of extremely committed management committee.

aerokhart
post Mar 16 2017, 08:25 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Mar 15 2017, 06:40 PM)
please take note u cant add additional by law which contravenes to federal law eg reject certain tenant by nationality, discriminate,  imposed higher penalty/fine vs federal law, contravene to contract law eg limit tenants to use facilities , impose higher fee for tenants vs live in owners etc. as owners has transfer their full rights to tenants
Yes our intention to applies fine to all owner/tenant on the same level, I believe that all this fine will be consider as non compliance fine, If owner/tenant refuse to honor the fine what would be the next step.

kiddyinvestor
post Mar 27 2017, 10:29 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Mar 15 2017, 06:40 PM)
please take note u cant add additional by law which contravenes to federal law eg reject certain tenant by nationality, discriminate,  imposed higher penalty/fine vs federal law, contravene to contract law eg limit tenants to use facilities , impose higher fee for tenants vs live in owners etc. as owners has transfer their full rights to tenants
Impose higher fee? eh.....i thought under Strata Management Act, you are not suppose to simply impose higher fee though...is all based on unit size to calculate maintenance fees..?
lucerne
post Mar 27 2017, 06:18 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Mar 27 2017, 10:29 AM)
Impose higher fee? eh.....i thought under Strata Management Act, you are not suppose to simply impose higher fee though...is all based on unit size to calculate maintenance fees..?
i mean fee eg resident cards, access cards, extra fee to use common facilities etc
rupart
post Apr 17 2017, 04:45 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Mar 13 2017, 04:52 PM)
still need help? we have just done ours....i am in MC...really a lot of work...r u in mc?

rupart
post Apr 17 2017, 04:51 PM

421 posts

about changing Mgt company aka property mgmt co or Security or anyone.....first of all....outline scope of work...list down what you want your service provider do for your condo (remember, every condo is unique and has its challenges to solve)..

based on that, see which providers interested...remember....based on sow the price may vary...so u have to nego whether u want to drop scope or increase price or if very good then win them to do the work for you free with ur sweet talk (its called relationship)....never ever think or take granted of service providers....example...cleaners will not do gardening...or landscaper do cleaner work...so dont be pushy or giving extra work all the time...it will demotivate them..

another point to note...nowdays security guards prefer air cond control room(for comfort and motivation....none of u working under fan anymore rite? so ac now is std and be considerate...u will hv challenge to get good guards in ur condo without nice room

hope that helps

This post has been edited by rupart: Apr 17 2017, 04:56 PM
tgwkt
post Sep 25 2017, 01:29 PM

188 posts

Hi guys, during first AGM, the developer and management company showed the accounting figures and there is a huge sum of deficit.

Question is, should the JMB still be formed with the deficit floating around? Once JMB is formed the the deficit is now responsibility of the committee?
rupart
post Sep 26 2017, 07:41 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(tgwkt @ Sep 25 2017, 01:29 PM)
Hi guys, during first AGM, the developer and management company showed the accounting figures and there is a huge sum of deficit.

Question is, should the JMB still be formed with the deficit floating around? Once JMB is formed the the deficit is now responsibility of the committee?
Is that audited and apprpved acc?

If JMB take over then u puruse the deficit(if it can be clawed back) or ignore and move on...obviously both will fire u back by residents
ZzZzz...
post Nov 6 2017, 01:01 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

not sure this is the correct place to ask...

Question:
why there's a condo policy saying that renovation can be only done in between Management operation hour?
Monday- Friday 8.30am till 5.00pm
Saturday 8.30-1pm
Sunday Off

sailou
post Nov 6 2017, 01:37 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Nov 6 2017, 01:01 PM)
not sure this is the correct place to ask...

Question:
why there's a condo policy saying that renovation can be only done in between Management operation hour?
Monday- Friday 8.30am till 5.00pm
Saturday 8.30-1pm
Sunday Off
This falls under the house rules which is set by every different condo. Hence, different condo may have different renovation hours.

This is to ensure residents will have a peace of mind when they come home from work.
ZzZzz...
post Nov 6 2017, 01:40 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Nov 6 2017, 01:37 PM)
This falls under the house rules which is set by every different condo. Hence, different condo may have different renovation hours.

This is to ensure residents will have a peace of mind when they come home from work.
i see.....but does setting up Internet consider part of renovation?
im seems to have trouble doing so..

p/s, first time staying in condo
nookie188
post Nov 6 2017, 02:07 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Nov 6 2017, 01:40 PM)

little bit of grey area there - some mgt office will allow outside the official reno days and hours provided no drilling or anything that
can cause annoyance to your neighbours..

some mgt office will stick strictly to the official reno hours..

So BEST way to do this is to ask your mgt office..
ZzZzz...
post Nov 6 2017, 02:30 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Nov 6 2017, 02:07 PM)
little bit of grey area there - some mgt office will allow outside the official reno days and hours provided no drilling or anything that
can cause annoyance to your neighbours..

some mgt office will stick strictly to the official reno hours..

So BEST way to do this is to ask your mgt office..
i see...thanks clarify
honkkydorry
post Jan 18 2018, 02:54 PM

676 posts

Does illegal renovation affects issuance of Strata Title? Does the authority actually comes to check the property before releasing the Strata Title?

My apartment block has one unit that modified its façade and hacked the wall. Due to poor Management Office monitoring at that time, the owner managed to get away with this illegal renovation. The JMB said the previous property management company did file a complaint with Tribunal but then JMB also has no record of such filing.
RobA4
post Jan 21 2018, 11:47 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Jan 18 2018, 02:54 PM)
Does illegal renovation affects issuance of Strata Title? Does the authority actually comes to check the property before releasing the Strata Title?

My apartment block has one unit that modified its façade and hacked the wall. Due to poor Management Office monitoring at that time, the owner managed to get away with this illegal renovation.  The JMB said the previous property management company did file a complaint with Tribunal but then JMB also has no record of such filing.
Then file a fresh complaint. If anything, it will prompt a response from the owner or the Tribunal.

BartLim
post Jan 25 2018, 11:47 AM

Noted. Will try to get their contact n pass on to you. Cheers
BartLim
post Jan 26 2018, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(BartLim @ Jan 25 2018, 11:47 AM)
Noted. Will try to get their contact n pass  on to you. Cheers
This is their contact: 0322011913
awongck
post Mar 8 2018, 12:27 PM

372 posts

Does anyone here know if a JMB needs any kind of approval before increasing maintenance fees and sinking fund? My condo just raised it by almost 70% from 100.10 a month to 170 a month.

Also is the JMB allowed to list / print and stick a notice showing all the unit owners numbers / names and amount owned on each block?

Appreciate any kind of information here.
sailou
post Mar 8 2018, 01:13 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Mar 8 2018, 12:27 PM)
Does anyone here know if a JMB needs any kind of approval before increasing maintenance fees and sinking fund? My condo just raised it by almost 70% from 100.10 a month to 170 a month.

Also is the JMB allowed to list / print and stick a notice showing all the unit owners numbers / names and amount owned on each block?

Yes. By tabling the audit and budget and getting consent from the owners at the AGM. Did you attend the recent AGM?

Yes. Allowed to publish defaulters list as according to the Act. Don't like it? Then be a good payee. Everyone needs to play their role in a condo.
Fortezan
post Mar 8 2018, 02:52 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Mar 8 2018, 12:27 PM)

70% increase is a big jump, mind sharing which condo is this? When was the last increase?
awongck
post Mar 8 2018, 03:24 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Mar 8 2018, 01:13 PM)
Yes. By tabling the audit and budget and getting consent from the owners at the AGM. Did you attend the recent AGM?

Yes. Allowed to publish defaulters list as according to the Act. Don't like it? Then be a good payee. Everyone needs to play their role in a condo.
OK thanks bro.
awongck
post Mar 8 2018, 03:27 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Mar 8 2018, 02:52 PM)
70% increase is a big jump, mind sharing which condo is this? When was the last increase?
Garden Park Condo in Bandar Sg Long. Original maintenance was 100.10 increased to 150, sinking fund was 10RM increased to 20. Last increase was about 5 years ago but 70% just seems to be too much when residents were only paying 100 a month

They also mentioned in the notice that they had gotten approval from COB Kajang. Can we are residents request the JMB to show us the approved letter by the COB?

This post has been edited by awongck: Mar 8 2018, 03:28 PM
Fortezan
post Mar 8 2018, 05:26 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Mar 8 2018, 03:27 PM)
Garden Park Condo in Bandar Sg Long. Original maintenance was 100.10 increased to 150, sinking fund was 10RM increased to 20. Last increase was about 5 years ago but 70% just seems to be too much when residents were only paying 100 a month

They also mentioned in the notice that they had gotten approval from COB Kajang. Can we are residents request the JMB to show us the approved letter by the COB?
Pretty sure you can, but I believe whatever justification to support the increase would have already been discussed in your last AGM, which you've probably missed. Since this increase has been approved, that means majority of those who attended the AGM felt the increase is justified and voted to pass it.
It is important for each residents to attend the AGM to make their voice heard, else you'll just have to accept what the majority has voted.
awongck
post Mar 8 2018, 05:34 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Mar 8 2018, 05:26 PM)
Pretty sure you can, but I believe whatever justification to support the increase would have already been discussed in your last AGM, which you've probably missed. Since this increase has been approved, that means majority of those who attended the AGM felt the increase is justified and voted to pass it.
It is important for each residents to attend the AGM to make their voice heard, else you'll just have to accept what the majority has voted.
Yeah, I guess that was a mistake on my part. Thanks for all the advice guys. Appreciate it!
nookie188
post Mar 8 2018, 05:56 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Nov 6 2017, 01:40 PM)

usually not under reno - just inform the office when the service provider is coming and
have it done during office hours
asiatrader98
post Mar 13 2018, 11:59 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Mar 13 2017, 04:56 PM)
for which area?
yeah...keen to know also...kl area
WinkyJr
post Mar 15 2018, 12:31 PM

430 posts

the apartment that i wanted to buy don't have strata title
the dev already winding up
currently managed by their own JMB

since the strata title is null, bank do not want to give loan
should i ask JMB to apply strata for that particular parcel only?
is that under JMB reponsibility to make sure all unit got strata title?
if JMB refuse, is it possible for me to apply the strata for current apartment on behalf of the owner?
the owner is old already, do not care much about all those strata, just want to sell the house

i cannot afford to fork out cash to buy the house
and i do not want to buy house with out strata too

bill11
post Mar 21 2018, 02:29 PM

303 posts

Any member here encounter the TNB issue of double billing, or the first meter and second meter will have variation ?

For instance this condo have 5 TNB meter, which one of the meter will connect to second meter which only to shop lot unit. However the first meter and second meter not tally...

Also any experience on the double billing able to settle with TNB? like the management already requested the breakdown of the monthly charges for the year 2017 but unable to provide at all.. we suspecting they are double charge us...
cherroy
post Mar 21 2018, 03:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Mar 15 2018, 12:31 PM)
the apartment that i wanted to buy don't have strata title
the dev already winding up
currently managed by their own JMB

since the strata title is null, bank do not want to give loan
should i ask JMB to apply strata for that particular parcel only?
is that under JMB reponsibility to make sure all unit got strata title?
if JMB refuse, is it possible for me to apply the strata for current apartment on behalf of the owner?
the owner is old already, do not care much about all those strata, just want to sell the house

i cannot afford to fork out cash to buy the house
and i do not want to buy house with out strata too
JMB is empowered to take care of the building common area and common interest of owners.

For Strata title, JMB is powerless to do anything nor empowered under the strata title act to do any strata title issuing matter.

Only the developer or owner of the origin master title can sub-divide into strata title.
If developer never sub-divided the land title in the first place, nothing much owner can do except pressuring the developer/master title owner.

kukai
post May 23 2018, 04:29 PM

Anyone here from PV6 Condo?

Need some advise on the MC and development.

mt24
post Aug 5 2018, 05:14 PM

499 posts

hello everyone,

Just would like to have everyone's point of view in regards to JMB /MC.
I am a committee member of my residential. at the moment, the billings, payment all done manually,i.e. via excell and manual account book. previous management was very bad, the account book wasnt updated since 2015.
Since new management take over, we manage to update the record to the current one.

Recently we had an AGM and majority are agreed to impose late payment interest fees as well as sinking fund. Knowing accounting is no longer straight forward, we thought of to use proper / simple accounting software to make our clerk life easier.

Would you please suggest what is the affordable accounting software available in the market for low rise apartment.

We cant afford fancy /canggih accounting software, our residents are only 200 pax only. Preferably those with only one time payment. The software no need to be online / cloud based solution.

Please help to suggest.

sailou
post Aug 5 2018, 05:21 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Aug 5 2018, 05:14 PM)
hello everyone,

I am a committee member of my residential. at the moment, the billings, payment all done manually,i.e. via excell and manual account book. previous management was very bad, the account book wasnt updated since 2015.
Since new management take over, we manage to update the record to the current one.

Recently we had an AGM and majority are agreed to impose late payment interest fees as well as sinking fund.  Knowing accounting is no longer straight forward, we thought of to use proper / simple accounting software to make our clerk life easier.

Would you please suggest what is the affordable accounting software available in the market for low rise apartment.

We cant afford fancy /canggih accounting software, our residents are only 200 pax only. Preferably those with only one time payment. The software no need to be online / cloud based solution.

Please help to suggest.

Pro and cons.

Online based will charge monthly but at few hundreds. Your data is safe in cloud. Any tampering will leave logs and footprints. Requires internet all the time.

Your own accounting software will cost few thousands. Of course cheaper than online on the long run. Not safe proof. Must be backed up all the time.
mt24
post Aug 5 2018, 05:23 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Aug 5 2018, 05:21 PM)
Pro and cons.

Online based will charge monthly but at few hundreds. Your data is safe in cloud. Any tampering will leave logs and footprints. Requires internet all the time.

Your own accounting software will cost few thousands. Of course cheaper than online on the long run. Not safe proof. Must be backed up all the time.
do u have any recommendation for both online and offline solution?

peri peri
post Aug 9 2018, 09:55 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

dont get urself confused with JMB JMC and MC

totally different function!
rupart
post Aug 9 2018, 02:11 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Aug 5 2018, 05:14 PM)
hello everyone,

Recently we had an AGM and majority are agreed to impose late payment interest fees as well as sinking fund.  Knowing accounting is no longer straight forward, we thought of to use proper / simple accounting software to make our clerk life easier.

Please help to suggest.

sounds like you all doing Managegement Office function...means u dont have 3rd party doing it....if you do then ask them...they know a few types of software...ie ubs or css...if not mistaken

This post has been edited by rupart: Aug 9 2018, 02:13 PM
mt24
post Aug 9 2018, 03:02 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(rupart @ Aug 9 2018, 02:11 PM)
sounds like you all doing Managegement Office function...means u dont have 3rd party doing it....if you do then ask them...they know a few types of software...ie ubs or css...if not mistaken
Correct. Third party fees aka agent is expensive. We don't want to burden the residents with their fees. Somemore our money is not enough. Having own kerani, cleaners, maintenance guys is enough to run small residential like us. But the headache is on us. We are not full timer hence need good software to manage jmb accounts.
sailou
post Aug 10 2018, 03:23 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Aug 5 2018, 05:23 PM)
do u have any recommendation  for both online and offline solution?
I only heard of UBS for building management software. Personally have experience with CSS online based accounting.

I heard there are plenty of other online based software. Some are promoted as free because they just enter the market. Not sure how relevant or how reliable.
I am not in position to recommend.

Weigh in your pros and cons before you decide.
SUSJasonLeeX
post Aug 10 2018, 07:51 PM

468 posts

That's why those projects with shit tons of facilities are actually a BAD idea.

You know you are not going to use those facilities but they still need to maintain nevertheless.

sailou
post Aug 10 2018, 11:47 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(JasonLeeX @ Aug 10 2018, 07:51 PM)
That's why those projects with shit tons of facilities are actually a BAD idea.

You know you are not going to use those facilities but they still need to maintain nevertheless.
What you said is completely true especially those condos with a lot of water features. The more facilities the harder it is to maintain.
lucerne
post Sep 7 2018, 03:24 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Aug 10 2018, 03:23 PM)
I only heard of UBS for building management software. Personally have experience with CSS online based accounting.

I heard there are plenty of other online based software. Some are promoted as free because they just enter the market. Not sure how relevant or how reliable.
I am not in position to recommend.

Weigh in your pros and cons before you decide.
yes better get a 3rd party accounting eg CSS ..it is safer and provide check and balance.
u just need a account clerks to input the data eg invoice, payments etc. system will generate reports

https://www.cssdecisions.com/product10.html

ace77
post Sep 23 2018, 03:59 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Aug 9 2018, 03:02 PM)
Correct. Third party fees aka agent is expensive. We don't want to burden the residents with their fees. Somemore our money is not enough. Having own kerani, cleaners, maintenance guys is enough to run small residential like us. But the headache is on us. We are not full timer hence need good software to manage jmb accounts.
it is important to get a proper software to get things done properly. This is especially since u have spent so much time to correct it first place. The system need to be in place for any subsequent appointment will not mess it up. thus, UBS BSM should be consider.

Putting office paper work in system help to avoid any human errors. Do explore on that line. This cost is unavoidable as it will help in the long run. Please check your current owner list being update or not? Pls PM me if you need any info
mt24
post Sep 23 2018, 08:41 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(ace77 @ Sep 23 2018, 03:59 PM)
it is important to get a proper software to get things done properly. This is especially since u have spent so much time to correct it first place. The system need to be in place for any subsequent appointment will not mess it up. thus, UBS BSM should be consider. 

Putting office paper work in system help to avoid any human errors. Do explore on that line. This cost is unavoidable as it will help in the long run.  Please check your current owner list being update or not? Pls PM me if you need any info
Oh we actually had found a good software (cloud base solution) with very reasonable price. JMB has decided to use the software and now is in the progress to migrate data.
rupart
post Oct 5 2018, 11:16 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Sep 23 2018, 08:41 PM)
Oh we actually had found a good software (cloud base solution) with very reasonable price. JMB has decided to use the software and now is in the progress to migrate data.
mind to share the name?
tacrazor
post Oct 9 2018, 11:47 AM

QUOTE(mt24 @ Sep 23 2018, 08:41 PM)
yeah bro.. mind to share the software and the pricing? i might need to consider one to manage account of JMB with similar like yours.
ahboon76
post Oct 16 2018, 09:59 AM

185 posts

My condo decided to held the General annual meeting is a place which not covienience to us. can we suggest to help it near to the condo?
cherroy
post Oct 16 2018, 10:25 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ahboon76 @ Oct 16 2018, 09:59 AM)
My condo decided to held the General annual meeting is a place which not covienience to us. can we suggest to help it near to the condo?
You can suggest, preferably request in group.

Still, ultimate decision is up to the existing committee.

Normally, what I knew most AGM are conducted within condo area/meeting room.
ahboon76
post Oct 16 2018, 01:31 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 16 2018, 10:25 AM)
You can suggest, preferably request in group.

Still, ultimate decision is up to the existing committee.

Normally, what I knew most AGM are conducted within condo area/meeting room.
LTG
post Oct 16 2018, 01:50 PM

1,780 posts

may i know any conflict of interest of 4 of 7 comminitee was developer staff.
they appoint developer building manager as jmb chairman also.
during first AGM, no people know they are developer staff even introduce them self also no mention. they have take over jmb for first year DLP, after first year they all resign and leaving, many building defect no handle now and account very messy.
maintenance fees increase 10% to clean up their shit work now.
can sue them to COB?
cherroy
post Oct 16 2018, 02:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(LTG @ Oct 16 2018, 01:50 PM)
may i know any conflict of interest of 4 of 7 comminitee was developer staff.
they appoint developer building manager as jmb chairman also.
during first AGM, no people know they are developer staff even introduce them self also no mention. they have take over jmb for first year DLP, after first year they all resign and leaving, many building defect no handle now and account very messy.
maintenance fees increase 10% to clean up their shit work now.
can sue them to COB?
As long as the committee were appointed based on the strata title act, and committee do not have any breach of trust, then it is nothing wrong.

Even the committee member comes from developer, there is no reason why they want to jeopardise the JMB, a poorly managed JMB that result a poor environment for the building may ruin the developer image for the future.
Instead a well run JMB in fact may boost the developer image, and can attract more people to buy its future launching properties which result people willing to pay a premium for its property.

If the committee members are not up to task, then just call an EGM and vote them out, owner can form their own "group" of people to manage.

LTG
post Oct 16 2018, 03:03 PM

1,780 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 16 2018, 02:45 PM)
As long as the committee were appointed based on the strata title act, and committee do not have any breach of trust, then it is nothing wrong.

Even the committee member comes from developer, there is no reason why they want to jeopardise the JMB, a poorly managed JMB that result a poor environment for the building may ruin the developer image for the future.
Instead a well run JMB in fact may boost the developer image, and can attract more people to buy its future launching properties which result people willing to pay a premium for its property.

If the committee members are not up to task, then just call an EGM and vote them out, owner can form their own "group" of people to manage.
Thanks, we just fooling by developer and we cant do any thing.

great job OXK
nookie188
post Oct 16 2018, 03:54 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(LTG @ Oct 16 2018, 03:03 PM)
Thanks, we just fooling by developer and we cant do any thing.

great job OXK
Based on SMA 2013 - developer can only have one representative in the JMB REGARDLESS of number of units in hand...

To be sure just call up COB and get confirmation ..
LTG
post Oct 16 2018, 04:00 PM

1,780 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Oct 16 2018, 03:54 PM)
Based on SMA 2013 - developer can only have one representative in the JMB REGARDLESS of number of units in hand...

To be sure just call up COB and get confirmation ..
developer representative become chairman and support by their staff which also own some unit there
nookie188
post Oct 16 2018, 07:45 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(LTG @ Oct 16 2018, 04:00 PM)
developer representative become chairman and support by their staff which also own some unit there
if that is the case, the owners can file an official complaint to the cob
leongsem
post Dec 6 2018, 04:12 PM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Mar 15 2017, 06:51 PM)
So what sort of problem that you require a change of management company?

Management company are more or less the same unless you are willing to fork out higher price for better quality.

Otherwise, you will need a set of extremely committed management committee.
Hi, is JMB pay for management company annual bonus?

our mgnt company ask us to pay

nookie188
post Dec 6 2018, 05:31 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Dec 6 2018, 04:12 PM)
Hi, is JMB pay for management company annual bonus?

our mgnt company ask us to pay
no they cant force you guys to pay unless its in the contract that you signed with the management company - read through the
terms and conditions and see anything stated re bonus if not its totally discretionary!

This post has been edited by nookie188: Dec 6 2018, 05:32 PM
leongsem
post Dec 6 2018, 06:07 PM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Dec 6 2018, 05:31 PM)
no they cant force you guys to pay unless its in the contract that you signed with the management company - read through the
terms and conditions and see anything stated re bonus if not its totally discretionary!
we only pay for those staff that station in our condo.....

we might need to review again next year, tq
sailou
post Dec 6 2018, 07:36 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Dec 6 2018, 06:07 PM)
we only pay for those staff that station in our condo.....

we might need to review again next year, tq
It is right that you only pay bonus if it's stated in the contract. Most of the time the management company will jack up the staff salary to include other perks such as EPF , SOCSO, annual bonus and insurance. In another sense it means that they claimed 2500 salary from your condo for the admin staff but in actual the staff only gets 1800 monthly. The rest is his perks.

Nevertheless, JMB or MC often don't care if staffs are well paid or fairly paid because they need to save as much money as possible. Hence, the quality of management company are often poor because of staff turnover. You might want to ponder if your current staff is good but they don't get their bonus. So do you think they will still be around in another 3 months?
minseaman
post Mar 15 2019, 11:07 AM

66 posts

May I know to organize a town hall do the JMB take responsibilities or the resident need to organize it? (Preparing people to take minutes, spokes person, time keeper etc)
ulala2
post Mar 18 2019, 12:05 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(minseaman @ Mar 15 2019, 11:07 AM)

May I know to organize a town hall do the JMB take responsibilities or the resident need to organize it? (Preparing people to take minutes, spokes person, time keeper etc)
your town hall is it refer to AGM/EGM?
If this is 1st AGM of JMB/MC, it should arrange by developer, if this is 2nd or subsequent AGM for JMB/MC, should be arrange by JMB/MC
minseaman
post Mar 19 2019, 09:09 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Mar 18 2019, 12:05 PM)
your town hall is it refer to AGM/EGM?
If this is 1st AGM of JMB/MC, it should arrange by developer, if this is 2nd or subsequent AGM for JMB/MC, should be arrange by JMB/MC

Umm.. actually our JMB is not very responsive and didnt address to many urgent issues that we had. So, some unhappy resident called for Townhall so that JMB / JMC can answer the resident's enquiries. But there was a debate on who will be organizing the townhall meeting, as the JMB so far was silent...
ulala2
post Mar 20 2019, 12:53 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(minseaman @ Mar 19 2019, 09:09 AM)

Umm.. actually our JMB is not very responsive and didnt address to many urgent issues that we had. So, some unhappy resident called for Townhall so that JMB / JMC can answer the resident's enquiries. But there was a debate on who will be organizing the townhall meeting, as the JMB so far was silent...
As refer to SMA Act 2013 Second Schedule, Section 11, EGM

The JMB/MC shall convene an EGM with the condition
1) requisition in writting made by the proprietor who are together entitled to at least one-quarter of the aggregate share units
2) As directed by COB
3) or such other occasion as it think fit.

For your situation, you may try to gather a group of proprietor (1/4 of share unit) and issue written request to JMB/MC to convene EGM to discuss on all the urgent issue as mentioned by u.

Please read Section 11 for more details.
TQ
minseaman
post Mar 20 2019, 01:04 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Mar 20 2019, 12:53 PM)
As refer to SMA Act 2013 Second Schedule, Section 11, EGM

The JMB/MC shall convene an EGM with the condition
1) requisition in writting made by the proprietor who are together entitled to at least one-quarter of the aggregate share units
2) As directed by COB
3) or such other occasion as it think fit.

For your situation, you may try to gather a group of proprietor (1/4 of share unit) and issue written request to JMB/MC to convene EGM to discuss on all the urgent issue as mentioned by u.

Please read Section 11 for more details.
TQ
alright, i will try to read & understand. thanks yeah
kaiserreich
post Mar 23 2019, 06:10 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

How to compel residents to attend AGM? My apartment is low dense with 90+ units.

Last AGM only have 4 residents attending vs 7 committee members + staff. COB handbook says that if no quorum, then AGM will proceed after x amount of minutes.

Problem is that Committee members are not able to quit (all been here for 3 - 4 years). Some residents come in, scold the committee then walk out.
But when got problems with the building (homestay, broken this and that, guards etcs) the residents look at committee members like they owe them money.
sailou
post Mar 24 2019, 08:16 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 23 2019, 06:10 PM)
How to compel residents to attend AGM? My apartment is low dense with 90+ units.

Last AGM only have 4 residents attending vs 7 committee members + staff. COB handbook says that if no quorum, then AGM will proceed after x amount of minutes.

Problem is that Committee members are not able to quit (all been here for 3 - 4 years). Some residents come in, scold the committee then walk out.
But when got problems with the building (homestay, broken this and that, guards etcs) the residents look at committee members like they owe them money.
Extremely common in Malaysia. It's even worse in many other places. Just stand your ground and make sure the account is not in red.
ulala2
post Mar 25 2019, 12:50 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 23 2019, 06:10 PM)

Based on new act, all members should not more than 3 terms if not mistaken. So if after that no ppl want to become JMB/MC. Get COB help to appoint Managing Agent.
kaiserreich
post Mar 25 2019, 01:21 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Mar 25 2019, 12:50 PM)
Based on new act, all members should not more than 3 terms if not mistaken. So if after that no ppl want to become JMB/MC. Get COB help to appoint Managing Agent.
I looked up the strata management act 2013

Not more than 3 terms for member, cannot hold top 3 post for more than 2 consecutive terms.

Will educate the residents accordingly prior to AGM.
subaiku
post Jun 1 2020, 05:25 PM

445 posts

Oh, just discovered this thread. I posted in the main prop forum but do any of you guys have a ballpark figure for how much a security / barrier gate system costs? Medium level no need super high end canggih tongue.gif
AIAF
post Jun 5 2020, 10:23 AM

272 posts

This seems like such an unpleasant job to have with no returns. Anyone here is part of a JMB/MC? May I know why you decided to join and any regrets? Jst curious. Hats off to you for taking it on.

sailou
post Jun 5 2020, 12:03 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Jun 5 2020, 10:23 AM)
This seems like such an unpleasant job to have with no returns. Anyone here is part of a JMB/MC? May I know why you decided to join and any regrets? Jst curious. Hats off to you for taking it on.
Full of regrets. Making enemies within your living compound. You do make plenty of new friends though if you are active enough.

No one will say a praise for the super good job you might have done but will pick on some very minor mistakes to belittle you.
samueltong
post Jun 11 2020, 06:19 PM

13 posts

hi there,is anyone know if jmb not enuf committee then can simply get owner's in as committee member without any of EGM/AGM??

subaiku
post Jun 12 2020, 03:31 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Jun 5 2020, 12:03 PM)
Full of regrets. Making enemies within your living compound. You do make plenty of new friends though if you are active enough.

No one will say a praise for the super good job you might have done but will pick on some very minor mistakes to belittle you.
Aih... human behaviour, fast to complain, slow to show gratitude. Any 'funny business' in your experience in JMC?
subaiku
post Jun 19 2020, 04:14 PM

445 posts

Hi JMC sifus, got another question, does the JMC need to get residents permission when adding new structures to the development? Eg. new car roof shelters, small building additions, new entrance archways, stuff like that?
Moshpit94
post Jul 1 2020, 04:05 AM

371 posts

Is it okay for me to propose to my newly bought sub sale low cost apartment to create a software for maintenance and sinking fund fee using online payment? Since they are collecting it manually... so I have the skills to build one. What is the disadvantages if i propose this to them?
Wing Yee
post Jul 12 2020, 10:16 AM

85 posts

https://www.edgeprop.my/content/1709888/thi...Q70OhjB1howpxxU
mini orchard
post Jul 12 2020, 11:12 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Jul 1 2020, 04:05 AM)
Is it okay for me to propose to my newly bought sub sale low cost apartment to create a software for maintenance and sinking fund fee using online payment? Since they are collecting it manually... so I have the skills to build one. What is the disadvantages if i propose this to them?
Is good if you can help to lighten their work with systematic recording. With one key, they would know the defaulters.

Free or payable is your service ?
Moshpit94
post Jul 15 2020, 03:47 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 12 2020, 11:12 AM)
Is good if you can help to lighten their work with systematic recording. With one key, they would know the defaulters.

Free or payable is your service ?
If for my own stay I will give it for free for my own coding portfolio. They just need to maintain the hosting, domain, android/ios developer fee only. I think it is viable and more than enough.

But if for other JMB who would like to buy I can give the product with 'one-off' with manuals etc for their own maintenance and future change request because I don't i can commit if there's a lot of buyers since I'm working full time now. The price also is not high compared to existing market. Just for fun and value added portfolio i guess...
subaiku
post Jul 20 2020, 12:57 PM

445 posts

Oh on this topic, can anybody recommend a good property management app?
luke skywalker
post Apr 13 2021, 12:13 AM

52 posts

If you guys looking for good property management company to manage your condo/strata landed can pm me

This post has been edited by luke skywalker: Jun 11 2025, 02:24 PM
gsc
post Jul 7 2021, 05:15 PM

1,624 posts

An owner who never paid his maintenance fee was wrongly elected as chairman. How to remove him?

sailou
post Jul 7 2021, 06:53 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 7 2021, 05:15 PM)
An owner who never paid his maintenance fee was wrongly elected as chairman. How to remove him?
Completely insane. You should remove the management company together with the chairman for allowing this.

Just submit your complaint to local COB. Your AGM will be declared null and void. A fresh AGM will be called.
mini orchard
post Jul 7 2021, 07:23 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 7 2021, 05:15 PM)
How can a non paying resident willing to be active in JMB ? Normally is the reversed.

Do you have good proof that his fees are not paid or hearsay ? If yes, then lodge a complaint to COB.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 8 2021, 07:08 AM
mingyew
post Aug 6 2021, 12:11 AM

4,177 posts

Can anyone give a solid suggestion how to encourage on outstanding collection? Beside appoint lawyer / small claim court. Thanks.
mini orchard
post Aug 6 2021, 06:39 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Aug 6 2021, 12:11 AM)
Can anyone give a solid suggestion how to encourage on outstanding collection? Beside appoint lawyer / small claim court. Thanks.
There is no single solid collection method that ensure defaulters settle their outstanding. It needs various methods from soft to tough approach.

There are some defaulters who refuse to vacate the property after an auction.

Even ahlong find it tough to collect their money from certain debtors till the extend of injuring people and damage property.

Why are owners not paying the monthly fee ?

Is it because they are not satisfied with the level of services provided ? Are facilities always cannot be utilised ? Are the JMB people arrogrant type ? Are problems being attended promptly ? Are the occupants more tenants than owners ? etc etc.

If is small numbers, then the JMB can try organised a group weekly or monthly 'friendly' house visit. Ahlong dont get their money if they just use the handphone.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 6 2021, 06:41 AM
andyf
post Aug 14 2021, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Jul 15 2020, 03:47 AM)
If for my own stay I will give it for free for my own coding portfolio. They just need to maintain the hosting, domain, android/ios developer fee only. I think it is viable and more than enough.

But if for other JMB who would like to buy I can give the product with 'one-off' with manuals etc for their own maintenance and future change request because I don't i can commit if there's a lot of buyers since I'm working full time now. The price also is not high compared to existing market. Just for fun and value added portfolio i guess...
Did you get anywhere with this?

My JMB is still in the old ages with manual accounting. I would like to see an app where I can see everything like water meter readings, maintenance requests with confirmation of completeness etc.

Moshpit94
post Aug 16 2021, 03:58 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(andyf @ Aug 14 2021, 11:51 PM)
Did you get anywhere with this?

My JMB is still in the old ages with manual accounting. I would like to see an app where I can see everything like water  meter readings, maintenance requests with confirmation of completeness etc.
Hi, my JMB don't want to do it and they rejected my proposal. I heard from my friend the reason why they rejected it because they are doing money laundering... but got no proof...hence thats why they don't want the system as transparency..
mini orchard
post Aug 16 2021, 05:53 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Aug 16 2021, 03:58 PM)
Hi, my JMB don't want to do it and they rejected my proposal. I heard from my friend the reason why they rejected it because they are doing money laundering... but got no proof...hence thats why they don't want the system as transparency..
Run for office next election. Once implemented, can retire next agm. If you dont do something, the hole will be bigger.
danieln
post Aug 16 2021, 08:15 PM

1,307 posts

Not sure but as an owner maybe u can request for an audit to be done on them?
subaiku
post Nov 28 2021, 04:48 PM

445 posts

Hi guys, got a question, can owners propose amendments or new bylaws/ house rules to be voted on in the AGM? What's the usual process? Does it need Committee approval first before it goes into the agenda in AGM?
eniltoh
post Nov 29 2021, 09:25 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jul 7 2021, 07:23 PM)
How can a non paying resident willing to be active in JMB ?  Normally is the reversed.

Do you have good proof that his fees are not paid or hearsay ? If yes, then lodge a complaint to COB.
Normally, before the next AGM convenes, a list of defaulters will be put up to ensure they can't join in the meeting unless arrears are settled. This to be checked when the meeting convenes.
billyboy
post Dec 5 2021, 10:42 AM

2,220 posts

hi,

in my friend's case, the JMB has decided to charge the management fee as according to the SPA purchase price...

i thought quite unusual.....i thought supposed to be as per how many square feet the owner owns?

if confirm cannot according to SPA price, how do i get help ? JMB still continue to charge this way....

please help....tk you
mini orchard
post Dec 5 2021, 11:17 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Dec 5 2021, 10:42 AM)
hi,

in my friend's case, the JMB has decided to charge the management fee as according to the SPA purchase price...

i thought quite unusual.....i thought supposed to be as per how many square feet the owner owns?

if confirm cannot according to SPA price, how do i get help ? JMB still continue to charge this way....

please help....tk you
So how much is the management fee and how much you are suppose to pay base on your calculation ?
billyboy
post Dec 5 2021, 03:03 PM

2,220 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Dec 5 2021, 11:17 AM)
So how much is the management fee and how much you are suppose to pay base on your calculation ?
is it possible to talk at a concept level vs actual number ? biggrin.gif
DragonReine
post Dec 7 2021, 03:02 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Dec 5 2021, 10:42 AM)
hi,

please help....tk you
That's very unusual and you can submit complaint to Commissioner of Building/Strata Management Tribunal about it.

https://www.izralpartnership.com/strata-man...ifferent-folks/

0.0927sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:17 AM